Image of Dar Khayam Hotel

Dar Khayam Hotel

13 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 122 reviews
3 stars

122 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    48
  • Very Good
    42
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
great value but not for brits who want 5* for 3* money
2 years 8 months ago
We arrived on 21/2 in a party of 11 and had to move rooms because of the smell emanating from the drains. All completed within a couple of hours. The hotel is tired but has a great location on the beach. There are a few shops in the immediate vicinity and cafes/restaurants.

The high spot of the hotel are the entertainment team who work tirelessly to involve all the guests regardless of age. Zizo, spider, booboo are all a credit to the hotel.

The food both in the restaurant and the snack bar is of good quality but is repetitive. The hotel could improve matters greatly by simply being more creative in how they use the ingredients. Had the same two soups on offer for every lunch and dinner!

You have the same table allocated for meals throughout your stay which allows your waiter to have your drinks waiting for you. The bar staff are generally great although a couple could benefit from the occasional smile. Maid service is every day and the TV benefits from two English speaking film channels in addition to BBC news. Had a meal in the original restaurant 5 mins from hotel...good quality and great value. Also heard great reviews about the panorama restaurant but was unable to find it open.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
great value but not for brits who want 5* for 3* money
2 years 8 months ago
We arrived on 21/2 in a party of 11 and had to move rooms because of the smell eminating from the drains. All completed within a couple of hours. The hotel is tired but has a great location on the beach. There are a few shops in the immediate vicinity and cafes/restaurants.

the highspot of the hotel are the entertainment team who work tirelessly to involve all the guests regardless of age. Zizo, spider, booboo are all a credit to the hotel.

the food both in the restaurant and the snack bar is of good quality but is repetitive. The hotel could improve matters greatly by simply being more creative in how they use the ingredients. Had the same two soups on offer for every lunch and dinner!

You have the same table allocated for meals throughout your stay which allows your waiter to have your drinks waiting for you. The bar staff are generally great although a couple could benefit from the occasional smile. Maid service is every day and the tv benefits from two english speaking film channels in addition to bbc news. Had a meal in the oringina restaurant 5 mins from hotel...good quality and great value. Also heard great reviews about the panorama restaurant but was unable to find it open.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire
Overall 8/10
6 years ago
This was mine and my partners first holiday abroad together. It was cheap and cheerful, definitely worth the money. We went all Inclusive for a fortnight and it cost approx £900 (that is value for money).

The hotel staff were wonderful especially the maids, they did anything for you and left flowers on your bed every now and then. The waiter we had was wonderful and treated our every need.

We stayed in the apartments in the gardens by the beach; unfortunately we had a leak, but was moved to the sister hotel Omar Khayam which was equally nice if not nicer!

The slides in the sister hotel are wildly fun! And we enjoyed many days there.

The food was a great variety, plenty of pasta, rice, meats and fish! I'm glad we went all inclusive as the food to buy in shops are quite prices a tube of pringles cost around £5.00! But the price for all inclusive is great value anyway so you'd be silly not to do it.

There were many water sports on the private beach and many excursions offered which were fab. I would recommend the camel ride very fun and very cheap! You get souvenir photo's which are a great way of keeping a tangible memory!

Overall for my 1st holiday with my partner 8/10
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Decent hotel, very clean, reasonable food, good location with own beach
6 years 4 months ago
Decent hotel, very clean, reasonable food, good location with own beach, staff very friendly. Entertainment - well lets just say view it tongue in cheek and laugh at the teams antics.

We didn't like the first room given, felt claustrophobic, but a polite request at reception and we were given a new room facing the gardens the next morning. Our cleaner filled our room with flowers three times a week. Leave towels on the floor and you'll get clean ones as often as you want.

Table in restaurant allocated on first day and you keep that table for the duration of your stay. Plenty of choice in food, constantly available from 6am to midnight in either the restaurant or beside the pool. Everything from local cuisine to kebab and chips. Yummy cakes, mousse, fresh fruit and ice creams. Late breakfast available by pool if you want to sleep in. Our waiter taught us a little Arabic each day.

The entertainment team work hard and are very funny.

Private beach is clean, patrolled by police on horseback, safe, not pestered by sellers. Outside the hotel are shops in both directions.

For what we paid for this holiday we would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sana
6 years 6 months ago
thehotel was good and my family enjoyed it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pamela
6 years 11 months ago
stayed at Dar Khayam was really good.

kids loved kids club didn't want to come home ..food and alcohol could be ALOT better though ..

could be kept cleaner kids area etc
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kev
7 years ago
Arrived after midnight and after receiving our immigration cards we were shown to the pool bar for a couple of drinks while we filled them out. So far so good!.

The rooms were a bit on the small size but like most people you don't spend a lot of time in them, and as we were right down by the beach, great. This is getting better and better!.

First morning we were allocated our table in the resturant which was our's for the rest of the holiday, we were actually moved a total of nine times during our stay so why allocate in the first place?

The food itself was normal AI fayre if you looked hard enough and got past the flying elbows there was something decent, (sweet pastries for breakfast heaven).

The pool snack bar was a suprise and we found the standard to be good even if there was a lot of flies around. We ended up buying our own fly spray to keep the blighters away.

Had a couple of days of bad weather and some very rough seas and was suprised that the beach was not cleaned of all the rubbish that washed up, still there when we left 8 days later.

The staff were very friendly and approachable even for us who do not join in, would rather sit and watch as the water polo can be a bit violent at times. Even though it was Ramadam during our vist the Anamation team were always on the go.

Looking back now it was different to our usual Tunisian adventures and even though the hotel was a bit isolated we will definetley return.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
SANDRA,PETER &ALAN
7 years 3 months ago
after reading the reviews other people had written we did not know what to expect.we arrived at 12 30 pm to be told we could not have our room key till 1 30pm.ok we had a lovely meal in the dining room and got our key 20mins early.we got to our room it was pretty bqasic but clean and tidy it had a pool view so was pleased with it only down side ther was no drawers so it was shelves or hanging.the cleaners worked hard to keep the place clean and were there every day at 6am with the hose pipe and brushes scrubing he pool area so no complaints on the cleanliness of the hotel any where.hotel food was nice and something for every one if it was a little cold there is microwaves provided for you to use so no problem there.the hotel is a bit away but a few shops and resteraunts in the imediate vacinaty and taxis are very cheap only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jessica
7 years 4 months ago
It was great a 3 hour trip on a bus to th hotel but all worth it the first time we went we tried everthink it was a great laugh but he kitchen caught fire but every single staff and people selling you things helped the entertainment team was great the brought the family together we have been going for 2 years and in 2weeks we are going again a great family holiday and they have got a spa and a on site medical room the rooms were ok and quiet clean but apart from that every think was brill can't wait to go again looking forward to it his is the only holiday that I have kept coming back to the same hotel they have slides there and all activites even my tennager how is going through stages enjoys it and it is the best place the food is lovely the service is excelant if I could I would give it 100 stars the best place ever and I am no lieing
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Andrew Race
7 years 9 months ago
unfortunatley the food that looked as though it could be eaten was cold,the only thing going for it was the bread rolls to go with the cold soup,out of the three apartments we had one had no heating for three days and the other two also broke down,the water was lovely and hot for a shower but you had to get used to the orange water!entertianment left a lot to be desired,be prepared to tip waiter if you want table service as if they dont get a tip first time you will be up and down all week,out and about you need taxi as nothing is within walking distance you will need good nerves for this as they have a different style of drving to ours.best bit was other toursts we met great company made our holiday.comments book was full and another not available on day we left.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: