Image of Phenicia Hotel

Phenicia Hotel

7 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 35 reviews
4 stars

35 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
We felt very looked after!
7 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Phenicia after a stay at a Sentido hotel in Turkey.

We were really pleased with our stay here. We had a lovely holiday. Our stay was for 11 nights.

On arrival, we were given cool towels and a refreshing lemon drink. Registering did not take too long and then it was up to our room. I was worried about the room after reading some of the reviews, but my fears were needless, it was fine. Spacious, very clean and overlooking the gardens as we had requested. The bedding and towels looked as though they were changed daily.

The food was excellent. Always a huge choice of cold and hot food. Always fresh pasta with different sauces. Usually a carvery. Soup was delicious, as were the desserts. There was ice-cream that you served yourself.

We tried the Asian Restaurant and although the food was good, it was no better than the main restaurant. There was also a charge here.

The other restaurant we did not use. We asked to look at the menu, but there was nothing that we really wanted to try. Shame really, as it looked lovely, romantic too!
We are an older couple who would not normally join in with activities. Because of the first 5+ days without any sunshine, Dido managed to persuade us to 'have a go' at archery. He was a very good teacher (and archer) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. My husband managed a decent score, I was rubbish (blame it onto my age, I am!)

These animation boys and girls work tirelessly to entertain. Their routines on the stage were awesome. The energy and the remembering of countless routines leave you shaking your head in wonder.

All of the staff that we had dealings with were lovely. So attentive. We felt very 'cared for'.

The sun came out on the 6th day and was hot until the end of our holiday. We just laid in the sun and read our books (there is a small library of books in the Reps/Wi-Fi section). There is free Wi-Fi for laptops in the reception area. There is a fitness centre and indoor pool. A quiet pool and a large one where aerobics were carried out. And a shop for crisps, chocolate, newspapers, swimwear and gifts etc. We took our own travel kettle etc for the room.

The only down side with the Phenicia was the situation with the pool/beach towels. We have been to many hotels that supply these and do not usually take our own. There has been a point where you hand in dirty towels and collect clean and we take full advantage of this, changing them at the end of each day. At the Phenicia the pool towels are in the bedroom on arrival. We arrived on a Wednesday for an 11 night stay. In all of this time we did not have the pool towels changed. On enquiring, well into our holiday, we were told 'the Housekeeper changes them on Tuesdays and Saturdays'. This presumably means that you have to stay in your room until the clean towels are delivered! We did not meet anyone that had clean towels!!! Sentido must surely review this state of affairs. I dread to think what it is like in the height of Summer, with everyone using sweaty towels full of sun lotion day after day!

Other than that, we cannot fault the hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Linda Davies
7 years 6 months ago
We were very please with this hotel, the food was excellent, the choice was very good and a lot was cooked in front of you to order, the croissants were baked there and then in the breakfast area, couldn't get any fresher than that.

The entertainment team were the best we have ever seen, River Dance and Micheal Jackson were brilliant.

The hotel staff were very good and were very polite and friendly, apart from the men behind the bar they could do with a personality transplant.

The weather was quite good but with a cold breeze which this time of year you can expect anything, all told it was a very good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Phil & Julia
8 years 6 months ago
We stayed All Inclusive and i was very suprised with the quality and service that we recieved, i have had a bad AI experience before and vowed never to do it again but the phenicia was fantastic. the hotel was always clean and tidy and the staff were always friendly and helpfull exept for the reception staff, useless! a had a few enquiries and each time i asked at reception i was told to come back in 10 mins or an hour or at a certain time to see somebody different but i never got any any answers and eventually gave up.
the location was ok for us but if you were going into hammamet or yasmine each day it could get costly in taxis, about 4 or 5 dinars each way. the bus is about 1 dinar for 2 people to either of the resorts.
the food in the hotel was magnificent, something different each day and a superb choice. the food in restaurants in yasmine were quite expensive with a 3 course meal for 2 with a bottle of wine costing us around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Ryan Family
9 years ago
a very enjoyable holiday, great weather and treated with respect and cortesy by the staff.all the facilites were of a very high standard and exceeded our expectations. the only observation we would make is the rooms are a bit dated and could do with a freshen up / lick of paint / modernisation. we had a sea view room which was our first time on numerous holidays. the evenings entertainment was local,limited and basically served its purpose for the mixed audience.we will recomend this hotel to our friends and family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Nora Birch
9 years 4 months ago
Myself and my best chose to stay at the Phencia Hotel.Holiday dates from the 7th May to 14th May. I cannot praise the hotel enough, It was spotless,our room was cleaned everyday, and they made our beds..what a treat!! There was a variety of food, but after a while it did get a tad boring.

The hotel is a bit out of the way, but taxis are very cheap, so wasnt a problem.

The staff,were freindly and worked very hard. We did give our cleaner 20 dinars at the end of the week, wasnt much to us, around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Niamh
9 years 10 months ago
My friend stayed for one week on an all inclusive holiday. This has been a superb holiday and I would definitely reccomend the hotel to anyone and will probally go back in the future.
The hotel was very clean and on days when we were wanting a lie in, if you put the do not distirb sign on the door they always came back later on in the afternoon. The dining rooms and pool areas were always spotless.
This hotel is probally best suited to people who dont want to do too much! Taxis arent exspensive and are easy to get, but it can be a bit intimidating to wander out of the hotel because we were two females on our own.
We really enjoyed the entertainment, although because of the time of year, the disco etc was never really too busy. Staff will always try and get you involved, but will leave you alone if you arent wanting to take part. The entertainment team will always take time to stop and talk to you through out the day.
I would definetely reccommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Kaylee
10 years ago
Excellent hotel! travelled with my boyfriend for my 21st and it was an amazing holiday, very glad now that we booked for 2 weeks!
The hotel is very big, both inside and the pool area, everything was open spaced which i liked. The hotel is very clean and all through the day there are cleaners emptying the bins by the pool.
FOOD- food was very good, im quite fussy anyway but my botyfriend loved it, the cakes were delicious!we had spoke to a few people who had been before however and they said the food had gone a bit down hill.
ROOMS- rooms are lovely and clean, quite basic but really nice, our bathroom was lovely and the room was cleaned everyday. We were in 4001 and had a gorgeous sea view, amazing!
BEACH- Beach is really nice and clean, we often went for walks on the beach and the sea was the best sea i have been in.
STAFF- Staff were very friendly, the only reason they are not freindly is if your not friendly to them! i read some reviews before we went and many said the staff were awful but we had no issues whatso ever, really friendly and helpful.it was my 21st while we were there and my boyfriend was conspiring with reception to bring some champagne and flowers to the room, he said that they were so helpful, i also got a birthday cake at dinner which was complimentry from the hotel which i thought was nice, it even had my name on it!
ENTERTAINMENT-Cannot fault the entertainment team one bit, they are excellent! mido, sam, chicho, james, franco, lolitta, rio, micheal jackson, they are the best, they all speak 6-8 languages fluently and interact with anyone weather its the elderly, young or kids. we got quite friendly with them and thouroghly enjoyed our daily games of waterpolo with the entertainment team. Entertainment at night was also good, sometimes not so good but you really cant fault them for trying, they work long days 6 days a week and try their best. They really are one of the best entertainment teams i have seen. Theres also many activites in the day to keep you occupied.
TIPPING- tippin really is at your discretion, you DONT have to tip but it really does go a long way, at the end of the day the people in the hotel earn a pittence ( about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mags Sergent
10 years 5 months ago
This was a really lovely hotel, very clean and staff constantly working to keep it that way throughout the day and evening.

We thought the food was great, my only complaint would be breakfast, I dont really want salad for breakfast but I still managed to have toast, cereal or croissants and jams, so I certainly didn't go without.

The location was a bit out of the way but to be honest that suited us fine but if you want to be in a busy area then maybe not suitable, however a taxi into Hammamet or Yasmine was only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
10 years 10 months ago
We asked for sea view and adjoining rooms. We got the wonderful sea view but no adjoining room but the staff did say we had the best rooms in the hotel. Right on the top and a wonderful view. My other party and room was only 5 doors away so not a problem.

Room and hotel was always clean and fresh smelling. What is the smell?

Food was alway hot and tastes lovely. However the snack bar times said 2.30 -6 and it was always closed earlier. It also states there was another snack bar open after teatime, never found it so did not go down very well with the kids who had munchies after disco. So don't rely on the timing find out for yourself. It is a free for all buffet and be-warned certain rude people push in etc.

The entertainment staff were funny and always made my kids feel welcome and made us laugh.

Hotel was right on the beach and this part was always clean. If you when to the left pasted Les orangers there was broken glass so be-warned. If you walked up the passage way through to Le hammamet hotel you come to some great shops and no hassle really.

Food was great alway a good variety however if you have fussy kids then be prepared. My son ate chips,pizza and pancakes and the odd plate of mild spag bol. Also if you go to the African dream night you do have meal served but its not really kid friendly so say you are veggy and they will give you chips and veg or take your own food for the fussy eaters. Great night you have to go!

Comparing to the waiter service we had in Les oranger last year we were disappointed as the waiters in the lounge were to and far between and we had to go to the bar. Some of the staff were rude and abrupt but the nice staff out weighed the bad. The bell boy who takes your cases was cross because we only gave him 2 dinars. We did feel obliged to tip to save rude staff later on. There was a hotel photographer who is always taking pic and sells them every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panaroma

Recommended
Emma
10 years 11 months ago
Hotel was extremely clean. Some staff were extremely rude and arrogant. We were shouted at in the middle of the restaurant for not sitting at our allocated table -Which we were not told about!!!

We were given no information about where the restaurant, snack bar etc were and did not find the mini golf course until our last day - Although it wasn't worth finding anyway!!

Saw a rat by the pool. Reported it to reception and was told 'Rats? Of course we have rats!'This came as a shock as it was not in the brochure!! He also said that the cats should keep the rats away!! Great answer!!

Rep was never around to talk to when needed. Although when we did have a problem we called the 24 hour helpline and they were very helpful.

We were told that one of the pools were heated but they were too cold to get into! When we asked where the heated pool was they said it is only heated in the high season - Why? when the weather is hotter then?!!!

We were one of very few English people which made it difficult to meet new people! Food was very average. Breakfast was very poor, we only ate breakfast once and decided we'd rather starve until lunch. Lunch was a bit hit or miss. They either had the same thing everyday (which is ok when we found something we liked!) or they changed it suddenly and then there was nothing we liked at all. There was always siomething that we would eat but lunch and dinner were very alike.

We were told by our rep at the welcome meeting that it was perfectly safe and not intimidating to leave the hotel. When we went on a trip we got talking to a family and they said that they were locked in a shop by some locals until they agreed to buy something from their shop!! Doesn't sound nice to me!!

Entertainment was pretty much non existant...Take something to do while you are there!!

I think we may have gone at the wrong time of year as there was nothing going on that was stated in the brochure...Which would have been fine but the reason we booked this hotel was for all the activities & entertainement advertised that weren't going on while we were there!!

All was not bad as some staff were lovely. Very friendly. Unfortunately the bad parts outweigh the good.
We would never go back to Tunisia.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.