Image of Imperial Marhaba Hotel

Imperial Marhaba Hotel

6 of 17 hotels in Port el Kantaoui

4 out of 5 from 37 reviews
5 stars

37 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great holiday
3 years 6 months ago
We arrived to be greeted by the hotel manager and taken directly to our room by a member of the reception staff.

Our room - 386 - didn't 't have the best view in the world (a side view of the next door hotel and limited sea view) but it was not overlooked and got the sun in the afternoon so I could chill out when 'Sir' was having his siesta! The room was large enough with twin beds, bathroom and seperate toilet. The maid kept it very clean and made the usual swans etc. some of them being the best I have seen.

The hotel lobby is very impressive and all the public areas are kept up to a high standard.

We had no problems with the food, plenty of choice even for a fussy eater like myself. In the evening you had an allocated sitting and table. We always had a wine chiller ready set up with our white wine and water.
Of the two speciality restaurants, I would say the Asian was our favourite even though that was buffet service and the Tunisian was waiter service. Again, our wine was ready and waiting for us.

All the staff we met were friendly, courteous and always smiling. We only tip on leaving so have to assume that everyone got the same service.

3 nights a week there was a pianist in the lobby - not exactly concert standard - but good enough for us to dance along to. We didn't go to any of the shows so can't comment on those.

All in all, a great holiday and we will return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Great Holiday
5 years 3 months ago
Me and my husband stayed at the Riu Imperial, for 10 nights in July 2012, we travelled with Thompsons. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Lovely, impressive hotel.

We found all staff to be friendly and helpful. Great selection of food, we could always find something we liked to eat. We also tried two of the themed restaurants the Mediterranean and the Asian. The Asian was our favourite.

The animation team worked hard during the day with activities. Cannot comment on the evening entertainment as this was inside and we preferred to sit outside in the evening. We never had trouble getting a sunbed as the pool man was always on hand to help us.

Our Room was pool/sea facing and a good size. Cleaners worked hard and we always came back to beautiful towel art.

Would we return? yes definitely. We loved the location, next to the beach, the atmosphere and the staff. We did tip, but believe the service we received deserved it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Julie
Beautiful newly refurbished hotel
6 years 3 months ago
Having just returned from a week at this hotel I have to say it is beautiful. A complete refurbishment has been undertaken and whilst I was there can honestly say you would never know there was any work going on.

The far end of the hotel is where a new wing has been added and when I left they were putting the windows in. The room I stayed in had been completely refurbished along with the reception/entrance lounge, American bar, restaurant and terrace area. In fact it looked like the whole of the hotel and beach bar had undergone a complete overhaul. Can't wait to return in September.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Derek & Partner
7 years 4 months ago
The RUI Imperial Marhaba is a lovely hotel it is very clean and tidy.The towels and bedlinen are attended to every day by the maids. The food is well prepared and presented and is of a wide variety. The hotel is located on the fine sand beach and a 45 minute stroll to the port.
Staff are wonderful and will do all they can to help and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Animation/entertainment was a bit amateurish but they do try very hard and work long hours. All in all a very nice hotel with some nice touches here and there and I would recommend to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
We were welcomed at the hotel with a drink and once registration completed were told, for some unknown reason that we had been upgraded to a suite. Fantastic! We were too late for dinner and were told to go to our suite, luggage would be sent up shortly also a tray of dinner. This was a lovely salad. The suite was huge with 2 large beds, 2 bedside tables, 7 armchairs,5 lamps and 2 overhead lights. Bathroom was separate from toilet,carpeted floor, lots of wardrobe and drawer space and lots of mirrors including a full length one. Our beds and pillows were very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. Fridge, t.v, and safe were all free as we were A.I. The staff were absolutely the best. So friendly in all departments. The food was very good with lots of choice and the desserts were so fantastic. Lots of fresh fruit too and i would recommend the dates. Our waiter was Ben and I cannot praise him enough. The last night we were there he took me aside and presented me with the most gorgeous pink roses. We also had our table filled with flowers and petals. Only negative would be the distance from the town. The hotel is on the beach and it took us a 45 minute stroll. This spotless, friendly hotel is excellent for a complete chillout as you have everything you would need on site, shop, spa, hairdresser and entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
The Gastalls&co
8 years 3 months ago
The hotel was second to none. Staff couldn't do enough for you. The food, rooms were fantastic. We have been to a lot of nice hotels over the years and it proberly is one of the best ones we have stayed in. Not much to do outside of the hotel but saying that there is no need to leave the hotel. The beach is only a 2 min walk away. If you want a sunbed or towels just go and see the man near the pool bar and tip a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Karen
8 years 6 months ago
booked this holiday about five weeks before we were due to travel.while reading other reports it had came to my attention there was building work going on at the hotel, but we werent informed by thomson when we booked up only by letter a week later. The building work did go on all through our holiday but it never spoilt anything. It ended up as a bit of entertainment. The health and safety on these building sights are scary.We arrived on a grey and dull day. the trasfer from airport to hotel was a bit of a culture shock having been used to destanations like tenerife, gran canaria.There wasnt anything nice to see on the way to hotel. After saying that on getting to the hotel i was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were excellant and the hotel entrance was amazing. beautiful, We left our cases at the door of the hotel and these were later brought to our room by a porter. The room itsself was fab the bed was huge. we had separate bathroom and toilet the safety deposit box was free. there was also a fridge in the room where there were free bottles of water. We had a carpet on the floor of our room which was a nice change especially as some nights were a bit chilly.The t.v had english speaking channels which also showed english films. the films shown where recent movies. The room itsself was maybe one of the biggest we have stayed in. All the staff were excellent. The entertainment was a bit childish sometimes. But again the staff were all ways trying their best to please the only bar was the loung bar the rest only opened in the summer season. We enjoyed a 'free' al a carte meal. Beware they say its free but they ask you abouthow good the service was etc we ended up paying a service charge we didnt mind it seemed worth it the food was great a good variety for everyone. always fresh fruit and veg cant complained about any of the food or drink all the ground of the hotel are well looked after and inside of hotel people always cleaning floors etc sheets on beds changed everyday. plus bedding and towels made into many different shapes and animals I had only experienced this on the cruise ships
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Mark & Jackie
9 years ago
We visited this hotel for a fourth time and Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves yet again. The hotel is always lovely and clean and the cleaning staff always work hard to make our stay more comfortable. The food was very good, but since the Riu groop have taken over it has certainly come down in standard. We have visited the hotel in the past before Riu took it over and the food was of a much higher standard along with other aspects too! We were told by a member of staff that Riu are on a cost cutting exercise and firstly laid of over 100 staff and then cust costs on other things such as air conditioning. On oour first visits the Restaurant was lovely and cool, but this year Riu has told the staff not to use the aircon, using the excuse they are awaiting a part. We were on most occasions eating our evening meals in temperatures exceeding 35-40oc! However, the helpful staff tried to help by opening the doors to try and let in some cooler air. The hotel location is excellent, just a few minutes by taxi from the marina. The hotel staff were very friendly as usual, but we found that there was a little bit of Favoritism towards some of the guests,who's nationalities shall remain nameless! The hotel entertainment was ok, the Animation club was ok, the usual racket at the poolside from around 9:30 throughout the day. I guess most people seemed to like this, but some commented that they would prefer a quiet day by the pool! Also there is some building work in progress at present a Thalasso and Spa being built, which should be spectacular next year. The building noise wasn't too bad, but some days was a bit of a headache. We will definately be visiting the hotel next year yet again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Traveller
9 years 1 month ago
Just got back from two weeks at the Riu Imperial Mahaba and it was excellent. The welcome from the very amiable Hotel Manager was very friendly and really unexpected. The hotel itself is very impressive from the fountains and grounds to the large atrium and glass lifts.
Our hotel room was very spacious with a not unpleasant view of the fountains at the front. The air conditioning was not the best but to be fair it was working hard as the temperature outside reached 47
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Moulding
10 years 10 months ago
The hotel is quite impressive but perhaps not 5*.(The sister hotel next door the refurbished 4* Bellview is loads better)

The friendly staff are attentive helpful and the rooms are spotless. The rooms are of a good size and the beds are massive (approx 6' 6" square). Each day the beds are made in a differant way, whereby the cover is shaped and sweets / petals left on the pillows. We did transfer from out 1st room as there was temporary building work at the side of the hotel but there was no fuss and the staff offered to pack and move our belongings if required.

Unless you are tea total and do not eat during the day then go all inclusive.

The dining room is ok though some tables are a little cramped. The food is varied - the breakfast buffet has endless choice of hot and cold items. The evening dinner is varied and should cater for all tastes, including a choice of local dishes to try.

The evening 'entertainment' is poor and mainly the hotel staff. There is a nightclub on sight but I'm not sure it is open out of season.

The pool area is well maintained and a path leads through the gardens and directly onto a lovely beach.

The stroll along the waters edge to the marina is a steady 40 mins. Sunbeds around the pool and at the beach are free. Just stand on the beach and sunbeds are carried / positioned and a padded cover added.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.