Image of Royal Kenz Hotel

Royal Kenz Hotel

8 of 17 hotels in Port el Kantaoui

4 out of 5 from 117 reviews
4 stars
Perfect for couples, the Royal Kenz is set in beautiful gardens, and offers a wide variety of activities to keep you occupied. The complex is just 2km from the picturesque resort of Port El Kantaoui and nearby the local golf course.

117 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    28
  • Very Good
    61
  • Good
    17
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 4 months ago
Hotel Royal Kenz Monastair Tunisia
Food good: Rooms spacious:
Outdoor facilities good: which include three swimming pools, lovely garden's. Reception staff are friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, at the present time: Construction work is being carried out; work which is at times very..noisy!!
The construction work should be finished by next year sometime.
There is entertainment which includes "The Changing Ladies" Which is a superb show for all the family to enjoy every Tuesday night. The group also perform at the "Casino Carairibe" in Sousse every Wednesday night. There is also bingo and dancing activities at the Royal Kenze. To get to the port; it will cost you four dinars which is
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Bob Anderson
8 years 7 months ago
The room was well appointed and nicely laid out. The shower was very powerful. Comfortable beds and pillows which is always a hit or a miss affair when going on holiday. The layout of the Hotel is good and it is not to high as other places tend to be.

The reception area and the public rooms off from it are really lovely. The typical Arabic plasterwork is quite intricate and must have taken a wee while to complete.

There is a dedicated no smoking area which has the most comfortable chairs in the whole place.

There is internet access available and a cafe, shop, hairdressers, and jewellery shop on site.

The pool area is set in lovely gardens, always plenty of sunbeds. A short walk from the rear of this area is the beach. The sand here has to be seen to be believed. It is so fine.

The welcome meeting was the best I have ever been to. Emma the rep was entertaining and informative and there was no pressure to buy trips.

She has lived in Tunisia for 11 years and is the font of all knowledge. She also more than happy to advise travellers with other companies.

The restuarant is well laid out, and the waiters are genuinely very friendly. There was always a good choice of food, and I would recommend trying the Tunisian dishes. Also have an omelette for breakfast. For dessert try the pancakes.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, right down to the chambermaids. Ours would teach me some Arabic every day. She kept our romm spotless, as were all the public areas. There is always the smell of Jasmine around.

I would visit this Hotel again, but in the summer as the walk to the Marina is much nicer in good weather.

Just a short way from the Hotel is a restuarant done out in the theme of all things Ariel. The food is great, but the decor has to be seen to be believed.

Yes the clientel were getting on in years and there are no children under 16 years allowed, but some of these little old ladies can be quite cutthoat when it comes to getting into a queue.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Its Me
8 years 9 months ago
Absolutely brilliant hotel.
We stayed here for a week, the hotel is very clean, rooms are lovely and comfy, we had a superior room which was great.
The food was hot, plentiful and varied and this is the only place I have ever been to where I have eaten the salad and ice cream every night and not had any tummy trouble at all.
The staff are very friendly and will do anything for you.
We cannot wait to get back there.
I had heard reports about building works but we werent bothered at all by them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Cook
8 years 11 months ago
Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Royal Kenz. Please be aware that if you are due to holiday soon that major refurbishments are being carried out on floors 1 & 3. The hotel lift is closed to both these floors and the only access available via some of the stairs(not all). The doors are barricaded to stop access, this alone is a fire hazard. When work in progress it is very loud, not what you would expect while on holiday, we were not informed of the building work, by our holiday firm. The quality of the food is very poor, choice is very limited. If you want a cheap holiday with no frills, then this is what you will get.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jill And Dave Richardson
9 years ago
I cannot understand why some people return to this hotel ?? It is no way 4 star, dirty, shabby and in need of a total refurbishment.

We had booked a supeior room ?? Forget it ? It over looked the so called entertainment area which luckily does end at 11.45pm but we were kept awake til the small hours by selfish people sitting under our balcony... shrieking away all night. Mind you ,, If you do manage to drop off , be aware you will be woken early... not by the cleaners ... oh no... the sun bed baggers who start at 5,30am,, dragging the best sun beds round the pool ?? The room had a loo that constantly ran. broken sink and drawers that could not be shut once opened.

The restaurant is very similar to Butlins years ago... rows and rows of tables.. you are given a table to sit when you arrive and must always use that one.. even if the people you share it with are there at the same time |??we given a 6.30 breakfast slot ?? on holiday ?? The carpet was filthy. impossible to see if there was a pattern on it once ?It was rucked up in several places and its a wonder no one fell over .There are quite a few steps in the restaurant ,, ideal if you are carrying soup and bread rolls ?? There were never enough tea spoons... I started to take the one out of our room down with us towards the end of the week.Tables were not relaid . food ran out,, not yoghurts left at breakfast and a huge line of people waitng to use the only toaster working ? The food was passable... just althought meat pie is a bit vague... no one knew what meat ?? camel?? donkey ?/ goat ??

Don t tip first time you are served cos the staff will expect it everytime ?Wait til the end of the week and then tip. It seemed strange to see smoking indoors and boy did the smokers take advantage of it ?? There is no where to sit and have a drink where smoking is not allowed?

The entertainment is childish at best?? Bingo in 3 languages is very tedious?? Especially if someone misses a number and they have t go all over it again ? After the first 2 nights we went out... just to get away from it all?

The taxi drivers outside the hotel are a nusiance if you don t want one ?? and if you do they agreee to one price and then try to charge higher when you want to get out ? We paid anything from 3 dinars to 6 dinars for the same trip ??

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Kelly
9 years ago
Our party of 6 had a great week, lovely weather most of the time (one terrific storm). We had great fun, food was very good, well presented and lots of variety - in fact we did not take up our 2 nights in the a la carte restaurants because we enjoyed the variety in the main one so much. The 2 outdoor pools were lovely - big, clean, lots of sunbeds, nice pool bar, snacks etc. Lots of activities - loved the water basketball and aqua aerobics. Also darts, boules, belly dancing, salsa etc etc, all good fun and good way to meet other people. However, although the entertainment team (Animation) were fine in the daytime (young and enthusiastic) the night entertainment was awful, really tacky and amateur. Please please do something about it, remembering that it's an all adult hotel, no kids!

Only other complaints are that the reception staff could be more friendly and welcoming, a smile would be nice! Also, could there be designated smoke free zones-the majority of guests were quite elderly (we are 40's/50's) and many of them smoked - it was awful, especially as smoking is now banned in public places in UK, they were so inconsiderate.

It was our 3rd trip to that area, first to the Royal Kenz and I have no doubt that we will be there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Jen And Joe
9 years 2 months ago
This was our first time in tunisia, so we did a lot or research into the hotels,We opted for the Royal Kenz Hotel and we were not disappointed, I could not fault the Hotel, The dinner was buffet style and there was always plent of choice, with fresh omlettes made to order in the morning and fresh crepes at dinner time. We upgraded to a superior room, and were very pleased with it, fresh flowers,fruit,water and wine waiting for us on arrival. An exellent room overlooking the entertainment area.
An added bonus to this hotel for us that there are no guests under 16,making it a pleasure to lie by the pool without being splashed contantly, you could also hire towels from the poolside bar for a deposit of 10 dinar (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
I have just read the latest review on the Kenz and am wondering if these people were really at the Kenz!!

My family and I have stayed every year for the last 13 years at the Kenz and hopefully that gives you an idea of the quality of this Hotel.
We have seen the changes over the years from a Thomson Gold, to An Iberostar, and back to where it all started, a family run Hotel.
Most of the reviews on the Kenz are accurate reflections on this little gem of a Hotel. I regularly check reviews on this site to assist me in booking wherever, and it's only fair that I give my opinion to help others, especially after the last poor review for the Kenz.
As I've said already most of the reviews speak volumes already, however I'll add my bit.

Cleanliness
The staff are always on the go cleaning everywhere.

Food
The additions over the years show that the management are on their toes and constantly reviewing and updating the service. The amount of freshly cooked options at breakfast and dinner are testament to this.

Location.
A bit out of the marina but easily reached by a half hour walk on the beach, or a 2 minute taxi ride. I totally agree with the comments about the taxis. Agree a price before you get in!

Staff.
Lovely people who do all they can to help you. I see the same people returning every year and the staff always remember you and are so pleased to see you back again. Genuine people who work very long hours for little pay.

Entertainment
Let's face it, in every country you are faced with much the same entertainment with a few exceptions. The evening entertainment is typical of this, but I would say that if you know the area then you are probably looking for a chill out holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Miss Law
9 years 6 months ago
We didn't know what to expect when we booked a cheap holiday to Tunisia. On arrival our first impressions of the hotel were how clean everything was. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. As for the food I am quite fussy when it comes to foreign food but to my relief i was able to eat something every day. The food was excellent. We opted to go on several excursions and so gave the entertainment a miss due to the early starts we had.
All in all this was the best holiday i have ever had we made so many friends here and are definatly going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Tracy
9 years 10 months ago
We stayed for a week at the Royal Kenz and I have to say it was one of the best holidays Ive ever had.It was a 'special'birthday for me and Tunisia was recommended for the weather and the price.We were a little dubious on reports with us being 2 single women but we had no problems at all,everyone was was friendly and respectful.To be honest we didnt venture far so cant comment on the facilities around but would definately return here for a relaxing break...and the wine!The hotel was kept clean,staff in the bars friendly-bit miserable on reception though!Food was fine,always something we liked and waiters in the restaurant again very friendly.The cats looked ok,not skinny and were wandering around happy enough,as a cat lover i didnt mind at all.
Returning here again in February for another break and it cant come soon enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.