Image of Romance Eden Club

Romance Eden Club

14 of 15 hotels in Skanes

2 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M Pomm
9 years 11 months ago
First of all, when we booked our holiday, we were told the hotel was a four star, when in fact it was a three star.
On arrival at the hotel we were sent straight to the restaurant to have our lunch and were told our rooms would be ready after we had dined.
We had to wait half an hour for our hotel room as it had been given to another family.
We waited in the lobby as all the other guests who had arrived with us were dressed in their swimwear and heading out for the pool.
Finally, we were taken up to our hotel room. It was poorly decorated and furnished. The bathroom was vile with an indescribable stain at the bottom of the toilet bowl. The bath itself wasn't clean and felt rough and scummy. I refused to take a bath and opted for a shower all week, which I might add, I had to hold the shower head and direct it over my body because if we showered with the head in the bracket, it would flood the bathroom.
The sink was blocked for three days also and every time we turned the tap on we could smell sewage.
The beds consisted of mattresses on concrete.....
The maids cleaned the room everyday but did not change the towels; they just hung our wet, dirty towels over the balcony to dry.
On our first day we noticed a dirty plate at the bottom of one of the stairwells. This wasn't removed all week. My friend placed a dirty cup there on the Monday to see if they would moved it and it was taken away but the plate was still left. As the week went on, people had put shells and food on the plate. It was disgusting.
The flies were terrible, but you should expect that in North Africa. It was the fact that the flies were all over the food they served that put me off.
The staff weren't too bad, they were polite but as already mentioned, catered to and attended more to the Germans. We noticed that we had to pay for bottles of water at the bar and Germans were given them for free...
The "Entertainment" was poor. Every night the same show, the same music... The entertainment staff were a gang of young lads who were more interested in breakdancing than actually entertaining the audience.
The "Gym" was a tiny, filthy room with about five pieces of broken equipment. We couldn't use it.
The pool and waterslide area was unsupervised...
The food wasn't that bad, we lived off rice and pasta for the week as the food was mainly catered for the Germans.
The menu was quite repetitive; Rice, Pasta, stew, croissants, salad, apples, rock hard pizza, all of course topped with flies.
The "All Inclusive" bar served only beer and there were dispensers of red and white wine and cocktails. The cocktails were right next to the fruit juice and as you could just help yourself, I saw a lot of kids helping themselves to it!
Snacks were that mornings uneaten croissants, again covered in flies.
Most nights the hotel entertained a lot of locals who would just come in, scrounge the free beverages and perv over the women.
There was a little cart in the hotel where a man sold crepes, popcorn and tuna paninis all day and night, and when my friend asked for one, he was called "Fat Boy".
As English was about their fourth language, the most common phrase they used to communicate with us was "Lovely Jubbley" I don't think they knew anything else, oh, apart from "I love you" which the male staff said to the women every time they grabbed them.
On the second day we actually wanted to go home, we couldn't stand it, but we tried to make the most of it.

I know this review is about the hotel, but I'd just like to mention that one day our taxi driver actually reversed into an old man walking behind us!! He didn't even get out to see if he was alright, he just carried on driving!!
We would not return again. :/
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Pacitto Family
10 years 1 month ago
An awful hotel. Badly run and NOT FULLY INCLUSIVE, more like fullboard with warm beer, squash, nasty and table wine.

Rooms not available when we arrived, had to wait until next day to get communicating rooms we booked. Mostly German/Russian holidays makers, that did not bother us but the loads of Tunisian freeloaders walking in off the street and drinking and eating like lords did.

We had to PAY for water, any spirit drink, local liquors, mixer drinks, food throught the day from waterpark resturant and beach activities like pedalos and canoes, which all should have been fully inclusive according to the website.

Water slide area extremely dangerous. Loads of kids with plasters and bandages on due to the lethal floor area around the water slides and unsafe slides themselves, plastic not joined in tubes hence ripping your skin when sliding down!!!

Thats is if you could actually get on the slides as the area was packed with Tunisians who has "paid" for the day. (If paying is being given free all inclusive bands at the gate without paying for them!!!). Our rep was a waste of space, although we did have a rep, most people never saw one!!!

He actually said he would move us during out 1st week, which he never did, always an excuse, never did a report we kept asking for either. Could only eat in the one resturant, which was not open as stated. Oh my God, the flies. 1000's of them all over the food in the resturant, lobby, corridoors and rooms and I mean 1000's plus the odd cochroach crawling around the bedroom floor!

Food was basically aimed for the German/Russian holiday makers and Tunisian staff who ate in the same resturant as paying holidays makers at the same time and got special treatment and all the best foods!!!!

No food suitable for children, had to pay for childrens food like burgers, chips, pizza, icecream, pancakes etc. As for the entertainment, well if you want your kids to listen to M&M swearing whilst round the pool then it will be ok for you, when I asked them not to play one track in particular they just laughed and repeated it twice and everyday thereafter!!!

The entertainemnt staff were all local Tunisian youths who were obviously just there to enjoy themselves and not work!

They would climb onto the pavillion at the main pool and jump off into the water with no thought for children or adults who may be swimming underneath, we actually saw German/Russian holiday Reps asking them to stop this, but they didn't.

Everyone complained and nothing was done. We were tolds the Tunisians being waited on hand and foot and eating and drinking whatever they wanted were family and friends!!!!!

Well we were obviously paying for them and not getting what we were entitled to at all without paying. At 11.30pm they would make 2 trays of pizza, bearing in mind the hotel had about 700 guests, but if you went to get any the staff and the friends/family were there wrapping it all up in tin foil leaving none for the holiday makers, when I asked for some I was told no!!!

This was the overall attitude of the hotel management and staff if you weren't related to them then you were a guest in their country and should respect them!!! Honestly this was a very bad hotel and if in Europe it would been closed down due to health and saftey alone.

We did move eventually though not until the later part of the 2nd week when we were told to leave the hotel because we were complaining too much and it was upsetting other holiday makers!

Truth is the other holiday makers were also complaining and the Rep refused to talk to us all and kept hiding in the office with the mangaging director who was his wifes very good friend!!!

A real nightmare, save alot of heartache and book another hotel, these people do not deserve our custom and certainly by the way they treat the holiday makers it is obvious all they want is the money so they can use it to keep thier friends and family in the custom they are getting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine

Mark
11 years 2 months ago
It is a brilliant family holiday. I just got back from Eden club hotel and i thought it was brilliant. The animation team who organise the sports, lesuire and kids activities are the best. The shows at night are excellent.

The comedy shows are hilarious. We were there for 1 week and met another family who were there for 2 weeks and we all had a great time and would go again. The weather is great too.

One bit of advice is that you will get pestered by people to go on camels and boat rides etc which were great too but are extra, they are worth the money and make sure you banter your price down alot and the same goes for the shop on site.

The rooms are ok, nothing special but then again you dont spend much time there.

The swimming pools are good and there is an aqua park open from 10-12pm and also 3-5.30pm and they chutes there are great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Excel Airways

Recommended
Lenka Petrovska
12 years ago
Me and my friends spent a very perfect time here and we want come back next year, because of their animations, food, beach, everything. We had a lot of fun, and we are very enjoy that the animators made us a programme all the time of a day! But we don't know how we could go back in July, because we want go there maybe on 1-2 months and our travel agency have no offer for that.

Our room was clean every day because we have a very kind cleaner she took care of room.

And some words about food, we ate a lot of fish, fruits and so, there was a lot of all food from Tunisia's typical food to European food...

And some critical words - nothing, only a location can be in Sousse or nearest... But for us (3 people) a taxi is cheaper, so we had problems with nothing.

Thanks for all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kartago tour

Recommended
Rachel Hall
13 years ago
Arrived at this hotel and burst into tears. This is the dirtiest, run-down, ramshackle place I have ever had the misfortune to visit.

Was supposed to be a 30th birthday holiday. Stayed at this hell hole for one night then requested to be moved the next day. Could not eat a scrap of food, the "all inclusive" ended at 10pm.

The glasses were all chipped and dirty none of the staff spoke English, and were very arrogant towards us. The entertainment was all in German aswell. Please if you have booked to stay in this hotel - cancel it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial travel

Rachel Hall
13 years ago
Arrived at this hotel and burst into tears. This is the dirtiest, run-down, ramshackle place I have ever had the misfortune to visit.Was supposed to be a 30th birthday holiday. stayed at this hell hole for one night then requested to be moved the next day.could not eat a scrap of food, the "all inclusive" ended at 10pm.The glasses were all chipped and dirty none of the staff spoke English, and were very arrogant towards us. The entertainment was all in German aswell. Please if you have booked to stay in this hotel - cancel it-
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial travel

Katie
13 years 2 months ago
well we arrived at the airport at 7pm, there was no coach or reps to greet all 8 of us. eventually we received a reserve coach. when we got to the hotel at 8.30 we was simple told that there was no rooms and that we would have to sort it out with the rep at 11am the next day. we was told to sleep in reception. i could not sleep because i was scared incase the flies ate me alive. at 4am in the morning they eventually gave us 5 sunbed matresses between 8 of us. the next morning the rep did not turn up at all. i tried to find some english people but could not find any. just germans. i couldnt believe how many flies there was there was millions.eventually at 4pm the rep rang the hotel and said we are transfering to hammamet garden hotel within half an hour. but the transfer coach didnt turn up till 6.30 pm. i am really happy that they didnt have a room for us because the hotel wwe ended up in was fabulous the staff were great, and there were mainly english people there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Lesley Robb
13 years 3 months ago
Well - we are home now - THANK GOODNESS!!! Holiday from Hell would have been good, this was worse. Where do I start? Afer paying 70 pounds for transfers, there were none to meet as at the airport. We had to get two taxis - total cost 5 pounds!!!!

On arrival, after booking a "Room with partial sea view" we looked out onto a building site. Asked manager to be moved and he told us to use our imagination! Were moved and if you sat on the top bunk, you could see a bit of the sea. Rooms were extrememly basic and not that clean. Sheets were changed once. My daughter's single bed was in fact bricks with a mattress on them! Bath/shower was in poor repair.

Dining Hall (poor excuse for a restaurant) was an absolute health hazard. It is infested with flies. Flies are on food being served and due to the fact that there is a complete lack of staff, dirty plates are piled up everywhere. If you want a clean table, I'm afraid it's self service - you clear the
dishes and rubbish onto another table, fight for a space with the flies and hope for the best!

The pool area on first impression seems okay, but my children had their feet cut to shreds. The pool surrounding is in poor state of repair with the
terracota tiles cracked and splintering. I had to take a first aid kit with me to the pool everyday, and there was not a day went by that one of thekids cut their feet/toes.

If you want a sunbed, get up at around 4.30 a.m. This was a disaster! It appears to me that this lot have just got greedy and are taking in guests that they just don't have the facilities for. What sunbeds they did have, many were broken and in fact we saw a little girl stand on one one day and her leg went right through. If it wasn't for the fact there was a towel
on it, the child's leg would have been slashed.

There is a lifeguard - he would be the one that asks guests if they can get him a beer! He sits hidden in a corner hiding either a glass or bottle of beer drinking all day, so if your kids are not good in the pool - don't take your eyes off of them!

The animation team seemed to be doing their best, but are quite intimidating if you don't want to join in, and the general consensus amongst staff are that english speaking people are all miserable. Several comments were made to us about this.

Another party from England arrived and sat in the reception area because they refused to check in after seeing the state of the toilets in reception.
They asked me what I thought of the place, and I told them if they got the chance to change hotels to do so. This is when the two managers were verbally abusive and told me to get back to my room or to get to the pool and not to speak to these people. It got so heated, that one of the male guests I was speaking to, actually stood up and told them that enough was enough. Obviously taking exception to this, they told me to get out of the hotel!!!

My husband, who was with my daughter in our room because she was ill, came and confronted them. A "misunderstanding" was the explanation for the outburst.

My three daughters, myself, my mother and husband have all had really upset stomachs whilst on holiday, and it is not really surprising considering the lack of hygiene.

We really could not take much more at this point and asked to be moved to another hotel. We sat in reception from 9 a.m. til 4 p.m. waiting for Med
Hotels to get back to us. 484 pounds for the privilege of being moved to a hotel of the equivalent rating to the one we had booked, and can I also say we entered into extensive research before we went to get assurances of the quality of this hotel after reading adverse reports. Med Hotels told us that they had been using this hotel for two years and had NO COMPLAINTS.

In fact, we were told by the Med Hotel Rep (who did his level best for us) that in fact that they had been using this hotel since April and that he had had nothing but complaints!! In fact he told us that they were withdrawing from this hotel.

I have to add, that we booked through Holiday City, and even before we went THEY contacted Med Hotels to get reassurance on our behalf on the quality of the hotel and were given the same waffle from Med Hotels about the standards etc. It would be very interesting to know when Med Hotels actually visited this site. We also discovered that when British guests stay in Tunisian hotels, weekly health and safey checks have to be carried out. I can promise you this - had ANY checks been carried out - this place would be condemned!

I would urge you NOT to go to this hotel, and be very wary if you are booking directly with Med Hotels. They are NOT a member of ABTA, so if you have any complaints, watch out, you may have no comeback. We at least have the hope that Holiday City will help us somehow - it's a shame for them having to clean up Med Hotels mess, but then they choose to deal with them. Our holiday has been completely ruined. I spent 2 full monrings, 1 full afternoon and 1 full day sitting in a stinking reception area trying to sort out problems and spent 70 pounds on phone calls. Even now we are back home, I have spent the last two days on my computer writing these reports and writing letters of complaint. Where it will get me I don't know. Don't waste your money or valuable holiday time visiting this apology for a hotel. It was more along the lines of a youth hostel.

On our first visit to Tunisia we were completely put off from ever returning, but after moving to the Houda Beach Hotel, our opinion has been changed.

REAL Tunisian people are friendly and helpful. The animals at the ROMANCE EDEN should be utterly ashamed and are bringing disgrace to their country.


DONT GO!!!!!!

<font color=blue>EDIT: Lesley ... you may wish to take some free professional advice regarding the situation which you endured. Holiday-Truth.com has teamed up with Ros Fernihough, a highly experienced travel law solicitor, to provide the best information and advice available on holiday related problems. If you would like help or assistance with the problems which you have raised, Ros may be contacted directly during office hours on 01922 621114 for free impartial holiday advice.

Holiday-Truth.com does not receive any payment for referrals made to solicitors.

Regards
HT Review Team</font>
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday City

Michelle Hurley
13 years 3 months ago
Ditto to all comments made above by Lesley Robb. The list of complaints could go on and on but basically, Eden is an awful place, could have ruined the holiday for all 8 of us in our group had we not managed to transfer to Sahara Beach hotel(at a ridiculous cost). Glad your holiday improved after moving Lesley! We had a lovely time at our new hotel, can't imagine why others are making complaints about Sahara Beach though?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

David Gardner
13 years 3 months ago
This holiday was our honeymoon.When we arrived the hotel manager tried to give us a room with no sea view and it smelt like it had not been used or aired for quiet some time.After complaining we then got a different room with a bit of sea view.We soon found out the resturant was dirty and did not get the tables cleaned unless you was german and tipped waiter heavily.Trying to get a sunbed was a joke as they all would be taken/reserved by 5-30 am by the germans.Only broken ones left for everyone else.The entertainment was not very good did not start playing bingo until 10pm and they did not call the numbers out in english.The hotel staff were rude towards the english guests.On our last night we asked if we could keep our room a bit longer the following day.The manager told us we could keep it until 3-00pm.At 2-15pm we were talking to some people who had refused to check in when the manager lost it and us to get our things out of the room and go.We kept the room until 3-00pm and had a showre first before giving the room back.All the time we were there our bed sheets were not changed only remade.The good thing about the hoilday was getting on well with some other guests Lesley and Paul Robb and there family.This hotel should be marked as english guests not weclome only germans with a nil star rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Global late deals / Med hotels

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.