Image of Chems El Hana Hotel

Chems El Hana Hotel

10 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
4 stars

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
5 years 6 months ago
I think this may be my last visit to this hotel, not that I may have the option as they are reputed to have serious problems and it may not be open for much longer. If it does survive, and improve considerably, I may return if only for its excellent location.

The good points first. A nice room (831) on 8th floor overlooking the sea, with comfortable beds and a constant supply of hot water. The maid was friendly and the bedding was changed regularly.

All the staff were friendly but there was a general lack of direction from the top down.

Drinks ordered often failed to arrive, cutlery missing in dining room and toilet paper from toilets. Broken lock on wardrobe which was meant to act as safe, door key wouldn't work in first room.

Food limited in choice, particularly deserts, but just about acceptable and soup excellent.

No entertainment though this was to be expected as there were hardly any guests.

The shop in the hotel was closed and empty but workmen appeared there from time to time.

It does pain me to report the problems and I hope they can be fixed but I couldn't in all honesty recommend this hotel at the present time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Webbo
11 years 2 months ago
We were upgraded! at Monastir after spending loads of time researching hotels might as well gone allocation on arriva. Nobody bothered to tell us earlier that Mareba Salem was over booked till we got there, hotel supposed 4 star no way!!

Stuck in the 80s with the repair budget, air con and electrics tripped out every night woke up roasting!!

Food consisted of salad, stews, with poor quality meats and mouldy fruit only good thing lost plenty of weight.

Road outside hotel unpassable that much traffic so no beach unless you are very brave or very stupid!!

Lots of locals use hotel not problem some a bit leery, only saving grace are the staff very helpful freindly at a cost tip tip tip.

So if airtours offer to upgrade you tell em to ******** we walked to royal salem 20 times cleaner and no road which only made us feel worse.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Jimmy
11 years 8 months ago
Excellent hotel

Excellent staff

Amazing location ....

It's a paradise
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aitours

Recommended
12 years ago
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

The cleanliness in the hotel is terrible, bedsheets all stained and towels not clean! All the bathrooms are rusty and hardly any lights in the toilets and to top it all the toilet paper rolls are placed on the floor and even bad smells coming out from the toilet due to poor drainage system. The curtains for sure need to be changed and most of the furniture is broken. The air condition does not work, not even in the reception area.

As regards the food it was terrible, we never eat at the hotel, had to go and eat in restaurants outside the hotel. As regards the staff they were not friendly at all, all bad tempered including the chef and porters!!!!

We also never used the pools and sauna as these were dirty too. This hotel made our holiday a nightmare!!!!!

Overall this hotel has a very good potential due to its facilities and location, but it is stuck in the 80's and since then there was no maintenance at all. For sure it shouldn't be rated as a 4 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air Malta

Char
12 years 1 month ago
Went twice last year and going again this year. LOVED THE PLACE people were friendly rooms were clean everything was no trouble for anyone.

Entertainers were fantastic, they were hilarious and got people involved. They even went clubbing after and chatted to guests. Made great friends with them (Hi Rico and Hamdi see you in August I'll mail you before I'm over, KEEP THAT BEER COLD FOR ME lol)

Nothing else I can say really but I would definitely recommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: excel

Recommended
Nicola Wilson
12 years 6 months ago
The hotel was lovely and clean and the meals were very nice as well.

Nice staff the entertainment was good what more can I say.

I would go back there tomorrow.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: britiana

Recommended
McGarr
13 years ago
We were made very welcome, staff were very attentive and hotel was clean and welcoming. Our chamber maid was very efficient and kept our room immaculate, towels, sheets etc were changed very regularly. So we can not complain about anything in respect of our stay at the EL HANA RESIDENCE.

The area around the hotel was a little daunting at first but the shop keepers were not too bad once you realised the meant you no harm but were just very enthusiastic.

The beach was not too dirty mainly cigarette ends and people seemed to be doing their best to tidy their various areas.

All in all a very enjoyable stay will be returning again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Angela
13 years ago
On arrival our beach view room didn't appear to have been cleaned (bins not emptied, carpet dirty - previous guest's toenails etc) so we asked for room to be cleaned. Cleaner not pleased about having to 'clean' room again.

Eventually we were moved to another cleaner room.
Hard to lie in with noise from hotel corridors.

Food was awful. Buffet style with many unidentifiable dishes of mush. Some other guests seemed intent on stashing supplies of (bruised) fruit leaving none for others. I actually cried at dinner one evening.

Beach cafe attached to hotel did fantastic crepes - which we lived on all week.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. If anybody was travelling to Tunisia I would suggest they try 5*.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Internet Based

Natha Bartolo
13 years 1 month ago
The first time we saw the preview of this hotel on the internet we had a good impression but it was all wrong. The cleanliness of this hotel is total disaster the bathroom accesories are all rusted and full of corrosion, the furniture is broken, the curtains for sure need to be changed by new ones because they are all worn to shreds, and what about the aircondition! do you imagin with this days a 4star hotel with an inoperative AC. What i have to say is how possible this hotel is rated a 4 star !!!!

Some tip if you visit this hotel take some towels with you, you might have to use the same towel for the entire holiday.

(If you would need some facts of what i`m saying i have some images that i`ve taken along the stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airmalta

Laura
13 years 1 month ago
A large group of us visited the Chams el Hana around 4 years ago. We have been back twice, if not 3 times, each year since.

The staff are amazingly friendly and welcoming and the hotel is clean and highly rated. Yes outside the hotel grounds is daunting but again, the people are friendly. They certainly mean no harm or offense, any open minded person would realise that.

I would highly recommend both the hotel complex and sousse itself to anyone.

My only piece of advise would be not to judge the resort until the end of the holiday

A couple of other tips would be to walk along the raod (about 1 mile) towards Port El Kantoui and you will come across and amazing ice-cream parlour. Every flavour under the sun.....hmmmm. There is also a set back bowling alley that will put uk bowling to shame!!

Go and enjoy!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.