Image of Marhaba Club Hotel

Marhaba Club Hotel

2 of 21 hotels in Sousse

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Anne
7 years 5 months ago
Felt very much at home in the Marhaba Club ! Rooms were clean and fresh. Would recommend taking the aircon fob off the key ring and keeping it inserted in the switch which keeps air con on and the room nice and cold,this helped as the temperature was around 38c in the day and 29c at night.
Food was varied, but go to Blackpool if your a fish and chip person. My son loved the freshly made pancakes for breakfast,my husband tried everything and enjoyed it,and I liked the soups and yummy cakes! Fruit was not great, not much flavour, but found nice fresh fruit available at the beach(apricots were yummy!). The hawkers had large baskets of fruit, so you can practise your bartering skills.
Staff were kind and adore children.
As the staff at the hotel have very small wages(10-20 dinar a day/
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Natasha A
8 years 5 months ago
On arrival we was worried at first. Seeing as we was the only people that got off the bus. But as we got to reception the porter Was so friendly. He brought us a free welcome drink and then took our cases up to our room, We then gave a him a pound coin for doing this. As the holiday went on i got particularly close to the animation team and they was always chucking me on the pool or getting up up on stage. I even go thrown in the pool at 12 oclock at night bye one of the animation team called Angel. that nigbt soon went on and i went to the disco with them every night. Simo one of the boys on the animation team was always around me and my little sister who was 4 at the time. The animation team were Amgel,Abdou,Mimo,Joe,Simo,Alex,Midou,Mitch,Dream. they wer all so amazing on that holiday that we kept in touch with them and went back to see them all in december 2008 and are returning to see them in March.
The Entertainment made by these guys was so good and so funny, they made our holiday and it was brilliant. The food in the hotel was abit bland and boring for the english guests as most of the hotel was either German or Russian. But there was alot more nationalities there. from Hugarian to Polish & the Cheq Republic. Any nationality could be found here. So most of the food was just eggs or more eggs!. Did like the round Donuts that they made. I would definatly go back to this hotel. I have been 2 times before and i am returning in march and in the summer months too. By the way i think the sun bed man + the waffle man are amazing. the waffle man thinks everybody is from liverpool or Newcaslte. as for the sunbed man he was just a laugh right the way throught the weeks that we was on this holiday .Thankyou x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Roo
9 years 4 months ago
After a 5 and a half hour delay, eventually arrived at the Marhaba Club, porter took our cases up to the room, room basic, but comfortable and the view was "fantastic" view over the quieter pool,(4 pools on the complex) and view right out over the sea.
Went down to the pool in the Marhaba Beach, but all beds had been took, so went for a swim in the Marhaba Club pool, some how managed to loose my necklaces, the lifeguard saw me looking in the pool, and was soon there asking if all was ok, and thankfully lifeguard did spot chains, and pointed them out to my son, got talking to lifeguard, and he said if we wanted beds saving at the Marhaba Club, he would save us 2 for the next morning, which he did, and that went on for the duration of the holiday, cost was 1 dinar a day for 1 bed, which included a parasol (always gave a tip.)
We found all staff very friendly and polite, the animation team, worked their socks off, from 11.00am till gone midnight, the animation team were Angel, Abdu, Eddie, Seiko, Shady, and Joe, (Joe was the chief animation guy) my 14 year old son, got on fantastically, especially with Angel and Abdu, who would always stop and chat and get son up to do dances and things going on, (I think we all know how wonderful 14year old boys can be hahah)
Do not expect a full English breakfast, but you will not go hungary, the evening meals, were always nice, and the cakes were srumptous, drinks were also very reasonable, 2 dinar for a large bottle of water, (drinks were cheaper outside of hotel)drinks with our meals, were always ice cold.
The location was excellant, very short walk throught the grounds to the beach, which was lovely, but beware of the jelly fish, we both got stung within minutes of being in the sea, but the sting soon goes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
R.Griffiths
10 years 7 months ago
Just returned from Marhaba Club,can only describe as bad holiday.

Not Hotels fault, nothing wrong with hotel, not finished no matter staff lovely, very helpful. Pay for poolside beds, only 1dinar but mounts up when 6 of you over 14days.

Complaints about Thomson's rep to numerous to mention all after 12 days she was moved to another hotel [god help them] This my first complaint in 35 years travelling, we were left on the road in a terrible thunder storm to find our own way, rep never turned up for welcome party, Thomson help line [only if you speak Tunisian] will not use Thomson's again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat Henley
10 years 7 months ago
Lovely hotel, staff not too polite only if money could be seen, food acceptable, animation, questionable. Tunisians very nice if you are prepared to let them marry your daughter in order that they can leave Tunisia "for England"

Was not too keen on the gay strip outside of the hotel where my husband was approached by Tunisian guys on many occasions either with the offer of hashish or, "come home to my family" - police hot on this but seem to turn a blind eye when money is handed over by the Tunisians. Wont go back,sorry! Thompson rep??????who/where was she? Certainly not in or around the hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ifrah Abdi
10 years 8 months ago
Good Location & Excellent Food. Excellent for 3 star hotel. I wish every 3 star hotel was as good as this one.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
Marhaba Club! the board basis was sufficient as breakfast selection was more than adequate and we could buy food at low cost anywhere in the Marhaba complex.

The hotel was clean with maid making beds and washing floors every day.

The foods was superb, anybody still hungry could always return to food bar for more and the chef would actually cook want you wanted if you wanted. No! he did not want a tip!

Hotel location is perfect - shops and phones short walks from the hotel.

Staff at hotel,faultless! Polite, nothing was an effort - even in 45c.

Entertainment - sorry, non existent. Very poor with same old year after year routines churned out nightly. Holiday makers are expected to take part as entertainment when we should be BEING entertained. Entertainment team seem to latch onto us as we bought them a drink one evening but really wanted to "borrow" clothes as they were English.

Of course l would visit again, but older is wiser!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jo
11 years 3 months ago
Upon entering the hotel we were greeted with a 'marbel muriel' which was stunning!

First impresions of the staff were excellent, extremely helpful and kind. The porter showed us to our room, and did expect a tip (but he had carried our cases up 2 flights of stairs in a 32 degree heat!

The room was spacious with an adequate bathroom and modern fixtures. The balcony overlooked the pool and there are also numerous palm trees (thorugh the gap we could see the sea, so in theory we had a sea view which we hadnt paid for.

Maid service was everyday and was extremely efficient. the maid on our floor was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, in fact this applied to all the staff! We left our odd change on the side everyday, no more than 40p and the maid were very gratefull!

On returning after our first day she had brought us a bouquet of flowers and left them in our room. Hotel standards were excellent and the cleanliness around the pools could not be faulted.

We came became good friends with the staff, especially Captain Afife and 'rambo' who were the doorman. they made every effort to speak and this helped them with their english! Captain Afife had left flowers in our room, scattered on the bed sheets which was beautiful!The chef would cook you want you wanted if you asked for it.

There was ample choice on the buffet style food but did get slightly repetitive after the first week! AT breakfast if you request bacon the day before the chef will cook it and have it ready for you the follwing day! There was always fresh bread and water on our table and on the last night they baked a farwell cake for us, which was lovely - however far too big for 9 of us to eat, so we gave it the cleaners!

For a three star hotel, it was excellent and could not have expected a better standard!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Trevor Perks
11 years 5 months ago
Superb as usual - this is our 3rd visit to this hotel since 2002. The hotel has had a bit of a refit, the lobby has been done up, and so have some of the rooms. Reception staff are excellent, as are the restaurant staff. The chef, who was new last year when we were there, has maintained his standards and so the food is excellent with plenty of choice including for kids.

Sam the entertainment mngr is a top bloke. So too is Attar the poolside waiter - make sure you tip him well as he grafts all day for not a lot of wages. Whenever we needed a drink or some grub he magically appeared with a menu.

Typical lunch costs for the 4 of us inc drinks were between TD15 and TD20, so-o-o cheap with the exchange rate of TD2.2 to
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sarah
11 years 6 months ago
The staff at this hotel were excellent, the most friendly and helpful that I have ever met in fact.

My son was given several presents from shopkeepers, as he learnt a couple of words of Arabic, and people seemed to appreciate an 8 yr old trying, even if it was only hello, please and thank you.

The food in the hotel was good especially the pancakes cooked for you at breakfast. The eastern Europeans had no idea about queueing, or waiting, and actually stole a pancake from my sons plate at one point, oh and they are also very very rude, to both the staff and other guests.

The only downside is that you have to pay for sunbeds, which I've never had to do before at any hotels I've stayed at, but its only about 50p a day each so not too bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: