20 independent reviews of the Marhaba Club Hotel
Marhaba Club Hotel
Marhaba Club Hotel Location
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Sousse


4/5
Marhaba Club Hotel Marhaba Club Hotel is rated 4.35 out of 5 from 20 Reviews
90% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (20 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Marhaba Club Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

Anne visited the Marhaba Club Hotel in July 2009
Felt very much at home in the Marhaba Club ! Rooms were clean and fresh. Would recommend taking the aircon fob off the key ring and keeping it inserted in the switch which keeps air con on and the room nice and cold,this helped as the temperature was around 38c in the day and 29c at night.
Food was varied, but go to Blackpool if your a fish and chip person. My son loved the freshly made pancakes for breakfast,my husband tried everything and enjoyed it,and I liked the soups and yummy cakes! Fruit was not great, not much flavour, but found nice fresh fruit available at the beach(apricots were yummy!). The hawkers had large baskets of fruit, so you can practise your bartering skills.
Staff were kind and adore children.
As the staff at the hotel have very small wages(10-20 dinar a day/

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Natasha A visited the Marhaba Club Hotel in July 2008
On arrival we was worried at first. Seeing as we was the only people that got off the bus. But as we got to reception the porter Was so friendly. He brought us a free welcome drink and then took our cases up to our room, We then gave a him a pound coin for doing this. As the holiday went on i got particularly close to the animation team and they was always chucking me on the pool or getting up up on stage. I even go thrown in the pool at 12 oclock at night bye one of the animation team called Angel. that nigbt soon went on and i went to the disco with them every night. Simo one of the boys on the animation team was always around me and my little sister who was 4 ...
at the time. The animation team were Amgel,Abdou,Mimo,Joe,Simo,Alex,Midou,Mitch,Dream. they wer all so amazing on that holiday that we kept in touch with them and went back to see them all in december 2008 and are returning to see them in March.
The Entertainment made by these guys was so good and so funny, they made our holiday and it was brilliant. The food in the hotel was abit bland and boring for the english guests as most of the hotel was either German or Russian. But there was alot more nationalities there. from Hugarian to Polish & the Cheq Republic. Any nationality could be found here. So most of the food was just eggs or more eggs!. Did like the round Donuts that they made. I would definatly go back to this hotel. I have been 2 times before and i am returning in march and in the summer months too. By the way i think the sun bed man + the waffle man are amazing. the waffle man thinks everybody is from liverpool or Newcaslte. as for the sunbed man he was just a laugh right the way throught the weeks that we was on this holiday .Thankyou x

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Roo had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel in August 2007
After a 5 and a half hour delay, eventually arrived at the Marhaba Club, porter took our cases up to the room, room basic, but comfortable and the view was \"fantastic\" view over the quieter pool,(4 pools on the complex) and view right out over the sea.
Went down to the pool in the Marhaba Beach, but all beds had been took, so went for a swim in the Marhaba Club pool, some how managed to loose my necklaces, the lifeguard saw me looking in the pool, and was soon there asking if all was ok, and thankfully lifeguard did spot chains, and pointed them out to my son, got talking to lifeguard, and he said if we wanted beds saving at the Marhaba Club, he would save us 2 for the next morning, which he did, and that went on ...
for the duration of the holiday, cost was 1 dinar a day for 1 bed, which included a parasol (always gave a tip.)
We found all staff very friendly and polite, the animation team, worked their socks off, from 11.00am till gone midnight, the animation team were Angel, Abdu, Eddie, Seiko, Shady, and Joe, (Joe was the chief animation guy) my 14 year old son, got on fantastically, especially with Angel and Abdu, who would always stop and chat and get son up to do dances and things going on, (I think we all know how wonderful 14year old boys can be hahah)
Do not expect a full English breakfast, but you will not go hungary, the evening meals, were always nice, and the cakes were srumptous, drinks were also very reasonable, 2 dinar for a large bottle of water, (drinks were cheaper outside of hotel)drinks with our meals, were always ice cold.
The location was excellant, very short walk throught the grounds to the beach, which was lovely, but beware of the jelly fish, we both got stung within minutes of being in the sea, but the sting soon goes.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

R.Griffiths stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel in May 2006
Just returned from Marhaba Club,can only describe as bad holiday.

Not Hotels fault, nothing wrong with hotel, not finished no matter staff lovely, very helpful. Pay for poolside beds, only 1dinar but mounts up when 6 of you over 14days.

Complaints about Thomson's rep to numerous to mention all after 12 days she was moved to another hotel [god help them] This my first complaint in 35 years travelling, we were left on the road in a terrible thunder storm to find our own way, rep never turned up for welcome party, Thomson help line [only if you speak Tunisian] will not use Thomson's again

Tour Operator: skytours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Pat Henley stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel in May 2006
Lovely hotel, staff not too polite only if money could be seen, food acceptable, animation, questionable. Tunisians very nice if you are prepared to let them marry your daughter in order that they can leave Tunisia \"for England\"

Was not too keen on the gay strip outside of the hotel where my husband was approached by Tunisian guys on many occasions either with the offer of hashish or, \"come home to my family\" - police hot on this but seem to turn a blind eye when money is handed over by the Tunisians. Wont go back,sorry! Thompson rep??????who/where was she? Certainly not in or around the hotel!

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Ifrah Abdi had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse in April 2006
Good Location & Excellent Food. Excellent for 3 star hotel. I wish every 3 star hotel was as good as this one.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jesus Sagaris stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia in April 2006
Marhaba Club! the board basis was sufficient as breakfast selection was more than adequate and we could buy food at low cost anywhere in the Marhaba complex.

The hotel was clean with maid making beds and washing floors every day.

The foods was superb, anybody still hungry could always return to food bar for more and the chef would actually cook want you wanted if you wanted. No! he did not want a tip!

Hotel location is perfect - shops and phones short walks from the hotel.

Staff at hotel,faultless! Polite, nothing was an effort - even in 45c.

Entertainment - sorry, non existent. Very poor with same old year after year routines churned out nightly. Holiday makers are expected to take part as entertainment when we should be BEING entertained. Entertainment team seem to latch onto us as we bought them a ...
drink one evening but really wanted to \"borrow\" clothes as they were English.

Of course l would visit again, but older is wiser!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jo stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel in September 2005
Upon entering the hotel we were greeted with a \'marbel muriel\' which was stunning!

First impresions of the staff were excellent, extremely helpful and kind. The porter showed us to our room, and did expect a tip (but he had carried our cases up 2 flights of stairs in a 32 degree heat!

The room was spacious with an adequate bathroom and modern fixtures. The balcony overlooked the pool and there are also numerous palm trees (thorugh the gap we could see the sea, so in theory we had a sea view which we hadnt paid for.

Maid service was everyday and was extremely efficient. the maid on our floor was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, in fact this applied to all the staff! We left our odd change on the side everyday, no more than 40p ...
and the maid were very gratefull!

On returning after our first day she had brought us a bouquet of flowers and left them in our room. Hotel standards were excellent and the cleanliness around the pools could not be faulted.

We came became good friends with the staff, especially Captain Afife and \'rambo\' who were the doorman. they made every effort to speak and this helped them with their english! Captain Afife had left flowers in our room, scattered on the bed sheets which was beautiful!The chef would cook you want you wanted if you asked for it.

There was ample choice on the buffet style food but did get slightly repetitive after the first week! AT breakfast if you request bacon the day before the chef will cook it and have it ready for you the follwing day! There was always fresh bread and water on our table and on the last night they baked a farwell cake for us, which was lovely - however far too big for 9 of us to eat, so we gave it the cleaners!

For a three star hotel, it was excellent and could not have expected a better standard!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Trevor Perks had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia in July 2005
Superb as usual - this is our 3rd visit to this hotel since 2002. The hotel has had a bit of a refit, the lobby has been done up, and so have some of the rooms. Reception staff are excellent, as are the restaurant staff. The chef, who was new last year when we were there, has maintained his standards and so the food is excellent with plenty of choice including for kids.

Sam the entertainment mngr is a top bloke. So too is Attar the poolside waiter - make sure you tip him well as he grafts all day for not a lot of wages. Whenever we needed a drink or some grub he magically appeared with a menu.

Typical lunch costs for the 4 of us inc drinks were between TD15 and TD20, so-o-o cheap with the exchange rate of TD2.2 to

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sarah visited the Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse in June 2005
The staff at this hotel were excellent, the most friendly and helpful that I have ever met in fact.

My son was given several presents from shopkeepers, as he learnt a couple of words of Arabic, and people seemed to appreciate an 8 yr old trying, even if it was only hello, please and thank you.

The food in the hotel was good especially the pancakes cooked for you at breakfast. The eastern Europeans had no idea about queueing, or waiting, and actually stole a pancake from my sons plate at one point, oh and they are also very very rude, to both the staff and other guests.

The only downside is that you have to pay for sunbeds, which I\'ve never had to do before at any hotels I\'ve stayed at, but its only about 50p a day each so not too bad.

Tour Operator: Thomson's

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

steve stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel in May 2005
We returned back to the Marhaba club for the second time this year staying on a half board basis , our general opinion of this complex is fantastic, and for this season the reception and some of the rooms have all been refurbished to a fantastic standard .

The cleanliness of the hotel was once again spotless, and with two young children with hard to please eating habits we had no problems in finding food for all to suit in the restaurant.

The hotel staff are all prepared to go out of their way to help out in any way, the entertainment is on going through the day and sam the evening manager is second to none. Atta the poolside attendant waiter is always there to tend to your every need in his distinctive straw hat.

A great place ! and yet another great holiday !

Tour Operator: skytours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Francine had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia in August 2004
I was really pleased with our holiday this year, the food was great and the staff couldn\'t do enogh for us. There was pleanty of activities for the children, the entertainment was great and Sam Team did as well as they did last year keeping everyone entertained.
Well done everyone!!!!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Angie stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse in August 2004
I travelled to the Marhaba club in August 04, we found the hotel to be very clean and staff couldn`t do enougth for you. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast and the evening meals. We sunbathed mainly around the old pool during the day as it was quiter and safer for our child. The pool man saved our place throughout our duration, so we didn`t loose our place. We did however pay him 2 dinar`s a day in tips.The entertainment was also very good in the evenings which was held outside around the pool area.
All i can say is this was a great hotel,there was the most beutiful beach I had ever seen in my life and could of stayed longer. We will definetly be returning.

Tour Operator: Skytours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

paul dyer had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia in August 2004
Marhaba Club Sousse. The electricity failed on more than one occasion.

As with Tunisia in general baksheesh (a tip) is expected for everything. You will not get good service unless you tip there and then.

This hotel needs replacing, at least its sewerage system. There is a foul smell in the grounds 24/7.

Both members of my party suffered severe Tunisia tummy despite every precaution. The food is bland and not spicy or tasty or provided in variety as expected for an at least 3/4 stars.

The staff are there to help provided a tip is provided.

Apart from the beach disco, entertainment is traditional hotel and not inspired.

The location of the hotel is fine being slightly outside the busy city centre of Sousse.

Tour Operator: tui
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

paul visited the Marhaba Club Hotel in August 2004
The hotel, although old, was immaculate, the food was superb, the hotel is on the beach front you dont leave the complex to get to the beach so no roads to cross for the kids.

The staff impressed us the most they are friendly and helpful at all times, they could not do enough for my family and I.

Sam the evening compare was out of this world dragging most people on to stage to be humilliated, with limited props his themes and scetches were brilliant well done Sam and co, would I vist again, YES we have just booked for August 2005 see you all there.

paul hindle

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

michelle venables had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia in July 2004
Our 1st time in Tunisia and we were very impressed with the hotel and the food. Could not believe the choice and amout of food especially as I am a very picky eater. Plenty of meat and fresh fish to eat,which they cook while you are waiting. As there are a couple of pools on the complex we chose to sit at the quieter one but there was plenty of activities to do at the main pool for both adults and children. All the staff were friendly and treat you with the highest respect you can hope for. Plenty of grass and palm trees around the complex, giving penty of shade from the hot sun. Our room was a little crowded as they put four single beds in a row where other rooms had twin beds and bunk beds for the children.

Tour Operator: jmc

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sue Harris stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse in June 2004
This hotel is not the newest of the hotels on the complex but it was everything we hoped it would be. The rooms were a nice size (even with an extra bed for my son) and the bathrooms were clean.

The staff were fantastic (they love the English). Our waiter Jean-Paul was really great - he decorated our table with loads of flowers on our last 2 nights. The food was excellent with loads of choice, including local dishes and if you wanted it chips very night too!

The kids club was good (the 2 English girls were great with the kids). The entertainment staff were really great. In fact you couldn\'t fault any of the staff at all (even the cleaners were great, our one gave the kids a toy camel each!).

The drinks were ...
very reasonably priced - 80p for a bottle of Lowenbrau,

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Linda Miller stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia in June 2004
An older hotel, but food, cleanliness, staff and entertainment all make up for the older style.
The pool was very safe for the kids.
You can use the sister hotel next door if you want a brand new pool, but there is not a section cornered off for the kids so I don`t feel that it was that safe, but still very, very nice.
The staff at the hotel were just great, they couldn`t do any more for you.
The ladies ( chambermaids) who cleaned your room left sweeties on the kids pillows every day, ( We thought that was a nice gesture)and kept the place very clean.
We felt that the air conditioning could have been switched on a little earlier, but the seemed to do it just as we were coming home, the 13th June 2004.
There is not enough room to say how ...
good this place was, you have to try it for yourselves.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

rosemary had a holiday at Marhaba Club Hotel in May 2004
this has been the best family holiday we had the entertainment was fab,food lovely with loads of choice.the beach was nice and the people are friendly as well .we found it really cheap came back and booked up for oct 04 .
the hotel was clean the kids club was great it was 2 weeks of bliss.the medina was great for bargains they dont hassle you to much not as bad as in turkey !

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

kathryn stayed at Marhaba Club Hotel in August 2003
This was our first visit to Tunisia , and we wasnt dissapointed ...We walked into the hotel foyer after a long flight and was very pleasantly suprised . Every where was marble and very clean . The hotel staff and very attentive and friendly .
We went for our breakfast the folowing morning and couldnt belelive the amount of choice there was . evening meals where the same and there was always an authetic tunisian meal there for the visitors to try .There was nightly entertainment and for the younger ones an outside disco till 3am .
Tunisia had such an impact on us we booked to go to the same hotel again this year 2004..as soon as we got home .

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share