Image of Sindbad Inn Aparthotel

Sindbad Inn Aparthotel

20 of 21 hotels in Sousse

2 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Andrea
7 years 3 months ago
The hotel was very cheap, so I wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Azur Reizen

Recommended
JD
8 years 2 months ago
The hotel was clean. This is its most redeeming feature, along with hard-working cleaning and entertainment staff, and its ability to bring out a sense of stoicism in travellers who persist with their holiday there. However, it cannot offer clear running water in the first instance. We were very concerned about the brown water coming from taps in our room.
The hotel food was lamentable. We are well-travelled in North Africa and wondered why there was no attempt to cater for the families targeted or present good quality 'plates'. There are only so many mornings that you and your kids can eat hardened crossiants or spaghetti in tomato sauce of an evening. I'm not sure which world cusine delights in carrots for breakfast or a hotplate of crisps for dinner. Anybody know?
We felt duped to learn that the hotel beach was detached from its grounds across a busy dual carriageway and unlandscaped site. Settle for more!

I felt that an update was needed on this hotel. I've just returned from a one week family holiday there and was disappointed. I read numerous reviews beforehand and decided to ignore the most critical, however when there are such better companies to book with and far better hotels to stay in, why spend your hard-earned money staying here, trying to look on the bright side of hard croissants, runny scrambled egg, crisps for dinner and brown water running from the taps? I hold the booking agency and its partner companies responsible for misleading travellers and not initiating change/maintaining standards, never the Tunisian staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcostholidays

AShleigh And Meg
11 years 2 months ago
When we first arrived at the hotel it was 2:00am, and I must say I was not really impressed but when I got up the next morning all was well.

Although the food was horrible, the hotel staff were very funny and made our holiday, the staff by the pool played music and games with the children, and were always coming over and talking to me and my friend.

We did not really see any entertainment as we went down the town of an evening the night life here ain't that great but we find a good club in the sister hotel. I loved it there and will be going back next year to see ever one there! Don't miss us too much!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med hotels

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
I stayed at the Sindbad for 10 nights on a half board basis. I went to the hotel somewhat apprehensive after reading the reports only to find out that I had been worrying over nothing. On arrival I was greeted by the receptionist, after getting through the usual administration, I was taken to my room by the waiter. I was in room 617, which was on the 3rd floor at the end of the corridor.

The room was clean, bright, twin beds, TV (although they charge 20 dinars per week for the remote control), fridge, cooking rings, sink, cupboard for clothes, bathroom with bath, shower, etc. The room was very nice, with a large balcony that overlooked the pool. My only complaint was that the toilet in the bathroom was right up against the wall, so I had to use the toilet sideways.

The pool is a nice size and the children's pool is quite small, but not ridiculously small. There were always staff cleaning the hotel, the pool area was meticulously clean and the rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, with fresh towels, etc everyday.

The food in the restaurant was ok, standard, if you like canteen food then you'll like the hotel food. It wasn't bad, but you can eat so cheaply out and there is a restaurant 100m down the road called Restaurant Magrehbi, that sells good quality cheap food and is open 22 hours per day. I only ate in the hotel 3 times as I was either sleeping or out and about when food was served.

I found all the staff to be friendly and polite. The waiters were very helpful, as were the receptionist and cleaning staff. The hotel reception is not 24 hours, so if you like to go out clubbing, then be prepared to give the main doors a good hard knock as to wake the receptionist, as the doors are locked after about 12am.

There was a bar serving drinks, massage services, currency exchange and pool tables. Also there is a coffee shop outside. The location of the hotel is good because the supermarket is next door that sells everything you forgot to pack in your case and there is a souvenir shop that sells items at decent prices, but still haggle anyway.

The hotel is not suitable for disabled persons because the lift only goes to the 1st floor and then you have to walk down about 30 steps to the ground, so people who have difficulties with steps need to think twice about booking at this hotel.

The hotel is half way between kantaoui and sousse. The location is hammam sousse and you can travel to both of the above towns by taxi or louage in less than 5 minutes, also the tourist noddy train passes the hotel frequently throughout the day.

The beach is a 5-10 minute walk. You have to cross the main road and walk along a dusty track to get to the beach but it's hardly a trek across the sahara. The star pub night club is 200 metres down the road also. The internet cafe is next door and they charge 3 dinar per hour to surf, although the connection is like 56k, very slow, but the great thing is you can smoke in the internet cafe.LOL The Irish pub O'Connors is within walking distance, 7 minutes, if you cut around the back, here you can also eat very good food and relax in a comfortable environment.

I really enjoyed my time at the sindbad. I would visit this hotel again, but to be honest, I extended my holiday for 1 week and moved into sousse centre, because that is where everything is at. But hammam sousse is good, local, real and there is everything you need in this place.

Bear in mind that the sindbad is 3 star, and most of the facilities like spa, etc are available at the sister hotel Golf Residence in Kantaoui.

I don't know what all the fuss is about with this hotel, it's great. But then I don't spend much time in the hotel, maybe if I was all-inclusive and there often I would find it boring, but it was very very clean, as clean as any 5 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Findmeaccom.com

Recommended
Steve Jones
12 years 1 month ago
We have just spent 2 wks in Sinbad and you have to understand that we are a family that do not complain and will work hard to make a holiday work in any circumstance, but the sinbad has really pushed that attitude to the limit.

All the other reports will give a good overall idea of Sinbad. It would seem that the hotel was probably excellent accomodation in the 1970s but has been revamped with gallons of white paint.

We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

T Charles
12 years 1 month ago
What a waste of time and money. I have never been to such a disgusting hotel.

This hotel advertises itself as being a family hotel and it certainly isn't. The staff openly steal things and nothing is done about it! If you are pregnant and planning to go to this hotel "dont" as the staff are not helpful and will not try to accommodate you any way.

The pool in the brochure looks a lot larger than it really is and the childrens pull is as big as the average bath!

The food is very poor.

In fairness if you do end up in this hotel, take as many trip away from the hotel as possible because Tunisia is a beautiful country and people outside of the hotel were lovely. It's just such a sin that a hotel can be so bad!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Michele, Margaret Angharad
12 years 2 months ago
We booked this holiday 6 weeks before hand and it looked fantastic in the brochure.

We arrived late in the evening and the room we were taken to was a disgrace, there was black mould around the shower and I would not like to put into words the state of the toilet. It was at the front of the hotel and the noise was really loud from the busy main road.

We complained immediately and got moved the next day. The new room was ok basic but it had air con and the bathroom was ok. Towels and top sheets were changed every day, but you have to ask to have your bottom sheet changed, but staff were happy to do this for you.

The food was very basic and if you stay for two weeks you will be served the same food the second week. Beakfast was more geared for the German and Polish guests, boiled and scrambled egg every day and you also had the night befores salad, but it was expected for a two star, this hotel is advertised as a two star in the Aspro magazine.

The pool is something to be careful of as it is not very clean, and some of the children had sore eyes from the chlorine You will be charged 1 dinar (approx 50p) a day for a sunbed by the pool, but the pool guy will try to charge you 2 dinar each which can work out quite expensive if you are in a large group, stick to the beach as it's only across the road, but beware the road in front of the hotel is a very busy dual carriageway and you take your life in your hands when crossing, zebra crossings exist but mean nothing to the Tunisian people.

Staff at the hotel were surly and intimidating at times. Loud rap music was played by the pool from 10am until 5pm so if you want a quite relaxing time by the pool you will not get it, we complained relentlessly about the music but the staff did not want to know.

Looking at all the other Hotels in the area the Sinbad was definitely the worse, I would not recommend it to anyone, unless you pay rock bottom prices, it's advertised as a family hotel, but I would look somewhere else, particularly if you have teenage girls in your party as they will be hassled by the pool staff constantly. This really got my daughter down and to a point spoilt her holiday.

There is no kids club and children do get bored, as the only thing for them to do is play on the pool table which the majority of the time was out of order.

The lifts broke down on a regular basis, so if you were on the top floor it was hard work. We took my mother with us and she did not enjoy her time there so over 60's would not be happy with the Sinbad Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Carrie Blakeborough
12 years 2 months ago
We booked this holiday in September last year in the travel agents with this picture in a brochure that made the pool look massive.

The hotel look fantastic and the rooms large airey and clean. Well think again, the pool was tiny and you were charged for sunloungers around it, the hotel was on a very busy road that you had to take your life into your own hands when you crossed, the food was terrible mainly catared for the Germans or Polish when they did try something English it was awful!

As for the rooms, well the day we got there we walked in and straight back out to ask to be moved. They were dirty, tiny but the air conditioning was on and good in our first room when after three days they did move us the air conditioning didn't work it took 4 staff to fix it and that was after arguing with the reception staff and phoning the rep out.

Most of the staff were really really friendly and very helpful all the bar staff/catering staff were great but some of the reception staff were surely and very rude!

The hotel location was great in between Sousse and Port el Kantaoui which were fab places to visit and only cost about 3 dinars (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

ANGIE
12 years 3 months ago
On arrival at the airport.....take a cab 20 dinar/
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Kaz And Kay
12 years 3 months ago
We had no idea who we were travelling with as we booked with Lastminute.com and were promptly chucked off the coach as 'uninsured'when we arrived despite having bought two travel vouchers. Consequently we made our own way to the Sindbad!

The reception staff were the most beligerant I have come across! We tried to get to Tunis for a day by train and it took 3 days to get 'sight' only of the timetable and then when we went to change money on Thursday they had sent the cashier home early leaving us with nothing to spend until Friday morning! The air conditioning was not on (worth remembering that in Tunisia it is apparently not hot enough for air con until July). There is NO satellite TV - we had to hire 18inches of co-axial cable (9 dirams at the beginning of the week and 20 at the end) to receive a very rough copy of News24.

The food was good with nobody being ill, but the cleanliness was absolutely horrific. We spent the first night cleaning our room with antiseptic wipes. The fridge defrosted each time you left the room as the key was used for the electricity supply, although personally I wouldn't have kept any food in it. We had a rusty cooker with one ring that worked and an 18inch pan to boil the water in! Remember to take a clubcard (to use as an electricity key), a plumbers spanner (our taps turned 180 degrees, 18inches of cable and your cleaning kit.

Some of the good points were that we had constant hot water, the weather was brilliant.

All in all though we met some really lovely people and the real hotel staff were friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lastminute.com

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.