Image of Wow Bodrum Resort

Wow Bodrum Resort

9 of 50 hotels in Gumbet

4 out of 5 from 53 reviews
5 stars

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    31
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Yvonne
Great staff, great food choice
5 years ago
The hotel staff were excellent very proactive, and the service was very good. The food was lovely with such a choice, there was always something you could have, everything looked great.

The rooms were a little dated and colour scheme not the best, but it was quite acceptable, and room were clean and beds and towels were changed every day.

There were plenty of different places to eat and drink. The entertainment was pretty average. Location not too bad, dormus right outside the hotel, walking to the Gumbet about 15-20 mins bit steep coming back.

The one thing that did spoil the holiday was our visit to the hairdressers, he displayed no prices, then added this and that, saying hair cut for husband free, by the time he had finished we were up to 425 lira for what he done, we could of had it done cheaper in England, so be aware and get a firm price first.

But we enjoyed our holiday.
Recommended
Margaret Marshall
Would return is the entertainment is improved
5 years ago
Our check in was okay but the receptionist did not give us pool cards or time guide for the restaurants se we had to go back.

Room was basic and the housekeeping was poor we had to keep telephoning as we had not received clean towels a few days our room had not even been cleaned. The fridge only gets re-stocked if all bottles are empty so if you leave a drop of coke in the bottle you do not get a fresh one.

I liked the food and had no complaints it did get a wee bit repetitive but overall it was good.
I agree with another poster that the drinks at the pool bar and windmill bar were watered down as I could not taste the vodka in my drink.

The pool if you were not up by 7am you had no chance of a sun bed, when we were there, there were 700 Turkish people on holiday who were a nightmare, they demanded brollies and the pool guy was sent to get them for them one guy tried to take ours he already had 2 but wanted his feet covered too. At the pool bar if a Turkish person wanted served they demanded to be served before you and the bar guy served them. One English man asked the bar guy if he was invisible I also had to ask why my son was not being served.

I had read great reports about the animation team but unless they have changed this year then I thought they were very poor. The day time games at the pool were great but the night time entertainment for a 5 star hotel was awful. Karaoke as with the sun beds if you were Turkish you got to sing after hearing around 14 Turkish songs to 1 international song we had had enough and moved to another bar as did most.

We complained to the customer relations and did notice a difference the next week. The 12 year to 16 year club was almost non-existent my son got 2 games of water polo and a banana boat ride that was it. The entertainment needs looked at badly. The best night was the beach foam party it was great. I have said that I would visit this hotel again but only if the entertainment gets improved.

If you decide to get your picture taken by the hotel photographer, he is a lovely person and the nicest Turkish person we met and he took some lovely pictures.

Check out times need to be looked at we were out our room 12 noon and did not get picked up until 2.15 am our flight was at 6.45am no courtesy rooms were made available. This is the first time I have not received one.

I do not think this hotel is a 5 star hotel maybe a 4. I hope my report helps you make your decision.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon Smith
5 years 7 months ago
We stayed here half term week and the last week the hotel was open before closing for the season
We had interconnecting rooms on the 1st floor overlooking the beach and sea - Fantastic! Room service everyday, very clean and the mini bar refilled with water, coke and beer.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especialyy "Jimmy" in the restaurant, who would fetch us juice and drinks and generally treat us like royalty. We all took advantage of the excellent all inclusive watersports, even though the weather wasn't brill the sea was warm. Food in the restaruant offered a good selection, though after a week it became a bit repetative. The Italian and the Turkish restaurant on site are excellent and we had no problems with reservations. Not much around the hotel and only 20 turkish lira in a taxi to Bodrum, but to be honest there wasn't much to see and the shopping is dire. We would recommend this hotel, and would return again but earlier in the season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul
Staff couldn’t do enough for us!
5 years 9 months ago
We chose this hotel after reading very good reports about it. It proved to be excellent value for money. Almost all drinks including numerous cocktails were covered (24 hour service). I am a fussy eater but there was not one night when I could not have overfilled my plate. The food is slightly different to Spanish standards but good. Our room was clean, in good condition and comfortable especially the beds (singles). The staff could not do enough for you especially in the restaurants and bars, they would be replacing your drinks before your glasses were fully emptied.

The animation team worked very hard and were very enthusiastic. There was a variety of entertainment with a number of live bands plus some karaoke which was more fun than I expected. The amphitheatre opened the night's entertainment (some cockroaches were seen but not too many). The later entertainment took place outside by the Windmill bar, it was ideal weather for this.

There is a cosmopolitan clientele and they do try to cater for this, but as stated the entertainment was very good. The only negative point was that there were a number of mosquito bites amongst our party. I would be happy to return to this hotel in the future.

Bodrum was well worth visiting, especially the castle and the ruins of the Mausoleum. Gumbet nightlife was geared towards a younger crowd. We went see the Dream Girls show which we thought was overpriced and poor value - we have seen this type of act done better elsewhere.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday due mainly to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brian Walsh
Maybe a 3 star would be about right
5 years 10 months ago
I stayed here with a friend I would not rate the rooms as a 4 star and maybe a 3 star would be about right. Carpets were dirty, my coat hangers had to be cleaned before I could hang my shirts on them and the beds were hard.

If you have been in a 5 star apartment before you will be disappointing. But all the staff were very nice and the food was okay. Getting a sun bed around the pool was impossible- the worst i have experienced.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Keith
Overall this is a very good hotel.
5 years 10 months ago
Overall this is a very good hotel. The staff work very hard to keep you happy and the hotel clean. The main restaurant food is good but it gets a bit repetitive after a while, the theme restaurants and booking system are very good and you should definitely try them.

The animation team work tremendously hard from 10 in the morning till 12 at night to keep you entertained. Lots of games if you want during the day , to getting everyone dancing at night. Rooms are good and the air conditioning is both quiet and effective.

The only negatives are that the next property pier has set itself up as an open air club and so from 3 in the afternoon you often have to put up with thumping base anywhere on the beach and until two in the morning for any room facing the sea.
The hotel did act but only after complaints. Secondly they have a great amphitheatre for the shows but even in peak season it is never more than half full. This is presumably because a few of the shows where an outside act comes in to for acrobatics or to dance are good but 70% is what western Europeans would expect at a ten year olds birthday party for entertainment. Similarly the after show live groups are OK for a local audience but not that great night after night for the English, Belgium and Dutch guests.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
5 years 10 months ago
Arrived mid afternoon after quite an uncomfortable airport transfer of one and a half hours on a coach lacking air conditioning.Never mind, everything just got better from then on. Check in was extremely smooth, we were given a drink and our cases were labelled with our room numbers. We were given directions to our rooms which we found easily. Suitcases were brought within minutes. Rooms were better than I expected, I thought a good size and clean, our room had obviously been freshly painted.
The views from reception, the panoramic lift and the pool area are gorgeous,you can watch the yachts going by in the bay or watch the watersports.
Food everywhere is excellent quality and always fresh. Main buffet restaurant always had show cooking whichconsisted of things like beef wellington, stir frys,fish baked in salt,whole roast chickens etc. Huge range of salads and always a good selection of hot dishes including a grill outside which had either chicken,liver,steak,meatballs or turkey. We used both the Italian restaurant and the Turkish, both of which were excellent,the food in the Italian I would say was the best but Turkish was also good with a very friendly/cheeky atmosphere.
Pool area was very nice with a choice of two bars, the windmill or the pool bar. Again stunning views from the windmill bar and nice and cool in there.
There was the usual darts, water polo.pool games etc and the obligatory club dance but the entertainers weren't pushy at all. There was also either bingo or a quiz at the pool bar every afternoon. Entertainment team were good and I felt went above and beyond because they even organized a trip to Bodrum to a club which our Daughter and her friend went on. Also on a couple of occassions they went out in Gumbet with the entertainers,this was on the hotel bus. I believe a good time was had by all.
Service is excellent particularly in the restaurants,I have to mention Ali in the main buffet restaurant, your glass is never empty,you never have to search for a table, he even provided me with a chair for my handbag!
Another mention must go to Faruk in the windmill bar,one of the quickest,hardest working and most genuine people you would ever meet. Amazing how he remembers everyones drink from one night to the next!
Evening shows were better than any I have seen in Turkey, I think mainly because they had several live bands and you were encouraged to have a dance. The shows in the amphitheatre were more geared towards children with the exception or the Mr and Mrs WOW shows which were quite funny.
All in all, I would say this is one of the best holidays we have had and I would not hesitate to return. I think this hotel was excellent value for money,everything was great quality and all the staff right through the hotel were very proffessional at all times. The beach area was o.k, sand was coarse. Plenty of watersports on offer,canoes were free and my daughter and her friend went on those several times,there was never a wait for anything.
One last thing to mention,the dreaded sunbed situation,well there wasn't one! first week we could get one anytime of the day, second week was school holidays so you needed to be at the pool for about 8.30 to get four together but 8.30 in my view is fine.
Went out several times on the dolmus, Bodrum has a lovely harbour and it's a nice walk around the streets. Market was very claustrophobic and we only stayed about half an hour.I wasn't impressed with Gumbet but it was a pleasant stroll down the beach some afternoons for a change of scenery. When you say you are staying at the Wow, all the restaurant staff say the same thing,"that's the best hotel in Gumbet" so they don't bother persuading you to eat in their restaurant, because why would you when you have everything youcould possibly want at the WOW.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon
5 years 11 months ago
Arrived mid-afternoon after quite an uncomfortable airport transfer of one and a half hours on a coach lacking air conditioning. Never mind, everything just got better from then on. Check in was extremely smooth, we were given a drink and our cases were labelled with our room numbers. We were given directions to our rooms which we found easily. Suitcases were brought within minutes. Rooms were better than I expected I thought a good size and clean, and our room had obviously been freshly painted
.
The views from reception, the panoramic lift and the pool area are gorgeous; you can watch the yachts going by in the bay or watch the water sports.

Food everywhere is excellent quality and always fresh. Main buffet restaurant always had show cooking which consisted of things like beef wellington, stir fry’s, fish baked in salt, whole roast chickens etc. Huge range of salads and always a good selection of hot dishes including a grill outside which had either chicken, liver, steak, meatballs or turkey. We used both the Italian restaurant and the Turkish, both of which were excellent, the food in the Italian I would say was the best but Turkish was also good with a very friendly/cheeky atmosphere.

Pool area was very nice with a choice of two bars, the windmill or the pool bar. Again stunning views from the windmill bar and nice and cool in there.

There was the usual darts, water polo. Pool games etc. and the obligatory club dance but the entertainers weren't pushy at all. There was also either bingo or a quiz at the pool bar every afternoon. Entertainment team were good and I felt went above and beyond because they even organized a trip to Bodrum to a club which our Daughter and her friend went on. Also on a couple of occasions they went out in Gumbet with the entertainers, this was on the hotel bus. I believe a good time was had by all.

Service is excellent particularly in the restaurants, I have to mention Ali in the main buffet restaurant, your glass is never empty, you never have to search for a table, he even provided me with a chair for my handbag!

Another mention must go to Faruk in the windmill bar, one of the quickest, hardest working and most genuine people you would ever meet. Amazing how he remembers everyone’s drink from one night to the next!

Evening shows were better than any I have seen in Turkey, I think mainly because they had several live bands and you were encouraged to have a dance. The shows in the amphitheatre were more geared towards children with the exception or the Mr and Mrs WOW shows which were quite funny.

All in all, I would say this is one of the best holidays we have had and I would not hesitate to return. I think this hotel was excellent value for money, everything was great quality and all the staff right through the hotel were very professional at all times. The beach area was o.k, sand was coarse. Plenty of water sports on offer, canoes were free and my daughter and her friend went on those several times, there was never a wait for anything.

One last thing to mention, the dreaded sunbed situation, well there wasn't one! first week we could get one anytime of the day, second week was school holidays so you needed to be at the pool for about 8.30 to get four together but 8.30 in my view is fine.

Went out several times on the dolmus, Bodrum has a lovely harbour and it's a nice walk around the streets. Market was very claustrophobic and we only stayed about half an hour. I wasn't impressed with Gumbet but it was a pleasant stroll down the beach some afternoons for a change of scenery. When you say you are staying at the Wow, all the restaurant staff say the same thing, that’s the best hotel in Gumbet so they don't bother persuading you to eat in their restaurant
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Frances
6 years ago
The food was varied and plentiful and there were 3 a la carte restraunts.All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean including the pool area.There were a lot of surruonding steep paths and stairs,which could be a problem if you weren`t able bodied,but it had views whichever way you turned.The staff were smart,courteous and couldn`t have been more helpful.The entertainment was a bit hit and miss but everything else,for us far outweighed this slight blot.It was everything we had hoped for and then some!We will definately be going back,I hope in the very near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Katie And Steve
6 years 1 month ago
god what a brill holiday we had ,its got the wow factor, everything was great ,every where so clean and so friendly location brill, plenty to do
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: