65 independent reviews of Calis Beach, Turkey
Calis Beach Location

3/5
Calis Beach is rated 3 out of 5 from 65 Reviews

Calis Beach Hotels

Calis Beach Reviews

3/5


Miss S Wileman visited here on August 2008
The resort is a nice place, i couldnt describe it any other way. There are lots of beautiful places to eat and the sunset is amazing. We did find they charged whatever prices they see fit for drinks, which were very expensive.

The people are welcoming but a little annoying after a day or two.

All in all, not a very good holiday destination!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Alan Saunders visited here on July 2008
The beach is only across the pavement and there are plenty of sunbeds. We found it best to walk to either side of the beach, the sunbeds are free, and they only expect you to buy a drink or two, and you can stay there all day.
The restaurants we ate at were excellent, they were the Sat restaurant at the end of the beach, Georges chinese restaurant, where the turkish food was first class, and the Magri restaurant in Fethiye.
I would recommend a Turkish bath, and the final day trip to Dalyan and the mud baths is a must
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars
Hot Holidays

4/5


Stacey visited here on June 2008
We stayed in Callis beech Turkey and cannot recomend it enough. It is a quiet resort but there are plently of things to do and loads of restaurants and bars.

We ate out most nights and 2 restaurants that we had lovely meals in were Georges and Berk.

If you like to have a relaxing drink by the sea then the Bus Stop music bar is a brilliant opportunity to do this. The staff were brilliant and they also have a roof top terrace restaurant.

We did a last day excursion which was the Dalyan Check out and cannot recomend it enough you get to go and see all different sights including the tombs and you get to go in the ...
mud baths & sulpher pool. The trip included a 3 course lunch, after the trip we went back to a hotel and had access to a private room to shower and get stuff out of our suitcases, We also had tea in the hotel.Then we were taken to the airport which was around 15 minutes away.

We will definately be returning to callis beach.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Nina and Zoe visited here on May 2008
Calis is just busy enough to stop you being bored, but quiet enough so you don\'t feel intimidated! If big clubs are your thing, go to Hisaronu; Calis is peaceful and aimed at adults/families wanting good food and beautiful views.
The Jewellers near the Turkish Delight shop are brilliant, so friendly and with a good selection of Amber.
The strip is loaded with restaurants, the Lighthouse and Bella Mamas were excellent!
The strip/town part is not very big, typical for holiday mementos like keyrings, magnets and all that malarky, but if you barter you can pick up some good bargains! Fethiye is about 15mins by car/dolmus for the more serious shopper!
Calis felt laid back but the shop/restaurant staff were welcoming and took the ...
time to speak to us. All in all, a lovely, peaceful resort offering great food and the chance to get to know some lovely people whilst sipping a (reasonably priced) cocktail and enjoying the beautiful views out over the sea!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Nadia, Hollie, Leylah & Aleee visited here on May 2008
Calis is small but cosy. Everyone was very friendly and welcomed us as if we were their family. You can both relax and have fun here as there is plenty of entertainment. Many of the bars offer special nights, such as belly dancing, break dancing, foam parties. The best bar by far has to be B52, if you dont go there whilst you\'re in Calis then your missing big time!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Jacky visited here on July 2007
Calis Beach is a lovely friendly resort with all the locals very accomadating. The restaurants were very nice especially the Ottoman in the main street. Very friendly staff and a brilliant chef. And you must have an ice cream from the turkish two next to the bridge. The beach is shigle and has a deep drop which is not so good for kids and it also has a ledge under the shore in parts which was very slippery. Be careful. The resort could do with a visit from our Bin Boys as there seems to be lots of rubbish hanging about. Water Taxi is very good value and makes a lovely evening trip. Jeep Safari is ...
a must, especially if there is still a little bit of a kid in you, but be prepared to get very very wet ! Overall a fantastic holiday. Would go back again tomorrow if we had the chance.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


John visited here on July 2007
Although the resort has a good selection of restaurants and is quite quiet there\'s no character about it. It\'s a typical man made resort for tourists. Nothing like the Faliraki\'s of the world so families and couples can go there with no worries. It just lacks character. The people there were great and there were no time share sales people, or touts trying to get you into the clubs. Fetiye and Olu Deniz aren\'t far so try them for a day away.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


pete butler visited here on June 2007
calis beach is fairly quiet with a long shingly beach /fantastic sunsets /reasonable selection of bars /restaurents mainly on the front /loveley breeze on front most of time/fetihye is a loveley 30 min water taxi ride away(approx £1)or a short dolmus ride away/hisaronu or the blue lagoon are easily reached by dolmus or taxi/this is a very nice part of turkey/must visits/// saklikent gorge really cool mountain waters/jeep safari if you dont mind getting wet/if youve a couple of days to spare then a visit to ephesus/and pummukule(cotten castle)is unbelievable if you like history
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


pat & tony cooke visited here on May 2007
my favourite place of all time,so laid back you dont ever want to leave it,the people are so nice and always friendly,nothing is ever a trouble to them,there is plenty to see and do with the main town of fethiye just a short distance away, from fethiye you can travel by local bus to many surrounding places and at very little cost,there are local weekly markets both in calis and fethiye,boat trips from fethiye, we enjoyed an amazing fishing trip with jerry\'s boat trips from fethiye,(and I dont fish ) but jerry is so knowledgeable on many subjects he made the day,and the food his wife produced from the tiny kitchen was amazing.I am not a beach person but for ...
those who are its wise to take some beach shoes as the beach is mostly pebble,but this also I believe is to be made better by the introduction of some imported sand in the future.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Vicky and Jim visited here on July 2006
Calis Beach was great for a relaxing week away from it all.
Busy enough to have plenty to do but quiet enough to have a good rest.
Loads of shops, bars and restaurants - so much so that we didnt have time to return to the Bus Stop restaurant which was fantastic.
Would recommend a visit to Calis Beach
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Louise, Jamie, Linda, Paul visited here on June 2006
Poppy Apartments is a short 5-10 minute walk to the beach or any resteraunts.

Calis beach is slightly stoney and I do recommend that you buy the beach shoes to protect your feet in the sea, they\'re not imperative but they do help!
The sunbeds are very spread out so you\'re not stuck with a family of screaming kids right next to you so you can relax without any small annoyances.
The sea isn\'t rough and is fantastic for snorkelling for all the fish you see there.

The nightlife in Calis is very good, the choice of bars and restaurants are vast.
My personal recommendation is the Bus Stop Bar or upstairs, the Terrace. All the staff are fantastic and the food is exceptional.

One ...
thing you\'ll notice in this part of Turkey are the prices. Everything\'s so cheap! If you need travellers cheques changing or currency then your best bet is to go to the Onur Silver shop not too far down the road on the way to the beach on your left. He\'s a great guy with a little dog called Dusty!

Calis has a great range of trips to go on, my favourite trip of the holiday is the Jeep Safari. Really cheap extra fun day out. Be prepared to get soaked! Great day out for the kids and the adults, archelogical sites for the mum and dad and Yakka trout park for the kids where you can stroke the fish running round the moat in the bar!

The best part of the Jeep Safari is Saklikent Gorge, definately worth a visit, going in the mud baths through the george, it\'s fantastic.

Other trips which we went on which we would strongly recommend are : Horse riding (not suitable for people with a head for heights! It\'s very rugged terrain!) The horses are well cared for and the owners are great.

Dalaman boat trip featuring the use of the mud baths, diamond museum and a trip to Turtle beach with the most fantastic waves! Good chance to spot those Caretta Carettas!

12 Island boat trip featuring many stops in places such as Butterfly island with the most fantasic blue seas.

All the boat trips include a meal and are so cheap. The jeep safari includes a meal also. All the prices on these holidays are fantastic, you will literally be shocked so see how cheap things are.

This is possibly the best holiday I have been on, fabulous places to go and see at next to nothing prices, this holiday is only made better by the fantastic locals who are so friendly and couldn\'t do any more to help you.

The local kebabs are extra tasty too!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Lorraine and Claudia visited here on May 2006
A lovely place to visit and other areas of Turkey are accessible to visit from Calis.

The restaurants are very nice and cosy on the sea front, plenty of entertainment and there was plenty of trips from Calis.

I would recommend a full days boat trip and the jeep safari.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
2 stars

2/5


ron olga visited here on May 2006
A small quiet Turkish resort, the perfect place to chill out lots of local places of great interest close by.

Very cheap trips e.g. boat trips 8 hrs £ 5.50 with lunch total cost.

Tip take ££££ not euros change in local shops. Great rates far better than you uk rates.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


brett&jenny visited here on May 2006
Plenty of lovely places to eat. We never had a bad meal and ate out at different places each evening. In relation to other places we have been in Turkey this resort has lovely people and guess what ........ Very little hassle.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Kirsty & Gordon visited here on April 2006
Calis (pronounced Chalish) is quite a small resort and if you are looking for more than a laze about at the pool or beach you could easily get bored. It took just under an hour to get there from Dalaman airport, but this time will be reduced when they finish the new tunnel around June.

Calis has a lot of street dogs (which have tags on their ears)but don\'t worry - the dogs are all in a programme where they have been vaccinated, wormed, clenaed etc. They are all friendly but will happily walk away if you choose to ignore them. Personally I loved them and was touched at the care and attention the local Calis people give ...
these dogs.

Fethiye is about 15mins from Calis on the dolmus Bus or Boat (about £1) and has more shops, a PADI Scuba Dive centre, numerous boat trips, fishing trips etc. You can also Windsurf in Calis or Paraglide in Olu Deniz.

We hired a Jeep for 3 days and visited Olu Deniz and it\'s lagoon, Kayakoy (Greek ghost town), Butterfly Valley and more. The roads are only for those confident and patient drivers as they are quite rough in places.

Calis offered a variety of bars and restaurants, mainly at the lower end of the budget. The beach is shingle and the water is a beautiful turquoise. The views of the mountains are breathtaking.

I personally thought Calis was great and very suitable for families and elderly (it is very flat). Calis also offers a quiet base for you to explore some of the larger resorts this area of Turkey has to offer.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Tony & Anne visited here on April 2006
If you want all night clubbing, then you\'ve come to the wrong place! If you just want to chill out, have a relaxing holiday with a couple excursions, then Chalis Beach is perfect.

It was the very start of the season, and already the restaurants and bars were in full swing. Nothing too brash or loud, but all the locals quickly become your \'best friends\' as they try to entice you to their particular restaurant or bar. There\'s plenty of typical British food available, (even down to Tesco\'s bacon and sausages - although there\'s no Tesco in the area). There\'s also a full range of international and local food for the more adventurous. The local beer (Efes) ...
is fine and if you search hard, you can find the local Turkish cider, although a bit pricey. Britsh style beers are also available.

On the seafront, Ahmet of Nil\'s restaurant was most helpful. We ate there on a couple of occasions at lunchtime, but we really should have returned for an evening meal. The Sharem (on the corner of the seafront and the main road) was a little more \'up market\' but with excellent food and service. One of the waiters was a \'natural\' with keeping kids entertained.

Joseph\'s bar on the main street became a firm favourite. With cider and Pina Coladas (complete with sparklers) becoming the norm for a couple of evenings, it was a most pleasant bar for relaxation. One of the Joseph\'s (there are two) looks distinctly like David Coulthard!

The Istanbul restaurant was only a couple of doors away. It had good basic food and reasonably priced. For the sad guys, their broadband internet was available for free.

The beach was clean, albeit more shingle than sand. Maybe there was an onshore wind much of the time, but it\'s still the Med!

There\'s a variety of souvenir, clothes and handbag shops to keep the women happy, as well as buggies, quad bikes and jeeps available for hire for the \'boys and toys\' enthusiasts.

We tried to find the local market on Sunday morning, but failed. Make sure you get a local map and directions from your hotel first! As we found at another market during our stay, the market traders are friendly but pushy. Be prepared to haggle, and do not be afraid to walk away - ther\'s always another market stall with the same goods.

Boat excursions are also available, although there may be more selection in the nearby town of Fethiye which was about 20 minutes away by water taxi. At 2.5 YTL, they provide good value, although the local bus (dolmus)is also a good way to get around at 1 YTL per trip. Here, in the old part, you will find more bustle, entertainment and night life compared to Chalis Beach, but we preferred to be away from the action for the most part.

All the locals were most friendly and helpful. Most spoke good English. A good clean resort that will appeal to the British, we felt safe at all times. We will defintely return.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Sheila Tyson visited here on April 2006
The scores I have given may seem as though we didn\'t like Calis but in fact they relate to the fact that this is a fairly small and quiet resort.

I don\'t think it is really suitable for teenagers and is more for couples, older people and young families.

You do get the usual hassle from the shops and restaurants but it is all in very good nature and you can have a wonderful time at the restaurants with the waiters always recognising you and joking.

We didn\'t have a single poor meal as all the restaurants were of a very high standard. Our favourits restaurants were Burk, Nil Bar, Mohabar and Georges but all ...
of them were of a very high standard and prices were extremely good value.

Wait until you arrive in Turkey to change your currency and then change it bit by bit to take advantage of fluctuations.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


dave, barbara, alan and chelsea visited here on April 2006
the resort is great,
the weather was sunny and hot high 30\'s - 40\'s most days
the markets are just great to have a laugh and to pick up a bargain for back home.

the turkish people really pay attention to the children,
which is great to see a smile on there little faces even when its very late.

although if you like swimming wear some shoes as the rocks are very sharp.as we found out.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


steve and julie visited here on March 2006
Great places to eat and drink.

All bar staff etc very nice made lots of friends.

Recommend Nil bar, Bambu, Merhaba bar, Orient express, Annasbar.

Say big hello to Angel at the Nil, best fillet steak at Bambu. Leg of lamb ( Kleftiko )at the Orient Express. Cheap beer at Seril 1 70p pint.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Evans visited here on March 2006
Calis beach.

This early in the season the resort was just starting to awaken from the winter, we had the place to our selfs, just what we wanted.

The Bus into Fethiye is very good, will stop any time any where to pick you up. runs about every 20 mins at a high price of about 50p.

The people are one of the friendly we have meet, nothing is to much trouble.

Tusday market in Fethiye is absolutely vast, plenty of very good bargins. dont be afraid to dicker, but always with a smile and a joke.

Have fun.
we will be back.
Mike & Sherri Evans.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
5/5
Aymes Hotel  stars Aymes Hotel
Only 50 yards from the public beach, Aymes Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a balcony and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has an outdoor pool, a children’s pool and a sun terrace.

Latest Review: Aug 2013

Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

5/5
Camelia ApartHotel  stars Camelia ApartHotel
A family run apart hotel located 500 mt. ( 5 minutes by walking ) to Calis Beach and 400 mt. to aquapark. 12 apartments consist double bedroom , large living room with 2 sofa beds, full equipped kitchen, 2 balconies, WC and shower.

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

5/5
Club E  stars Club E
Club E in Calis Beach, Turkey is situated in a peaceful spot among gardens and with easy access to the nearest beach. The hotel features a swimming pool, garden bar and WiFi access.

Latest Review: May 2010

Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

3/5
Golden Moon Hotel  stars Golden Moon Hotel
Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

5/5
Mutlu Hotel  stars Mutlu Hotel
Address: Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey

Latest Review: May 2011

Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

2/5
Odyssey Residence Suite Hotel  stars Odyssey Residence Suite Hotel
Just 200 yards from Calis Beach, this modernly designed hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool with free beach towels, free Wi-Fi and on-site spa facilities.

Latest Review: Jul 2013

Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

3/5
Orient Resort Hotel & Spa  stars Orient Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Fethiye 48300, Turkey

Latest Review: Apr 2010

Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

5/5
Oykun Hotel  stars Oykun Hotel
Address: 1000 Sokak Calis Beach Fethiye 48300 Turkey

Latest Review: Jun 2012

Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

4/5
Poppy Apartments  stars Poppy Apartments
Close to the centre of the resort and 350m from the beach.

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

4/5
Seril II Hotel  stars Seril II Hotel
Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach
Share