Image of Mirage Hotel & Casino

Mirage Hotel & Casino

22 of 58 hotels in Las Vegas

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
3400 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV, United States

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Good until the end....
2 months ago
The hotel itself was big but very nice. It was obvious that this hotel was one of them that has had alot done to it, but is still part of the older collection of hotels as the carpets and the decor left a lot to be desired for. We actually did talk to someone who worked there and they did say that the carpets are the way that they are because it confuses people to miss the exits and they stay and gamble more - may be a fib!

The hotel was nice. The rooms were very nice, kept very clean, we had a suite and the made was lovely. Point to note in the rooms, do not lift items from the fridge as the mini bars work on pressure points, we took a few things off the shelves and they tried to charge us - very clever but watch out.

We watched a show at the hotel and there is an Italian restaurant there right next to the huge array of sports screens and it was fantastic. The food there is as you would expect in the USA, there is loads of it and most of it is all of a good standard. The Mirage is located towards the end of the strip but is right where you want to be in my opinion. The drinks in the hotel are a little expensive, but lets face it you are in Vegas.

Due to the hotel being so big it is a bit of a mission to get to your room and to the front of the hotel all of the time, but there are plenty of bars along the way in case you get thirsty and need a drink :-)

With regards Vegas itself, it is a must. We went at this time due to a conference being on, but it is fantastic and some parts of the city really do not sleep at all. Very surreal to get up early in the morning and people literally just sitting down for a beer and a game of poker.

I would recommend the Mirage, although it is not one of the newer hotels it is great. The only thing that really was a let down was the fact that the hotel charged us a resort tax per night which added around another £250 to our visit and that kind of left a bad taste in my mouth to be fair. Would love to be here in the summer when the whole thing is rocking and there are animal shows on.

Travelled December 2016
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gilmour
11 years 5 months ago
The Hotel was in a great position on the strip. The dolphin and lion habitat was great and the pool was fantastic.

The downside to the Hotel was the fact we had asked for a non-smoking room and we were a honeymoon couple. They had no non-smoking rooms left but could change our room the next day and they would call us. Anyway, the room stank of stale smoke which was disgusting and you could smell people smoking in the rooms on either side. There was no call from reception the next day to change rooms and they didn't have any so we didn't even bother to unpack our suitcases, the smell got in your clothes. We didn't have a kingsize bed as expected, there were 2 double beds in the room and we squeezed into one of those.

It was too far to go from reception to the lifts as others have said you have to walk through the casino which is a nuisance. At least the bell boy brought our cases up for us. If I went to Vegas again we wouldn't be stopping there. We visited a lot of other hotels to see what they were like and the New York New York stood out to us the most.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gary
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Mirage for three nights over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. Frankly I wish it had just been a Mirage. It was a big let down after having stayed at the Venetian.

Initially we were given a room we had not requested but a quick call to reception and they changed it immediately.
The first room was drab and smelt quite aweful but the second room was ok, overlooking the volcano and strip.

The furnishings were dated and very drab all in a greying brown colour. Quite depressing. As it is supposed to be based on polynesia I would have thought the soft furnishings would have been bright and colourful.

We actually spent more time out of the hotel than we did in as I didn't like it at all in fact I hated this hotel. I also think it was over priced for what we got.
The bathroom was small but adequate and replenished daily with toiletries.

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant at all times and couldnt have been more helpful.

Security was good having to show your key to go into the lifts although the traipse through the casino to reach the lifts was not very nice when the casino was packed. There were two safes in the armoire which I thought was very good.
THe minus point for me was that it felt very compact and claustrophobic.

The buffet was good value although at times the queues were long despite seeing plenty of empty tables. The waiting staff were very cheerful and served us really quickly.

There are plenty of facilities in the hotel but as it was so packed we didnt hang around much. The hotel is in a good position on the strip and handy for visiting other hotels.

I was pleased to move out of this hotel.
I don't think i would ever stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bill
12 years 9 months ago
Great hotel even though its looking a bit dated.
Great room nice and clean cant fault a thing.
Must be the best pool in vegas ... great location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Don Moffat
13 years 5 months ago
We found a lot to like about the Mirage, but there were areas that left a lot to be desired. Check in was a painless experience, though the trudge through the casino to the lifts, then our room, was a bit much. No bell boy, if there were indeed any around, offered to take our cases to our room. On our previous stay in Las Vegas we stayed at the Rio Suites Hotel. There, all cases were taken from us as soon as we got out of our limo. We were given a ticket with a phone extension to ring. We then checked in, went to our room, phoned the extension, and 5 minutes later our bags were brought to our room. Absolutely brilliant. The Mirage should look at this area, and improve their reception procedures, to at least match the procedures at the Rio Suites.

Our room was clean and comfortable, exactly what was required for a visit to Vegas. One major fault was no coffee making facilities. My wife likes a coffee before going to sleep, and before she gets up in the morning, so old gopher me had to go down in the lifts and get her coffee from downstairs, last thing at night and first thing in the morning. Room cleaning was what was expected.

The pool area in the Mirage is very good. Very clean. Plenty of pretty young waitresses to serve us lots of strawberry diquaris. Hope I spelt that right. Only problem there was the sun loungers are so jam packed together there was no room for any parasols. But there was an area that gave good protection from the fierce rays of the sun, a bit away from the pool. Trees and rocks meant you were in the shade for most of the time. The restaurant in the pool area was excellent. Food was very good, and the waitresses very very friendly and helpful. I would give the pool area 4 out of 5 marks.

I just love casinos, the gambling area, so I cannot make any criticism in this field. It was clean, airy, and well ventilated. Staff on duty on the floor were friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant experience, apart from one rather nasty experience I had in one of the hotel gift shops. I carry a small leather bag, which contains any cash I need for the day, and a few other things like my cigarettes and lighter. The bag was a present from my daughter in law, a Czech girl, who's parents own a leather goods factory in the Czech Republic. I entered the gift shop one morning to buy a newspaper. As I was paying for the paper the assistant behind the counter said to me, " and what about the bag. Are you going to pay for it?" I was stunned. I said to her that it was my bag, and that I had had it on me when I entered the shop. She insisted that it was one from the shelf in the shop. Now I was really worried, and I have to admit, quite shaky. I told her how I had aquired the bag, and that it was not one of the shop's bags. I showed her the contents. Her reply to this was a very surly, " well it looks like one of our bags" I then left the shop, but it was not a nice feeling being accused in front of other people of being a thief. I really should have reported the matter to the hotel management, but I did not want to make a fuss, so I let the matter drop.

Other than that, once again, an enjoyable visit to Las Vegas.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dawn Sythe
14 years 11 months ago
Have got to say that this hotel must have changed since we last visited. We arrived and bell boys were actually waiting for us to take our luggage to our rooms so no dragging it all through the casino.

The rooms were fantastic but quite rightly could have done with coffee making facilities as we all like a nice brew in the morning and it would have been nice to have a relaxing one in the room rather than waiting for the buffet.

We have also stayed at the Imperial Palace and have got to say that it was no comparison but the rooms there do have balconys which was nice for a lazy afternoon read!

I honestly dont think there are any bad hotels in Vegas and we plan to go again this year (3rd year running) and stay at Ceasers Palace.

One thing is for sure and that is go and see Siegfried & Roy - AMAZING show and another good one believe it or not was Legends at the Imperial Palace - bit like a glorified Stars in their Eyes but good fun!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Helen
15 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the hotel 29th December 2003 for just over a week, check in was fast and easy.

The lifts are a bit of a trek through the casino from the check in desk, not easy with suitcases. Lifts were in 3 sections dependant on your floor, there were 8 lifts for our set of floors so we never had to wait long. You had to show your room key to security before getting in the lift.

There were vending mchines for pop and sweets and ice machines on each floor.

Room: The room was pretty big, king size bed, tv, phones, desk, table and chairs. Bathroom was compact but clean. Our room faced away from the strip and we had a nice view of some mountains.

Food: We ate at the breakfast buffet twice, masses of choice of food, we got there early both times, queues got very very long otherwise.

As we were jet lagged we tended to eat breakfast very early in the morning at the Caribe Cafe which was open 24 hours. Excellent omlettes and waffles were amazing. Staff very attentive.

Samba Brazilian Restaurant was FANTASTIC, it's all you can eat meat. When seated you are given a wooden stick half red half green, put the green side up when you want serving and the red when you don't. Good food, cocktails and atmosphere. Excellent service.

Room service: We ordered simple burger and chip meals the first night, took a long time(2 hours) and was cold.

The Casino was busy but easy to get round and staff were friendly. The pools looked amazing, be fantastic in summer. The Dolphin Habitat was great fun, the secret garden a waste of money - we say go see the dolphins when the secret garden is shut as its much cheaper. There are several shops in the hotel, expensive foul clothes, Seigfred and Roy souveniers and a sundries type place which wasn't as expensive as some hotels, easy for buying water and pop(cheaper than the vending machines).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

As YOUR Personal Travel Agent I am here at a time to suit you, to look after you & ensure the best holiday / travel experiences for all
One Week Or Two offers a complete personalised travel service with Holidays | Flights | Cruises | Hotels at fantastic prices.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reivews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.