15 independent reviews of the Stratosphere Hotel
Address: 2000 South Las Vegas Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV, United States
Stratosphere Hotel
Stratosphere Hotel Location
Ranked #40 of 46 hotels in Las Vegas


4/5
Stratosphere Hotel Stratosphere Hotel is rated 3.87 out of 5 from 15 Reviews
80% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (15 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Stratosphere Hotel Reviews

3/5
3

mcgregor had a holiday at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas, United States in May 2009
i spent 7 days hear in may the hotel is ok and clean i was on floor 21 the all you can eat breakfast is 15 dollars the pool is on floor 8 i could only stick it for one hour as the rap music on the speakers was very loud but i am 50 the only problem was my wallet was stolen having all our money creit cards in having spent

Tour Operator: teletex
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Peter had a holiday at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas, United States in November 2007
On arrival we were givern our delux upgrade room on the 10th floor. It had a nasty smell with a large red stain on the carpet. We complained about the room but was only able to move after paying for a further upgrade. no one seemed interested in our comfort only our money.
The second room on the 24th floor was nice and comfortable. The hotel in general is very nice and except for the roxy diner the food was good. Top of the world was exelent both food and view.
The waitresses at the bars were attentive and pleasent. the problem was being so far of the main strip, this is the only reason we would stay there again.

Tour Operator: Hotel.com
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

MarkJ HT Mod visited the Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas in September 2007
We stayed at the Stratosphere Towers and Casino in Vegas for seven nights during September 2007. The hotel is at the North side of

Tour Operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Tony stayed at Stratosphere Hotel in April 2007
We flew to Vegas with Virgin Atlantic that was brilliant, Got a limo to the hotel Great, Got to the Stratoshere it was o.k. if you want basic, because believe me it is and that was with upgraded superior rooms.

To be fair it was clean and tidy.The food in the courtyard buffet was probably the worst we had in our six days both breakfast and dinner! Be warned eat in the better hotels pay five bucks more and you will see the difference never mind taste it.

The location is too far from anywhere else take either good trainers or 15 dollers each way for cabs. Staff were o.k. but just as tired looking as the hotel lobby except the pit bosses who looked like extras from the film casino (gangsters). Did not hang around for the entertainment most of ...
it came from the call girls at the bar anyway.

If I ever return to Vegas I will spend the extra and stay in a mid strip hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

pam bellis visited the Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas, United States in March 2007
First time to Vegas.

Was worried that hotel would be too far from strip, however we found it to be ideal for both the strip and fremont street. public transport superb. $2 to travel from one end to the other.

Hotel very clean staff very friendly. Concierge extremely helpful as regards booking a trip to grand canyon. we did the plane helicopter boat and meal trip. Quite expensive, but a once in a lifetime experience. food was a little repetitive, especially buffet style, however plenty of choice, just same choice every day.

Trip up tower well worth a visit. Rides at top superb.

Would stay at this hotel again.

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Ashton stayed at Stratosphere Hotel in May 2006
Stayed at The Stratosphere Hotel, which is located away from the main strip and found it to be a wonderful experience, and although a little way away from the centre of the city, it was no problem, as the local bus system, which is excellent, runs a hop on hop off scenario into the main area.

Incidentally, these buses are all brand new and fully air conditioned, along with which the drivers are all wonderful outgoing characters, and very helpful. You can purchase a day ticket from the driver for $5 that lasts for 24 hours from the time that you get on board.

The Hotel is huge, with plenty of lifts, and is very much geared towards handicapped assistance throughout, and though this did not apply to us, it was very obvious, excellent.

The rooms are large, and cater for non ...
smokers & smokers alike. Large beds which are spotlessly clean, as are the rooms themselves.

Can very definitely recommend the Courtyard Buffet for breakfast.For $10 per person, there is just about anything that you could possibly want no matter what your dietary needs, and as much as you can eat, even down to a typical Brit roast dinner at 6.30 a.m. if that is what you want, and literally anything to suit all ethnic needs. So plenty of variety, and superbly cooked and presented. Very good value.

A bit of a culture shock for the first time visitor when you walk into the hotel, as you are confronted by acres of slot machines and gaming tables, but, everything is signposted and it is easy to find your way into the hotel section and check in. No problem.

It is an absolute must to go up to the top of the tower, the views both at night, and by day are fantastic. This is very popular, and ocassionally you may have to queue for the lifts, but that is not a problem as the system and staff are very efficient. And, if your budget allows, have dinner in the rotating restaurant at the top. A bit pricey but well worth it.

All of the staff throughout the hotel, bars, dining areas & taxi ranks could not be better. And the security staff are all brilliant, who with their presence alone, make you feel most comfortable and not the least bit intimidated by anything.

We were a little apprehensive regarding the dress code for this type of hotel/casino, and were surprised to find that just about anything goes when walking around. We felt comfortable with smart casual for the dining areas, and it is best to fly the flag in these places. Obviously, as with anywhere these days, there was the odd ball who wanted to flaunt the rules and have breakfast or dinner in shorts and flip flops. Not necessarily Brits.

The entertainment within the hotel is absolutely superb, and mainly free. Very Professional so no problems on that front if you did not want to go back down into town that night. If you are a gambler, you can sit by a slot machine and win either a brand new mercedes, or $10,000 a week for life if that is what you want, or you can just have fun playing for low stakes. We came away winning about$20. High rollers!

Also, there is a lovely swimming pool complex on the 8th. floor where you can get drinks etc. and for the fitness fanatics there is a gym alongside the pool, as well as a lovely jacuzzi, and a play area for the youngsters.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone of any age or ability, and is reasonably priced to suit all pockets.

So, with all of the foregoing, it is obvious that you can do as little or as much as you like. The choice is yours.

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

marc herridge stayed at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas in March 2006
We stayed for two nights , after readings reports we were a bit wary of the location but although some of the surrounding areas are not the prettiest in town there were no times when we had any concerns or fears while staying there .

We had all our meals in Luckys and thought they were very reasonably priced and no complaints about the quality.

All the staff we met were fine , we asked for and got a room with a good view.

The room was very clean and well maintained so generally we were very happy with the whole experience and the price was one of the cheapest we saw.

No comment about the entertainment - only used the tower which was great.

I would happily use the stratosphere again and would recomend it for someone who wants a good clean hotel at ...
a very reasonable price.

The only negative comments I can think of is that I do not like the arrangement of having to go through the casino to get in - especially for check-in and the staff trying to sell shows are a bit pushy ... but I think both of those apply most places in Vegas.

Overal a very good stay and i wish we were still there!

Read More

Tour Operator: tradewinds

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

pete visited the Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas in November 2005
Stayed for one week.

Large rooms, had two very comfortable queen size beds in ours. We kept our beds made and didnt leave any mess in our rooms when we went out.

The hotel itself was clean and tidy,there is CCTV everywhere which makes you feel very safe in the long corridors of the hotel.

Lots of different foods to try in the 4+ cafes/restaurants. Go for the buffet meals in the Courtyard or breakfast at Lucky

Tour Operator: ?

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

alan robinson had a holiday at Stratosphere Hotel in July 2005
This visit was part of a four week coach tour from New York to San Fransisco. The Stratosphere was a pleasing break from the tour. The room was very good, clean and spacious, with excellent views over the desert towards the mountains.

Like most American hotels the standard of accommodation is always good. A variety of good eating alternatives in the hotel, again all of good quality.

Location a bit out of the way, but... those boots were made for walking....and the public transport is cheap and the drivers are highly entertaining, and its a great way to meet people.

Entertainment is good, if that\'s your thing...but hey, we are there for the gambling..and the odds are better at The Stratosphere than elsewhere on the main strip. Would certainly use this place again.

Tour Operator: cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

David had a holiday at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas, United States in March 2004
You couldn\'t fault what you get for the price paid.
Food very nice with different restaurants to choose from, prices vary but are reasonable.
Location, is not the best as it is at bottom of strip, but the entertainment and rides within this hotel are fantastic.

Tour Operator: Tradewinds

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Debs had a holiday at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas, United States in February 2004
The room we were given at first was a bit smelly but we phoned and explained the problem and our bags were taken directly to another room. The room was huge and comfortable with fantastic views over the desert towards the mountains.

We ate at the Top of the World restaurant on our first night and the food and service were fantastic.

We also had a meal in the Italian restaurant; be warned the sizes of the meals are out of this world and we were offered a doggy bag to take the rest home!!

We also ate lunch in the diner, they put on a show at certain times of the day, singing songs from the 50's. It was very nice.

The rides at the Top of the Tower are amazing, especially X scream. For all you thrill seekers, this has got ...
to be the best ever!!

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would definitely go back again

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Liz & John had a holiday at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas, United States in October 2003
After a week in Florida we travelled on to Vegas for a few days as part of celebrations for our Pearl Wedding anniversary.

This hotel was absolutely fab. Had a great time there. The view from the top of the tower was amazing.

Would definitely stay again.

Tour Operator: TV Travel Shop

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Julie stayed at Stratosphere Hotel in September 2003
Stayed in this hotel September 2003 with come misgivings due to reports we\'d received. However, the only unfavourable comment that we can come up with is that it is situated just that little bit further out than is ideal - but hey - the buses are frequent and taxis very cheap. And God did give us feet! All in all, for the price we paid, no complaints.

Tour Operator: cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Jane stayed at Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas in September 2003
I found the Stratosphere Hotel exeptionally good value for money. This hotel has many excellent amenities and is well situated if you want to be in the quieter part of a busy/lively location. It is based at the bottom of The Strip but within walking distance of all the other hotels on The Strip.
A cheap taxi fare away will take you to Freemont Street ... the older part of Las Vegas which is well worth the visit for the light shows etc.
The room we had was huge and spotless. I would certainly go back to this hotel!!

Tour Operator: Self organised

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Mark visited the Stratosphere Hotel, Las Vegas in January 2002
Stayed in this hotel Summer 2003. Very clean and good fun for adults, but difficult with kids as everywhere you go has to be through the casino.
However the diner rock and roll restaurant is great fun with entertaining staff and the shops and facilities are good. The rides at the top of the tower are stupendous as are the views over Vegas. We also found it well cheap during the week at around $50 per night for family room. Price sky rockets at weekend.

Tour Operator: Self organised

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars
Share