Tour Operators and Travel Agents

Discussions regarding Tour Operators and Travel Agents
hi, I have always been interested in Travel and all my friends come to me for advice when choosing a holiday. I have been a staff nurse since 1990 but my heart is not really in it now as we are so short staffed and it has become very stressful. Anyway, I decided to do something about it and started doing a home study course - Certificate in Travel (ABTAC). After the course is completed you go on and sit a 3 hour exam(primary level). If you pass this, you can go on and do the Advanced course then go on and sit the Advanced Exam. I passed both papers in the primary course exam (with Merit) which meant I got a mark of between 80 and 89%. I was really surprised to get this mark, but obviously very pleased. I have now finished the Advanced course and am due to sit the Advanced exam on March 8th. What I was wondering was, can anyone can give me advice on how I go about actually getting a job in the Travel Industry. Obviously I don't have any experience of working in a travel Agents yet but feel I do have a lot to offer. I got good marks in my exams so obviously there is not a problem with my geography and the Travel industry in general, but ofcourse I have not had any hands on experience. I have seen courses advertised for 17-24 year olds but nothing for the more mature person wanting to start working in the Travel business. as I said, I feel I do have a lot to offer as I have travelled extensively and am used with working with the general public with my nursing, and before that I always worked in shops. But, I don't really know what to do now? Can anyone advise me on what is the best thing to do. I am 46 years old so the sooner the better I get my foot in the door. Does anyone know of any travel Agents who have taken on people who have done this course. Also, do you think my age would be a problem? Would most agencies prefer to take on younger people and train them from scratch? If a