Image of Blue Bay Hotel

Blue Bay Hotel

3 of 4 hotels in Cala Mayor

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Playa Calamayor, 07015 CALA MAYOR, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Edwina
8 years 4 months ago
my 15 year old daughter and myself went with open minds due to the reviews we read. when we arrived we were told they had overbooked and they would be sending us to another of their hotels for 2 nights and when we returned they would give us a sea view room. was too tired and hot to argue. returned after 2 days at another hotel(which was not worth a mention) did get our sea view room which was clean and comfortable. had air con which was a bonus as the island was on heatwave alert (over 40 deg!!) had a tv but no english channels so had to try and catch up with some of the olympics in german or spanish. the hotels entertainment was run by 1 frenchman (he was lovely and cute) with the occasional bought in evening entertainment so the entertainment not great. the food and drink were plentiful and of good standard, only problem was my daughter is a vegetarian and the options were very poor, luckily she is a teenager so she was happy to live off salad cheese. as the hotel was full you often had to queue for drinks as only 2 staff on the bar at busy times. yes there are a lot of steps everywhere but i didnt mind that as it helped to burn off a few calories. the resort is not a holiday resort but buses are cheap and plentiful. the hotel provided a newspaper daily in english for guests to read . reception staff were very helpful when we asked questions. the bar staff and restaurant staff were a bit curt at times but possibly as they worked from early morning until midnight. oh yes and everything closes at midnight so dont expect parties until the early hours. would return to this hotel, not advised for elderly people and not much to do for younger children, good hotel if you want to get away from spending all your time with english people
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
We booked this holiday as a last minute deal, after reading the reviews I thought, what are we gonna end up with. But on our arrival we were very surprised the staff were very helpful. Our request for a low floor over looking the sea was granted, which I must say as we had read in other reviews which was true the rooms overlooking the sea at the front are much bigger than the rooms at the back of the hotel. We arrived at 10.15am. The staff explained the room would not be ready until 2pm. We had a look around had breakfast at the hotel as we were all inclusive and returned about 11.30am. The hotel staff were brill gave us the key to our room, fantastic views from our balcany, must say the steps to the pool which I think were 87 steps, were abit of a bind but you can us the lift if you want to. This hotel would not suit anyone with walking difficulties,but on saying that there is a free bus service to the beach every hour from the hotel. The towels were changed daily, very clean hotel and as I say the staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was always hot with a wide variety. The snacks were sandwiches, rolls,hot dogs, ice cream and ice lollies which thought was brill for the kiddies. We would defintely stay here again. Well done to all the staff...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
S Jones
8 years 9 months ago
We stayed here for a last minute break from the horrible British winter. When we arrived we were surprised , the rooms were very clean, a little small, but with a great view of the bay. The so called double bed was in fact two tiny single beds with flat pillows but a nice cute balcony and great for what we payed. The food (Breakfast & evening meal) was acceptable, we always found something eatable but very limited and processed, tinned mushrooms, vegetables, Sardines, Turkey and pickles, quite greasy but we didn't expect the Hilton, (drinks from dinner are charged for so beware) Staff appeared nice at first but became a grumpy crew as days went by. There is a giant entertainment room, but it was never used, just nice to sit with drinks in the evening.Pool area was nice, but you had a belly full of steps to reach it . The bad news was the steps issue that you had if you wanted to get to the road or beach, there was actually in the region of 200, it became a real issue after a day or two. The only problems we had came on our last day , we had a late flight and had to check out by 11 so we asked for a room extension which was flat refused due to the Hotel being completely full..(yet the whole pool area and bar was completely empty) around 10 in the morning the water went off and some drilling was taking place..When we asked about it they just blasted us with "Its not just off for you but everyone, we are all in the same boat" It was bizzarr no apology at all. The room walls are incredibly thin and we had to listen to all kinds of recreations through the late hours!! We didn't pay a fortune but did expect some courtesy.. A bit fawlty towers, but you live and learn.
We booked through Thompson and payed extra for a shuttle to and from the airport, the shuttle there was fun because the driver had no clue about where the hotel was, and our return shuttle didn't arrive and the numbers we were given in emergency didn't have the decency to answer our call.. We had to get a cab and pay extra on top of our costs..
Nice view, shame about the place..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
10 years 5 months ago
The rooms at the front offer a fantastic view over the bay. Make sure you don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jane Ellison
10 years 6 months ago
We wanted a cheap holiday and did not have high expectations having read some of the reports here!

However we were pleasantly suprised. The hotel was exceptionally clean and yes the staff were grumpy but they never stopped and some of the guests were quite rude.

The food was average. Plenty of variety but I guess you get what you pay for.I paid just under
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Chris
11 years 3 months ago
My partner and I booked this deal via teletext only 4 days earlier and paid around three hundred each which we didn't think was too bad for 5 nights all incl.

We were both quite disappointed with the holiday for a few reasons, after reading the other reviews our views are very similar.

The hotel staff are very grumpy, we read the other reviews but didn't think much of it but they certainly had an effect on us. We are pretty easy going people but the staff just seemed rude, not making eye contact, grunting when you asked for a drink then basically throwing it at you when you eventually get it.

The hotel itself was clean, apparently re-furbished last year so you would expect that. We expected the hotel to be reasonably quiet coming to the end of season, but infact were surprised to find the hotel completely booked up! with other holiday go'ers like ourselves booking last minute via teletext!! This to our upset caused a problem around the pool in the busy times as we were lined like sardines around the small bath...sorry pool.

Food.....again we didn't expect the works but did expect a variety and thats what we got.....a variety of fried veg, fried fish, fried potato, fried everything...but there was a plentiful supply if needed.

The mar the holiday there was also a spate of thefts from some of the rooms on our floor, but luckily not us. This just added more concern when leaving the hotel room. (although safes are available for around 15 euros).

The last upset we had was the hotels blatant disregard to us on our last day. We booked late return flights so we could enjoy an extra last day. The room checkout is 12noon and we asked for a reasonable extension until 2pm or even 4pm to be flatly refused saying they had a group of Germans coming in!!!!! Which of course went down like a lead baloon.........

One thing going for the Hotel is the views they are very nice overlooking the bay of Callor Mayor but then you would expect that for a hotel 2km above sea level..........

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Donna
11 years 3 months ago
We wanted a cheap holiday in a clean hotel in a pleasant location relatively quiet with options to travel to other resorts and this is precisely what we got. The hotel cleanliness was very good, the views from the front rooms were spectacular, especially when we watched the thunderstorm over the bays!

The food was ok, as mentioned its 3* food so don't expect miracles, but there's something available all day and the restaurant staff were attentive enough. The bar staff were not the most pleasant people, but they do seem to work all the time and you can so sympathise with them as some of the guests are usually less than pleasant as well!

There were hardly any children there and I don't actually recommend it for kids because there is nothing for them to do. In fact there is little in the way of entertainment which actually suited us anyway.

The walk to the main street is in fact 178 steps (we counted them) and so you do think twice about it, but there's a couple of sweet little bays there or the main beach if you fancy a change from the pool. We took a trip to Palma which cost us 1 euro each on the bus and took about 20mins.

As we only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stephen
11 years 4 months ago
My friend Richard and I stayed in the Blue Bay Hotel for 1 week at the beginning of August 2005 on an all inclusive basis.

We were after a holiday which was nice and peaceful in the day, but somewhere that gave us the opportunity to go to a neighbour resort (i.e. Magalluf) at night. And that was exactly what we got.

The Hotel itself is on top of a hill, which wouldn't be recommended if disabled, but if you're fit enough to manage 5 m inutes on a teadmill it's no hard task. Plus there'sa minibus to the beach and back for free organised by the hotel.

The hotel is very clean, the maids either made the bed or changed the sheet everyday with fresh towels.
We were put in a back room facing the mountains, but decided to ask to move to the front from what has been mentioned previously, and it was right. The rooms at the front of the hotel are much bigger.

When going into the room you have to put your key card into a slot to turn on your lights and air conditioning. One trick we found (actually by accident) is that if you lock yourself out, reception will give you another key and not ask for the other one back, so you can keep one key in for your air con all the time. Just don't leave your key in the slot when the maids come, because they'll just take it away again.

The pool is very clean also, and having a separet kids pool is great so you have more peace/space. The staff generally organise a water polo game each day if you're feeling up to it.

The food was ok, and this is where a lot of people complained. It's a three star, and you're going to get three star food. Each day was different however, some food was great, some wasn't, but you're never going to find an all inclusive (even 5 star) where you like absolutely everything.

The hotel staff did seem grumpy, however wouldn't anyone be working all day everyday for minimum wage watching eveyone else have a good time? And don't forget now its all-inclusive there's not much incentive to be all happy all the time because there is no chance to earn tips.

Entertainment was a bit rubbish, they generally played bingo, or got the guests involved. One night was kareoke (not our scene), another was a Mr Universe competition, but its all good fun for those who want to get involved.

Magalluf is about 10 minutes away in a taxi, and cost us about 17 euros in the middle of the night each way. There are buses running until about half eleven for about 2 euros if your going in the day or earlier in the evening.

We'd recommend it for anyone who's looking for a cheap deal but doesn't expect the earth.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul Yendall
11 years 4 months ago
Recently spent a week at the Blue Bay hotel all inc.

The room we had was at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea. The views were stunning, the hotel was very clean the only bad point is that it was at the top of a steep hill not for the faint hearted although there is a free mini bus that took you down the hill to the beach.

Some of the hotel staff could be a bit grumpy but I can't blame them they do seem to work long hours.

The food was alright but don't expect 5* food in a 3* hotel as for the entertainment you could play volley ball in the pool every day if you wanted to.

I would stay in this hotel again just to see the views from are room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alison Bell
11 years 5 months ago
The hotel itself was very clean.

The all inclusive left a lot to be desired. The food was always cold, even when it was being replaced that was cold as well. You could not take a cup of coffee from the restaurant you were stopped. Worst all inclusive we have been to!!

Location was good if you were a donkey, on a very steep hill. To get around the hotel there were lots of steps.

Hotel staff were grumpy!

The entertainment was ok if you were five. They sang the same songs every night and we were there for two weeks. A real disappointment!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: