Image of Sa Caleta Playa Apartments

Sa Caleta Playa Apartments

2 of 3 hotels in Cala Santandria

4 out of 5 from 93 reviews
2 stars
Apartaments Sa Caleta 07760 Ciutadella de Menorca, Spain

93 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    28
  • Very Good
    36
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Martin
7 years 2 months ago
Sa Caleta Playa Apartments where we stayed from the 23rd -30th of October 2009.

We stayed in Apartment No 23, My wife, daughter and Myself.

The main issue with our holiday was the cleanliness of the apartments or I should say the severe lack of Cleanliness. The floors were covered with hair, sand and other debris. Although a broom was provided it was not possible to sweep the floors due to the caked on dust and dirt that was on the broom in the first place.

No cleaning was done by the 'cleaning staff' for the week we were there.

The towels were also far to thin, any thinner you would have to call them tissue paper!

All the local staff did was change towels, add some new sheets and maybe empty the bin. The apartment facilities are also very basic and the entire apartment complex is suffering from a insect infestation. We only ate in the bar area once which was a very unpleasant experience due to the sheer volume of flies, I counted at one point 15 flies on a table with around another 20 on the bar (and that is no exaggeration), this obviously put us off our food and made sure we did not eat there again.

The cost of items in the apartments was also extortionate. I realize that Menorca is an island and therefore everything is imported, but EUR 1.35 for a small packet of crisps is outrageous, also EUR $6 per hour for Internet access from their computers has got to be the most expensive access on the planet!

Our daughter is 12 and there was absolutely nothing for kids of that age whatsoever, not even a movie laid on

We were not able to bring these issues up with the staff on site because we felt we had to spend our time away from the apartments due to the sub standard hygiene and pest issue of which there was no control whatsoever. We also felt it pointless to bring anything up with them as other people complained also and were offered to change for a fee of
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
7 years 3 months ago
after reading reviews i went open minded!location is nice,appartment basic,had to check bed for ants each night thou .cutlery was rusty so never used it.not much to do in sa caleta.went half board at near by blanc palace exc food and service would deffo recommend,saved a fortune on food bill..sheets changed once in 2 weeks had to ask for towels.gave us 1 toilet roll between 5 people!!bar staff were ignorant,reception staff were great.pool was great beach nice but a bit smelly at times.don`t think i`d go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kieran
7 years 3 months ago
2 adults, 8 yr old & 4 mth baby.
Arrived 11pm ish, was greeted in reception with guy who was smothered in a cold and sweating loads, kept having to mop his brow with handkerchief. As we have a 4 mth old baby I asked if there was a cot in the room, he checked his paperwork & told me there wasn't and we couldn't have one til the nxt morn ! I asked what I was supposed to do with the baby and he said he'd have to sleep in the middle of us !! On arrival to our room the entrance under the bottom of the stairs was extremely dirty it looked like it had not been swept for weeks there was even what looked like the remains of a cat poo !! The inside of the roomm was no better, the floors hadn't been swept, it took me an hour to sweep and mop to get at to a reasonable standard. The fridge had rust marks on it and the cutlery was rusty too. Finally got to bed only to discover two holes behind the bed head were sockets had been with live wires visible ! Not much sleep was had that night. The following morning decided to go out to have breakfast as the room wasn't fit to cook in but we couldn't find a single restaurant open, there was absolutely nothing to do. We decided that enough was enough went back to apartments and spoke to the rep about changing resort. The rep was brill and within half hr of enquiring we had alternative accom in cala'n forcat - Talayot aparts
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Tom
7 years 4 months ago
the hotel was basic and very small. it wasnt very clean and the cleaners didnt speak one word of english. The location was boring because nothing was going on. the staff never smiled and there was a lack of them behind the bar. the only good thing about the place was Alberto what a man.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Esther
7 years 4 months ago
My advice is simple: Don't go to Menorca.
It's a dreadfully boring little island with very little to do and even less to see. Save your money for a better holiday location.
If you have already booked, try your best to get a refund.
We stayed in Ca Caleta Playa apartments for 2 weeks.
A big mistake. The boredom at times became unbearable.
The only saving grace was the evening entertainment with Alberto. Hopfully if you immediately contact the Travel Agency, you will be able to get a refund or change destination.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
K
7 years 5 months ago
If we'd looked at the earlier reviews on this site before we left England I am quite sure we'd have stayed at home. However we seemed to have had a much happier experience thankfully!
APARTMENTS: Yes, the apartments are basic but what do you expect for 3 star and how much time do you actually spend in one on holiday? They were roomy and above all clean - the main concern (and the alleged 'ant army' was no where to be seen.
Beds were quite uncomfortable though and could probably do with replacing!
POOL - great for the kids - area clean - HOWEVER the 'bagging' of beds with towels at the crack of dawn (All bagged by Brits I might add and no germans!!) should be banned. Some towels stayed there all day without a body on them. My advice - if after an hour no one has surfaced - don't moan - do something about it yourself and MOVE THEM! No one has a god given right to a sun tan!

LORD NELSON RESTAURANT - the food was probably the same price as pub food at home approx 5 to 10 euro but was excellent. Portions were large and the kid's menu extensive. The staff coudn't do enough for us and we certainly didn't feel they were 'slow'.
The days, my friends, of cheap food and drink abroad is over - so get over it - you'd pay this at home!!
KID'S ACADEMY CLUB - the three reps were great with the kids - believe me my son would not have stayed if it was 'boring'.
However First Choice are a bit naughty here on a couple of counts:
FIRSTLY: there are supposed to be TWO different clubs: Little Stars for 3-5yrs and Superstars for 6-8years. The clubs were not run separately and the the children were mixed together as a group and did the same activities.
SECONDLY: Do not be fooled by the pictures in the brochure into thinking that Angelina, Pingu or Fireman Sam will make an appearance. They don't. Quite why the misleading pictures of them appear on the brochure page I have no idea. Apparently these characters only appear at 'Holiday Villages'.
++++
ALBERTO - this is an entertainer who works six months of the Summer without a day off. He was around all day and into the night entertaining the kids and adults alike with a range of games and quizzes and party dances. His 'Spiderman' 'stunt' in the pool had to be seen to be believed!! He is a true star, a hard, hard worker and the kids adored him.
Alberto was worth the price of the holiday alone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Neil
7 years 5 months ago
I was dreading my visit to the Sa Caleta Apartments as I'd read many poor reviews. I was however pleasantly suprised by the layout and location of the complex. The pools were great the nearby beach was fantastic and the apartment, although basic, was adequate for the 3 of us. The ants were present but not a nuisance. There was an amount of litter around the complex. This wasn't the fault of the hotel, more its guests. Virtually every guest smoked so there was a lot of cigarette ends on the floor.
The only real downside was the entertainment Variations on karaoke and cheesy pop tunes really isn't to my taste. It was generally attended by a few large families enjoying watching their children on stage. Now I would normally just avoid events like this but it was impossible. In order to entertain 30 or 40 people the music and entertainer was delivered at ear spliting volumes, audible from beyond the beach. There is no escape. Forget a quiet or sociable dinner on your balcony/terrace in the evening, forget putting your children to bed before 11pm.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Layla
7 years 5 months ago
Well, I was absolutely terrified of going to these apartments due to the negative comments...

But I was very satisfied with my stay here. Our room designated on arrival - number 17 - was ant ridden. So we requested another room and got put into another, non-ant and fairly clean apartment right by the pool. The apartments are basic, a power-shower and small-ish bedroom.

The location is fantastic. Walk up from the apartments and there is a bus stop. You can catch a bus to Ciudella, which is 1 euro and 35 cents per person and a 5 minute bus ride. In Ciudella there is a Burger King which is perfect from the little 'uns who won't eat the food.

Overall,

this place was lovely.

Beach was sewagey go to a different one.

6/10

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Monty
7 years 6 months ago
Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Bar open till midnight. Room clean, small kitchen but fine for couple. Fridge and freezer section. No tv, what a delight! Shower was a little bit powerful. Overall rating for cost and quality, 5 star!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David Mullally
7 years 6 months ago
I had mixed views throughout this holiday.Our rooms were cleaned once in ten days the half board choice of food and the food itself was disgusting. On the other hand the location was good as we were half way between the main towns so it was only a short bus journey away. The first choice reps were fantastic as they were very helpful when we complained about the food and they eventually got us a full refund. Overall we had a decent stay there but we had a brilliant holiday because we made it good. Big shout out to alberto class guy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: