Image of Marina Pax Hotel

Marina Pax Hotel

4 of 31 hotels in Magaluf

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars
Calle Notario Alemany, 34. Magaluf, Majorca

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Guy
6 years 5 months ago
hi all
just got back from a week stay at the pax.
the hotel has been taken over by a French company so all the entertainment and pool games were conducted in French ,
they have two pools of which the lower one is solely used by the French so we used the upper one !
we found the hotel rooms very clean and any problems we had were sorted straight away ,
the staff were very pleasant and helpful,
the evening entertainment was all in French so we didn't enjoy it but if you are French it was probably great ,
the food was fine , plenty of choice , always well prepared .the beach is a very short walk from the hotel as is all the main bars and restaurants .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Guy
Everything was in French
6 years 6 months ago
Just got back from a week stay at the Marina Pax hotel, the hotel has been taken over by a French company so all the entertainment and pool games were conducted in French.
They have two pools of which the lower one is solely used by the French so we used the upper one.

We found the hotel rooms very clean and any problems we had were sorted straight away, the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The evening entertainment was all in French so we didn't enjoy it but if you are French it was probably great.
The food was fine, plenty of choice, always well prepared. The beach is a very short walk from the hotel as is all the main bars and restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
R Matthews
7 years 3 months ago
Stayed here for 1 week at the end of September and it seems I am the only person to review this hotel in the past year, as my review from last year is the latest before this review.
We thought that the standards had dropped at the Marina Pax, but some of this may have been due to the Hotel trying to keep prices down to attract British tourists who are paying by the week Pound.
The cleanliness around the outside areas has declined and staff rarely wash tables and clear them of empty glasses. I seen half empty plates of food being set on window sills and lying there for hours on end.
The cooked breakfast menu has declined in choice and quality. There was still a good choice of food at the other meals and the snacks where of a good standard.
Some bar staff where rather unfriendly and one Eastern European female bar person treated you like a 3rd world citizen. It was if you where almost begging her for a drink.
Some of the other Marina hotels have been sold since last year and rumors have it that the Pax has been sold to a French company. There shall need to be some improvements before we return, rather sad as we once loved the place
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
MR TURNER
8 years 2 months ago
stayed in the marina pax for 5 days..39&45 and have to say would never go back to this hotel again..main reason which put us off were the Bed Bugs yes matress full of bed bugs slept on top of covers for 5 nights they had even holed through the sheets..complained for a new mattress and told no...we were all inc.and 90% of guests were drunk from 11am till very eairly hours..as if they had never had a drink in the year.(so loud all the time and drunk in lifts in pool and they let there kids from 3yr-15yr do what they wanted no rules (never heard of the word please or thankyou.
we have been to magaluf before and many many hols from 2-5 star..this hotel was a joke ...kids up in top floor rooms alone and in lifts alone..swearing and making all other decent guests holiday hell..good points..hotel apart from bed very clean,food very good,spanish staff good,entertainment was only for the kids..agado blackpool type pap.went out every day and night as it was full of blokes with pots on legs ,arms,and smashed heads,,as theyd drunk so much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Robert Matthews
8 years 2 months ago
Stayed in the Pax early October for 1 week and had a great time. The food was once again very good and all the staff worked very hard and were very pleasant.
The number of guests seemed to be well below the norm, but I think the credit crunch and certain holiday companies going bust resulted in this.
The entertainment was your usual A/I, but we went out to the town most nights. We look forward to returning again next year as this is a great value for money A/I hotel

Big Red
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Smith
8 years 3 months ago
having stayed at this hotel twice before this visit was a complete let down.the food whilst still good is not to the standard it was.whilst some of the staff are lovely others we found were abitary and unco operative.we requested 2 rooms next to each other on a low floor prior to arrival,we were given 2 no where near each other on the 7th floor.this situation was remedied but we were treated with contempt by the reception staff for the remainder of the holiday.
the hotel location is good,quiet but only a 10 minute walk to the strip.there were several all male parties during our stay that were no problem whatsoever.the entertainment daytime and evening was poor.there is nothing for teenaged kids to do apart from swim in the pool and even then they must get past the whistle happy life gaurd who allows nothing in the pool except swimming.during our stay 1 pool table was out of order the other had ripped baise and the ques had no tips.the table tennis bats had no rubber and the archery was for over 16s only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 4 months ago
We've just returned from the Marina Pax.
First impressions were very good..and i must say that it was the same throughout our stay there.
It is in a lovely location, just 2 mins from the beach and quiet if you want but also lively if you want.
The place was very clean and the rooms were basic but cleaned and beds changed and clean towels everyday.
BBC1 and CH4 in the rooms also (a little hime comfort)
The food was lovely with a wide choice and a carvey most nights.
The staff were also nice and pleasant.
We didnt bother with the entertainment much but from what we saw it looked good (apart from 'Crazy Chris' and his annoying 'noises' that he dragged out).

We would definitley visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
The Pax is situated at the quiet end of Magalluf, but you can take a short cut to town if you head across the road and down the steps onto the beach - much quicker that way. You don't hear much noise from the surrounding area and you're about 10-15 mins walk away from the strip.

The hotel rooms were cleaned daily and cleaning staff were very friendly. The general hotel too was always clean and tidy.

The food was excellent. The full english breakfast was the best I've ever had - home or abroad, alongside all the other usual breakfast choices.

There was always ready-made sandwiches and baguettes on offer for lunch, as well as a hot buffet.

Dinner was excellent. Always a carvery choice (half chicken roasted, roast beef, pork and turkey) with Yorkshire Puddings. There was an Italian section to the buffet, plenty of vegetarian options, and also a kids choice buffet; salads, home-made soup, cold meats and cheeses and desserts.

The staff were very friendly, the receptionists were very helpful. The bar staff were great - very quick at serving and we never experienced any queues. Don't expect to practice much Spanish though, they were mainly Polish!

The Entertainers were fantastic. Sally and Chris, both from Leeds were excellent with the kids and adults alike. Will (who must be sick of the other reps telling you he's there on work experience for the summer!!) was great too. Fran and Paulo from Italy were the other two reps. I've never seen an entertainment team work so hard. They run plenty of activities during the day - usually starting at 11am with archery or shooting for adults, and a game for the kids. Then at 12.30 they have another game for kids, and "Marina Games" for adults. 3pm brings them round again with more games. They come round the pools asking everyone if they want to join in, but are never pushy.

Then, in the evening they have a mini disco at 8.30, followed by bingo, and then the show. We saw an excellent Queen tribute act whilst we were there. Fantastic. Other nights it's the entertainers putting on a show - the Disney one is great for kids.

The only negative I can make is that there are some groups of single-sex parties in the Pax. We were in the room next to four lads who were very noisy in returning from their night out at 6am and shouting and running along the corridor. They also had a bb gun which they were firing off their balcony. Prior to that we had a group of noisy girls on our floor who did the same. Having said that I didn't see many groups by the pool, so maybe we were just unlucky that both groups were on our floor! Or perhaps they put all groups on the 6th floor??!

On the whole, this made for one of the best holidays we've had, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone, nor in booking again for another year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Miss I Loved It
8 years 6 months ago
The Hotel was lovely & clean. There was a good selection of buffet style food, enough to suite everyone.

The location of the hotel was brilliant because it was out of all the noise but yet close enough if you wanted to walk down to the strip. The beach is just down some steps which is across the road and there is a ramp too incase you have a pram.

The staff where very friendly, especially to my little boy. The hotel receptionist where very friendly too, as we wanted to change rooms and this wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lisa Marie Riley
9 years 3 months ago
We have stayed in both the Marina Barracuda and the Marina Pax, the Pax is definately the better of the two. The rooms were brilliant, basic but clean and spacious, overlooking the sea. The pool area was clean with plenty of beds. Food was great and allways plenty of choice. The bar was good and staff were very helpfull. For a group of women this is the ideal choice, I have no faults whatsoever with this hotel and good value for money too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: