Image of Sol Antillas Barbados Hotel

Sol Antillas Barbados Hotel

12 of 31 hotels in Magaluf

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
4 stars
Carrer de la Violeta, 1, 07181 Calvià, Spain

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
IAN
6 years 8 months ago
Hotel was very clean and well presented. Staff generally very good and maid service every day clean towels ect. Location was very good at south end of resort which makes it a little quieter except for dogs barking in smallholding on sea view side of hotel. Food was generally good breakfast very good lunch was set menu through week and was not to my wifes taste. All inclusive was discreet with no armbands only VIP card that let staff know your status and once they got to know you they never asked. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Entertainment was a bit Spanish but majority of it was ok. Activities for adults was a bit repetative with shooting and darts being well used.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Debee
8 years 5 months ago
Despite having some concerns after reading previous reviews we did stay at the hotel for one week following a week's cruise.

On arrival we had immediate problems as to whether we were in the Antillas or Barbados building and several discussions with a rather rude receptionist.

In terms of cleaniness I would agree with other reviews that this was to a very good standard and the maids were about the most friendly people in the hotel along with some of the pool attendants.

The dinning room and bar staff were some of the most miserable staff I have ever encountered in a hotel.

The bar prices were ridiculous eg
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Irene
8 years 8 months ago
Stayed at the Sol Antillas for ten nights at the end of April. This hotel is in an excellent location situated beside the beach. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned every day with clean towels, soap, shampoo and shower gel being provided. We found the food to be excellent with plenty of choice and the waiting staff were very cheery. We prefer to go out of an evening so can not comment on the entertainment. We had no difficulty finding a sun lounger as there were hundreds to be had. The bars in Magalluf have kept their drinks prices the same as last years which helps make up for the state of the exchange rate. We are certainly returning to this hotel in the near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
We were stranded at the airport after being let down by our flight operator, having already spent a week in Palma Nova we were facing another week in mallorca. A quick search online by a friend showed a few options of hotels that open during the winters and this was one of the few still open

A quick trip in a taxi and we were in Magaluf (not my choice of holiday location) at the sol Antillas/Barbados.

Fist impressions. It looked like all the other hotels set on the far side of the beach in a quite end of town. Greeted by a bell boy taking our luggage into reception. As this was an enforced break we couldn't afford must and was pleased to be given very good rates by the hotel, their normal rates were a little pricey.

The room was very nice and cleaned every day. The hotel was well presented and kept clean and well maintained. Due to it being out of season the outdoor pools were closed. The indoor pool and spa were open and we used them every day. The food was great with new dishes every night and the bar prices weren't to high. The hotel laid on daytime activities for guests, we didn't take part so cant comment. The evening entertainment was the only thing to let the hotel down, it was bad and I mean pulling you're teeth out bad. I couldn't stand it so went out for a walk

The weather was warm and we had a great enforced 2nd week in Mallorca. The hotel gets a thumbs up from us.

Magaluf was completely closed, it was a ghost town, we pretty much had the place to ourselves. One day we were the only people on the beach for a few hours, it was fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
George Mc Colm
9 years 10 months ago
This was my first visit to the hotel Antillas, although the room we were given was spotless the location was poor we were on the second floor up above the kitchen. We got a daily smell of the days menu especially when the chip pan was on. Except for that it is a very clean and well situated hotel, they have three large terrapins in the pool at the front foyer and my wife discovered they are very fond of chicken!!!!

There are two exits from the hotel to the beach, one via the swimming pool area [the best one] or outside the foyer and down a very steep slope not recommended if you have walking problems.

The cleaning staffs were very friendly and greeted you every morning, unfortunately the dining room staffs were not so friendly, they were very standoffish, that does not include the dining door attendants they were very nice. I was very surprised that they allowed guests in with shorts and sometimes very scruffy trousers on. It did say on the letter in the room long trousers must be worn in the dining room. I think this should be a strict rule.

The food was top notch, beautiful, plenty of choice, the breakfast was delicious, especially the omelette
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed for four nights in the Antillas the Barbados was closed.

We had a lovely room with a side view of the ocean but we were happy with this as we wanted the late afternoon sun.

We found the restaurant to be more like a cafeteria with no tablecovers only paper runners and paper napkins which we found disappointing for a 4 star. The food was okay but uninteresting really,thank goodness they had a microwave.The desserts were excellent though, cannot complain about those.

We found the staff to be helpful,one great plus is you can borrow lovely big beach towels for your stay.

We didnt stay in for the entertainment so cant comment on that.

We would go back if we got a good deal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jamie
10 years 6 months ago
We will try to get back to this hotel next year. It was great for my wee boy with the Flintstones theme and with their being 4 swimming pools with access to the beach.

Our room was cleaned every day by very friendly cleaning staff and all staff in the hotel were very friendly especially the young entertainment staff who could speak all languages, even some Russian, put me to shame.

For us this hotel ticked all the boxes!

Go without fear!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Enid And Malchy
11 years 5 months ago
Went for 2 weeks to Hotel Barbados and throroughly enjoyed it. Been twice before and this just gets better and better.
Food excellent, especially the kids selection. Pools fantastic and beachfront location absolutely ideal. Will surely be returning next year.
Entertainment seems much improved than in recent years.
Hotel staff friendly and corteous at all times.
Fantastic holiday and would recommend this to families especially.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John Thurston
11 years 6 months ago
Think twice before travelling here with children. The kids club was poor for younger children, they lost one of our daughters, luckily auntie found her wandering by the pool. Next day she cut her toe on broken tiles in the children's pool.

Hotel seemed to be popular with stag parties from the UK. After 3 nights of punch ups and noise at 5 am in what was supposed to be a "family hotel in the quiet part of Magaluf" we were very fed up. We called security on a number of occasions as the children were scared by the noise and fighting.

There are better hotels in Majorca and better holiday companies to travel with. Thomson's seem to like changing airlines and times to suit themselves and weren't interested in listening to our complaints.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed in the Antilles/Barbados. The two hotels, despite being a joint operation are very different. We were put in the Antilles. I would say that this isn't really suitable for families, as it was mainly elderly couples during the first week of our fortnight stay. The restaurant is very strict on long trousers for men (not even 3/4 length ones) and no shorts etc. for women. Everyone dresses up for dinner and we felt very conscious of being one of the only families with kids in the restaurant.

However, after being turned away from the Antilles restaurant on the first night with 3/4 length trousers on - nobody told us that we could have eaten in the Barbados which is a very much more relaxed and family-friendly restaurant.

The Barbados is far more suitable for families, and it's here where all the kids clubs and kids evening activities take place.

The animation team are second to none. They looked after our son in the kids clubs and really went out of their way to make him welcome. Can't fault them really!

The pools are excellent, though a bit slippy under foot for toddlers. Warning - you are not allowed to use swim nappies in the kiddies pool. It's either proper swimming costume, or nothing at all! Lifeguard makes you take off swim nappies. Maybe that's just early-season eagerness!!

Food was good - can't say that there was something I particularly liked every evening, but there's always pasta and pizza and chips. Barbados restaurant has a kids buffet - Antilles doesn't.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: