Image of Sol Jamaica Hotel

Sol Jamaica Hotel

10 of 31 hotels in Magaluf

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Av Magalluf, 18, 07182 Magalluf, Spain

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 6 months ago
Stayed here as part of our Annual Lads short break in Magaluf.
Have also stayed in Trinidad, Magaluf Park over the last couple of years.
This is the worst out of the 3, rooms need modernising and no TV's. If you have a choice of Sol hotels pick one of the others, if not it really aint that bad, food is good, facilities ok. Just disappointing when compared to the others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie
11 years 3 months ago
Stayed here for 2 weeks. Kids loved it didn't want to leave hotel their entertainment was brilliant. Very close to beach, would say this was an ideal family holiday. The food was good plenty of selection for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Amanda
11 years 5 months ago
The food was basic and ok, nothing to write home about.The hotel lobby area was clean, the room I was in was a bit dirty, needed a good wall wash.The hotel is located in the centre of everything, the beach is 1 min walk, all the clubs are there, Pirates the show is a walk away as is the water park. Plenty of supermarkets and phone boxes are everywhere as well as ATM's.However the hotel is in a lively resort so be prepared for a bit of shouting and get used to flags being hung over balconys!

The pool are was small but adequate for my purpose, everyone staying there were friendly and the youngsters respected the fact that famillies were there.

The entertainment was fantastic for my 8 year old child, the kids club was every day and she dissapeared with them....at night the crew were great at getting even the most hardened holiday maker to get up and join in.

The hotel staff were ok, pleasant enough.

The hotel IMO needs a paint and update. There is no TV in the rooms and no air con, it's a killer. There are no toiletries left out for you like other Sol hotels. The hotel needs a revamp.

Don't go here if you are looking for a quite relaxing stay, and want to chill out sometimes in your room, the cieling fan is not enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Matt
11 years 5 months ago
Good place to stay for 18-25's who have a bit more cash for a decent hotel and half board accomodation than going self catering in a small appartment. One minute walk to the beech and a few minutes to all the nightlife, but far enough away to get a quiets night sleep once you get in! Food can get a bit boring after a week so ten days is probably enough, which we did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Liz
11 years 5 months ago
Not a good hotel now for familes more like a 18-30 holiday, did not get any sleep for two weeks as rowdy holiday makers parting ghetto blasters all times of night most starting when returning at 3- 4am in morning though security did investigate after many guests complaing on my floor but apparently after speaking to many guests who have retuned and used this hotel this is now a hotel for youngsters on hen/stag parties as its cheap to stay in on the half board basis and so easy now with the low cost airlines to travel to.

Room needed a good revamp shower curtain fell off wall and the ceiling fan has to be heard to be believed, we have stayed in many sol hotels and this must be the worst, again the pool was overtaken by all the crowds off youths so was not a family pool for our 9 year old.

Food for children not very good same thing everynight and ok if yr child likes chicken nuggets!! and chips!! But food overall good choice for adults beach very near but again full of drunks even daytime so not suited to families.

We must sound boring old farts but am in early 40's and went to Aiya Nappa last year and loved it even though lively, just this hotel and resort full of drunken louts not recommended for a family .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Dee
11 years 7 months ago
This Hotel is very clean.

There was a lot of choice in the food and it was always well presented. You were spoilt for choice every day. The Hotel is centrally located which was excellent apart from the noise outside at night.

The Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and the entertainment was better than most Hotels we've stayed at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Robert Burden
12 years 4 months ago
our first impression of a well run and friendly hotel stayed with us to the end.francois of the activity team was excellent with the kids and it was nice for us to have time on our own whilst our ten yr old went off and played and made friends.the food was ok but not enough choice for veggies.maintenance was fast as we had trouble with a door lock but not for long.the hotel is well positioned for the beach and bars and shops and can be a bit noisy but it did not stop us enjoying ourselves and would come back again.the shows in the evening were good and the team work very hard for our enjoyment.the hotel is not far from the airport and is also close to the pirates show and aqua park which we also enjoyed.recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mel
12 years 4 months ago
When I first arrived here all the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is very clean and it is well situated where all the bars and clubs are concerned. BCM nightclub is 5 minutes away and its a 10 minute walk away from the main stretch of bars which is called the hill because all of the bars are on a hill. The beach is 5 minutes away.

The hotel has 3 pools, 1 is for kids which is tiny, then the other 2 are fairly sized but can get too crowded, and it can be a problem with sunbeds if your not up early enough.

The hotel food was ok, breakfast was the usual stuff toast, eggs, sausages, bacon etc.. it's served from 8am till 10am. Lunch was ok as well, I lived on chips most of the week as there wasn't a great deal of choice.

As for hotel entertainment I think I only watched it once because I prefered to go to the pubs and clubs.

I would definitley go back to Sol Jamaica mainly for the location, the hotel was really nice as well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
MIke
12 years 5 months ago
Hard to fault the hotel for food, a good choice of menu, and cleanliness of rooms or the location, just off the beach. The entertainment was pretty poor other than a cabaret each night and mini disco for the kids, however if you like organised activities like archery and shooting each day then you will be happy. The two pools are good too given that one is quite quiet and shady and the other more noisy and crowded.

The only downside is the fact that it seems to attract the 18-25 single groups whose idea of fun is to play rap, bungalow, house and whatever music from their hotel rooms at 450 mega watts regardless of the other guests. The behaviour of some of the other guests is nothing to write home about - saw a fight at breakfast between two 40-50 year old men over a piece of toast and another 50 or so year old get refused entrance at breakfast because he was drunk. Lots of kids whose parents's idea of a holiday was to get legless and leave the kids to their own devices. If you can tolerate that then its not a bad place to use as a base.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Samantha
12 years 6 months ago
this hotel is in the perfect locatio. it is only a short walk from the beach and about a 5min walk to the strip which contains the main bar n clubs in Magaluf. the hotel was lovely and clean and the maids were great we were given clean towels everyday and the beds were made and they kept the appartment really clean. the food was basic but one thing was there was not enough choices for vegitarians it was just basically pasta but apart from that i cant fault it. i cant tell you what the pool is like as i never got near it as everyone reserved there seats round it so if you want a seat there you have to be up extra early especially fi there is alot of English stayin in the hotel as the sunbeds are taken up extra quick that way. but all in all i cant fault the hotel and i would definatly go back again. thanks for a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: