Image of Playa Garden Apartments

Playa Garden Apartments

3 of 17 hotels in Playa de Muro

5 out of 5 from 33 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Alcudia - Arta km 25.9 07408, Spain

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jackie
7 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from a fortnight at this hotel. On first impressions the foyer is very swish; all marble and glass and very 4 star. We stayed in the self catering apartments which are more 3 star! The staff will bend over backwards if they see you wearing an all-inclusive wristband - don't expect the same if you are self-caterng, you are pretty much ignored. Please be aware that if you are planning to stay self-catering then the kitchen area is tiny - about the same size as a caravan - there is no kettle ( we had to hire one!)or toaster or grill. Really poor and needs updating. The bathroom was very dark. The t.v is mainly geared towards the German and Spanish holiday makers so get used to Eurosport and CNN if you are in the apartment! The walls are a bit thin so you have to get used to people sneezing in other apartments! On the plus side we had a good view of the pool from our balcony and the air-conditioning was really good and very quiet.
The hotel is next to the beach which is breathtaking. On more breezy days there does tend to be quite a bit of seaweed around the beach.
The entertainment Xperience team, were amazing. Boundless energy and great with the kids. There were not many English families here but the entertainment crew - especially Jeffrey, Luke, Dagmar, Barry, Craig, David , Iris etc were brilliant at keeping our 14 year old involved : he was almost German by the end of the fortnight!
Would we go back? Absolutely, despite the German preoccupation to grab all of the sunbeds before the crack of dawn!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen
11 years 2 months ago
On arrival I thought we had been dropped off at the wrong apartments. Reception area is marble and glass, absolutely spotless. Greeted warmly with fluent English speaking receptionists, very helpful.

Apartments were sparkling clean, maids six days a week, clean towels and complimentary toiletries as required.

Clean pool areas and many pools to choose from. Family friendly all round.

We used the restaurant on a daily basis, normally you can pay a set price for the evening buffet and eat until you cant fit anymore food in. Varied themes to the food, plenty of vegetarian food available. Service staff are friendly.

Would highly recommend these apartments.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Liz
11 years 4 months ago
Had to post a review after having a fantastic 2 week family holiday at the Playa Garden Apartments! The complex was beautifully clean, with low-rise accommodation (nice and roomy, clean, air-conditioning and balcony).

The pool area was lovely, with a shallow pool area ideal for children, a deeper pool and an even deeper pool. Very well maintained and a lovely place to spend a relaxing time. The grounds are great too, with a well-stocked supermarket (fantastic opening hours, we arrived on resort at 9.30 in the evening but were able to get the basics from the shop).

The entertainment programme at the hotel was excellent. Throughout the day there was a variety of activities for the children and adults, and then in the evening a great mini-disco for the children and show for the whole family. Sarah, Tony, Johanna and Paul and the rest of the team worked so hard during the day and then into the night and were absolutely fantastic.

The children (aged 7 and 4) said they had the best holiday ever. It was certainly our best holiday since we became a family and I would recommend to anyone with small children!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Childs Family
11 years 5 months ago
Just come back from a 2 weeks at Playa Garden and really enjoyed ourselves.

Apartments are of a high quality and we were lucky enough to have a poolside and sea view.

Hotel staff were very good although there were a couple of times when they were slow to pick up smashed glass which is worrying when children are walking around with no shoes!

Entertainment team made our holiday, they were a very professional crew and Sarah should be proud of her team. In particular we liked Sarah, Tony, Paul, Renee, Johanna, Anders and Joest.

We ate at the Buffet most nights and food was very good. Ensure you take advantage of the Happy Hour between 7pm and 8pm and get two bottle of wine for the price of one. One day we ate at the restaurant opposite Bulls Steak House which was poor to say the least.

Sunbeds are a problem ended up setting alarm for earlier than we would do at home to ensure we got up in time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Leach Family
11 years 6 months ago
Just come back from a week's holiday at this hotel. I read the reviews on this page before we went and found them accurate and very useful. There wasn't much for this year though so I thought I'd post a review. Here goes....

The best bits:

The location of the hotel is fabulous being right on the beach. Lovely white sandy beach which was great for sandcastles and similar. 7 Euros to hire 2 beds and shade was a bit pricey though. The pool is big and very well laid out with little bridges and a sloping entrance for the children. Our children (aged 2 & 6mths)loved it, especially playing with the inflatables that are provided and splashing around in the children's mini pool.

The hotel grounds are very well laid out with shaded walkways (which are very pleasant if you spend most of the evening pushing a baby around trying to get him to sleep) and lots of palm trees and flowers.

The entertainment was first class. My hat goes off to Sarah and her team. In particular Tony and Paul and their very British sense of humour. It beats me how they can spend all day entertaining both kids and adults and then, in the evening, run the kid's disco and put on a 2 hour show. What energy ! They were superb and I hope they are paid well. Somebody mentioned that the entertainment was hardly West End. I've done my fair share of package holidays over the last 25 years and this was by far and away the best and most professional ents team that I've come across.

The rooms were very clean and every night there is a team of folk out the cleaning pool area and the gardens.

The not so good bits:

By 8am every morning all the sunbeds were bagged with towels - depsite all the notices asking guests not to do so. It is somthing that really annoys me but the only way to get a place by the pool was to do the same. The hotel mgmt need to sort this out because I'm sure some people just left their towels there all day without ever visiting the pool.

We were half board and the food was OK but not 4 star (
I passed on the green sausages that we had one morning). There was always plenty of choice so we never went hungry but it didn't have that wow factor. Our 2 year old always found something that she liked. The food was definitely geared towards the German/Dutch tourists in the hotel - Salami for breakfast etc.

A lot of the coast line was covered in seaweed when we were there. Found it a bit offputting when you can't see your feet in the sea. Went to C'an Picafort one day and it was even worse there.

Tips:

Make the most of happy hour (2 for 1 between 7pm-8pm and 11pm-12pm) as the prices for drinks in the hotel are quite expensive. (3.5 Euros for a beer, 5 Euros for G & T). Discovered that happy hour also includes bottles of wine !

Be careful if you have a room with a late check out. Our travel agent told us 8pm checkout but the hotel wanted us to leave at 6pm. Didn't know anything about it until the maid turned up to clean our room at 6.15pm. I was stood there in my towel with nothing packed !!

The bus service was good (if a little crowed) and it only cost 1 Euro to go Alcudia or Can Picafort (much nicer than Alcudia).

Take some mossie spray - the resort is next to a nature reserve and we did have a few bites.

Summary:

Playa Gardens is an ideal hotel for families or people looking for a quiet holiday. If you want lots of restaurants, shops and discos then this isn't the place for you. I would definitely go back especially if I knew that Sarah and Paul were going to be entertaining the guests next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Loudies
11 years 6 months ago
We travelled to Playa Gardens in June 2005. These apartments are of extremely high standard and are spotless throughout.

The staff were very friendly although I have to admit the food was a bit pricey and not great. However the nearby Muro Underground restaurant is a must.

It is an excellent resort and although has all the basics isn't buzzing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Laley
11 years 7 months ago
Well what can I say ? I really enjoyed my holiday at the Playa Gardens and didn't want to come home.

The pool is beautiful ! The building itself is stunning ! When you lay by the pool, you feel as though you are in paradise !

I'd like to pay particular attention to the food and the entertainment. Firstly the Mexican themed buffet night is a definate hit with me ! Infact all the buffet food that I ate at the Playa Gardens was really nice and so was the price!

The entertainment team are unbelivable !!!! I don't know how the keep going ? They organise activities all day (water volleyball, rifle shooting, cake & tea by the pool, sandcastle competitions for the kids) the list is endless ! And then when you think that they couldn't possibly have anymore energy..... they put on a brilliant performance in the evening ! (when do they find time to practise?!)

I would strongly recomend this place for families. My own daughter was in her element all week ! The kids club is very good too.

If I had to find something to moan about, then it would be the air conditioning. When we were there they seemed to be having problems with it.

I only wish that we had gone for 2 weeks, instead of 1 week. We will be going back soon !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Craig
12 years 3 months ago
Just got back and felt I had to add a report as we had such a great time.

First of all the hotel. Spotless, from the reception to your room, the gym to the pool. The gardens around the hotel were superb like someone said 'just like the brochure. All the hotel staff were really helpful and always had a smile and said hello, even the gardeners.

The location was excellent, literally a 30 second walk from the pool to the beach! It is situated at the quieter end of Alcudia, just a pity there wasn't 3 or 4 more restaurants around. We went into Alcudia but we were really pleased that we stayed where we did.

The food in the restaurant and snack bar was ok, not the best I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Suzy
12 years 4 months ago
Have just got back from a week at Playa Gardens and wanted to add a review after reading others before I went.

I'll start with the good points.

The apartments are great, people have said the kitchen area is too small, what d'you expect!! It was more than adequate with toaster, kettle, fridge and microwave. Also air con was very much appreciated in the heat.

The pool was very clean and safe, every evening it was cleaned (someone said it wasn't!)

The area is quiet but we wanted that. It is easy to hop on a bus to Can Picafort and Alcudia (1Euro) although we didn't stop at Alcudia as it looked horrible, just like Blackpool which is fine if you want that...we didn't so stayed on a couple more minutes and went to Alcudia old town with real Spanish charm and lovely restaurants which were just as cheap as anywhere else.

The bad points..............

Most people have said to try the buffet, WHY? It wasn't cheap as for the price of one adults meal you could eat and drink for four people elsewhere! Also, it is outside and as Playa de Muro is situated in a national park there are loads of flies about which were all over the food...
Then there was the 'entertainment' HA!HA! Some people said it was like a westend show, well I thought they meant in London not Bognor!

Then there was the soccer school which I won't go on about but would NOT recommend after a series of cockups.

All in all though would def recommend it as it is a lovely, clean apartment block with peace if you want it, Alcudia if you want a wild night out, Can Picafort for a quieter night and the gorgeous old town if ,like us, you go to Spain to experience Spain (and not Blackpool at 34 degrees!!)!!

Enjoy!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mcneill
12 years 4 months ago
Had a brill time plenty to do for the children, food was okay wanted to be more centrel alcudia but after staying here i dont think we will go back to centrel alcudia. hotel staff were very helpfull and the entertainment was the best we have seen and we are going back for two weeks next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: