Image of Monte Verde Hotel

Monte Verde Hotel

3 of 3 hotels in Porto Cristo

2 out of 5 from 13 reviews
2 stars
Cuevas del Drach, Carretera Portocristo-portocristo Novo, S/N, 07680, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brenda
9 years 3 months ago
the rooms were very dirty bathroom was the worse the toilet was not connected to the floor properly and there was cockroaches which we took one to the manager who was very unhelpful didnt want to no.
the pool area was dirty with lots of broken furniture.
the food was horrible we didnt no what we were eating as there was no signs to say what the food was.
the staff were so unhelpfull all they said was dont speak english.
there was no entertainment at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
B And C
10 years 5 months ago
Please steer clear of this place if you value your health,it should be condemned.

There is no air conditioning or fridge in any of the rooms. The towels were changed once in a week the sheets not at all and I had to go buy toilet roll because the maids never renewed it.

The French barman was a treasure, if he liked you he undercharged you if he did not he overcharged you, he told you he did not speak English yet if it was a young lady he could miraculously summon up a command of the English lingo.

The food was disgraceful you could use it as weapon for mass poisoning. The plates are left soaking wet, you have to dry them off yourself, the unused ones are left for morning, therefore these plates are left swimming in water over night in temperatures of eighty and ninety degrees, bacteria minefield.

Locals we spoke to said this hotel has not improved in years and I have found out since returning home it was featured on both watchdog and holidays from hell please do not go to this place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sharon & Allison
10 years 6 months ago
We went here as a last minute deal so were not expecting the Ritz!! however what we were expecting was at least a clean place with decent food.

The rooms were NOT cleaned every day the linen wasn't changed once in the week we were there, towels only changed once.

The pool was never cleaned & around the pool was full of dirty cups over filling ashtrays (disgusting) only ever saw it cleaned once in the week.

Staff were very rude & unhelpful they didn't want to know.

The food was a disgrace the restaurant more like a hospital canteen was filthy plates were not cleaned properly or dried. The food was not really edible there was no choice for kids not even chips. One night it was chicken & the next pork chops this went on all week!!!

The resort itself it very quiet but lovely there is a burger king!! A must when you are starving. Beware though the whole place closes at 8pm there is nowhere to go for entertainment etc. If you have babies small children etc take nappies, food, milk with you because you can't buy it, don't listen to anyone about this my son ended up in hospital with dehydration & gastro due to the lack of fluids as I couldn't buy milk or diluting juice he was one & half at the time. Also if you are a smoker then take them with you there is only one shop in the whole resort that sells them & it doesn't open all the time. Plus everything closes for all day on a Sunday.

All in all we had a relaxing holiday as there was nothing to do!! We made our own entertainment with other holiday makers.

I would never go back here or recommend it to future holiday makers, Also I have discovered recently this hotel was featured on holidays from hell twice, if that doesn't put you off nothing will.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Simmons
11 years 4 months ago
We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Monteverde Hotel and must admit we were pleasantly surprised. After reading the reviews we were expecting the worst but on arriving at 2.30am things did seem to be looking up as we were given the keys to an apartment, when we thought we had booked a 4 bedded room.

The apartment was very spacious,but there was no air conditioning. This wasn't too much of a problem as there didn't seem to be mozzies about so could sleep with balcony doors open. The room was tidied daily but sheets weren't changed during the week we stayed.

The showers were quite a challenge, going from hot, cold warm, all the time. Ok after you had mastered the timing sequence. Oh yeah,and the shower head didn't fit in the holder so you had to hold it. All added to the fun.

Most areas of the hotel were kept clean and tidy, the pool bar the only area that wasn't tidied till around 9.30am which meant if you were up early for a day by the pool you were still surrounded by litter and cups from the previous day. And if you wanted a sunbed you had to be up by 8am.

The food, we really couldnt fault the food. A full English breakfast every morning, in a lot of hotels you seem to get sausage and beans one day and bacon and eggs the next, but here you had it all. It was always hot and you very rarely had to wait if things had run out. There was always a good choice of main meals and our boys however fussy always had a plate full. The dining room was always a little too warm though.

The location of the hotel, on a main road did mean it was a little noisy some nights with people getting dropped off by taxis, but otherwise it was fine.

We found most of the staff pleasant and helpful, but must say the bar service was diabolical. One barmen to serve the whole hotel, which did mean having a long wait each time. Not helped by the fact that you could only get 2 plastic cups each time.

The entertainment could have been a lot better. After a few days you get a bit fed up of bingo in 3 different languages. They did have live music and karaoke but it still could have been better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kerry
11 years 7 months ago
Very clean rooms. Maid service every day, clean towels every day.

Good variety of food in restaurant, hotel good location for families, pool very deep though, not suitable for small children.

Hotel not busy at all which was great in May. Any queries quickly resolved by hotel manager.

Could not fault it except shame there was no entertainment but could understand why as hotel wasn't busy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie
12 years 2 months ago
For a 2 star hotel it was very impressive the rooms wre cleaned daily with fresh towels provided daily. The staff were pleasant and friendly and the pool area was well kept and clean. Entertainemnt was ok for families and elderley couples. The location was good as there was not much traffic noise. The pool bar served from 10am onwards though the buffet dinner was almost identical to lunch that day however it was ok though there was a lot of fish on the menu.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bob Cook
12 years 2 months ago
The Monte verde was classed as a 2* hotel.
The towels were changed and beds made daily,though we had the same sheets all week.
The food,although always hot was very repetetive.
The cleanliness was good and the pool area clean,but the flies in the dining room were a nuisance.
The reception staff were first class,but the bar staff
could be a bit moody.
But having said all that we paid less than
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire Hutchinson
12 years 2 months ago
We booked this holiday in August 04 at a cost of
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Carol & Stephen
12 years 3 months ago
Do not go to this hotel. We arrived early hours of the morning and was just in time for breakfast (what a joke.)

The flies were swarming around the food, the tables were full of other peoples left overs as the staff at the hotel never cleaned up any mess hence more flies. The food was that good that my boyfriend who was not by far big lost a stone in one week!!!!

The smell when you walked into the restaurant hit you straight away, it smelt of dead fish.

The staff were ignorant (unless you were male), I argued with one lady! The day we got there as she made me wait, although I was in front of the queue, for at least 15 - 20 minutes.

As entertainment goes, this was another joke as there wasn't any.

Even the pool table didn't work. There was only two machines which were working and, because my boyfriend won a few times on it they switched it off!!

Do Not Go on holiday to this place, you will be bored senseless.

If you have children take plenty of tablets for a stomachs as you will need them.

The only tidy food we had was in Billy's bar about half mile down the road.

For an all inclusive holiday, we spent a fortune.

Who needs the Atkins diet, the Monte Verde would do the same thing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mr Fisher
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel monte verde is a no-go zone. This hotel will pose a real threat to you and your parties health and saftey. Please be advised that the staff are unpleasant, unhelpful and uncaring. The food is unfit for human consumption, there is NO entertainment, you will wait in excess of 30 minutes to be served at the bar. The pool area is littered, the tiles are broken, what is served for your evening meal you can guarantee will be served for lunch the following day, the hotel is not air conditioned as such they have a real problem with flys. The food is not labelled so you have no idea what is being offered.
The rooms are cramped, the bathrooms filthy baths taking 20 minutes to drain as they are clogged with hair etc, foul stench comes from the bathroom if you leave all doors shut for 10 minutes
My party stayed 5 days in this hole surviving on chip sandwiches before moving to another resort at a cost of almost
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: