Image of Orquidea Family Life Hotel

Orquidea Family Life Hotel

4 out of 5 from 81 reviews
4 stars
Bahía Feliz, Avenida Pablo Picasso, 13 VILLAS, 35100 San Bartolome de Tirajana (Gran Canaria), Spain
Right on the beach, in a quiet Canarian village resort in the south of the islan, so you can nip back from the beach to the pool at any time for a quick swim.

81 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    30
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Charlton
Peaceful hotel
6 years 9 months ago
The best hotel we have stayed in. Very clean split level rooms, large balcony and very clean.

Food was variable - chicken, pork, beef, tuna, fish, salads, pasta, cheeses, nice bread. Good breakfast, very good lunch, dinner very good and ok snacks.

Location 7 euro taxi ride to Playa des Ingles.

Staff very helpful and polite. This is a Scandanavian hotel which caters for the Swedes and entertainment very poor for British but to sit in the open air with a coffee and baileys after dinner is very peaceful although alot of children.

At night the hotel is so silent and a good nights sleep is so easy as no noise throughout the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Melissa
Relaxing poolside holiday with lots of entertainment for the children
7 years 3 months ago
My husband and I and our 3 children aged 15, 10 and 8 along with my parents have just returned from a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time. We have stayed in lots of all inclusive hotels before and found this to one of the best.

The hotel was clean and we found the rooms to be comfortable with a sofa in and fridge. If you had small children the rooms could be a little unsuitable because they were split level with 4 steps. All rooms have a lovely view overlooking the hotel complex and the sea. The food was what you would expect with an all inclusive package, good variety, always hot and a choice of restaurants to choose from.

My children particularly enjoyed the Carte D'or ice cream which was included for all inclusive guests. The hotel itself is set in lovely grassed gardens and is on the beachfront but it is not really a beach for bathing, it is pebbled beach with no sand, this was a little disappointing. The swimming pools and complex were really nice and we enjoyed spending time around the pool especially with the daytime entertainment team who worked hard to ensure that everyone had a good time.

Being a family extra hotel the entertainment both day and night was of a good standard and my children enjoyed getting involved. My son did the football academy which we thought was very expensive at 1 session being 25 euros for 2 hours, although he did enjoy it. Even my 15 year joined the Grid which was a club run by Thomson for teenagers and she made lots of friends too.

On the whole this hotel is perfect if you want a relaxing poolside holiday with lots of entertainment for the children, definitely not if you want a break from children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Heather Knight
8 years ago
we arrived at the hotel orquidea in the early hours of the morning and were greeted by friendly staff.
we felt peckish and thirsty and was happy to find vending machines on the 3rd floor.
the rooms were great much larger than expected and very clean.
after a few hours sleep we were so looking forward to a cooked breakfast we were all pleased to see a good selection of food and again friendly staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomson

Recommended
Smith
8 years 3 months ago
Arrived at the hotel around 11pm receptionist spoke very good english and was given a room on the third floor.

Room was fine and good view of the sea and complex.

Hotel was really clean all the time and the room was cleaned on a daily basis.

Food was good and you coudl have something to eat anytime beween 7.30am and 9pm (although I didn't trust the burgers in the snack bar as they looked very under cooked)

Sometimes there was a queue for the drinks during the day but most of teh time these moved very quickly and you were left to serve yourself.

Dinner was often themed i.e. chinese night, spanish night etc but there was always a childrens selection.

The only thing I woudl suggest is that they try and have a differant desert evry night as cake and ice cream can get a bit boring!

One tip is to go into the resturnat at lunch time as it is really cool and has a good selection of food - well better than the undercooked burgers!

The hotel is situated on its own and you need a taxi to get anywhere, howvever the taxi rank is next to teh hotel or the reception will call you one. There is also a shopping centre next to teh hotel with a few bars and shops but not many.

Hotel staff were very friendly and the staff in the resturant always spent time talking to my children and giving them sweets (after they had checked it was okay with me) One Tip - Don't go bear foot into the coco loco bar or you will be shouted at LOL

The entertainment was good with bot Thompson staff and hotel staff doing differant things.

The Thompson staff were the best we had come across and really made you feel you wanted to get involved.

The only down side was the old sunbed issue - to secure a sunbed under a sun brolley you had to be at the pool between 6.15am and 7am or you had to boil in the sun - There are lots of signs saying that any towls left before 9am would be removed but this didn't ever happen!

Oh and some of teh children thought is was fun to make teh lifts visit all 11 floors all teh time so it sometimes took a while to get a lift.

All in all a great holiday - The hotel is just a Thompson hotel for English holiday guests but there is a lot of norwegen and scandanavian people there too.

If you are after a clubbing holiday or an older couple wanting a quiet time - STAY AWAY, however if you have a family we haven't you booked yet??
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Dave
8 years 4 months ago
The hotel was clean, staff were friendly.

Food was not the best but it kept me going.
a few themed food nights

If you timed it wrong at tea time you had to queue for a table, never took to long though.

Bit of a pain queuing at the bar as it was a bit slow
but no other problems


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Whiteside
8 years 4 months ago
We have done three of the canary islands all with different tour operators in the past 3 years all family based (kidsclubs and entertainment) and this was the worst, The Hotel was spotless, arrived at 23.30 was given wrong room on 5th floor, went to reception and was given a theme room which we had booked on 3rd floor, then told I had to move all my cases now.. not impressed as we had been travelling and bar was due to close.(we didn't find out till 4 days later the little bar accros the road bar franky is open till 2 and serves snacks i.e. hamburgers/hotdogs and toasties the owner is called Enrique and a very friendly guy who speak's good english highly recommend trying this bar.. theme room was same just a couple of pictures, activity pack was missing, so we missed the thomson the dog visit as the slip advising us when he would come was in the pack, the theme rooms are not worth the money, eventually got a 2 min visit off thomson and the vip party was about 45 mins.. the food was generally very good although as previously stated had to que at peak times and sometimes food was luke warm.. The entertainment was good around the pool with aqua arobics etc. but a big let down at night, Kids entertainment was more games than dancing, reps miming to backing tracks, outside entertainment most nights like juggling, knife throwing etc only 3 good shows in my opinion one of the reps shows with lord of the dance, the hipnotist (petor the great). and the comedian (steve salter) so 11 not so good/poor. all in all a big let down. The worst part is the location there is nothing to do except lay around the pool,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Smith
8 years 10 months ago
first impressions good/ hotel does not do what it says in the book.
restaurant in total chaos at most meals, no waiter service, no tables laid ready,crockery sometimes dirty/cutlery short.request to staff were met with blankness and agitation it wasn't always successful we laid our own on several occasions , food poor choice old school standard,xmas and new year worst than other evenings, continual dirty tables around you while eating.returning between courses table would either be cleared or unfinshed drinks removed. noise levels unbelievable from both guests and staff alike, guests searching around for a table,children wandering around unsupervised ,on two occassions we noted guests were standing drinking.

No waiter service at bars you stood in line for too long. frequently run out of glasses
Entertainment was generally acceptable but the stage areas were basic and uninviting

bedrooms were clean and well cared for however the beds were dreadful no mattress just a quilted foam layer 4cm thick the sheet just would not stay put.

This hotel is deffinately not for couples relaxing it is not, for familys if you like paying for constant chaos, lack of service, unfortable beds ??

if you wanted a better meal and service especially on xmas and newyear you paid extra.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Denise Howard
9 years 10 months ago
We have recently returned from this hotel from a 3 night Xmas break as a couple.

We thoroughly enyoyed our stay at this hotel. It was lovely to escape the cold british weather to arrive to 70 degree plus in Gran Canaria.

The hotel was extremely clean, the reception staff helpful, the rooms were very nice and the waiters were always pleasant. We usually travel to the Greek islands, this however, was a lovely Xmas break.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and understand that it is closing for renovation work soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Tony
10 years 8 months ago
A little apprehensive after reading mixed reviews.

Initial impression was good - no evidence of shabby appearance some had found. Clean, modern reception, friendly staff.

Room itself was good size, and steps down were not a problem - but could be with very young children. Room had kettle - very good and very unusual for foreign hotels! Cleaned daily.

The major disappointment was lack of sea view - we were on the 1st floor and saw only palm leaves. There was no chance of a change, as the upper floors were block-booked by Scandinavian operators.

Atmosphere spoilt by penny pinching - fortunately it was Feb so air con not needed, but it should be free. We had a fridge - the lock was broken so we had it free, but it would be annoying to have to pay to keep drinks cool in high summer. Only 3 free English channels on the TV - CNN, Skysport and Skynews. You could get BBC1 and BBC2 - for a euro an hour. We didn't bother, but families probably would and would find it a rip-off.

Clearly a family-orientated hotel, clearly seen at meal times. Generally a queue - on one occasion it took 15 minutes to be seated. Waiting staff very efficient and good humoured.

A reasonable choice at breakfast but evening food was not 4-star standard - not the range of choice usual in 4-star. Of the school dinners type, and seemed designed for families with young kids who did not want to be too adventurous in food. At times the food was cold. Each meal, some food was being cooked to order - that was good.
We found the pools clean.

There were enough sunbeds and the policy of removing towels from them before 9 a.m. worked!

Holiday fine and restful, but the hotel was disappointing, although not awful. OK for young kids, though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Rodderz
10 years 11 months ago
The hotel was in desperate need of a lick of paint and a good clean, the pool area needed attention and there was lots of peeling paint around the hotel. The pool itself needed to be drained as there appeared to be lots of debris in it.

The room was nicely decorated, the shower needed TLC as it was coming away from the wall, the TV is pay-per-view for a lot of the channels and if you leave it on standby when you go to sleep with it on a 'pay' channel, the money gets eaten up! The beds were rock-hard so if you like hard beds, this hotel is great for you.

The staff in the restaurant were on the whole, polite, but there were a few who could be quite rude and obstructive. They are not very quick at clearing tables and seem to object to you wanting to sit outside.

Don't expect any Rep other than the English one to help you as they wont.

And definitely NOT a hotel for couples as it is full of children - mainly Scandinavian.

The entertainment was 'interesting'. It consisted of a bunch of Scandinavian young people on an almost nightly basis. Very 'Eurovision' .....if you like that sort of thing......
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.