Image of Papagayo Arena Resort Hotel

Papagayo Arena Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 42 reviews
4 stars
c. / Las Acacias, 6, 35580 Yaiza (Lanzarote), Spain
This stunning new resort hotel occupies a superb beachfront location right next to the beautiful Papagayo nature reserve. Split into nine seperate buildings, which each offer their own special style and atmosphere.

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Peter Wooldridge
Good value for money hotel
6 years 9 months ago
Just returned from our 2nd visit to this hotel, we first holidayed there 7 years ago when it had only been open for a week. Now 7 years later not much has changed there really, its still a good value for money hotel with good food & facilities.

The only minus point we did notice was in comparison to 7 years ago is the pool side snack bar now is quite poor in the food choice department, on our first holiday there, the snack bar had a much varied & good choice of meals, but now its just more like a burger & chips joint.

The main restaurant food though is still good with a wide choice & good quality on offer, the free Chinese restaurant is also good for a change.

Overall this hotel is GOOD with spotlessly clean & large rooms, great views over to Fuerteventura, would we go again for a 3rd holiday I think so, but not in November because the weather was disappointing apart from that its a good clean hotel & good value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat
This hotel is on my list of where to go again
7 years ago
This hotel is spotless. The food is excellent we just ate what we had never tried before although there was an abundance of beef, lamb, pork and fish. I

The all inclusive is fabulous, closes at 11.00 pm then you have to pay, however there is one bar that remains open as the all inclusive is 24/7 with self service local beer and sandwiches. The hotel has a car rental man that attends to the hotel guests each morning.

Hotel staff were fabulous, the entertainment here ranks amongst the best I have ever experienced in a hotel.

This hotel is on my list of where to go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rob Tedds
We will book again without hesitation
7 years 3 months ago
This year we stayed at the Papagayo Arena for the first time and can only describe it as one of the best hotels we have stayed in. On arrival we were dealt with right away by very helpful staff and the shown to our room which was on the top floor, as I had requested, with gorgeous sea views.

The room was extremely clean and spacious with a large balcony overlooking the pool area with a view out to sea. The bathroom was very modern and absolutely spotless.

There was a choice of restaurants all buffet style and I have to say that the food was excellent with plenty of choice at all meal times. It must have been good as my girls didn't stop eating all holiday.

The new harbour in Playa Blanca is about a 20 minute walk along the coastal path which is accessible from the back of the hotel and the pathway is perfectly safe for kids to use as it is walled from the sea.

The entertainment in the hotel is run by the animation team who really do try their best, and there are also some professional acts on particular nights. All the outdoor entertainment closes at 11 o clock so there's no issue with noise.

During the day there is a choice of pools so it means that they are never over crowded, and don't worry about getting sunbeds as these were always available no matter what time you went to the pool.

I can honestly say that we will be going back to this hotel without any hesitation.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Donna O' Doherty
8 years 1 month ago
Fab hotel!! was worried after reading some negative reviews but neednt have worried hotel was one of the best i have been to.Food plentiful and varied, always top quality, no major queues for drinks either. Free bus to beach.Pool towels provided.couldnt recommend this place highly enough have already booked for the new year!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
ANTHONY'S
8 years 4 months ago
WE STAYED AT THE PAPAGAYO FOR ONE WEEK AT EASTER AND FOUND IT TO BE AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ALMOST EVERYTHING.GOOD FOOD, EXTREMELY CLEAN, HELPFULL STAFF, GOOD LOCATION. AN ALL ROUND IDEAL FAMILY ALL INCLUSIVE HOTEL. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
Lovely hotel, rooms lovely and well cleaned. Plenty of sunbeds and terraces to sunbathe on. Food was great even if the buffet was busy. Self service drinks wines were fine. Plenty of water dispensers dotted around hotel so you could fill a water bottle to put in your fridge for in the night. Bar service was good. We never went to the entertainment. There was a disco which would have been good if people used it (we had the dance floor to ourselves).The snack bar was open 24 hours so you could have a late night snack and night cap but only beer wine or soft drinks. Had a few good late nights in there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
Having just come back from this Hotel I can only say what an excellent time we had and this was made extra special by the staff from this hotel I will give you an example it was my wifes birthday while we were out there we did not say anything to the hotel but the cleaner saw the cards and that night there was a bottle of wine and a slip wishing her happy birthday a hotel that knows how the little things work. The hotel was great it was spotless and the staff so polite the location of the hotel is excellent waking up to views of Fuerventura every morning. Even though it was winter all bars etc were manned, there was a good choice of food from the international, Italian , French A la carte and the chinese restaurants we used the international most of the time because of out son which was excellent. The only thing that I would needed changing was the time the restaurant opened and the time of the mini disco they were 19:30 & 20:45 respectivly which was a little late for our 3 year old. Would we go again? Yes
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs Ball
8 years 10 months ago
This Hotel was our first all inclusive holiday, The Hotel is very grand and beautiful with very friendly staff and is bang on for cleanliness, the food was buffet in the resaurant and evening atire cannot be swim shorts but shorts like combat style past knee for men was acceptable. The drinks were all local but cocktails were ready made so a bit disappointed and there was a pool bar with a snack bar hat did chips burgers hot dogs and at certain times crepes which were lovely. I have said I wouldnt go here again as the entertainment at night was rubbish to be fair and very little of it for a hotel of its size, plus if it was nearer beach and shops than the cliff walk to get down to the sand it would be much better. But overall the hotel is great all in all just nights were boring they also need more English friendly entertainers as its very difficult to understand the spanish as they speak so fast.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Karen Hartman
9 years 2 months ago
Stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks, have to say the hotel was extremely clean and seemed to be cleaned by staff 24 hours a day throughout. The hotel rooms were very spacious with a fridge and television.

The food was excellent but was very repetative so after 2 weeks was a bit fed up of it. The hotel isnt close to any shops but there is a lovely walk along the coast of about 15 minutes into the next village where the market is on a wednesday and a saturday.

There is a free bus to take you to playa blanca but it gets very full so sometimes you have to get a taxi.

There was lots for the kids to do with the entertainment team who were really nice coming round the pool getting the kids to join in in activities and sports.

My children had a fab time and didnt want to come home.
The only thing that I thought let the hotel down was there was no where near enough parasols around the pools so you had to suffer the heat in the afternoon.

The lady who worked the pool bar was so miserable it was untrue and made a point of serving the spanish guests before the English but the rest of the staff were good and helpfull.

The snack bar is good for when the dining hall is closed if you are a bit peckish.

The 5 pools were very good and kept very clean. The entertainment was very cheesy but the kids enjoyed it. I must recomend the catalanza boat trip, it is worth every penny a superb day.

Over all I would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Al And Sand
9 years 2 months ago
This hotel is definately one we will return to. On outskirts of Playa Blanca, near papagayo beaches. First impression was of an extremely large, unusually designed hotel which was difficult to work out what was where... but soon overcome this, all facilities are well signed. Spotlessly clean with the friendly staff on the go day and night. Reception staff were very helpfull at all times.

Most rooms have a sea view, ours had a large balcony and the sound of the sea was relaxing. (beach here was shingle and difficult for swimming). The room itself was well furnished and large, beds comfy and all was very clean. Safety deposit payable locally. Loads of pools to choose from and no prob with sunbeds. Gym, sauna etc excellent. Gardens very well kept. This hotel is very big but amazing. Great music played by the pools during day.

Did not do much with entertainment but it looked ok, saw 2 shows (theatre was a bit bland but only used it for odd occasions) Shows we saw were excellent. Rest of entertainment seemed for the kiddies who all appeared to be enjoying. This hotel is 24 hour all inclusive. After 11 pm drinks are payable, but outside at the snack bar from 11 pm to 8 am snacks are available with wine and beer (plus soft drinks) on tap. It was so hot this was a good option.

We are vegetarians who eat fish and had absolutely no prob with the food (watch the soup as it usually cotains meat..) Main restaurant can be noisy but go beyond this and theres an Italian section which is open at all meal times. You can take food from one section to the other so we chose to sit in the Italian as it was much quieter.

Food - where do we start. Breakfast was cereal, rolls and bread, jam, cheese, meat, tuna, dried fruit, fruit,yogurt, cakes etc. Chef cooked omelettes constantly, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, toms. There was always loads and hot. Lunch - salads, chips, pasta, rice and various roast meats and choices of fish being cooked, plus loads of other options, fab cakes etc. ice cream. wine, beer, soft drinks, tea coffee. Evening meal similar, but be assured you will not fail to find something to eat, all well cooked. The Italian during lunch and dinner had pizzas being cooked constantly, pasta dishes etc. If you did not want to eat in the restaurant during lunch, snack bar was open with pizza, chips, burgers etc., cakes.

The pool bar (next to snacks was open from 11 am ( lady serving here could be grumpy and rude at times - but she was the only member of staff that was). Slush puppies and ice cream for all.. When this bar closed a bar opened inside on the floor below reception and also a bar downstairs where kids had some pool tables etc.

Disco at night, this area. Two bars in the evening, one with outside terrace with pool and sea view. Also the green room (Adults only) with a pianist, found queing a nuisance here and felt the room a bit musty. But loads of other places to sit on different levels. Also the furniture in these areas is really lovely. Lots of Spaniards, few English, everyone very friendly.

We had great time. Courtesy Coach every few hours to Playa Blanca, yes it could get full, taxis cheap though, under 4 euro. We walked to Playa Blanca few times, decent walk but worth it, all around the coast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.