Image of VIK Gran Hotel

VIK Gran Hotel

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Urbanizacion Butibamba (Butiplaya), S/N, 29649 Mijas, MALAGA, Spain

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 4 months ago
We arrived in our own rental car, but found a huge car-park (about 50 spaces) in front of the hotel EMPTY. The hotel charges 10 Euros per day/night (EVEN FOR THEIR OWN ALL-INCLUSIVE GUESTS) Make it reasonable and they MAY get someone to use it, thus generate some input from it. At the moment it is a "white elephant" for them. We parkd just around teh corner. plenty of room FREE. Nevertheless, check in was easy as we were greeted very warmly at reception, who could not do enough for us throughout our stay. We were allocated a lovely room with a view of the swiming pool (or "puddle" would be better description, only 18 ins deep at 'deep-end' DEFINITELY no diving ha!!) Our view also had the sea directly beyond. LOVELY. There is however no shortage of space for suunbathing, loads of beds, and large lawns to find your own space and be private if you wish. Also pool bar service excellent. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Alas the restaurant wasn't up to much. The food was cold and included some rather strange concoctions. Why not just stick to good wholesome food. Nevertheless, we always found something palatable and the wine waiters could not do enough. he hotel has a very "esay" feel to is, as most guests are older, thus there is no "rush and push" one sometimes finds. Entertainment was OK and didn't have to wait all night for it. Bar service EXCELLENT. All in all, a very relaxing break for us, which is just what we wanted. We are even tinking of returning, despite the poor food. The good points outnumber the bad ones easily. BUT this is NOT a four star hotel. Average 3 (without the screaming kids, I suppose that alone merits the extra 'Star')
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MADE OWN ARRANGEMENTS

Recommended
Janet And Duncan Macleod
10 years 4 months ago
This was the first time we were on the Costa del Sol and were'nt disappointed.

The rooms were spotless and the staff great the hotel is in a quiet area and right on the beach which suited us we were all inclusive which was great as the food was excelent and the drink even better.

Transfer by taxi from Malaga airport takes about twenty minutes and cost us thirty eight euros each way
this is a great hotel and with daily Easyjet flights from Glasgow.

We will certainly be back in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own arrangements

Recommended
Brown
11 years 8 months ago
Price/quality very good. Staf friendly , best location on Costa del Sol.!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Octopus

Recommended
Purvis
12 years ago
We visited in August and I was concerned having read the earlier reviews only a few days before we left.Hotel was spotless.

Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure we all enjoyed our break. The children in kids club were 99% Spanish and our daughter really enjoyed it. The rep said he would show the children's movies in English and put Spanish subtititles up for everyone else!

She joined in with the activities such as treasure hunts around the pool and beach games. Pool was lovely to cool off in and great for all the children.

All inclusive worked for us.Staff on the pool bar worked so hard and offered crisps and nuts with our drinks.It never took long to get served at the bar
Food is mainly Spanish which we loved, and was of good quality.Mussels,different types of fish, Calamari,Salads were fresh and plentiful. Lots of fruit at all meals.

The only downer was that the evening entertainment was indoors and didn't take advantage of the great weather.
This is a change from the usual package holiday.

We travelled independently and had no rep and did't miss it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
Tracey Gaymer
12 years 1 month ago
Immaculately clean.
Great location - on the beach - quiet residential area
Great service from staff.
Mainly Spanish guests - great indication of good standards.
Entertainment outside of hotel nearby was low key.

Try to get a room overlooking the car park or pool - sounds odd, but if you are on the other side the view is of a massive storm channel.

Watch out for the all inclusive deal if you are on a flight leaving early in the morning, because the all inclusive credit card is switched off at 12 noon the day before.

I would certainly recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

Recommended
James And Maggie
12 years 4 months ago
This hotel was tops. It does exactly what it says on the tin and is excellent value for money. It has a lovely pool, is right on the beach and all your meals and drinks are catered for. If all your looking for is a couple of days on the beach with no hassles and gentle strolls in the evening then this is the hotel for you.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Phil And Karen
12 years 5 months ago
We were pleasantly surprised on arrival as we had read mixed reviews about this hotel. The room was lovely and clean, the views superb except for the storm drain area below.

The resort is a lovely quiet residential area, extremely clean and well landscaped. The town centre just a few minutes away is immaculate. Buses are incredibly cheap ( one euro to Fuengirola or Marbella)and frequent.

This is a quiet resort but with plenty of friendly bars and good restaurants,Indian one near hotel was excellent. Avoid time-share touts near hotel.

We would not advise the all inclusive because you will probably want to go out quite a lot as the food and entertainment are typically Spanish (as you would expect)and unexciting, drinks in the hotel bar are expensive but much cheaper in the local bars.

We thought it was an ideal place to stay and would recommend it as it was quiet, safe and clean but only a short distance away from the razzamatazz of the big resorts.

Do visit the beautiful village of Mijas in the mountains - stunning. Book any excursions at the travel agent in the town centre or at the bus station in Fuengirola - much cheaper than through the hotel and visit the magnificent Alhambra Palace near Granada.

Most staff were pleasant and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: media

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
Visited for long weekend and found everything about
the hotel exceeded my expectations.

The room was spotless and very well equipped the food was varied and of very good quality.

The staff were always as helpful as possible and went out of there way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

There was "entertainment" every evening catering mainly for the Saga guests who where in the majority. (It was February after all)

In short I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: findspainroms.com

Recommended
Martin Millar
12 years 6 months ago
Hotel cleanliness;
absolutely superb. previous writers have mentioned a change of management and all I can say is that they must have made a difference!

This has to be one of the best 4 star hotels we have ever stayed in! The staff were all friendly and efficient. The rooms were of equal comparison to any
like hotel in U.K.

The food was excellent with every taste catered for.
You were met at the door by the restaurant manager who arranged for a table for your group. Drinks orders were taken immediately and all you had to do was choose your food from the varied display at the buffet.

The location is quiet but there are plenty of lively night-spots within easy reach if that is what you need.
The hotel is right on the beach and the pool is small and shallow which is fine for youngsters.

The staff were fantastic - we had a birthday among the party and the restaraunt manager could not have done enough to ensure the timely arrival of a cake especially made by the chef.

Entertainment was good with all the usual disco, archery, shooting etc.

I would certainly visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: x-cape

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
Arrived middle of January found hotel to be nice clean.

A bit remote. Food in general was very good ,drinks if you were only on halfboard were expensive. Cheaper to go out found resort a bit quiet for my tastes too many estate agents.

Very easy to get bus to other areas would go again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.