Image of Atlantic Hotel

Atlantic Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Banjul

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Marina Parade, Banjul, Gambia

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gathergood
7 years 6 months ago
After our first stay at the hotel 4 years ago we decided to return this year, having been to others in Gambia. The hotel was nice previously but it has not improved. The food was poor and flavour-less on our earlier stay we found it to be 'international' to a reasonable standard. It was not uncommon for the previous meal time leftovers to be reheated and served (carrots, broccoli vegetables served at breakfast). Chips and pasta on the menu each night.
The pool area lacked umbrella's that worked many were broken.
Whilst some of the staff were friendly it appears some are dishearten by the management, possibly fearful. The management has changed at least three times in the last four years and they have made changes, not all to the benefit of the staff or the guests.
Hotel still has some quaint customs that have remained e.g. afternoon tea with a sandwich or cake.
Evening entertainment remains the same but the guests mainly go off site in the evening due to the expensive prices charged at the bar.
Will return to the Gambia as we enjoy the country and people, but not this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Jason
7 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Atlantic hotel in Banjul for 7 nights, the hotel is set right on the beach but a good 10 min taxi ride from the capital Banjul.

The hotel staff were very friendly, always smiling and happy, but be prepared for slow service, they do not rush for anything!

The rooms are good, the aircon is a welcome from the hot sun. rooms are cleraned everyday and towels are changed as often as you like.

The breakfast selection is good, but they dont like to put much of anything out at once, so you may find yourself waiting around for items, the evening buffet is ok, and only just ok, plenty of choice, but everything tastes the same and if you love chips then you will be fine!

Mosquitos are a real problem here, we used jungle formula extra strength and we were still eaten alive, ask as reception, they will spray the room for you and also they can provide you with nets.

The ppol area is great, really clean, the guys who help out will set you up with a sun bed and if you tip him well i think they will organise it every day for you.

The beach is nice, but has a lot of litter across it, it is not the golden sandy beach that we imagined. If you do venture out and along the beach, you will get met by some of the locals, some are nice, some a real pain, we did meet local Ebraham, he was great, showed us around and looked after us, when we were approached by anyone on the beach, we just told them we were going to see our friend ebraham and they left us alone.

The trips offered by the tour companies at the hotel are expensive and are not really worth it, the one we went on to Senegal was a mess. The hotel offers taxis with set prices, we used these a few times and they were excellent and a real experience! Visit the corcodile pool if you get the chance!

We are looking forward to going back again soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sarah
8 years 5 months ago
Just returned from a great week in the sun. Hotel rooms are more than adequate and air conditioning is very powerful and welcome after a day by the pool or on the beach. Didn't eat in the buffet or a la carte restaurants so can't comment but the food served at the outside restaurant was good. Menu is not huge but enough choice for a week. Can thoroughly recommend Billy's restaurant (turn right out of gate and walk to Arch 22). Similar menu to hotel but half the price. Billy will drive you back to the hotel when you have finished if you don't want to walk.

Went on the Lazy Day boat trip - does what it says on the tin! Fabulous day cruising through the mangroves with a swim in the river to cool off followed by fishing. Don't miss the Bushwackers bar crawl either - best
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
The staff are fantastic, always smiling and helpful.

The prices in the hotel are expensive and they do not like you to bring anything in from outside, i.e water or food.

The entertainment staff work really hard to put on the staff shows, which are good.

The only dissapointment with the hotel is the food, while the breakfast menu is ok, the evening menu leaves a lot to be desired. if we did eventually go back, we would stay on a bed & breakfast basis and not half board.

One point to mention is that everything is signed for so no money changes hands, but on every bill there was an error, so we paid daily to keep a check on it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
We went for the sun, and we certainly got that in abundance! It was VERY hot, so hot, that all the trips that we planned to do came to nothing! The Corinthia Atlantic Hotel was lovely. Spacious and clean. But the thing that really made it were the people. SO friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. The trip itself was not over the top moneywise. But it was very expensive once there. Water and soft drinks were more than the local whisky in the supermarket! We were paying between 1 and 2 pound for water, and a litre of whisky worked out at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Julie
10 years 5 months ago
The Hotel is great.

The staff are smiley all the time. I never encountered such a happy country.

The Entertainment staff were excellent and did thier best to cater for all ages of guests.

The hotel is a fair distance away from the more 'Tourist area' so if you want to go out for a meal or a drink on an evening you will need a taxi. These are cheap so not really a big problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Phil & Kath
10 years 6 months ago
First time here and wont be the last. The rooms were spotless and kept that way by really freindly staff the grounds were kept as clean as possible in the sometimes windy (pleasantly so) weather.

The food was excellent, perhaps not as many daily choices as some hotels, but enough, well cooked and really tasty,

The hotel and beach could be anywhere in the world, but walk down to the town and you are in Africa, pestered by bumsters after leaving the confines of the hotel, who rely on the on the fact that most people dont like to be rude, and wont tell them to *clear* off, a wave of the hand to politely acknowledge them but not entering into conversation at all worked for us.

The town is really interesting the with more laughing and smiling than you see in U.K. an experience.

The staff are freindly can be a bit slow, but whats the rush

We found the entertainment excellent, on one of the nights it wouldnt have been out of place in the West End, the rest of the nights were intersesting, performed with enthusiasm.

The only down side was the exchange rate the Hotel offered for cash, 7 delasis less than you could get in town, but you could only get travellers cheques changed at the hotel, not in town, so next time we go we will only take cash.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Gareth
10 years 7 months ago
Well this was our fourth year in this hotel and things have not changed much but you have to sign for every thing now and pay at reception. The food is still as good as you can get and if there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Rob And Hayley
10 years 8 months ago
The hotel looks like a 1970's Butlins camp.

They have tried to make the interor a little more pleasing on the eye, but neglected the rooms and the exterior
The staff were helpful and polite, but a word of warning, they FORGOT to give me my change for drinks on a few occasions do be careful.

The food is very well geared towards British tastes. Sausages and bacon in the morning with pie and spuds at dinner. That kind of thing. We were very disappointed about the amount of fresh Veg and Fruit. It is all from a tin or frozen. There was very little in the way of local cuisine either.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

What's nearby

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.