Image of Sundream Apartments

Sundream Apartments

73 of 171 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 44 reviews
2 stars
Adnan Menderes Caddesi No : 7, Armutalan 48700, Turkey

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mark And Karen
A once good friendly hotel ruined.
5 years 9 months ago
The Sundream apartments, what a joke! We have stopped in these apartments for the past 3 years so this is an honest review of this year.

Arrived at the Sundream at 6.30am after a delay and went to reception to get keys, noticed the new manager for this year. Totally different from last year, when we asked for our room keys we were asked to show our confirmation which we never had done before, the other 2 couples who were with us were not asked to show theirs. The new manager was as miserable as sin and threw our keys to us, not a good start.

After a couple of hours sleep we came down for breakfast, when the breakfast arrived at their own restaurant called palm corner, I noticed a maggot on my plate, I asked for them to take it away and asked for my money back which I never received.

The prices at the apartments were sky high. I expected the prices to be a little higher than in resort but 7 lira for a bottle of efes was daylight robbery especially when you could go across the road and buy 2 for 5 lira.
It was at this point ourselves and 4 other couples vowed never to buy anything from the Sundream.

We went to a great bar called ab fab most nights which were mainly people from the Sundream who didn’t want to buy drinks there.

Wycliffe stopped 6 of us going out one night and asked where we going and said to us that staff at the Sundream were keeping an eye out how much money we had been spending there, he said none of us had spent any money and that we had to stop there that night, we told him that we can go where we want, and it was at this point he said to us that we should move out of hotel and move somewhere else because we weren’t spending any money. The cheek of it, we obviously still went out.

Most of the staff had changed from last year (where we had enjoyed it by the way) and were creepy and were only interested in people spending money there or if you were a woman where they kept pestering you. One woman and her husband moved hotels on the 2nd night because the staff were hassling her when she was on her own.

The rooms were terrible, worn sheets, dirty towels and took us 4 days to get a kettle.

The staff treated us and other couples like dirt and would abuse us every time we came back in. It didn’t bother us in the slightest though. We reported this to the Thomas Cook rep Lee (who was great by the way) and he told us that all he has had this year was complaints about the Sundream.

So overall, a terrible, dirty, creepy hotel which like I said we have never experienced in the 3 past years we have visited it.

Please avoid this hotel like the plague. This is a honest review. We loved this hotel in the past but not now and the other people who were staying here agree with me. Please don’t go
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sandra
5 years 10 months ago
We arrived at 5.30 am to be told we had no room, shipped off to another hotel and told to come back and see the manager at 10.00 am. At 9.50 next morning, manager arrived and told us a mistake had been made by the staff, he would go back to the apartment and make sure it was clean.

Meanwhile another family joined us who had suffered the same tale. At 11.30 am no manager, we all made our way back to Sun Dream to find the manager laughing in the bar.

Keys were handed out, and we made our own way to our apartments. Apartment was set out for 2 people, we were 4. Made numerous requests for additional bedding etc. during the day. At 1.30 next morning we asked again for bedding, to be laughed at by the manager.

Needless to say we left the next morning, along with two other families.
Would we recommend this hotel? - No way!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
5 years 10 months ago
We have been going to Turkey for eight years, various resorts and at some very reasonable prices but this was not good.
We arrived at the apartments at 9pm, to be told only one of our rooms was available. One couple had to be shipped round the corner, for the first night, staying in (I believe) staff quarters. Our room became available at 3pm. It was not clean, no bin in the kitchen and no kettle, which I reported straight away. I had to collect them at 6pm. There was a leak above the bathroom, causing damp on the ceiling in the bedroom, hall and by the door. the airconditioning leaked onto the electric switch. One hinge on the wardrobe was broken. The towels were very grey and frayed and not changed from Monday until Friday when I collected my own from reception. The maid didn't enter our room on one day. The pool was not clean. Towels were put on sun beds very early (probably when the younger residents returned from the nightclubs) and not used till after midday. Male staff were only interested in young women. We tried a meal in their restaurant which was inedible.
Anyone visiting these apartments on their first visit to Turkey would be discouraged from going to Turkey again. A very bad choice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ged
5 years 10 months ago
Only had a week but wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were very basic and a bit run down but were kept reasonably clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent and well worth the money (less than
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Scott
5 years 11 months ago
just back from the sundream apartments in marmaris on the 9th july 2010,they were a nightmare, the staff and managment are clearley not interested in you unless you are spending money at the bar and you are a 16year old with legs up to your neck; these apartments are not for familys at all as stated when you book it, its full of young rowdy groups, as for the rooms the showers are mouldy and if your put on the top floor which is the attic you bang your head all the time and you need to be 4ft to get out the balcony door any taller and you have to duck, some guests had things stolen from there room to,also you have to get a towel on the sunbed at 6 o clock in the morning or you wont get one, the staff are that ignorant that we didnt even get a goodbye when we were leaving after spending 2weeks there; would never recommend theses apartments to anyone at all!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Yvonne Shepherd
6 years 8 months ago
We are just back 10th Sep 09 after spending 2 weeks at the Sun dream appartments. The rooms are spacious and clean with air con at 21 lira a week
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Leigh-ann & Alex
7 years 1 month ago
just back this morning from the sun dream apartments and we had a fab time, apartment was clean but basic, all the staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to help, i would say the only downfall at these apartments are the staff do tend to hassle you to eat there (but they didn't hold it against you if you said no) the cleaners were nice and also the reception staff. when we did eat here we found the food very good and value for money. the turkish night bbq was amazing we really enjoyed the food.the staff very rarely sit down they never seem to stop.
keep up the good work guys i will see you again in september
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris & Di
7 years 8 months ago
From the start I should say we didn't actually stay at the Sundream this year...last year in 2007...but we did use the bar and restaurant a couple of times this year...though staying at a different hotel...and would like to comment on what we did see

Firstly...are you welcomed back as an old friend ??
Most definitely...the welcome couldn't be more warm and friendly than if you were staying there, by old and new staff...its the Turkish way !!
The same old Wycliffe...they should make him Minister of Fun and Tourism...his giggle and grin will brighten any day !!

The cleanliness was second to none...the service as you would expect...again second to none...the food...to die for !!
Do I regret not stopping there this year ?? Yes...but if you dont try somewhere new how can you realise how good the old place was !!
Next time back...it'll be to the Sundream !!




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lucy
7 years 8 months ago
We first stayed at sundream in May, and it was so brilliant that we decided to go back in September. Hotel is lovely, nothing special but your basic but friendly environment. All staff ready to bend over backwards to help you out. Food and drinks slightly over priced but you're on holiday, who cares? Main town center 10-15 mins walk away or a 5 min bus ride! Cleaners are amazing, in your room every day with fresh towels and bed linen. They even tidied up our mess! Pool is cleaned daily and tested. All in all this hotel was great for a cheap get away, we loved it and will most definitely be returning!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 9 months ago
Just got back from Sundream and I can describe it in one word..FANTASTIC.
The apartments were were very clean and were cleaned every day by the helpful maids.
The food in Palm corner(the hotels own restauraunt) was to die for..very big portions and really really nice with free breakfast the following morning.
Drinks were good value and buy one get one free.
The hotel staff were the best..special thanks to all the guys there...Wycleffe,Eric,Alex(need to practice your magic mate..lol),Memhet,Bepe(best barman ever,and all the other guys there...you all totally made our holiday..thank you.
Entertainment was good especially the turkish night which was brilliant.
We have been back one day and already booked in the sundream for next year.
Dont know how any one can write a bad report on the sundream as we didnt find a fault..especially the pool which was clean and samples taken from it every day to be checked.
If you want 4 or 5 star you wont get it here but it is ideal for families who want a good clean basic holiday with a good location.
Thanks everyone miss you all already
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: