General Holiday Enquiries, Hints and Tips

General Holiday Enquiries? Got General Hints & Tips? Post Them Here.
Jet-Lag
29 Posts
I have been using Melatonin for about 7 yrs now and have never had any side effects in fact I haven't heard of anyone having side effects, apart from the pills not working with some people. I only take them when flying east though.
In the past I normally only suffered Jet Lag when flying east not coming home, but on my last trip to Australia I was absolutely shattered for days after returning . I'ts just a case of grin and bear it. I have read that you should put yourself on to the time zone of the area that you are travelling to as soon as you start to travel, not drink alcohol etc , but have tried this in the past and nothing worked until I started taking Melatonin.
melatonin is a good thing to help you my 7 year old son has to take it every night to get to sleep and he has no side effects what so ever.
What strength melatonin do you take Judith?

I suffer horrendous jetlag coming back from the States and take 10-14 days to recover. I have sometimes actually felt ill as well as exhausted.

I've tried everything too. I change my watch to the new time zone as soon as I get on the plane. I've tried sleeping as much as possible, not sleeping and trying to stay up. No alcohol. Every time I come home and swear I'm not going to do it again as I feel so bad, but after a couple of weeks when I'm feeling OK again I'm off pricing up flights to go back.

I bought melatonin a couple of years ago in the US. They had 2 strengths - 1mg and 3mg. I bought the 1mg incase the higher dose knocked me for 6. However it hasn't had any effect at all, but then I have only taken 2 x 1mg tablets.

luci :wave
Hi Luci

I take the 3mg tablet. I sympathise with you, on return on my last trip to Oz I felt so bad it really spoiled the holiday. I felt really ill, most unusual as I usually don't normally get jet lagged flying west.