Image of Thomson Spirit

Thomson Spirit

1 of 7 Thomson Cruises ships

A medium sized vessel of superior rating. Built in 1983 and refit in 2000. Carries a maximum of 1350 passengers in 626 cabins, 423 of which have ocean views. 4 cabins are accessible to disabled passengers.

All cabins are well equipped and include air conditioning, TV and plenty of storage space. Suites feature kingsize beds, lounge, minibar and bath.

The Broadway Show lounge features live shows and the High Spirits Nightclub also features a disco. Other features include 200 seat cinema and internet access.

224 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    174
  • Very Good
    34
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Linda White
Spirit
1 year 4 months ago
Just got back from Spirit cruise and it was a fantastic holiday. The staff were great and couldn't do enough to make our holiday special. The restaurant was very helpful to me as I am gluten free they made my meals all gluten free. I kept the same waiters all week and they were great, thank you Wadi, Adie and Herbert for being so kind and the rest of the restaurant staff.

Thanks to Valantina and Hussan for keeping our room clean and tidy and also for making my birthday extra special by trimming my room up. I will definitely be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D.N & E Ferguson
Highlights of the black sea
1 year 4 months ago
Went on cruise on 6 July 2015 for 1 week. Without a doubt the best holiday we have ever been on. From the minute we got off the plane in Turkey Thomson reps were there and the security to get on board was great. The food was second to none, the service fantastic, nothing was to much to bother for any of the staff, best ever.

The entertainment was fantastic, always a choice of entertainment every night with top shows. The ship was very clean and the cabin was made up twice a day. We thought we might get sea sick, no, very smooth sailings.

All in all fantastic holiday, top marks to the Thompson Spirit crew. We will definitely be on another Thompson cruise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr & Mrs A Dawson
Excellent Cruise
2 years 4 months ago
Just returned from Baltic Highlights cruise last Saturday on the Thomson Spirit. Excellent cruise, weather was great and food was excellent. Richard was a great cruise director, always pleasant and friendly and his show team and entertainment were great.

All places we visited were within walking distance and if not Thomsons had a courtesy bus on from the docks. Our bar steward we met, Nenita, was a lovely girl always pleasant and friendly and was trying to learn Geordie from us.

Only thing I found was there was no sugar free cakes out like the Celebration last year as I am diabetic. Overall had and excellent holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jim Martin
Brilliant Cruise
3 years 3 months ago
Friends had told us never to go with Thompsons, but how wrong they were. We enjoyed a brilliant cruise - Pharoahs and Holy Land. Honestly I don't know how they do it for such reasonable charge. The food and entertainment were second to none. And the crew were the best ever. They manage everything to a high standard yet without the feeling of being "posh". The cabin sizes are great. This was a cruise to mark my retirement and it more than fulfilled our expectations.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barbara Kyle
Mrs Barbara Kyle
3 years 3 months ago
I have never enjoyed a Holiday as much as this one ever, the whole thing from start to finish was amazing, the staff were absolutely fantastic,Lana and Ida our cabin ladies were absolutely fabulous,JR and Angel our staff in the Lido restaurant were absolutely fantastic, they were very attentive and we never wanted for anything, the minute your plate was empty they were there, constantly looking after you,Henry in raffles bar never stopped smiling, the whole trip to the north cape was amazing, made super special by choosing the Thomson spirit, cant wait to return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
A very good cruise with very little to complain about!
3 years 11 months ago
Baltic Explorer - May 2012

After an uncomfortable 6 hour leger coach journey to Newcastle, and VERY long embarkation queues at the terminal, we were feeling a bit tired and tetchy by the time we got on board! This mood was very quickly dispelled by our favourable first impressions of the Spirit. We had an outside cabin on deck 7, much larger than we have experienced on Thomson's other ships, complete with bath and minibar. The whole ship was very nicely furnished and decorated, no feeling of "cheapness" about the decor. The buffet area is thickly carpeted with upholstered chairs (no vinyl here) and "proper" crockery.

We had breakfast and lunch here each day, and dinner on one occasion. The food in the evening was better in the main restaurant. The buffet food was ok, but very repetitive, and no nice starters or desserts.

We chose the cruise purely for the itinerary and the brand- as usual Thomson excursions were reasonably priced compared to other lines and we went on 3 in St Petersburg and a Copenhagen-on-your-own trip from Kalundburg. Quite satisfied with all 3, though the traffic in St P was really bad and played havoc with timings.

Although Thomson have never offered all-inclusive on ex- UK sailings, there was a letter in the cabin on arrival offering the AI for £375 pp for 12 days. Drinks prices were average pub prices, £3.50 a pint, £14.50 a bottle house wine. Compared to the prices we were charged ashore they actually seemed quite cheap!

Entertainment was fine- lots of daytime activities from zumba to lectures on Churchill, and enjoyed the daily quiz. Usual singing and dancing in the evening, game shows, trio upstairs in Horizons, pianist in Raffles bar. All a bit old hat, but always something to do. The two daytime plays they put on in the theatre were entertaining and very well attended.

Outside areas got a bit crowded on sea days (and there were 4 of them) but there was always somewhere to sit. It was a bit of a bonus to be sitting out sunbathing at that time of year, although the first few days were very cold.
Found all the ports really interesting, and was pleased to learn there were free shuttle buses in Helsinki and Stockholm, so all that research about bus routes wasn't needed after all! We took a small amount of Krona and Roubles with us, along with some euros. The exchange rates we noticed ashore were very poor to what you get at home- 86 cents for £1 seemed about average. This was in the kiosks, I don't know about the ATM rates.

A very good cruise with very little to complain about!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Recommended
Pretty good apart from a couple of niggles
4 years 3 months ago
The ship was clean although knocking on a bit now.

All of the staff were very friendly, some of the staff however were TOO over friendly, to the point of being obtrusive and annoying. I refer to the cleaning lady boss on deck 3 who always seemed to be outside our door to greet us throughout the day and also greet other passengers while we were trying to sleep at 6am in the morning at the top of her annoying Spanish voice! The final straw with her was her asking us to give her team excellent marks on the questionnaire, a bit of liberty I feel.

On the whole I would recommend this cruise, but don't pay more than £500 for it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kennythejoiner
4 years 8 months ago
I will start at the end rather than the beginning, we left the ship yesterday 27/8/11 and normally on our previous Thomson cruise embarkations you wait in the theatre till your flight are called and you go ashore collect your case and get on your coach.

This time you were instructed a few days earlier by a letter to your cabin to be on the dock side 15min before your departure time.
When we arrived it was pandemonium every ones cases for the whole boat was on the dock side and it wasn't just our flight that was leaving there was four, people were pulling cases out of the line to get to there’s knocking them over with no supervision.

Getting on to a bus was worse as it did not matter what flight you were on you just got on any bus this time there was a couple of the ships dancers there to help i heard on at least saying SUPER and another "If your case is on a bus you must try and be on it", everyone was trying to get on to one bus at time it was very hot and most had on their British summer clothes.
Twice we got nearly to the front of the queue when it was full and then became nearly last at the next bus.

It was the old and the special needs people I felt sorry for as they just couldn't keep up.

The rest of the cruse was on the whole good this is our 4th Thomson and our 2nd on the spirit in the last three years and whither our expansions were higher than a lot of our fellow cruisers we were a bit disappointed..

The Africa show that was supposed to be there top show was a hand me down from another boat among with most of the rest.
The food was not as good as the other trips but it has been going down the last two trips.
The service has went downhill as well I think it might be down to not being allocated a seat /seating as we sat at a different area of the dining room most nights and never managed to build any repartee with the waiters.
The bar service and deck service was just as bad and they only came to life on the last day wonder why...

As it’s been said on lots of other threads the ship is old and most of the trims and finishing are worn out, looking at some of the officer’s uniforms there the same,
tread bare in some cases... but the worse thing is they have changed the lager from Stella to a cheaper one...

Would I go back "maybe” we will try the dream (not been on it) as the staff told us they took the best from all the other boats.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
J
4 years 10 months ago
OUR SECOND TRIP ON THE SPIRIT, AS USUAL ALL EXCELLENT, SHOWS 100% TOP CLASS. STAFF ARE THE ABSOLUTE BEST, ADRIAN IN RAFFLES, SI IN HIGH SPIRITS, MORGAN IN BROADWAY ALSO AYU,SRI,GRAVE AND SHINE. SPECIAL MENTION TO THE TEAM IN THE LIDO AHMED,PEDRO, THOMAS AND HARLY. ALSO MR PARIS FOR HIS ATTENTION TO DETAIL.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Debbie
4 years 10 months ago
I have just come back of a two weeks cruise on the thomson spirit, it was brilliant i cannot say anything bad about the holiday at all. The staff worked none stop the cabines were kept immaculate the food was excellent the staff just couldnt do enough to help and the shows and the entertainment staff were fantastic i would definatley go on the thomson spirit again. It is such a friendly ship and it was as formal or informal as you wanted it to be i highly recommend this ship
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question