Algarve/Portugal/Madeira/Azores Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in the Algarve
Hi Dave,
You could do a lot worse than check out http://www.simplylagos.com. It's a great site which will give you a real taste for the town.If there's anything you want to know that you can't find on simplylagos, just shout and I'll try to help.
Hi Dave :D

I am not an expert like Sagres but did spend a fortnight there this summer. There is a huge choice of restaurants and bars. We liked:

Triangulo (tulips roundabout) - Portuguese Food
Pirates (tulips roundabout) - International
O' Navagador (need to book if its a weekend in the summer) - Fish
A Vaca - Swiss
West (on the Marina) - International
Cosmopolitan (I think it was called?) - Portuguese - slow service as
everything is cooked fresh, not a problem for us.
Dos Artista- French? - Mega Expensive

Not sure if these are going to be to your taste, if you want really local ones you may have to take the car and go inland a bit. Years ago we ate in what appeared to be someones front garden choosing food from the guys fridge. :shock:

Regarding the day trips I would say you can't really go wrong if you drive out west from Lagos towards Cape St Vincent. There are various villages and quiet beaches you can stop at and I am sure you will find local restaurants there for lunch, can't advise on any as we always took picnics. ( I have two youngish teens and therefore can't manage two restaurants a day).

There are free maps in the town. The only place that is built up west of Lagos is Luz so you might want to give it a miss although it does have a nice beach.

Silves is good if you fancy some history, it has a castle and river, Puddleduck recently put some photos of Silves in the HT gallery & I put some of Western Algarve, Dos Artista, the Marina Club Apts, Sand Sculptures etc

You could also try Alvor for a day trip. I beleive this is the first resort going east and is supposed to be nice.