Cyprus Discussion Forums

Discussions regarding holidays in Cyprus
re
When I have been confronted by these low lifes in other countries,I either tellthem i'm a recently bankrupt trader or that i'm currently the subject of a British police investigation and could be facing 7 years inside upin my return to UK.This normally works as they tend to leave me alone knowing that I couldnt be credit worthy.One thing you must never do is to give or show these sales touts your passports.In Majorca 3 years ago a couple were taken to their hotel and their passports were taken as "security",the couple couldnt get the passports returned until they had signed a declaration of sale which stated there was no cooling off period.
I agree - "Sorry mate I cant get credit due to my CCJs"

Works everytime and its not worth them trying to push it in case you do...for them there are plenty more fish in the sea.
weve came across touts like this last may when we married in cyprus...my new hubby just said to them were on honey-moon and we need to get back to the appartment for some passion..you should seen there faces :lol: ..this year when asked if he was english he just said no im from manchester and walked away... 8)
I've never seen any at all in Protaras, I have in Spain previously but not here.
i was lucky last year only one approached me "are you English " he said, i replied "of course isn't everyone in Pafos at this time of year" and carried on walking, i think it took a while before it sank in what i said, as i was some distance away when heed the abusive response
Hi Popsy,

> For those that don't know, the touts seem to be exclusively British.

Unfortunately, there are a number of these scum operating in the tourist areas, but the police seem to nothing about them.

> If someone has a solution, could I ask them to post it for the benefit of others

Perhaps a kick in the groin or a few words of abuse. :wink:

Regards,