Disabled Person Holiday Discussions

Are you disabled or know someone who is? What are your experiences of hotels and resorts as a disabled person?
Hi Dotty

Are you flying from Glasgow?

Although I've no experience in requesting a wheelchair, I have found some info on the BAA website.

Don't know if it will be of any help, but worth a look anyway!

CLICK HERE

Philippa :D
Hi Dotty

We ask Thomson's for wheelchair assistance for a friend last year at Glasgow airport. We just asked at check in what we had to do and they said we'd have to wait until an hour before boarding to get the wheelchair. It turned out this was if she needed someone from the airport to push it. We managed to get the chair earlier and push it ourselves.

Coming back at Tenerife airport we again asked at check in and someone came with a chair and pushed her right through to boarding.

HTH

luci :wave
HI DOTTY,

DO not worry ,at check in explain yourequire assistance (assuming you do not apppear to need help) Then you will find the airport staff are more than willing and and able to do all that is required to help you. You may find you will be preboarded first, then have to wait for a lift to arrive at your destination to help you off the plane, so first. on last off!. I have never had any problems at airports in 14 years.Always tell your travel agent when booking a hol and they will request wheelchair assistance for you .We always arrive early at check in to ensure that staff have time to arrange things if necessary
Hope you enjoy your holiday have a good time ,cheers maxie :D
Hi Dotty

My mum is disabled but can walk short distances on her own. When we take her on holiday we always make sure that when flights are booked the airline knows of her needs and with mytravel and thomson we were given a number to ring each time to arrange medical seats and a wheelchair if she would have to walk too far.