101 independent reviews of the Victoria Palace Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach S/N, NULL Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel Location
Ranked #72 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach


3/5
Victoria Palace Hotel Victoria Palace Hotel is rated 3.1 out of 5 from 101 Reviews
49% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (101 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Victoria Palace Hotel Reviews

1/5
1
"Terrible"
kevin visited the Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in August 2013
Don't be fooled by this hotel it looks beautiful from the outside but the cleanliness is not acceptable! In 2 weeks we only had our bedding changed twice and they were stained and dirty looking. When we arrived the towels, we had them changed 3 times in the fortnight and toilet rolls forget it buy your own also if you want a Sun bed round the pool forget it unless you get up at 6am it is a shame as the hotel location is good

Tour Operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3
"Looks great, but not great"
liz storrie had a holiday at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in September 2011
This hotel looks spectacular, and the bedroom was large and very comfy. Cleaning was satisfactory but hoover was never used during our 2 week stay. Chambermaid was pleasant and friendly. Hotel is placed in a good location for the beach and not too far from restaurants and bars.

The staff in general were surly and rude, never acknowledged any guests at all. Except the maids and the 2 barmen who were on in the evening. Only one bar open at any time for all guests, pool bar daytime, and bar in lobby evenings. The mezzanine bar on 1st floor was never open during our stay, and safari bar was a pay bar yes even for all inclusive guests.

Then we have food, it was totally awful!


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3
"No entertainment, poor food, rude staff"
john stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach in August 2011
WOW! What a Hotel and reception people from outside stopping to photograph this magnificent hotel, that's where it ends.

Firstly Sunny Beach is a fantastic resort, great places to eat, cheap beer and generally nice people, we were fortunate to downgrade from A.I to half board and the 400 we got back went towards meals outside the hotel.

Lifts, what lifts. All 4 were broken down one day and the majority of the time the front 2 glass lifts were down daily, we got used to the 16 flights of stairs to the 8th floor, and so did the man with his wife in a wheelchair after the hotel refused to move them to a different floor.

Rude, obnoxious, ignorant and very, very greedy Russians, Polish, Turkish and lets not forget the Germans.

Raw chicken, but Elisabeth,the Balkan Rep told this is how Bulgarians ...
eat their chicken and it's got CHEMICALS in it to prevent people getting SICK. I think I was more frightened of the chemicals than the chicken.

The food in general very poor but we could live with this after reading the reviews, downgraded from A.I and taking extra cash for food, but this is a badly managed hotel.

The kitchen staff, liked to text on their phones, whilst the food was running out, the waiters, I can't fault, they do a good job and not even a smile, please/thank you from rude, obnoxious, ignorant guests.

Towels, they were in short supply, 1 towel for 3 people, complained to the reception, and they say they will sort it in 10 minutes, an hour later complain again, an hour later soap suds in hair go down 16 flights of stairs, because the lifts weren't working, stood in reception soaped up as the staff looking in amazement that soaped up guy with a flannel to cover his modesty pleaded for a towel, next day got 3 towels, the day after back down to reception, complained to the reception and the Balkan rep as we had no towels, who later sent a compliments of the hotel boss plate of fruit and some sparkling cheap wine, which I used to bribe the maid for 3 towels.

This Hotel had no entertainment, managed wrong and needs a bit of a makeover, we were counting down our days for the holiday to finish. The Victoria Group need to sell off their assets to someone who knows how to run a hotel, because if run right it could be a fantastic place to stay. Sadly it's awful.

Will go to sunny Beach again, but not at this hotel or any of it's sister hotels, and definitely not with Balkan Holidays. We were told that the Hotel is disputing Thomas Cook downgrading to 2 * for next year.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Not Specified had a holiday at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2011
Stayed in this hotel for 11 nights June/July 2011. On arriving at the hotel I was initially very pleased. The hotel looks very grand, very clean. The entire decor looks fantastic, and that's where it ends. The staff are very ignorant, the reception staff barely spoke to us when we checked in. We went to the room, which again looked fantastic, the beds were very comfortable, large room with a sofa, plenty of chairs, balcony etc. The "mini bar"" as described in the brochure was an empty fridge.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Family stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in August 2009
Just came back from staying at The Victoria Residence Apartments. As a family we do have quite high standards and we were not disapointed. We stayed in a one bed studio apartment which was lovely, we had one bedroom with two quite big single beds pushed together(which don\'t move and sink in the middle), one wardrobe half shelves half hanging space, a dressing table, lots of other storage area to put clothes we managed but i could see how this could become a problem, we had two balconys which if you look at the pictures were on the side of the turrets without gaps in them, so our room spanned the whole side of the building. The bathroom had a bath and a shower, the living room had two sofa beds which look a bit ropey and thin mattress but ...
were suprisingly comfortable, a dining table,coffee table, the kitchen area consisted of two rings, a microwave that apparently did everything but we never used it, and a coffee perculator (no kettle but just filled perculator up with water and left on at all times, no toaster but the microwave was supposed to grill, no iron or ironing board, but we ironed on the work surface, air conditioning which was brill had a boost button for quick cool but we left this on when we left the room so it was cold when we came back. Maid comes in everyday to tidy and replace towels. sky tv which there was only a couple of english channels some of which got scrambled before we left so lost mtv. quiet area noise from hotel next door but this stopped at about 12 but was all english songs so we didn\'t mind.
The hotel it self was stunning, there is security but that was it no guns or alike, just checking parking and so on, we took photos infront of hotel no problems, didn\'t see anything reported on this site, looked at the dining room and it look amazing all gold linen etc didn\'t eat there so can\'t comment but was stunning, the pool area = people do put towels on sunbeds of which i did on a couple of occasions but later didn\'t bother, alot went at 12 and again at 3 so sometimes went to the beach, the beds and parasols on the beach are 7 lev each if you show your keys you get them for 5 lev, heard someone saying if your half board all inclusive you have to take a card to reception don\'t know if it is then free or alot cheaper. sunbeds by pool people were putting them down and not returning all day, we would pinch a bed if someone had three or four also if you face the hotel from the pool on the right hand side there is a wooden cupboard which you can open and there are sunbeds in there, we were not forced to buy drinks or fiddled with money, drinks from the pool bar were dear had a local beer and two bottles of coke 15 lev.

Read More

Tour Operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Bowe had a holiday at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2009
Our party consisted of 2 married couples and before we went we read a number of poor reviews about this hotel, so i wanted to write a fair review to this hotel.

The hotel definetly has the wow factor, the entrance is stunning. The decor is based on African and Egyptian Culture,and is very grand.

Due to a bad storm our rooms were flooded on the day of arrival so we were upgraded to a VIP suite, which was a lovely room, really big with nice furniture and a sea view, flat screen TV\'s and all mod cons.

The bathroom was huge and well presented. The only thing that let it down was the four of us had to share the room which wasn\'t really suitable for 2 married couples. However,I was really impressed with the way the hotel dealt with ...
this we were moved into the correct rooms the following day, given a free lunch on that day and a safety deposit box for the duration of our stay.

The rooms we were moved into were nicely decorated and were a good size, and most importantly for me were spotless.
We paid extra for a sea view and its definetly worth it because we could see for miles. The maid came 6 out of 7 days and was really friendly and helpful.

The pool area of the hotel is clean, and there are areas of the pool that are suitable for all (special areas for children). There is a nice relaxed feel round the pool during the day, theres no specific entertainment but there is music on.

The only small problem we experienced was sometimes getting sunbeds, a lot of towels were put down either the night before or very early in the morning. However, a simple solution to this was to spend 15 leves and buy inflatable beds.

Breakfast in the hotel provides a good selection from full breakfast to continetial breakfast. I wouldn\'t describe the food as excellent but its by no means terrible!

The first evening we went for our meal we went about 8 o\'clock to be met by total chaos! Its said that the british people like to queue up, well i think we are the only people in Europe that do! People were pushing and shoving in to get to the food and fighting over plates. I actually felt really sorry for the staff. That night the food was running low and some items from the menu you just couldn\'t get, the staff just couldn\'t keep up. A lot of this seemed to be caused by people taking portions that they were never going to eat. For example, I saw a table of 2 people take a plate with 6 bread rolls, a second plate piled high with fries and a third plate piled high with melon, that was in addition to the main meal they were having. Every where you looked there were empty tables with food that had been taken and not touched. After that experience we ate earlier, about 7 o\'clock and the restaraunt was quieter, you could get a plate and get access to the food which in the main was actually quite nice! I would advise though, that you have to be open minded and willing to try stuff as the food is bulgarian and you might not know what some of it is!

The staff are quite laid back but are helpful, and all seem to speak about 3 languages. If you are friendly with them then they will be friendly in return!

All in all I would with out a doubt stay at the victoria palace again!

Read More

Tour Operator: Cosmos / Monarch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

J Gibbons visited the Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2009
beautiful hotel very grand but can honestly say i have never known such a sham of a dining experience in my life to say this was 5 star i have had better experiences in a 2 star. basically the resturant can not cope with the amount of guests. we had to literally fight for a table, on occassions the food ran out no cups/bowls ect for us to use at times. the temperature of the room was very hot. there was also the cost of the drinks which were very overpriced. Bulgaria it self is very up and coming but feel that they do little to encourage tourists to return some were very rude and arogant, not nice but if you like lots of hustle and bustle perfect.

Tour Operator: bulkan
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

j gibbs had a holiday at Victoria Palace Hotel in August 2008
i arrived at hotel after being in another for 24 hours as i was told it was over booked although i booked 11 months in advance.We arrived at 1pm the following day and we did not get our room until 5.30 pm. We were treated very badly by staff throughout holiday therefore spoilt it for me. The hotel was great as it was clean and furnished very nicely.The food is average so dont expect too much. The drinks are a lot more expensive in the hotel with prices for kids pop ridiculous. The rooms were clean and maids came in every day .
You need to get up at 7 am to get a toel on the sun beds and you must stay with them or they will be removed. All in all hotel is in a nice location and very grand but i will not return

Tour Operator: balkan holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Lucy Strachan visited the Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in August 2008
The hotel was a palace but nothing else of the hotel was fit for a pauper, never mind a King!

The restaurant serves what is only described as pigswill. We had to eat out 11 nights out of the 14 while we were there.
We found cooked pasta in our morning porridge and the fruit was rotten on the inside.
There were not enough tables for all people and when we did find a table, we had to clear it ourselves and find our own plates / cutlery. The plates were broken and general standards were very poor. This place would not have passed a visit from environmental health back in the U.K.
The staff were rude and pretended not to speak english when we tried to raise our issues with them.
The hotel did not have enough sunloungers and we had to pay for them on the beach.
We were also charged approx

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

mrs t .nowell stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach in August 2008
would never vist again .this holiday cost me nearly three thousand pounds for two adults ,two children cramed into a small family room , which consisit of two single beds pushed together and a small very uncomfortable sofa bed , not adaquate for a family .The staff was very rude and ignorant and did not deserve the one star rating i gave them as the chart did not start at zero .The was food disgusting ,my children refused to eat in the dinning area,so we ate out(tramps eat better), (in what we was expected to eat).The only entertainment for our children was the games room ,internet room in which we had to give our childern a constant supply of money for,or to take a walk down into the town to see go go girls dancing in next to nothing ...
on bars, or even to be asked for sex,hardly suitable for a child of nine years old.This is a holiday i will never repeat,and can nt belive in how i got drawn in by the hotels appearance (do nt be fooled like i was ,it has cost me dearly.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Kerry Gorner stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2008
First of all after reading lots of reviews on the net about this hotel I was sort of dreading going. Some were right and some were wrong but everyone is different and can tolerate different things I guess, so here it goes.

On arrival we were really really tired so didn\'t really take it on to be honest until the next day, hubby had to go fetch some drinks from the shop and was charged

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

ruth and sonna visited the Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2008
Just got back from the victoria palace and had a fantastic time. The hotel was stunning and situated in a grest position , central and on the beach.Food was very nice and always something different to try (dont stay in hotel for drinks though as much cheaper outside).Found all the staff really helpfull and they were so nice to kids.There was a bit of an issue with sunbeds and it was a bit annoying when you had to set your alarm for half six every morning to get one, problem will probably be even worse in high season.There were rumours the hotel was run by the bulgarian mafia and this was also a bit scary as every where you looked you were surrounded by bodyguards and security escorting the owners,but tried to forget it and got on with our hol. ...
over all i dont think any hotel in sunny beach could match this hotel for looks and quality and if we would return to bulgaria we would stop there again.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

juliet jones stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2008
the food was half board basis it wasnt edible we found hairs and a siders leg in it.
the hotel inside was very clean but the staff had real problems with the english and that is my oppinion
first choice say it is in a tranquill area it is far from tranquil we were harassed by beggars on the main stretch and one boy even grabbed hold of me asking for money he wouldnt let go the beach was filthy cig buts all over bottles and rubbish sunny beach was like golden mile at blackpool i was hummiliated in the street by a bulgarian girl about my size but she soon shut up when challenged all in all it was a horrible holiday the hotel was crawling with mafia very intimidating i would not for a million pounds go again.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Jan leeming visited the Victoria Palace Hotel in June 2008
when on arrival the hotel looked very impressive,pity thats all can really say that was good.food disgusting cups choice of chipped or mucky.staff mainly rude.lot of intimidating heavies (Bulgarian Mafia)by the 3 rd day my partner was rushed to hospital along with at least several other guest that same day cost us

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Stuart visited the Victoria Palace Hotel in September 2007
The Wow factor soon goes when you dont get the room you paid for until 48 hours later *Why* the hotel in the period of the holiday was overbooked.

Hotel was spotless

The food was often cool though you did get the English breakfast but I rate the food only 2 Star max
Dinning room staff often took breaks to either have a fag or text on their mobiles.

No entertainment.

Would I go to this Hotel again NO in a nut shell you get what you pay for.

Tour Operator: balkan Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Vicki visited the Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2007
After reading some of the reviews we were very anxious about going to this hotel. On arrival I gasped at this grand hotel.. I don\'t understand why people should not like this hotel. The rooms were lovely, the many bars has lovely surroundings and the hotel itself if right on the beach.
Yes, it downfall was the food. We only had dinner in the hotel once and that bwas enough for me, not that bothered as so cheap to eat out. Breakfast was the usual fry up and cereals and a limited selection of fruit, not the best.

If you don\'t like the beach then you will need to get up at 7.30am for a sunbed, very limited and always busy, much prefered the 6 steps to the beach alot more peacefull too.

Overall is thought this hotel look certainly the bext ...
hotel in Sunny Beach...shame about the food but you can\'t have it all. I would certainly recommend it.

Read More

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Irene stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2007
We had read reviews about Victoria Palace and were a bit worried, but all I can say is the moaners were at a different hotel.

From the moment we stepped off the coach the service was Ist class, our cases were taken to our room & the reception staff were very polite & friendly. The hotel was AMAZING, easily 5 star.

The location couldn't have been better, we sruggled to get sun loungers as towels were put on as early as 6am but we prefered the beach anyway and at 6levs each it was ok.

The meals were very nice with lots of selection so there was something for everyone, we thought we may have to eat out after reading some reviews but we never did.

We were all very impressed with the hotel and would definitely go again.

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Ida Emerson stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2007
The hotel is ideally situated, and is a very impressive and beautiful building. The reception and all public areas are well tended, cases were taken to our room and most of the staff were very nice and helpful.
We arrived at the hotel about 8.45 local time and got to our room approximately 30 minutes later. The toilet wasn\'nt working. I contacted reception ro report it, in all I reported it 4 times, bearing in mind that a toilet is a very necessary commodity, it took until 2.00 a.m., for the problem to be fixed.
We could not get a meal in the hotel as the restaurant was closed although we were half board, we was told to go to a bar for a meal!
Our towels were changed daily which was really good, the washbasin, bath and toilet were also cleaned but ...
that is all. No other cleaning was done to the room.Perhaps we were just unlucky. As I have said it is a gorgeous hotel and when you are there try out the spa it is well worth the money.


Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

e logan had a holiday at Victoria Palace Hotel in May 2007
We just got back from a week at the Victoria Palace and had a great holiday.

The hotel is stunning,the maids work tirelessly keeping the hotel immaculate.The food was realy good, plenty of choice and always hot.

Never had any problems with cutlery shortages or chipped crockery.Found the staff to be very nice and friendly...not rude at all!!

Situated at the northern part of the resort, it was only about a 15-20 minute stroll past all the shops and restaurants and bars to the busy centre.

Not a lot in the way of entertainment but just outside the hotel, the bars have all got something going on.The pool area is lovely but I think it would be a problem getting a sunbed in high season as there don\'t seem to be enough for the size of the hotel.That didn\'t bother us though because we ...
just went over to the beach..a mere stones throw away.

We thoroghly enjoyed our stay at the Victoria Palace and yes, we would go back again!!

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

mr richard nutt stayed at Victoria Palace Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in May 2007
Gigantic state of the art hotel, absolutely 1st class.

Everywhere inside the hotel was spotless and the food was magnificent,full of variety!

The location of the hotel is probably the best, its virtually on the beach. The staff are very obliging and plenty of them to assist your every need.

Entertainment was okay but will soon become even better when the casino opens within the hotel. There is an indoor swimming pool as well as the truly magnificent outdoor pool which boasts a ship bar half in the hotel and half in the pool.

There are several bars in the hotel. The lifts were spectacular, you could see through them, our children were so intrigued.

If we ever came back to Sunny Beach then we would definately choose this hotel again.

Tour Operator: balkan holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars
Other hotels in Sunny Beach

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
Share