Image of Calimera Habiba Beach Resort

Calimera Habiba Beach Resort

2 of 8 hotels in Marsa Alam

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Michael & Judith
9 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Calimera Habiba last March and found it great so much so that we are going again this March.

The food was good quality, which was hard to believe when catering for so many people from so many different countries.

The staff where very good, the young man, Zane, who worked the pool bar was wonderful and always smiling and joking. (a little tip to the barman, towel boy, and waiter about 5 euros each, goes a long way)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Joanne Richards
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a weeks break at this hotel. Our room (suite) was great and our room boy was excellent. In fact all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good, plenty of choice even for the fussiest eaters and we didn't suffer from any upset stomach. There is a Lebanese, Italian and Fish restaurant all at which you have to pay extra, but you do receive good discounts and there not expensive to start with so maybe if you were here for two weeks you could try them. Entertainment was ok, but if like us we justed wanted to relax and recharge the batteries then this is the place to be. We have already booked to go back here next August for two weeks.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Edd
10 years 3 months ago
I was very disappointed with this hotel. I will review in the order of the ratings:

The all inclusive aspect is not completely true. There are certain things such as the pool table and internet access (even if you are using your own computer via wireless) that cost extra.

Extra things such as massages also cost extra (which I expected), but I was not expecting to be constantly pestered by hotel representatives to take these.

The cleanliness was good, rooms were cleaned daily often with nice towel arrangements in the shape of flowers etc. The only downside to the cleanliness was the fact that we either had very large ants in the shower room, or the very strong smell of insect killer.

The food was as described in a lot of other reviews luke warm due to being kept warm by small oil burners. There was a reasonable selection each night but it was pretty much the same reasonable selection each night so it became very samey, in fact by the end of the 2 weeks we both felt sick with the smell as soon as we walked into the restaurant. Another limiting feature of the food aspect of this hotel is that food is served at strict times and if you get hungry after 10 (when the restaurant closes) there is no chance of getting any food until the morning, not even a bread roll, there isnt even any chance to buy some chocolate or crisps as the shop is probably closed (and is very expensive for those types of things anyway).

The most disappointing aspect of this hotel was probably the beach. The water was very very shallow and we were not allowed to go further into the deeper area (hotel workers whistled to come back in). The sand was also not great, muddy feeling in the wet area and stoney in patches. There was a 10 minute bus ride to a good beach with deeper water and sea turtles and a good reef, but the busses are at set times and if you are suffering from a dodgy stomach (as every English person we met was) it wasn't appealing to be away from the room.

The hotel staff were mixed. some were very helpful and spoke good enough english to understand our needs effectively, most spoke very little english but were still keen to help, but around 1/3 of them were either disinterested or in some cases extremely rude (we found this particularly of a couple of waiters in the italian restaurant).

The entertainment was fairly good if that was what you wanted. We didnt, so again being constantly pushed towards playing watervollyball or waterpolo or waterballons, was not particularly relaxing. Also there was often loud music surrounding the pool. It was very much a holiday for family... Another couple said to us it reminded them of a sunny butlins!

Another problem that we found was that all of the sun loungers were reserved from very early morning and were very rarely actually used... just reserved. Also there were lots and lots of people ill, a fair number even had to have injections, and a couple had to be put on drips.

This hotel is ideal for families and people who want a lively pool based holiday, however we were sold this holiday after asking for a holiday for snorkelling which this wasnt. If you want a snorkelling holiday I would recommend asking for a hotel with a house reef. Another couple we spoke to said that the previous year they stayed half board at the Hyatt Regency in Taba and they said it was much better than this hotel and worked out cheaper for them.

I hope this review helps.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Julie And Steve
10 years 4 months ago
The Calimera is a big hotel, the brochure says 300 rooms and 2 pools but there are 4 pools you can use and the hotel is much bigger than you would expect because there's an italian part called Eden which guests also have use of.

There are alot of Italian and German guests, we found Germans great but Italians !!!

The food was fine there is repetition but what can you expect after 2 weeks we were a little bored with it but there's plenty of choice even for fussy eaters.

The staff were all fantastic I can't believe people have said they were slow etc, we learnt their names and from day one we were treated brilliantly, in fact too well by the active pool staff, another drink on the bar before we had finished our previous one, Ibrahim, Mohammed and Ahmed are all stars.

The entertainment staff try hard too, we found after a couple of days we missed breakfast went straight to active pool had lunch or brekkie there and went to main restraunt for evening meal as it was a bit of a hike to it.

There is a small fridge in the room and you get bottled water, which you can fill up again from the bars.

A few people were ill but I think alot of it was not drinking enough water, you really do need to drink ALOT of water in Egypt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Sue And Julie
10 years 5 months ago
We booked this holiday at Xmas to go for both our birthdays and couldn't have picked anywhere better.

Marsa Alam is a very new resort so when you first come out of the airport all there is to see is desert. If you want a holiday where you can go exploring then this isn't the one for you, but if you just want to laze about and be pampered then you have found heaven.

The hotel is spread out over a huge expanse and is made up of one and two level huts. It does look a little like bedrock but in a quaint way.

The first thing you see is the reception and this is marble and glass with leather sofas. We were greeted off the coach by many smiling staff with a very welcome cool drink. We were given our room keys and bracelets and our bags were taken to our rooms. This was a painless excercise and was done in 5 minutes.

The staff issue you with a map and offer to escort you to your room. We advise you do this and not decline it as we did (to the amusement of a group of German guests sitting at the bar. They obviously knew what would happen). We spent the next 20 minutes wandering around lost until a manager found us and escorted us to our room. Have to say a big thank you to Yasser for this.

The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, each with their own balcony and mosquito net across the window so you can sleep with the patio door open. We asked for someone to come and show us how to use the safe and the air conditioning and Yasser sorted this within 5 minutes. We regularly got towel sculptures left on the bed created by the cleaner but they were so good we didn't want to move them to go to bed.

All the staff in the hotel are men and everyone from the room cleaners to hotel manager takes the time to smile and say hello whenever they see you. They are all friendly and polite and want to chat and find out as much as they can about England. They love to be taught new words so they can practice their english.

You have the choice of 3 pools or the beach and are issued with a towel card to collect towels from any pool or the beach. You can exchange them as many times as you like and always get a smile from the pool boy.

There are 4 bars but 2 of these are payment only. We recommend the active bar and the pool bar near the restaurant. The alcohol is pleasant and the cocktails lethal. The staff were wonderful and even created a few new cocktails for us. A big hello to Peter, Mohammed and Ibraham for looking after us the whole week and keeping the drinks supplied.

The restaurant is large and airy and again scrupulously clean. There was never any trouble getting a table and the staff brought drinks to the table and helped carry your plates. The food was varied and plentiful. The chefs came out to meet us and asked for feedback all the time. The food was gorgeous and I defy anyone not to find something they liked. The displays around the buffet area were all made from bread or wax and made by the chefs. Incredible - have to be seen to be believed.

There is nowhere to go outside the hotel i.e. shops etc so this is definitely a chill out and relax holiday. There is a show each night which was varied and better than most I have seen in Egypt. The staff worked all day on the activities then all night on the show but still had a smile at the end of the night. A big hello to Gas and the team and thank you for all the laughs we had.

We both had birthdays whilst there and the staff threw a party in the restaurant and made a big fuss with traditional dancing and singing, even bringing a birthday cake baked by the chef. Thanks for making this so special. A few of the staff even gave us birthday presents which humbled us considering the little they get paid.

We had read previous reviews which told us to take euros. Don't. We took english and used this to tip the staff (even though they don't expect it). If you need egyptian pounds then you can change it at reception, but there really isn't anything to spend it on.

The sandy beach is fantastic and the coral comes right up to it. You can hire snorkelling equipment off the beach and go out about half a mile and still stand up. Recommend you take some rubber shoes as the coral hurts a lot!

In all, had a fabulous time from leaving Manchester airport to leaving the hotel to come home. We enjoyed it so much that we are going back in 8 weeks and can't wait. If you book this hotel, you will not be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Stevens
10 years 7 months ago
Transfer from airport was in a comfortable air-con bus. Entry visa fee (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sharrock
10 years 8 months ago
Just returned 31/01/07 from a fantastic week at the Calimera Habiba.

As we expected, the complex is in the middle of nowhere but we were just looking for a lazy week of sunshine by the sea. The resort is enormous.

The accommodation is in either in single or duplex bungalows which I could only describe as Flintstone like. Well equipped and spacious and kept immaculate by the cleaning staff. All the buildings have high domed ceilings with exposed bricks, lovely to look at.

The resort has 2 pools. There is a large freeform pool. This is the active pool by reception where all the games are played. It is large enough to have a permanent water polo, volleyball and basketball section. Only trouble was it was so cold nobody would venture in. The other pool near the restaurant, the relaxing pool,is heated. This is where people swim and take part in water aerobics. Can be a little exposed to the wind when it's blowing. The beach is just down from there.

The sun beds on the beach have very strong bamboo wind breaks round them. All the beds have thick mattresses which one of the staff bring together with a large beach towel so don't bother packing one. Just give him a US dollar and he is happy.

Don't bother with local currency dollars are best exchange rate although they will take Euros and pound Stirling.

The food is excellent and you can eat from breakfast to supper time if you want, neither of us suffered with a upset stomach, just a swollen one.

The bars seemed to have a good selection of drinks although I did here that if you did go out drinks were very expensive.

There were plenty of excursions if you wanted them, camel riding, quad bike riding in the desert and a visit to a Bedouin camp where you get fed and entertained and watch the stars in total darkness and then drive back in the dark. The trip to Luxor was expensive and apparently 6 hours by bus.

Watch out for the mossies, my wife was badly bitten on the lower leg on the first night by a dozen or so but I got none and I usually attract them. I blame the transfer bus because you are usually unprotected but maybe I'm wrong.

Finally to the staff. Paul, the rep, was fantastic, very knowledgeable, always there when he was supposed to be and willing to help. He even offered to take us to the chemist in his car for the mossie cream, a 20 min walk. The Egyptian staff were brilliant, always eager to please and love to talk without being pushy. They don't expect a tip but what's a Dollar to us. The complex was only 25% full at a guess so it was hard work for the animation team getting people to get off their sun beds but they were brilliant, all 7 of them. We only went to one of the shows in the theatre but they were excellent in the Lord of the Dance. They were always organising quizzes or daft games around the pool.

One bit of advise I would give is if you are a couple and you don't make friend easily join in as many of the activities as you can, beach volleyball, water aerobics, table tennis, French boules. If thats too energetic just go along and heckle. Once the animation team get to know you they treat you more like friends than clients. They are always happy to sit and drink with you once their duties are over. On a couple of occasions they took a group out to a disco and restaurant in the nearby town, not as a money making exercise, just to give people a break from the resort.

Checking in was a little unusual. You get an envelope on the bus and this has your room number on it. When you get to the complex leave your cases outside and take your letter and passports to reception. They will give you the key, go and write your room number on your cases and they will be taken to your room. If you arrive in the dark like we did, the complex is lit with low level lighting for effect. If you are trying to find the restaurant just keep following the WIDE paths to the far left corner, it takes some finding on the first occasion.

Hope these ramblings helps you and have a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
L
10 years 11 months ago
I can't really speak highly enough about this hotel as I had such a fantastic time there, thanks to the quality of the hotel and its staff.

It was extremely quiet when we went as I think it was a fairly new hotel but for me this was perfect as it emant we were pampered all day long by the staff-the nice thing about the Calimera Habiba as that its location is stunning-to the right there is nothing but desert and it has been built to blend in very nicely with its natural surroundings-and having the option of the sea or so many pools was very nice.

The food was fantastic and fairly varied, the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general was faultless and the staff were incredibly polite and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a relaxing holiday (there aren't exactly millions of nightclubs though) and hope to reutrn soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Neeneuk
11 years 2 months ago
Just arrived home from an absolutely truly fantastic holiday (13th Jul - 27)! The hotel is wonderful with the theme appearing to be Flintstones - with little stone buildings for accommodation, and obscure stones around the resort.

The hotel was only 10% occupied whilst we were there which meant no fight for sun beds as these were plentiful in both the pools and beach. The active pool is where you find the entertainment and the animation team do their best to get everyone involved - Anis, Abdul, coco, Alina and Gaby put on a show nightly and don't stop all day and night.

The kids club was also excellent although our daughter didn't go everyday due to lack of children, but at 5.30pm they are taken off to dinner for the kid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.