Image of Watermouth Lodges

Watermouth Lodges

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Watermouth, Ilfracombe EX34 9SJ
Our modern log-clad lodges are discretely nestled in a beautiful woodland setting of 12 acres of privately owned grounds, comprising a glorious array of extensive woods, mature shrubs and well maintained lawn.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lyn Hughes
Dog Owner? Stay somewhere else.
5 months ago
Advertise as dog friendly but rude and unhelpful when I booked through booking.com informing I would be bringing 2 dogs. Laughed at my mistake and refused to cancel booking as they stated in capital letters that no dogs accepted through booking.com AND only 1 dog per lodge. They then pretended they still expected me to stay and have charged for a lodge I could never stay in.

Feel completely ripped off as not money I can afford to loose.
Service:

Travel operator: Booking.com

Hotel tip: NOT PET FRIENDLY.

Dirty and unwelcoming
1 year 4 months ago
Booked a last minute holiday in Redwood 4. Got there and there was no welcome just given my keys and told where the lodge was. After unpacking I had a good look round and was not impressed. Bathroom had not been cleaned properly kitchen cupboards were dirty. Pots and pans had seen better days. Went to speak to reception but it was closed so had to put up with it. I emailed when I got home advising that I was not happy but they did not care . I would not class this as luxury accommodation and would advise against going there as you do not get value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Booking.com

Hol
Pool was too cold
6 years 5 months ago
We stayed in the Hollies at Watermouth Lodges. Was adequately furnished but lacked some basic touches which would have added to a feeling of comfort, e.g. a rug. It would have been helpful to have a few general household products included, the sort of thing you don't think to pack, such as toilet cleaner and a washing-up sponge but there was nothing like this. A few things were broken or not working, such as plug sockets and bed-side lights.

Was clean and tidy on arrival.

Indoor pool was too cold for our one-year old to use which was a shame. Soft play part a bit disappointing.

Good location and nice vista from the lodge.

In general, we enjoyed and the lodge was fine, just needed a bit more attention to detail to make it a more comfortable experience.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Denner
In need of a good clean
6 years 8 months ago
We have just spent Christmas in Lodges at Watermouth
Devon. In total we occupied 5 lodges and these varied
in size and layout. I stayed in what was called Amberwood and described as luxury.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the location of the lodges. I think though more attention to detail is needed. Our lodge had vertical blinds which were flimsy and in part broken. It was also clear that
some items needed replacement such as a broken clock and inadequate equipment such as frying pan.

Although the lodge had been cleaned it was only on the surface and closer inspection showed dirt and dust.

Other members of the family stayed in a Redwood lodge which had a second bedroom. This smelled of urine and it was fortunate that no one needed to sleep in it.

We used the indoor pool and found the changing areas dirty and in need of a good clean and update.

Based on this we would not return to Watermouth. We
have stayed in lodges in Eye Kettleby and have found a totally different standard to Devon.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Sue Moli
8 years ago
This is the 14th year we have been to Watermouth Lodges, sometimes more than once a year. The accommodation was always clean and pleasant but has improved enormously since the present owners have taken over.
The food in the bar is of good quality and quite varied, the staff have always been very friendly and helpful.
It would be difficult to find a more perfect location for exploring North Devon and the view from the lodges over the Bristol Channel are second to none.
We have already booked for next August.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Mrs Pinky D
8 years 2 months ago
Stayed here for a long weekend in June with hubby in the 1 bedroom Amberwood lodge which was fantastic! Although it's next door but one to the main reception/bar/swimming pools, we weren't at all bothered by noise. Our verandah overlooked a little of the sea down towards Watermouth Cove to the right hand side but mostly the surrounding forest area and lodge grounds.

The lodge itself was perfectly kept and all the extra touches like complimentary robes, slippers and imported bedding really gave it that luxurious edge. The 2-person jacuzzi was great fun, although VERY noisy and the shower cubicle was huge!

The indoor pool, spa bath and sauna was empty every afternoon between 2pm and 4pm so we had the place to ourselves.

The bar and food prices were very reasonable and our neighbours ate their every evening but brought their plates back to their lodge covered in foil and ate on their verandah, both said it was lovely food.

Will be returning very soon!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Booked directly with Watermouth Lodges

Recommended
Liczbinski
reasonable for what they cost
9 years 1 month ago
The lodges were very reasonable for what they cost £500 perweek in summer holidays we had the willows which is one of the more basic ones and perhaps rightly so for the price, but they were comfortable and had everything you would need within them, except for the spindly spiders which get everywhere but you are in woodland so this is to be expected.
They were clean when we arrived hoever not again for the whole duration of our 2 week stay by which point we were itching to lay our hands on a hoover.
No dvd player but Tiny pop channel available 24hrs which the kids liked far to much.
Very little water pressure though had to rinse hair with jug of water they could really do with looking into this.

On site they have a resteraunt /bar which is excellent value for money feed a family of 4 for £16 and the food was delicious and worth everypenny, ideal as you would have to travel to eat anywhere else, plenty of choice we ate here most nights.
The bar is part of the reseraunt great for kids as they have a tuck shop attatched so you can have your wine or beer and they can have a drink from the tuchk shop fridge from 20p per drink and when theyre good penny sweets too.
There is a large decking area sheltered from the wind from here you can see the adventure playground and the outside pool, both perfect for small children, pool was like a bath and no deeper than a meter. The inside pool was fine but quite cold and got very busy at times as smaller than the pool outside.

Overal staff were excellent, couldnt fault the complex maybe would have upgraded lodge but ours was fine, North Devon wasnt for us but if you like this area this place is a must :)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hoeseasons

Barbara Huntingdon
9 years 6 months ago
The accomodation was of excellent standard. When we arrived the beds were made-up and the lodge was clean, warm and welcoming. Top marks!

The only areas for improvement are easily addressed: the indoor pool was dirty first thing in the morning, the spa was almost empty of water and asking for 50p, which was irritating and a little cheesy, and there was a severe lack of information about the local area which would have been very useful to us and easy to provide by the Park.

For example - a local map with locations of foodshops, the opening times of the local tourist information office (only 2 hours a day in outside the summer season we discovered)and the location of the nearest A&E would all have been useful or reassuring. We got the impression that this info would be normally available in Reception, which was permanently closed as it was out of peak season.

Other than that, lovely little place and good base for exploring the area.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: None. Independent.

Recommended
Cockcroft
10 years 1 month ago
The lodge was very dark and the equipment looking very tired. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceilings and the fridge had obviously not been cleaned as there was a butter dish with rancid butter still in it. There were only two bowls for 4 people and 2 soup spoons and 2 dessert spoons. The lighter for the cooker was broken when we arrived and the grill wouldn't stay lit at all. There was a broom to sweep but no dustpan and no carpet sweeper which was meant to be there. There was dirty clothing left under beds. There weren't enough seats for us all to sit comfortably at night - other lodges appeared to have sufficient seating. We got clean bedding etc for our second week and were asked to leave the used stuff outside the door. We did this but it was never picked up during the entire second week and we took it back in so it wouldn't get wet.
Staff were friendly on the surface but if you went to buy anything at the bar or shop they would simply serve you while carrying on their own conversations and you always felt you were in the way - consequently the second week we didn't use the bar area at all. The swimming pools were good though but the play equipment was a bit young for our 13 and 9 year olds. I don't think we'll be back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independent booking

Watermouth Lodges
10 years 1 month ago
we have just come back from a weeks holiday at watermouth lodges and were really impressed, lodge was the best accomodation weve stayed in, far more in the lodge than was stated in the brochure. Food was excellent and resonable, and were happy that there wasnt a club on site just somewhere to relax. The only negative was that the shop could of been bigger and we should of been allowed in our lodge earlier than the 4pm check in although this applies to most holiday sites, just feel one day of your holiday has gone by 4
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: self catering

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.