12 independent reviews of the Chrysoula Apartments
Address: Kefalos, Κέφαλος, 85301, Greece
Chrysoula Apartments
Chrysoula Apartments Location
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Kefalos


4/5
Chrysoula Apartments Chrysoula Apartments is rated 4.08 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
83% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Chrysoula Apartments Reviews

3/5
3
"Great holiday, family run hotel, brilliant!"
Lauren stayed at Chrysoula Apartments in June 2010
Me, my mum and my brother arrived at the apartments on July 29th 2010. It was late when we got there but we were quickly shown to our rooms. We stayed in room C8, and our first thoughts were small! We were only in the apartments for an hour when a cockroach came out of the kitchen sink! We told Poppie but she said there were no available rooms to move to until the next week! All they could do was give us a cockroach killing spray! The next day we spoke to the rep; who was very nice! And tried to sort things out for us. He came and had a look in our apartment and found cockroach traps so it was obviously a recurring problem. We found that if we just kept the sink plug in the things ...
would be fine, which it was.

As the days went on we stayed by the pool because it was very hot.

There is a supermarket across the road called jims, which is quite expensive but Jim and his wife are so nice! Always saying hello, smiling, asking what your day was like- very nice people!

Kefalos is VERY quiet! Thereís a restaurant up the road called Kastri which overlooks the sea which is about a 10 minute walk, the foods alright but the service is very slow! if you walk for 20 mins you will find a restaurant on the left called scorpios, its run by Andrew and Maria, very nice people and they cook very nice food, my favourite was the spaghetti bolognaise.

The beach is stoney and sandy but be careful because the sand has some sharp bits in, if you walk along the beach for about 30 minutes from the apartments you will find this water sports place called Poseidon, itís very cheap there! My brother went on a jet ski for 15 mins which I think was about 30 euros, but he said it was amazing! Myself and my mum went on a pedlo which was 10 euros for an hour but we asked for half an hour which was 5 euros! It was very fun and we enjoyed ourselves.

The harbour is about an hour away from the apartments and when you get down there, honestly thereís nothing there, itís very quiet and it would be a waste of time going down there.

The first trip we booked was with trust tours, just down the road which was 75euros for 3 people! and with Thomas cook it would be about 125 euros!! We went to an active volcano on the island of nisyros. We would of had to walk to trust tours and then a car would take us to the harbour but we woke up late and NO taxis go to kefalos so Poppie gave us a lift to the harbour! Which was very nice of her!
When we got to nisyros after a good boat ride we had a walk around the town for an hour then we got a coach up to the volcano which was just amazing, and you can only do it in 2 places in the world; Mexico & Nisyros. we walked in too the crater of the volcano which was brilliant and you could see steam coming out of holes, but there was a very strong smell of sulphur! We took hundreds of photos!! Would recommend! We came back down from the volcano then had another hour to do stuff and then got the boat back to harbour and car back to trust tours and walked to apartments.

We were so happy with first trip wanted to do 3 island tour with them but they had sold out which was disappointing so couldnít do that trip and next one was on Friday, but we'd left on Thursday so wouldnít be able to do it! The busses to and from kos town are bad, only few a day!! In evening thereís one at 4.30 and one 9.30 and if you miss them then youíre stuck and itís a 60euro taxi ride to Kefalos! Didnít go to Kos town though as would be too much hassle with busses.

We didnít need air con as there was a ceiling fan in the room which was all we needed. Air con 7euros a day but in the 2nd week when loads of people came they upped the price too 50euros a week and 100 euros for 2 weeks!

1st week we got up at 10 every day and put the towels on the sunbeds and there were loads left! In second week loads of people came and so we had to get up at 7.30 and by the time we got down there at half 8 there were no sunbeds.

At night there is no noise by the bar but you can always hear the crickets outside!!! Every window in apartments has mosquito net, even front door! Which is good!

Maids come daily apart from Thursdays and they change your bedding & towels every few days. Btw jims sell loads of cheap alcohol and drinks and have fresh bread every morning and make lovely cakes and doughnuts!
There is a free pasta meal every Sunday and you have to pay for drinks only. Itís a choice of spaghetti bolognaise, carbonara or napolitana. Spaghetti bolognaise is very nice!!!!

The swimming pool is massive!! Very well kept! Nice and clean but found chlorine bit strong so skin dried out but that was sorted with a bit of moisturiser!

Few days before our last day we booked our room on which was 25euros because our flight was at 5 pm and you have to be out of your room by midday. They said we couldnít stay in our room so we were going to move to c3 (below us) but then they moved us to d7.


As the days went by we got used to the room and in the end we thought it was a very good size! And it wasnít small. We would recommend but very quiet place and far away from everything!

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Chris visited the Chrysoula Apartments, Kefalos in May 2010
My third visit to Chrysoulas.Best pool in Kefalos,accomadation very good and all the family are friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned daily and towels and bed linen changed every two to three days. Great place for the old and the young

Tour Operator: Thom Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Paul Hazlett stayed at Chrysoula Apartments, Kefalos, Greece in July 2009
Just returned from a two week stay (2 adults + 16 yr old boy) - we stopped in E Block and had some friends who stopped in F block. I can see what people mean about the difference in standard between the blocks - ours in E & F were fault less - clean, tidy, spacious and way over the standard I am used to in Greece - ceiling fans (no need, in my opinion, for the over priced air con), microwave, kettle, toaster, ironing board, iron etc etc. but the earlier blocks (A, B & C) did not seem as spacious or positioned as well.

We had no issues around the pool, very well kept, sunbed always available no matter what time you made it to the pool (bearing in mind it was peak season) although the pool bar ...
was very expensive and if you love a diet of chips, fried food and ice creams then enjoy -(although Grannie\'s home made chips are excellent but 3 quid a portion!) but great for the kids.

The location is great (15 to 20 minutes walk to the main resort area so quiet if needs be)and Supermarket Jim across the road will do anything for you (tourist info / advice etc)- the family who ran the supermarket (especially Thoula) are delightful and remember your name each morning after only being told once (some doing bearing in mind the number who must pass through the store everyday). Use them for the ice creams etc - they are at least a euro (90p) EACH cheaper and only a 1 minute walk away.

What was the main problem? The family who ran the apartments - I am sorry but I have never known a less social family of owners. In 9 years of going to Greece, part of my holiday has always been meeting and socialising with the family - that is what makes Greece special and the reason we avoid Spain or similar destinations. My complaint is not based on a singular incident that was not resolved and therefore I am holding a grudge or anything, on the contrary I had nothing to complain about at all - this is based on two weeks of being a \"customer\" at their expensive poolside bar / cafe and expecting at least a smile or a good morning / afternoon / evening without having to instigate it first. Contrast the service you get at the pool bar versus the supermarket!

It appears that the family maybe \"moving on\" - in my opinion this would benefit the apartments, I would never return with the current family there but as stated these are nice apartments in a nice resort - maybe with a different family that I am normally used to experiencing during our travels around the Greek Islands this would be an excellent place to stay and probably would have got a 10/10!

Don\'t let it put you off - maybe I / we did something wrong, maybe they did not like my spectacles or the colour of my shorts / beach towel but certainly a very, very strange experience (that could have ruined the holiday if it were not for all the other positives) compared to the last 9 years! ;-)

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

emma and paul had a holiday at Chrysoula Apartments Hotel, Kefalos in August 2008
overall the chrysoula apartments are ok. they are clean spacious and functional we were in block d which was a newer block. However arivals and departures always seem to be occuring in the middle of the night the food and drink at the pool bar was good but very expensive and a smile wouldnt of cost anything. the complex is fairly well away from the main hub of things and a 25 minute walk to the harbour.we hired a dt 125 for 5 days from manolis for 95 eauros and a buggy (cute) from trust for 35 euros for one day. rock bar was lovely atmosphere the riverside cafe for my lovely english breakfasts every day!kefalos itself was very quiet the main strip is a bit away from these apartments kardamena was well worth a visit and much livelier and ...
kos town was lovely with lots of history ie castle and hypocrates tree. Not much in the way of shopping so i would recomend a day trip to turkey which cost 80 euros with travel rep for 2 people to buy stuff.one very very disapointing part of our holiday was on our final day when we got asked to leave our apartments around 2 pm and told if we paid an extra 25 euros we could stay. so we paid it. on the notice board it said 20.00 am so we thought it was till 8 am the next day as our flight was at 5.30 am! so we came back to our room went to bed about 10.30 and got woken up by 3 maids and then chrysoula rang the room and asked us to leave! we were disgusted we had to get ready and finish packing while maids stood waiting!!!!then we went and sat round the pool till around 3 30am when the bus came! i do not recomend having a night flight! we will not be returning to kos as we were bored we visited all of the island on the bike and couldnt find nothing else to do. id recomend this island for people who want to relax and do NOTHING AT ALL but after seeing all the island there was nothing else to do.

Read More

Tour Operator: thoas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Liam visited the Chrysoula Apartments, Kefalos, Greece in July 2008
Crysoula is a wonderful resort that i\'m sure anybody would like to revisit, i recommend everybody goes there, if for nothing else to try Grannies chips!!
The pool is the biggest in Kos and has plenty of sunbeds. However the drinks are rather expensive 3.50 euros for a pint when its half the price down the road.
However the hotel cleanliness was outstanding and the hotel food was Good, however ,again, expensive the location is great as its next to Manolis car/bike renting (However i recommend you go to Trust further down the road) and Jims super market, were all the locals are freindly, next to the pool bar is a games room were you can hire a PS2 ...
or the computer,they even have a pool table and table-football.The staff are very nice and friendly to all the people who visit and they will help you with anything as long as you ask.
The hotel entertainment is very limited to a quiz and some free meals however you spend money on the drinks....
Over all Crysoula is great!
Oh, and Nicko, stay on the Irish whiskey matey!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Sandy stayed at Chrysoula Apartments in June 2008
Chrysoula is a lovely set of apartments. They are basic, we had one double room with a stand up fan and two single beds in the kitchen come living room. There is a small tub and shower and a TV. Cooking equipment is limited, microwave,twin hotplate,toaster and kettle. Utensils and plates are a mis match of stuff but you can ask the owners for more. Our TV didn\'t work which didn\'t bother us too much. You get BBC Prime and BBC news apparantly.
The safe deposit box cost us 35 Euros for the two weeks, which I thought expensive, we didn\'t even enquire about the AC.
The rooms are cleaned almost daily and you get fresh sheets and towels every two days. The place is spotless.
There is a pool bar and cafe which does very reasonable food, Granny\'s home made chips and ...
Greek salad were more than enough for us for lunch. It is not cheap though and the drinks are also expensive 3.50 for a pint, when you can get it for half that down the road.
The pool is the biggest on Kos and there are plenty of sunbeds to go around. Great pool we had problems getting the kids out to go to the beach.
Location is on the outskirts of town and it is a good 45 minute walk to the harbour area with kids, about 15 mins to the first collection of shops and restaurants. Very close to the best beach and to the Manolis Car Hire and Jim\'s supermarket. Supermarkets are quite expensive, like doing your weekly shop in the corner shop. Hire a car and drive to the big one near the airport or near Kos Town.
The staff in the place are very friendly and helpful, they all speak good English.
Not much in the way of ents. They have a \"free\" spaghetti night on a Sunday, where you get a free plate of pasta, quite nice but you end up spending loads of cash at the bar. There is a BBQ on a Tuesday costs 10 Euros for Adults and 5 for kids. You get a huge plated mix of meat and mezze with bread, the kids get a smaller but still huge portion. Again you spend more at the bar but there is also a quizz and kareoke.
There is a games room where you can play Pool etc and you can hire a PS2 for 3 euros an hour.
Some people just soent their entire day here by the pool, we spent maybe 4 days out of the 14 doing that. Each to their own though.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

june stayed at Chrysoula Apartments Hotel, Kefalos in April 2008
Can\'t praise Chrysoula\'s enough. Very Clean and the best equipped accommodation I\'ve stayed in in Greece. As well as usual two ring hob and fridge they provide a microwave, toaster, kettle, fans and iron. Safe deposit box and air conditioning also available at a charge.
Staff are very friendly and Chrysoula herself drove me to the pharmacy and offered to loan me money for prescription drugs when my partner was ill on the last day of our holiday.
Entertainment was a bbq and quiz one night a week. There is a fantastic swimming pool and lots of books to read or take an excursion with one of the local trust car firms.
Food is of the snack bar type - Burgers and chips etc.Sampling Chrysoula\'s chips is a must and her freshly squeezed orange juice is delicious.
Many people return to ...
Chrysoula\'s year after year and I can understand why. I would visit again soon.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

jez stringfellow stayed at Chrysoula Apartments in April 2006
The Chrysoula is a great place to stay if you are looking for peace & relaxation, there is a nice bar area & the food is value for money, especially the chips.

We stayed in C Block in C6 which had a large terrace on the side, this is on the first floor & may not be suitable for people who cannot manage stairs, also when the stairs get wet be careful as they are marble & become slippery. The apartment was clean & had a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle ,2 ring cooker hob & a colour TV which received BBC prime TV. The beds where 3 singles which were clean & comfortable, bedding was clean & we had a daily maid service, bedding & towels were changed once a week, cutlery & crockery are basic but we managed.

There is a ...
fantastic large pool, child's pools & lots of sun loungers with mattresses free. A small play area for younger children with a slide swings & roundabout. A room at the side of the bar houses a Pool Table, a table tennis table, a soccer table, internet access by PC & playstations, these all cost a small amount, ranging from 1.50 euro to 3euro.

There are toilets at the back of the bar building which are fantastically clean.

The apartments are located at the beginning of Kefalos & within minutes of supermarkets, bars, restaurants & the beach, which is better for sunbathing if you go down the side of Supermarket Jim opposite the apartment entrance & then walk left. The harbour is approx 25 minutes strolling. Kefalos town is up on a hill above the harbour & unless you like walking... catch the bus.

All of the Hotel staff where friendly, the owners Chrysoula & Vassilli are great hosts, also the maid service by Gratzy & Therese was fantastic.

There was not much in the way of entertainment while we were there, but we did have a quiz night & a Greek meal. Vassilli did some Greek dancing & encouraged everyone to join in.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Lorna visited the Chrysoula Apartments, Kefalos in April 2006
Stayed at the very start of the season, so go prepared with insect spray as you can get armies of ants invading, I soon got rid of them as I dislike them!

Very surprised how clean, spacious the apartment was, 2 single beds in 1 room & mine in a nook in the kitchen which was great as I got peace at night lol, the kitchen facilties where basic but who goes away to cook! Especially when the food is so cheap in the restaurants nearby, stayed in D block with a nice outside terrace with table and chairs.

Every day the Apartment was cleaned and beds made. The pool area was fantastic for my sons 12, 14yrs. The pool was huge and made lots of friends, even though no kids clubs as everyone was friendly. Chrysoula & vasiliss the ...
owners where great always smiling and if you need anything or any info just ask.

Grandad is great n grandma peels potatoes every morning for the best home made chips on the island. They hold a Greek BBQ night and the food is great especially to get the kids to try Greek food.

Already booked to go back as the atmosphere is relaxing and friendly.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Adam,Steven,moe ,Jordan, stayed at Chrysoula Apartments, Kefalos, Greece in June 2005
This complex is quality in every area.

The staff are friendly and amusing as well as good hosts.

I would highly recommend the Chrysoula to anyone.

PS Big hallo to the main man Damitri

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

fi visited the Chrysoula Apartments in July 2004
This was the third time we have stayed in the Chrysoula and we just love it!!!

If you want a relaxing get away from it all holiday - then this is the place to be. It is a family run complex and Chrysoula and her husband and children (and grand parents) do everything from running the bar to cooking.

There are 2 supermarkets within 50 yards of the apartments and the beach is literally across the road.

The pool area is always spotless and their is a big swimming pool to keep the kids happy. Plenty of beds and umbrellas and a non stop supply of cool drinks and snacks can be purchased from the bar by the pool.

The apartments are basic but spotless and there is wild bougainvillea and other vines growing around the balcony's creating arch ways of colour.

We ...
never ate in the apartments, save eating fresh bread and pastries purchased at the local supermarket for breakfast and I imagine it would be difficult to prepare a meal in the rooms - but I don't go on holiday to cook!!
Kids loved it (age 11 and 5) and there is a small play area for them in the heart of the grounds of the apartments.

I am really fussy and hate big commercialised resorts and the Chrysoula apartments offered me and my family a basic, warm friendly and safe place to base our holiday and would recommend it wholeheartedly.


Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Debbie stayed at Chrysoula Apartments, Kefalos, Greece in July 2004
We booked only two days before we went so I didn\'t have any time to do any research/check reviews etc so was very pleased when we got to the Chrysoula.

The rooms are quite small and basic but clean and functional. We had a nice little terrace which we fed the kittens and cats on everyday ! The pool at the Chrysoula is fantastic ~ the largest in Kefalos (or so I was told), its clean and the kids can play with inflatables, balls etc.

There were always plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The food from the bar was fine ~ homemade chips out of this world ! ~ granny peels the potatoes every morning !! Chrysoula and her family are lovely, very friendly and helpful. Our daughter (10 at the time) made lots of friends, and although no kids ...
club, it was no problem ~ everyone got on with everyone !!

The barbecue night was great fun ~ good food and fun games ! We loved it and we would go back.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share