105 independent reviews of Praia Da Rocha, Portugal
Praia Da Rocha Location

5/5
Praia Da Rocha is rated 5 out of 5 from 105 Reviews

Praia Da Rocha Hotels

Praia Da Rocha Reviews

4/5


Tony visited here on July 2007
First time in the Algarve and wont be the last.
The resort was nice plenty of places to eat
I would recommend Claires lots of choice food very nice and also Reds ribshack the ribs and steaks that they do are lovely and the staff are excellent and legends bar not a huge amount to choose from but very nice.
Not alot of entertainment for kids so after a meal we would normally head back to our hotel bar
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Sue visited here on July 2007
Maybe I just had a different vision of what it would be like, but I found Praia da Rocha a sort of upmarket Margate without the funfair! There was quite a bit of graffiti, the streets were not all that clean (quite a bit of dog whoopsies!) which my children seemed to be heading straight for! The shops in the strip were sort of what I call \"toot\" shops, nothing of great interest, was expecting some traditional shops around although Alvor which is just a short taxi ride away was lovely and had more of the shops that I like. The cobble stones around Praia da Rocha are just silly, badly laid, and very very slippery when wet ...
as my eldest found out a couple of times! The kerbs are very high so not that ideal for wheelchair users as even the zebra crossings have high kerbs. Taxis around town are cheap and very quick. Beach is lovely. Atlantis restaurant is a must! Gorgeous food and not badly priced. There is a restaurant as you get to the top of the hill and turn right and it is overlooking the cliffs (sorry cannot remember the name)thats lovely to although as the Atlantis does gets really busy.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Michelle & Peter visited here on July 2007
PDR beach is gorgeous, so clean and loads to do i.e. jetskiing etc

The main \'strip\' has loads of bars (we liked the las vegas bar) and restuarants (our favorites were Titanic, Squash, Hollywood, Sitting Bull and an Italian, think it was called Cataplana??).

The marina area is lovely, a few bars and restuarants down there but it\'s lovely just for a walk as well. There\'s a \'Nikki Beach\' at the marina as well if you want to go to a private beach, you can hire a \'Moet bed\' for 100euro, the restuarant in there looks nice too but we didnt get a chance to try it.

We stayed for 2 weeks and found that we went to ...
the same places over and over again as there isnt THAT much to do each night but we still had a brilliant holiday.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


John Strachan visited here on June 2007
The resort overall was first class. My girlfirend and I chose this place after someone else recommended it. The number of restaurants is amazing. Fresh fish dishes were to die for. The beach was the best I have ever been to. Cleaned each morning around 7.30am and at night also. The only things that let the resort down was the cleanliness of the toilets when out in the bars in the main strip. Stick to a nice bar if you need the loo! Also, everyone smokes. We are so used to a smoke free environment so it was difficult for us to get used to everyone smoking, either at dinner or while walking out on the street. To be fair ...
though, it would not be enough to put me off going again.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


michelle visited here on May 2007
What a beautiful beach !

Not seen a beach like it fantastic.

The resort is not for children because of the busy strip that attracts the younger end, not much for my 5 year old to do outside the hotel entertainment.

Found a shop that sold cornish pasties and were very nice too. Very clean placebut wouldnt go back to Praia De Rocha only because of the entertainment side for children.

I will definately be going back to Portugal though.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Tracy and michael Tomlinson visited here on May 2007
Most of the resort is situated around a long street with plenty of bars and restaurants. There dosent seem to be a lot of music as it is mostly contained in the bars. The resort feels safe and although there was an awful lot of police they were not intimidating. Lots of street stalls selling some good bargains. The wooden decking around the beach was perfect for a walk and the sand was so clean, the sea was a bit cold and lots of seaweed, but the beach never seemed to get busy. Certainly a place i will visit next year.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


W Burton visited here on April 2007
early may some big road/path repairs being done to the main area at the top of the hill. looks very rough but for the 2 weeks we was there they was very quick from one part to another. august time id reckon it,s all sparkling new.
still the same old people asking if you smoke jumping out at you. all in all still very nice there.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


mountford visited here on April 2007
Hard to judge resort cleanliness because of main street roadworks,footpaths also under reconstruction did not help access to shops,bars etc

Resort entertainment varied from irish bars entertainment nightly from 10pm, discos, a casino with a very good floor show nightly available to non guests karioke bars a plenty if that is your taste,mostly hotel entertainment for families.

Beach very clean and well maintained nice soft white sand,
wooden boardwalk adjacent to the beach containing excellent
bars and restaraunts + public toilets and washrooms,sunbeds and umbrellas were plentyfull to hire at 5 euros a day,or if you wanted to just do your own thing on the beach there was room for every body.this beach is rated as a blue flag beach complete with life guards ...
it is really 1st class apart from the steep steps leading down to the beach.

Overall this review was truthful although the timing of the roadworks in this resort should be finished by the time I have written this rewiew I would not hesitate to return to this resort.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


J Francis visited here on April 2007
The beach in Algarve is beautiful. The strip is smaller than what we expected but had enough restaurants. unfortunetly they were relaying the strip so we found it to be very dabgerous but it had finished when we left. We would go back to Portugal but would try a different area through personal choice.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

2/5


kaz visited here on March 2007
the main strip in praia da rocha is like a building site at the moment all the paths and roads are being replaced pretty dangerous at night with uncovered man holes etc!
once all this is completed it will be a lovely resort!
the beaches are beautifull, people selling drugs etc can be a bit of a pain the new chinese restaurant ASIA is well worth a visit a 5 course meal for less than 11 euro per person food delicious!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


sarah visited here on February 2007
We struggled for something to do during the evenings as everywhere seemed to be closed or under repair, which may or may not have been as it were out of season, but it really was as dead as a doornail!

We did eat at a really lovely restaurant called \'Titanic\' which was done out all old yet grand looking
and the food was exeptional.

The beach was absolutley beautiful nice and clean and we found a lovey beach bar which served gorgeous food
(I cant remeber what it was called though!)

All in all I honestly dont thing we would go back, to the apartment or Praia de Rocha, exept for the beautiful beach.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


james Cameron visited here on November 2006
I liked this resort as it was very clean.The entertainment is pretty low key. The beach is one of the best i have seen,it is long and wide with a great boardwalk with places to eat and drink (even evening meals).I would come back to this resort again.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Line visited here on September 2006
Beaches - Praia da Rocha beach is one of the nicest I\'ve seen, and it has everything you could want. They have recently built decking which runs the whole length of the beach (which is quite long!). This makes it easy to walk to where you want and is also great if you want to walk along the beach in the evening. They have built restaurants all the way along and plenty of toilets in between which are clean, plus shower cubicles.


Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


smith visited here on September 2006
Praia Da Rocha is a nice place to take a holiday,the beach is amazing ,the shops are a bit on the \'samey\'side but OK visits out and about are just a few Euros by Taxi .
Food is plentiful and good value and quality,the steaks are reccommended.The night life looked OK but we had kids with us so didnt visit the discos. I would definately come back to Praia Da Rocha again ( and probably again and again)
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Georgina, Dermott&Katie visited here on August 2006
Stayed in Praia da Rocha but did not find much to do and thought the choice of restaurants was not good. The Beach was beautiful and very clean. I visited Portimao and Alvor while I was there and really liked both of these resorts. Alvor I felt although smaller than Praia da Rocha was much livlier and had a better athmosphere and also the choice of restaurants was very good. Portimao great for a spot of shopping. I would go back to the Algarve but probably would choose to stay in Alvor and visit the other resorts also.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Andy visited here on August 2006
A little like Blackpool in the sun, not the classiest resort ever but neverthless plenty to do and see, bars, restaurants etc. Fantastic beach. Would recommend.

Hired a car to see other parts of the Algarve - highly recommended also.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Wendy Thirlaway visited here on August 2006
The resort was very clean. There was cleaners in every day. The resort entertainment was okay but was not on every day. Would reccomend the beach to everyone but be carefull of the beach sellers hasseling you from every direction. Restaurants along the beach are very good value for money.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Susan Duane visited here on July 2006
Had a great holiday.

Enjoyed the Irish pubs especially Twins and Dirty Nellys which had great entertainment.

Went to Babilon nightclub which opened from 12 to 6. would recommend the sitting bull steakhouse on the strip for a lovely meal, we returned there twice as had lovely meal.

Beach is very nice and very long. Lovely walking on the strip at night.

Weather was over 35 degrees all week.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


carol visited here on July 2006
a lovely family resort, lively if you want it to be with a good mixture of bars, cafes and restaurants the best being \"sitting bull\" which serves great tex mex food at massive portion sizes. the resort has the best beach i have ever seen. we went to the beach every day apart from 1 day which we spent at a water park. the sea was fab, clean, safe and plenty of fun to be had on banana boats & wind surfing etc. and great waves which my children loved.

i would definitely go back to this resort
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


maureen -colin visited here on May 2006
The Ice Bar is a good place to have breakfast. Full english costs about 5 euro.

Lorraine and Christine make you feel welcome and we had good nights watching the world cup on the big screen. Stay away from the chip shop its dear and rubbish,and I must stress to anyone going to this resort to keep clear of the gypsies on the streets trying to sell you cheap cigs and tobacco. They rip you off for your money and in exchange you get a packet not a sleeve stuck to the top of a card board box filled with sand or cardboard.

Other than this its a good place to holiday beaches oustanding. The ...
new promenade is being built and its lovely to walk along with bars and cafes along the beach front. Food is good in the restaraunts you can pay as little as 4euro 90cents for a pork chop dinner or as much as 14euros for fillet steak. If you would like to have a romantic cadle lit dinner get a taxi to the restsraunt \"Stone Steak \"just outside of town. Iits well worth the money.

Zoo marine is excellent for kids and the water park keeps them well happy.

Hope you enjoy your holidays as much as we did.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Algarve Casino Hotel  stars Algarve Casino Hotel
With a location right on the beachfront, the Hotel Algarve Casino boasts impressive views of the sea and as its name suggests its very own casino.

Latest Review: May 2008

Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

2/5
Club Praia Da Rocha  stars Club Praia Da Rocha
Address: Av Comunidade Lusíada, Praia da Rocha, 8500-801 Portimão, Portugal

Latest Review: Sep 2013

Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4/5
Estrela do Vau Apartments  stars Estrela do Vau Apartments
Address: Estrela Do Vau, Alto do Vau, 8500 Portimão, Portugal

Latest Review: Aug 2013

Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

2/5
Flor da Rocha Apartments  stars Flor da Rocha Apartments
Address: Rua das Conchas, Sítio dos Castelos, 8500-801 Portimão, Portugal

Latest Review: May 2006

Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4/5
Jupiter Hotel  stars Jupiter Hotel
Address: Av. Tomaz CabreiraPraia da Rocha, 8500-802 Portimão, Portugal

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4/5
Oriental Hotel  stars Oriental Hotel
Address: Avenida Tomás Cabreira, 8500-802 Portimão, Portugal

Latest Review: Aug 2008

Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4/5
Plaza Real Apartments  stars Plaza Real Apartments
The modern Plaza Real Apartments, built for summer 2002, occupy a quiet location within easy reach of the busier centres of Praia da Rocha and Portimao.

Latest Review: Mar 2009

Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

5/5
Terracos do Vau Apartments  stars Terracos do Vau Apartments
Rubbing shoulders with Praia da Rocha and Alvor, the Terracos do Vau Apartments offer spacious, comfortable accommodation in a peaceful location with easy access to all the facilities of the resorts.

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha

4/5
Vila Rosa Apartments  stars Vila Rosa Apartments
Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portuga

Latest Review: Mar 2011

Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Praia Da Rocha
Share