Image of Mar Y Huerta Hostal

Mar Y Huerta Hostal

14 of 19 hotels in Es Cana

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
2 stars
Calle de Es Cana, 07849

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Deborah Poole
Staff were friendly
5 years 4 months ago
On arrival check in was fast and efficient as were the whole staff and always with a smile from the management to the chambermaids, the only small issue with the food was the very basic breakfast, plenty of options for the evening meals though.

Hotel kept spotless as was our room, be aware though there is no room cleaning on Tuesdays. Location right by the beach and close to the best bars, there is no hotel entertainment but Charlie’s bar very near if you want that kind of thing.

The pool area is lovely surrounded by tropical plants and even photo happy lizards, a large number of the sunbeds do need replacement however, would defiantly stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Winnie And Trinny
6 years 7 months ago
The staff are very friendly and helpful, our room had a lovely sea view and was very comfortable basic and clean, and suited our needs. after all you don't go on holiday to sit in your room all day....the food was fine, and as i don't eat meat i thought i would struggle, but i didn't as there was a veggie option most nights and plenty of salads.
The hotel location is right on the beach and close to bars and places to eat, and just over the road from taxi rank and local bus pick up point. there was no entertainment at the hotel but plenty near by.
The hotel has NO LIFTS and we had to climb up 6 flights of stairs to our room, so people with walking or breathing problems may find this isn't the hotel for them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Barrett
7 years 4 months ago
place was kept pretty clean.small pool with no shallow end was ok but a lot of holiday makers from other hotels came to use it so it got very busy at times. you wouldnt starve with the choice of food but we ate out often especially as the breakfasts were awful.the rooms were very basic and very hot with no air con, unfortunately our room was on the front facing the bus/taxi station so it was noisy all through the night and i didnt get one decent nights sleep in the whole 2 weeks.the location is brilliant just a minute walk to the beach.the lady on reception was very nice but as for the rest of the staff well if you were not spanish forget it.this was a comment i heard from many of the guests because it was so obvious.no entertainment apart from kareoke twice a week but you are close to everywhere.the noisy room and sullen staff would put me off returning so no i wouldnt go back to this hostel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Goddard
7 years 4 months ago
we arrived early in the morning and had to wait till 2pm before we could get in our room,there is no air con only a fan which to be honest waste of time just circulates hot air ,when ask for another fan was told it would be 20 euros to hire,we were at the front of hotel opposit taxi rank and bus station ,very noisy all night did not have a nights sleep all week,couldnt leave door open to keep cool as much to noisy,the breakfast was the same every day so we ate out a few times,evening meal was different every day but wasnt best,not much sellection.the pool was very small with open access to a main street so i wouldnt recomend it,plus very deep at both ends.i wouldnt consider staying here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Heather
7 years 5 months ago
Our fourth consecutive year at this hostel and yet again the staff could not be faulted for their professionalism, friendliness and service. The food whilst basic is always freshly prepared and only the fussiest eater would starve - My fussy 2 1/2 year old certainly didn't.
You couldn't get a more central location in the resort and for those looking for a relaxed and family orientated holiday I can't think of anywhere better in the resort to stay.
The only down side - no lift
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Tracie Borthwick
7 years 5 months ago
i loved it, been three times already and goin back again next year with the family. couldnt of asked for a better holiday. i loved the karaoki nights and the food was ok to, you wouldnt starve there unless you are a really fussy eater. there is a wide range of foods to suit everyone. the staff were really pleasent and are one of the reasons im going back again. they have time for everyone and are very professional and good at there job. es cana is a really nice place to stay and the site are amazing but i would'nt stay in another hotel other than this one.. cant wait go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lesley Conroy
7 years 6 months ago
We have never tried a hostal before, we were pleasantly surprised. It is a small and friendly place to stay, very quiet. The rooms cleaned every day and towels changed daily. All public areas very clean. Staff friendly, all spoke very good English.We were half board. Always something available even for fusy eaters.Did not pay a lot so did not expect a lot. Always soup, salads, a fish and meat dish.You would not starve, although sometimes lacked a little in taste. You get what you pay for, 2 star accomodation and hostal you do not get 5 star food. I had no complaints at all with this hostal very clean and friendly, week went without a hitch. Would go back, no probs.The place is ideally situation near beach, harbour and all resturants and bars.The bar does pint of san miguel for 2 euros. Good snacks at dinner if needed, no dear prices at all. If you go I am sure you would enjoy it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John P
7 years 7 months ago
Mar Y Huerta Hostal Stayed here May 2009,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
J. Hands
8 years 3 months ago
Hotel small and very friendly. Staff excellent. Good selection of food at both breakfast and evening meal. Four different cereals, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, 3 types of bread, jams, 3 types of juice, tea, coffee at breakfast. Soup, very large selection of salad, fish, meat, chips, potatoes, pastas, pizza, rice, fruit, cakes, various cold deserts and icecream at evening meal. We stayed for 2 weeks and the menu was changed every night. We even paid to have our lunches at hotel unless we were away for the day. Good selection and very reasonably priced.
Beach 2 minutes away, across the road.
Take care when leaving hotel as it leads directly onto the road.
No small pool for children but there is a play area with swings etc.
No actual entertainment at hotel, apart from the bar but plenty of other places to go to if you want evening entertainment.
Well worth a visit. We would go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Janice
8 years 5 months ago
I stayed in the mar y huerta es cana. the hostel is advertised as a hotel, the food at the hotel was unedible, packet soup, tinned ravioli, pasta with fish sauce, and cold frozen chips. the breakfast was rolls or bread with cheese or jam and the rolls were not fresh.
I travelled with my husband and 5 year old grandaughter, the pool was unsuitable for her as the shallow end of the pool was 1.2 meters and we had to go to another pool and pay 10 euros for entry.
I was very disapointed and would never stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: