Image of Cala d Or Hotel

Cala d Or Hotel

22 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Avinguda de Bèlgica, 49 07660 Cala D`or, Spain
A beachside hotel, the Cala d'Or is for those in search of peace in a relaxed yet elegant setting. The hotel lobby with its pillars and domed ceilings gives the impression of an exclusive private villa.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lesley Fogg
11 years 3 months ago
Six of us (3 married couples in our 50's) spent 8 days here for the Silver Wedding Anniversary of one of the couples - it was the third visit for four of us. We had a couple of nice rooms with patios adjoining the pool for 4 of us and the Anniversary couple had a nice room overlooking the sea.

All rooms were pleasant and clean - nothing extra special but perfectly adequate. The breakfasts and dinners were very good and the staff very helpful in finding us a table for 6 for each meal.

The hotel management have obviously taken on board the comments of visitors and now provide mini-bars in the rooms which we thought was a great improvement from previous visits.

Our main reason for visiting this hotel is the location and, for the six of us, it was the perfect venue for a relaxing, round the pool/on the beach/pleasant short walks, holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sian Langton
11 years 4 months ago
Hi we visited this hotel the last week in August. Hotel is very centrally located near to the marina and the pedestrianised area, and its about a 10 minute walk to the beach.

Hotel is small which is nice, our room was very small, bathroom was not cleaned that well and could have done with a refurb.

Pool was very clean and nice small though, no problem getting sunbeds whatever time of the day.

No entertainment was available at the hotel.

Breakfast was typical continental style served 7.00 -10.00 and at 10.00 that was it food was taken.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Janine & Scott
12 years 2 months ago
My husband and i stayed at the D'Or hotel in October. We had booked a Thomson "small and friendly" allocation on arrival deal and we got just what we expected.

The hotel is in a very good location. it is close to the marina which has excellent restaurants, but it is also very close to the pedestrian centre where all the shops, bars and restaurants are.

The hotel is small but it has sufficient facilities. there is a bar (that serves snacks), a tv room, a very clean pool (although a little small), table tenis table and air conditioning in the rooms.

The staff were friendly and helped us book trips, cars etc. And were very good and helped us when our card key stopped working.

The only things we would change if we stayed again is the room location and the entertainment. We were given a room by the main road (there is a large hedge for privacy) and although it didn't bother us too much and it didn't really keep us awake at night, it was annoying in the day when we were at the hotel. I would have preferred something quieter. As for the entertainment, from what we saw it was pretty bad. We do not stay really stay in the hotel on holidays anyway, we like to go out and wonder round, so it didn't bother us at all.

You should bear in mind that we visited in October when it is very quiet anyway, i can imagine the pool area being quite busy and the roads being busier in peak season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
The D'or is a small hotel situated on a busy main
Road and roundabout towards the marina.
We were given a room on the ground floor next to the
Main road.The noise from the traffic and those horrible
Snarling scooters was awful and lasted all day and night.You couldn't sit outside the room and relax because of the noise.
On the plus side,the staff were nice and the pool
and poolside bar were fine.Breakfast was okay with
a selection of food for everyone from bacon/eggs to
fruit etc.We had breakfast about 5 times out of the two
Weeks we were there.
The room was small,like a hole in the wall really.
The air con was great though.
the cleaners gave the rooms a dusting and made the beds.Didn't bother about under the beds.There must have a whole summers dust and fluff under there.
For those of you who like to drink until late beware.
we returned one night at 2am and we were locked out.
After knocking on the door for ten minutes,we were let in by the security man who had obviously been asleep in the tv room.
All in all we didn't think the D'or was that good.
The location and the noise made for a poor holiday
And we would not return there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Michael
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel is situated in an excellent position, close to most amenities any one could wish for.

Cleanliness is apparent throughout the hotel and can not be faulted. Staff at all levels are also excellent and most helpful.

Food is absolutely appalling. Breakfast has everything you could want, but the bacon is obviously deep-fried and is a congealed mass.
The evening meal in most cases was inedible, lamb as tough as old boots, once in 14 days we saw beef. Chicken was there most times and once there was rabbit.

If you didn't get into the dinning room soon, the baguettes ran out as did some of the buffet food and there was no more. Something called Mexican something or other consisted of 2 small pieces of chicken covered in cheese on top of a bed of dried-up spaghetti, I could only eat the chicken. I left the restaurant hungry.

I could write a book on the meals we found disgusting
The other guests there were reluctant to complain to the rep as I did, but were willing to complain to other guests.

We often saw guests from the hotel eating at the local restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tim
13 years 3 months ago
A wonderful hotel. As the other writer said, definitely deserves its 4 stars (I have seen it marketed on lastminute as 5 stars...?).

Perfect for couples looking for a quieter hotel; there's no entertainment at the hotel (though just walk 2-3 mins into Cala D'Or if you want some).

Superb service from the friendly staff. When you arrive they show you to your room, explain the air conditioning, safe, show you the pool/sauna/etc.

A few features I particularly liked -
1. Them turning your bed down in the evening and leaving you a weather forecast for the next day.
2. The adjustable sun shades at the poolside, so you can choose to be in the sun or shade as you like.
3. Breakfast - A fantastic selection of food, juices and pastries.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back; just need to save up!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gliderguider
13 years 4 months ago
Hi went to the Hotel D'Or on the 7 Aug 03 and have the following observations.

1. The hotel is classed as Thomson Small and friendly and it was, the bar staff and reception staff were great.

2. The rooms are small but adequate.

3. The cleaners lack attention to detail.

4. The pool is small but adequate aslong as you keep the inflatables to the minimum.

5. Breakfast was very good every day.

6. Bar snacks are limited but ok

7. Bar regularly got short of glasses and some spirits (dark rum ran out on day three and was not re-stocked)

8. The hotel is open to people using other hotels in the group (we were not informed of this) which was off putting when a 3/4 four family group of approximately 20 geordies took over the pool area - they did not cause any trouble but just swamped the pool area) ps I am also a geordie.

9. We took our own kettle and Iron but we also hired a fridge when we got there which was very useful.

10. Also e-mailed the hotel prior to arrival and asked for rooms overlooking the pool which we were given.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel D'Or and would recommend it
Pigmeat
13 years 6 months ago
A great hotel, easily worth its 4 star rating. Situated down a discrete residential side-road but less than 100 metres from the town centre. Very handy for the shops, restaurants and bars of Cala D'Or, but far enough away to be untroubled by traffic or noise.
This is an old hotel, probably the first in the town and built definitely before Cala D'Or became popular, but is decorated and furnished to a high standard. Because the hotel has been constructed and added to over a period of time, the rooms are of varying size and shape. We were in one of the smallest but even this was quite acceptable, some rooms are much bigger. Room furniture was adequate and beds comfortable (no double beds as such, they push two single beds together to form a double). There are no refrigerated mini-bars in the rooms so you can't sneak in soft drinks into them for chilling. Every room did have a small safe (you pay a charge for the key). TVs had 14 channels, including CNN, Eurosport, Sky News and TCN. All other cahannels were in Spanish or German.
All rooms were air-conditioned although you might check with the tour operator which months they switch it on, on previous stays at other hotels we have discovered that the A/C is only usable in the hottest months. Bathrooms are adequate and have the usual shower/bath/bidet etc.
We had a balcony at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, terraced area and sea view. Note that since the hotel is actually located up a small bay which is lined with tall trees and overlooking a loverly beach, sea views are obscured by the trees. Frankly this doesn't matter at all since the view of the valley, trees and beach are much more interesting than just the sea anyway. Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the road, but since the road is mostly villas and is very quiet and the hotel is set back from the road, this aspect is quite acceptable.
The food is excellent. We stayed on a half-board basis. Breakfast comprises the usual buffet style self service and has a very cmprehensive selection of cold and cooked items. No lunches are available from the dining room but the hotel's beach bar offers good value salads, pizzas, pastas and sandwiches. Evening meals are also very good with a completely different menus on every one of the 14 days we were there. Evening meal quality was well up to standard with more than adequate quantity available if you were extra-hungry. Wines and drinks with the meal were reasonably priced. Dining room sevice from the staff was very good. The hotel has it's own pool and pleasant sun terrace (shaded areas are available under tall trees, handy if you don't want to bake in the sun), many of the guests only frequented these facilities and never ventured down to the small beach below. There is a pool bar situated on the terrace. Hotel guests have direct access to the beach via some steps. This is probably the best beach in Cala D'Or and is largely undiscovered by the tourists since access to it from the public roads is not well marked. There is a great beach bar run by the hotel which provides sunbeds, shade, drink and light meals. Bathing is safe for kids with crystal clear water. If needed, there is plenty of shade available from tall trees which surround the beach perimeter. A local fruit vendor visits the beach twice a day to sell fresh pinapples, water melons, bananas and coconuts. Fruit prices are expensive but very appreciated in the middle of a hot lazy day in the sun. Hotel provides entertainment in the form of local dancing shows, flamenco etc. but only twice a week. They do provide a list of optional activities (not the same as the trips and tours which will be offered by the tour operator) which include walks around local places of interest.
Note that this hotel may not be suitable if you have some walking difficulties. Although there is a lift to all the floors of the hotel, you will require to negotiate some steps to get down to the pool and terrace and some more steps to get down to the beach. There are not a lot of steps and if you have normal mobility then these steps will not be a problem.

Overall the hotel is excellent and has the best location in Cala D'Or. We were not dissappointed in any aspect of our stay there. The hotel is a bit old fashioned, but we like it that way. We intend to go back again next year. I got the impression the hotel is keen to have it's guests book directly via the Internet. I have no idea if there is any saving if you book directly but I will be investigating this possibility myself soon
Glynis
13 years 6 months ago
I returned from staying at this hotel on 29th June 2003.

Location:-

The hotel is located towards the back of the resort near to a small roundabout. From our room we didn't experience any traffic noise, but the rooms that face the road may incur some noise. From what we saw and heard the road wasn't that busy.

Rooms:-

Our room consisted of two good sized single beds, bedside tables, dressing table and fitted wardrobe. The bathroom had both bath and overhead shower unit, sink and toilet. We had a decent sized terrace at the front with 2 plastic chairs and table.

The rooms are airconditioned and are operated by a remote control system whereby you can set the temperature to your own personal choice. It was one of the best airconditioning systems I have ever experienced.

Hotel Facilities

There is a small pool with a fenced off section for children. The pool is spotlessly clean and is thoroughly cleaned each morning by the staff. The water temperature is very pleasant - not being too cold. There were plenty of sunbeds with mattresses and we never had any trouble finding a bed.

Other facilities include table tennis, a TV room (from what we saw it was basically mainly German/Spanish channels with one or 2 English news channels) The TV room was very pleasant and cool with settee's and a very good pool table.

The bar area is also very attractive and serves snacks throughout the day.

Dining Room

The hotel is B & B only and breakfast is served in the downstairs dining room. Its buffet style and consists of fresh juices, coffee, tea, toasting machine, bacon, sausage, eggs, and either mushrooms, beans or stuffed tomatoes. There is fresh fruit and cereals available with a decent selection of both.

General Opinion

A very friendly, hotel. All the staff were very polite and you were always greeted with a smile. My only negative points would be that the rooms could have been a little bit cleaner. There was nothing major to complain about, but I did notice that the taps for instance always looked water stained and not too clean and also under the beds were not properly cleaned. Our bathroom door, although woodstained showed up marks and could have done with a polish. The rest of the complex however, was spotless.

We enjoyed our holiday at the Hotel D'Or and would definately stay there again. Its a nice, small, quiet complex, ideal for a relaxing break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: