Image of Cala d Or Playa Apartments

Cala d Or Playa Apartments

3 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

4 out of 5 from 36 reviews
2 stars
Avinguda sa Punta Grossa, 1 07660 Cala d'Or, Spain

36 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gaz
8 years 3 months ago
Older kids may get bored in the evenings but everyone else should have a great time here.I would be happy to return in 2009 but my wife always likes to see somewhere new.And she`s the boss.

The pool area is excellent,the kids had great fun,clean and plenty of sun beds.

The apartments are adequate,comfy, with all you should need and the maids are round often.My Daughter found the sofa bed to be the best and refused to swap.The safe`s are in a secure room behind reception which I prefered.Many of the balconies overlook other apartments but we were lucky,room 25 ground floor,with a view of the small park and fountain at the back of the complex.No security worries there is a good fence all around.You will be given a pin number for the back gate and front entrance for if you return late at night.

Nearby supermarket well stocked and resonably priced.

The apartments are in a good location close to the resort facilities and small but lovely beaches.There are plenty of nice places to eat and a smattering of karaoke and music bars.Also, nice boat trips from all the beaches,no need to book in advance.

The two entertainers were great fun day and night,but sounds like they are moving on so you take pot luck.Expect low key evening entertainment,the odd live band but mainly bingo,quizzes and games.Darts,pool,French bowls etc during the day.

Finally a word of warning about the excursions because Mallorca is a big Island.
We did the Pirates show which was fab,brilliant acrobatics,the best I`ve ever seen.But it was a 7 hour round trip to see the 2 hour show.The reps should be more honest about this.They sell the free food and drink all night aspect,but once on the coach tell you to go easy because of the long journey back to Cala d`Or.Which incidently is via Cala De Mallorca, miles up the coast.The obvious solution is to hire a car and go under your own steam if you can.

Definately recomend Cala d`Or playa apartments and Cala d`Or,lovely,lovely place.I`m sure we`ll be back one day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen
8 years 5 months ago
The location of Cala D'Or Playa Apartments is one of the best in Cala D'Or. It is tucked away between two coves and is only a five to ten minutes walk to the heart of the town. This is great because the noise at night is then minimal.

The room was very clean and the kitchenette tiny but with everything you need. The maid service was excellent. The room was cleaned vertually every day and she was really friendly and helpful. The sofa beds become alittle uncomfortable after one week and our room overlooked the pool which was noisy some nights.

The reception and bar staff were also very helpful. An attempt at a couple of spanish words, went a long way!

The kids club was excellent with the two girls making my 5 year olds holiday fantastic. It is a pity they don't cater for younger children as well as my 2 year old missed out.

The pool and grounds are very clean and the splash area and play grounds are a big hit with the kids. The only problem was that there are not enough sunbeds (are there ever?) and despite what the reps say, people do reserve them with towels and then disappear for the day. There is plenty of shade around the pool if you want it which is great when you have little ones.

The daytime and evening entertainment is good, Croissant and Scooby are really good fun but don't pressure you to join in. Some of the acts, the spanish dancing, the Blues Brothers and a singing group were very good and the children loved them. Try the coctails at the bar, they help to make the evening go smoothly if hotel entertainment isn't really your thing! The Pirates night is expensive but well worth it.

Beware, the beaches are very pretty but tiny and get packed! They could have been cleaner too, loads of cigarette butts but the sea was safe for the children! The Starfish boat is worth a trip but the trip to the pretty traditional port was dissappointing as it wasn't as nice as the Cala D'Or marina. That's worth a visit and the taxi's organised by reception are great.

All in all, we loved the apartment and the fact that the resort is very child friendly. We avoided some areas of Cala D'Or where there were arcades (not our thing!). The best restaurants are on the outskirts of town rather than the centre which was packed and more expensive. The Spanish people are very helpful and friendly and really make the children welcome. We would probably not go back to the resort as we would prefer a larger beach and would only book a two bedroomed apartment next time, but we are already looking for a First Choice holiday resort for next year.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Shaun Conway
9 years 5 months ago
We've been to the Cala D'or Playa for 7 years now. The location is great, and the staff are the best around. They staff are always helpful and plesant.

The bar is a bit pricey but entertainment for the kids is good with on-site entertainers. The rooms are clean on arrival and the apartments are quiet.

Beaches are a short 5 minute walk with the nearest being Cala Gran. There are great bars and entertainment near the apartments the best of which are the Hollywood Bar and Eden Paradise who provide karaoke and live acts.

The resort as a whole is family friendly with great facilities and play areas. There are a host of restaurants with local cusine and british favourites. A favourite of ours was Cafe Karin II about a 5 minute walk from the apartments.

THe pool is always clean and it is quite large, with a large number of sunbeds around. The apartments are mainly occupied by English and Irish parties but the Danish are starting to aquire some rooms.

The Cala Dor Playa Apartments is in a great location and is definately one of the best places to stay on the east coast of Mallorca.

*****
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sue
10 years 2 months ago
We booked this holiday through Airtours after reading previous reviews on this site.

We were not disappointed. When we arrived there was only our family and one other visiting this hotel and were given a minibus which took us straight to the apartments.

The apartments are situated at the end of of a cul de sac and therefore there is no traffic noise at all. There are 3 floors and lift access. The rooms are spacious enough for a family of four. There was a twin bedded room with patio doors and lounge area with patio doors. Dining area and small kitchen. The balcony is magnificent in that it stretches across the front of the bedroom and lounge and there is a table and four chairs, ideal for a cool drink in the evening or a cup of tea! There is a TV in the room but you have to pay extra for this which is worth it when the kids need to relax from their hectic schedule of making friends and playing in the pool! We ate out every evening in the resort which, if you shop around, can be very reasonable. We all enjoyed the entertainment in the evening and had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

The weather was fantastic and we had no problems at all with sunbeds during our stay, which was school holidays!

We would recommend these apartments to any family and would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
Have just returned from another fantastic holiday at the Cala D'or Playa.

The entertainmet team were excellent and kept the kids entertained all through the day and night.

The hotel was clean with maid service every day apart from Saturday.

The location is perfect with Cala Ferrerra at the front and Cal D'or at the back. Near to two beautiful beaches whoch weren't that busy at this time of year.

The best food we ate was in Marfils Tavern near to Cala Grqn beach and was very reasonably priced.

Would definitely visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
Arrived at hotel at end of quiet cul-de-sac. When we booked we requested a room overlooking pool - only about 8 rooms do so. To my suprise we had ground floor apartment overlooking pool! At first glance thought it looked a bit shoddy - fridge door rusty etc. Was given choice of another 3 apartments but decided to stay with pool view apartment. All the other apartments were of same standard. However on closer inspection couldn't have wished for a cleaner room. The cutlery draw put mine to shame! Room a little basic but hey you only sleep there. Huge balconly with table and chairs.

Staff were very nice and helpful. Entertainment was provided by some young european staff who were very friendly but mainly consisted of water polo and bingo in day, but there was no pressure to join in. Didn't see night entertainment but was over by 12 midnight so didn't interfere with sleep.

Pool cleaned and checked every morning. Sunbeds were free though you had to move around to catch the sun as quite a few palm trees around pool area. 3 times a day the water play area came on for about 20 mins. My little one loved it! There was also a small child pool which was great!

The play area didn't look very safe so we never really entered there.

We walked to the beach the one day from the front of the apartment. On the way back we decided to exit the beach from a different set of steps. We then stumbled onto the rear of our hotel - didn't realise how close we were to beach. Very small though - we preferred the pool.

Train that takes you round the resort and upto the marina stops at rear of hotel. Good way to get round though a little slow.

Favourite restaurant was the Acuarius in the marina - wow - didn't have a bad meal. Booked a table at the front virtually every night! Ate a couple of times in Cala D'or town centre too. Couldn't fault anywhere we ate. Walshies was just by the supermarket out the front of apartment. We had breakfast here most mornings. Good service and nice food.

Had a fantastic holiday - 1st time ever my husband didn't want to come home. Booking again for 2007. Weather was good for September - had one iffy day and needed a cardigan at night occasionally.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
Hotel in a great location. End of a road, very little traffic noise. A nice walk to bars and restaurants, and 5 mins walk to two local beaches. (These are very busy).

Marked down on cleanliness as sheets and towels seen better days, and think I saw a maid actually cleaning the room once.

We were allocated a room which was behind the main stage area, and with a baby this was impractical for sleep. The entertainment doesn't go on much past midnight but late enough when you have kids getting up early. It took 5 days to get a room move as the hotel said "not enough cleaners to get the rooms done in time!"

First Choice reps very good with the contact we had with them, and kids club staff excellent.

Hotel is 99% British and Irish clients but entertainment team from Holland? No problems though, they were all excellent, especially kids mini disco, but not a great deal for adults in the evening.

Hotel drinks slightly more expensive than other places, but food at the pool bar I would describe as poor.

Rooms are good size, and as per other posts, you pay extra for the telly (keeps the kids entertained at breakfast and when getting ready in an evening), but you get 1 to 2 channels that work.

That said, all in all a very nice holiday and ok hotel, which we would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
On arrival to the Cala dor Playa apartments I was really pleased with the location. It was situated at the end of a road,so no noisy traffic passing by and local conveniences were nearby.

The staff were polite on arrival and were happy to answer any questions.

Our room was very clean and spacious. We had a large balcony with table and chairs. Small kitchen area and like other reviews said a draining board would of been useful, but found chopping board was a good substitute. Plenty of storage space in bedroom. Bathroom was spotless,most probably due to the maid service. They came every day bar Sunday.

The entertainment was suitable for all ages, First Choice provided 2 kids clubs up to the age of 8.

Hotel staff had daily entertainment this included: dancing in pool,water polo(afternoon), football and various kids games round the pool. Bingo was played at 5 this cost 1 euro per bingo card.

Really impressed with the pool facilities, big issue on reserving sunbeds!!! As early as 7am!!

Food and drink available from bar pool, reasonably priced. Look out for special drink promotions every afternoon.

Overall really impressed and would definitely visit again!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jenny Leeming
10 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very clean, rooms and pool. The pool area was kept clean and tidy at all times. Our room was very clean on arrival, the maids maintained this standard of cleanliness throughout our stay.

The location of the hotel was perfect, there were plenty of places to walk at night and in the day. There were more than enough restaurants to eat in a different one each night, which provided a variety of food which everyone enjoyed. There were also plenty of shops and bars with entertainment. There was a supermarket nearby that was handy for us, as we were self-catering.

The entertainment staff were very nice people and tried their best. They did and excellent job in the day, but the night entertainment well, we excpected better, but it cant all be perfect, even so small children enjoyed it. However, the entertainment in the day was quite good, the waterpolo was especially enjoyable.

I would like to visit hotel again as we very much enjoyed our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gabrielle
10 years 5 months ago
Me & My daughter vistited this hotel as a firts holiday abroad it was fantastic,we ate our meals at the hotel restraunt the food was realy good.The rooms was cleaned to our satisfaction,The staff was all very helpful.The location was central to two seperate beaches which was lovely as we had a choice one was more family orientated than the other.My thumbs up would definatly have to go to the super nightly entertainment.My daughter absoloutley loved it she made so many friends that she cried when we left,we will most definatley return to this hotel somtime soon we would recomend this hotel to any familys with younger & livley children..
Gabrielle x
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: