Image of Cala Ferrera Hotel

Cala Ferrera Hotel

14 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Calle de Felanitx, 4, 07669 Cala d'Or, Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carl Clark
7 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the cala ferrera,beautiful location,the hotel was not that bad,our toilet wouldnt work twice in the three days we were there which was an irritation.
We would not have been happy going later in the season as we would have been told when we could have eaten.
The staff werent as friendly as other places we had been,be ok for a budget holiday,if you go early or late season
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 3 months ago
We stayed all inclusive at this hotel, the first few days the food was ok, but as the week went on it got worse, but what we have to take into account they are catering for huge numbers and different nationalities, you can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rudkin
9 years 3 months ago
My husband booked this hotel and then I read various reviews and became concerned but decided to make the best of it.

The hotel is based at the end of a dead end road - we had a hire car and our first impression was the shortage of parking for cars.

The receptionist told us she was leaving at 10pm and we could park in her space - this was the theme for the duration of our stay.

The hotel reception is big and bright and has an area of relaxation with books in various languages regarding the resort and days out.

The rooms were clean with towels and sheets changed daily. The hotel staff were lovely and the dining / bar staff were always very friendly. Yes, there were a lot of Germans at this hotel - so what - they deserve a holiday too.

The food was a bit different but there was plenty of things I recognised on the menu - not a chicken nugget in sight but I tried lots of various fish dishes and liked most of them.

Breakfast was the usual cooked (you helped yourself) and there was also sliced meats and bread rolls, cereals, pastries - all lovely. Lunch and Evening Meal's gave you lots of choice and variety and the deserts were good. We went all inclusive and were never made to feel that we were taking too much (we were on holiday so we did eat and drink more than usual!!!).

The entertainment was not brilliant but it was acceptable - like something you would get in a social club but that did not bother us, we had a drink in our hands and we relaxed along with the other guests.

I personally would go back to this hotel as I 'relaxed' whilst I was there and this was the most important thing for me. It's also worth mentioning that my husband had a fall and ended up on crutches for a few days - the staff were really helpful but a word or warning here - we asked for a GP who attended quicker than I expected and we had to then go to his clinic as my husband needed an xray - he then had to have a follow up visit - all in all about 400 euro's but a hotel guest told us that there was a free clinic 'near the harbour' - I guess its worth asking the right questions but we had travel insurance so it did not seem a problem paying the money at the time.

Staff were ok about my husband having his food in the bedroom for a couple of days, and even put his icepacks in their freezer. The pool isn't massive but it is a pool and there are lots of sun beds and chairs and tables - plus it overlooks the water and it's very relaxing to listen to the water as you sit next to the pool, drinking a beer and reading a book.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Phil
9 years 4 months ago
We went on this holiday with a few worries after reading some mixed reviews.

Cala D'Or is a very nice place and I would return again, but I would not stay at this hotel. It turned out that some of the reviews where correct. We are not picky and are realistic. But the hotel could have improved things.

We arrived at 4am in the morning and found the hotel quiet, clean but dated, no problems we only use it as a base. We get up to the room and there is no air-con at all. The room was stiffling hot every night and none of us slept properly for 10 days. The room was a basic room, and I mean basic, it was a travel lodge room a bathroom and bedroom. The double bed pushed up to fit in a bunk bed next to a plate glass window!!!!!!! I was charged 25 euro for a safe key and the same for a TV remote (I did get 5 back for a deposit) The balcony was as you get anywhere but you could easily climb over and you where straight onto the flat roof of the lounge below. The door to the balcony had a basic bolt lock on it that you would use on a cupboard door not the strongest.

Food was ok quality fine, just needed a little more variety, mainly on the desserts.

Pool was small, very small and not the best place to sit, in the shade from 3pm onwards.

Entertainment, I felt sorry for the poor german fella trying his best. My kids went a couple of times but they just painted or did colouring, then in the afternoon he would walk round with an air rifle to see if any kids wanted to go shooting, my 10 year old was well up for it but was told yes then no in case the smaller kids got jealous. We went to one evening show (well 15 mins anyway) never went again and spent every evening out (The best thing we did was Pirates Adventure in Palma, see your rep this was the best evening we had)

Room was always clean, towels changed when needed and beds made everyday, changed once a week. Would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities (travel lodge at home do as standard) or a small fridge. When u get back and your waiting for kids to nod off your only option is warm water, pop or beer, you had to buy before going out. Staff where ok, but only one serving at any bar with one pump, so you normally had to queue at anytime during the day for a drink. Bar staff would smile but not really get involved or chat. The did not go the extra mile for you just a smile to acknowledge you.

Would I use this hotel again, no, would I reccomend it, no to families, no to young out going couples, but yes if you want to relax and keep your holiday to a miminum, and yes if you are only using the place to go back and sleep.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Peter
11 years 5 months ago
The hotel itself is adequate for a family holiday, being situated next to a nice beach.

The rooms could definitely benefit from having a/c.

The problem that we found was with the attitude of the staff. There appeared to be a general rudeness towards guests who were staying on an all inclusive basis. We were made to feel like criminals, as if we were looking to con the hotel. After 1 week in the hotel I was told by bar staff that if I wished to have a drink for myself and my wife, then she would have to stand in the queue with me, although they could quite clearly see us sat at a table near the bar. This was the same if I wanted to get the children a drink. The problem was the attitude they gave us of quite clearly enjoying doing this, almost as a power kick. Very rude!

The evening entertainment, and I use that word loosely,
was the worst I've ever seen in a hotel of this size. It consisted of 2 children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Wilsgran
11 years 6 months ago
This hotel is in a quiet location of the resort. One of the beaches is a short walk through the gardens but it is small and crowded. A better beach is Cala Esmeralda but if you want quiet beaches around here you will be disappointed. There are so many apartments in this area, they have spoilt any views, all you see are concrete accommodation blocks from the roads. The beaches are clean though and not much rubbish left about.

We went early June and this resort was busy , lots of shops about, which give a pleasant walk in the evening, but you wont get a scenic walk!

The food at the hotel is ok. Yes a German flavour, and the dining room is slightly crowded, but the waiters are very nice. Breakfast as usual is not up to our British standards!!

The real problem we had with this hotel were the cleaners! They would start at 7 in the morning, banging doors, drawers, clunking around with their mop buckets, they were unstoppable. Our complaints that we were on holiday were heard by the Manager but they still carried on . They were even cleaning rooms that no-one was in. The Management of this hotel really need to know that people want quiet at least up until 9am, PLEASE!! Mind you won't bother me as we wont be returning, we like our sleep too much. It is not the entertainment at night but the army of cleaners they made up our minds.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Josh
12 years 4 months ago
I really enjoyed my holiday in Cala d'or and loved staying in the hotel Cala Ferrera everything about was perfect and I would reccomend it to any family.

I would like also to thank the staff and everyone working in the hotel for making me feel comfortable and happy during my stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lizzi
12 years 5 months ago
Cala Ferrera is the nicest place I've ever been to. I met two of the kindest & sweetest lads ever. Whilst on holiday there I dislocated my right knee-cap & the amount of help I was given by everyone else at the hotel (Guests, Staff, Entertainers - everyone) was huge! I've never been to a place like it before. I'm definately going back next year & can't wait! All the hotel staff are friendly & polite, the entertainers are lovely & so good at their jobs, & the guests - well I've never met people like them before! The entertainment in the hotel is so good! They are so funny too! Cleanliness of the hotel was immaculate too!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paula And Christina
12 years 6 months ago
Initially we were a little sceptical as other reviews had mentioned the hotel was dominated by Germans. Admitedly there was a considerable amount of Germans, but found them to be the most accomadting, friendly and generous people I have encountered on my travels. On many occasion they gave up their sunbeds for ourselves!!!! We had also heard the food catered more for the German palate...this was true, but we found it much more exciting than the english menu (of which there were many options). The German menu also had a fabulous vegatarian choice. Since we returned we have kept in touch with a number of German families and will even be visiting one in Berlin in October.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: