Image of Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel

Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel

23 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

3 out of 5 from 41 reviews
3 stars
Diseminado Cala D'Or, 0 S/N, 07660 Cala d'Or, Spain
Situated in lush tropical gardens right in the heart of the cosmopolitan marina of Cala D'or, the Puerto del Sol is suitable for families and couples alike.

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
PARK
8 years 11 months ago
Although the holiday itself was very good value for money and the food and drink were of a good standard, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

The main reason for this is that the staff are the most depressed looking and unfriendly bunch of people I have ever come accross, in fact it was like dealing with the population of the village of the damned.

The Prozac express sure don`t stop here folks and common courtesy is completely missing. You are made to feel that you are being a complete nuicance when requesting anything and I agree with previous reviews of the guy at the dining room bar, who is the most grumpy and ignorant man I have met for some time, the kids called him Shreck without the charm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Scott Family
8 years 11 months ago
We are just back from a weeks stay at these apartments. We were lucky with the weather and had a fantastic week of sunshine.

We did not pay alot of money for this holiday so it was value for money for us and you definately do get what you pay for. We had already been on a fortnights summer break in July this year so this was just a quick weeks getaway for us before winter sets in.

The apartments are clean as is all of the public areas as well. the apartments have cooking utentils, toaster, microwave, kettle etc so they are well equipped if you are wanting to do self catering. You get clean towels every two days which is not ideal and better if it had been daily. Because it was coming to the end of the season we felt that they did not try hard enough with regards to the food and the entertainment but as I have said before what we paid for this was basically what you would normally pay for flights only so we were happy with the accommodation to live in it for a week.

We had a one bedroom apartment which overlooked the main swimming pool/snack bar.

We did eat out quite a few times and we are not a family of fussy eaters but we struggled to find something to eat most days in the restuarant, the lunches were a waste of time. The all inclusive drinks were fine.

The location is a bit of a inconvenience and if you struggle on your feet at all this is definately not the place for you, it is hilly there and there are no lifts to the apartments and it is a good half hours walk into the centre of cala d or (taxi is
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
A N Other
8 years 11 months ago
We stayed at this hotel in 2004, when it was self catering and half board. We had half board then and were pleased with the food and facilities, and the area was great for us as a young couple. Now in 2007 with a 7 month old baby we thought we'd return to the hotel as we really liked it in 2004 and got a very cheap deal on an all inclusive basis, we also knew that the rooms offered a self-catering type apartment with terrace, kitchen and separate lounge to the bedroom. We were in for a shock...........

Unfortunately, over the past 3 years the Puerto Del Sol's owners have decided to cater for the lowest of the low by decreasing the budget and going all inclusive. The utter idiots who were staying at the hotel have ruined what was a great place to stay and which we as a couple had great memories of. Everyone we spoke to complained about the food but we knew why it was like it was, as the cheap price that the holiday was sold for reduced the quality of everything. My wife is quite fussy about her food but she always found something to eat and I like fish, salad and local food so we were happy. The room was also clean and wasn't the trendiest place we'd ever seen, but as we weren't buying the place - it served its purpose.

In response to the complaints about the staff - in short they treated guests like they should have been treated - like the idiots they were. If I worked in a hotel and got asked very rudely at breakfast why the bar wasn't open to get a Coke, and had to clean pizza out the pool in the morning because some drunk British idiots had decided that was a clever thing to do I might be rude too! As a couple we found that speaking a little Spanish to the bar, restaurant and cleaning staff and always treating them like human beings and not like stupid peasants, resulted in getting treated nicely in return. In fact the waitresses and room cleaning staff were so nice to us it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
PARK
8 years 11 months ago
The last review says more about the poster than about this hotel. I always treated the staff with respect and do have a brain larger than an amoeba, but still received rude and arrogant treatment from most of the serving staff. Why work there if they hate it and the clients so much?. Clearly if you can say dos cervesa por favor you become a long lost relative, or so some clearly superior beings seem to think. Look, just give it a swerve and do yourself a favour!.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Mrs Smith
9 years ago
we stayed in appartments near the pool wich was very clean, we had clean towels every 2 days n the apeartment was clean all the time the staff were very friendly we had a great time we going back in september next yr cant wait to get back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Wendy O'connor
9 years 1 month ago
a bit worried at first but have to say we really eclenjoyed the holiday and all the staff were brill.
hotel very clean.
food pretty good.
location was pleasant.

staff were excellent.

entertainment girls tried very hard i think that the british moan more now than ever but we were happy.
we would come back 9 out of 10bingo was interesting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kathryn
9 years 2 months ago
I travelled with 3 friends and 2 teenagers to this resort for a week's holiday on an all inclusive basis.

The cleaning staff were atrocious, even going so far as to refuse me a clean sheet when I specifically asked for one. The bath was unclean, as was the toilet and we only received clean towels twice in a week.

We were cheated out of 2 nights of our holiday as we arrived at 4am on Sunday morning (after a 3 hour wait at the airport to leave, waiting for non-existant other people to arrive) and we were picked up to return home at 10.45pm on the Friday.

My only previous experience of all inclusive was in Egypt last year, which was amazing, so I was totally shocked at how terrible the food is here. Also the timing for meals. If you hadn't had all your dinner by 8.30pm then they packed everything up. We missed deserts several times and also were not allowed a drink from the dining room bar at 8.31pm. This is disgusting I feel as meal times were advertised as 6.30pm to 8.30pm - surely this means you can arrive in the dining room at any time before 8.30 but carry on your meal after. We were asked to leave by 8.50 if had not already done so, so impossible to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and after dinner conversation with your friends. We ate out on several occasions in Cala D'or. Recommend Restaurante Vicente for very good food at reasonable value.

With the exception of the reception staff all hotel staff were downright rude and unfriendly (especially man behind bar in restaurant). When a member of staff broke a glass on the terrace they didn't clean it up until I went in and asked them to. Children were running around in bare feet and no signs were up.

Entertainment was of an incredibly low standard and sitting in the showbar was like being in a low grade social club (sorry if that sounds snobbish!).

Would never ever ever visit here again. Cala D'or is lovely and the marina is stunning, would visit area again, but rent villa or stay at different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ruth Cauwood
9 years 3 months ago
After reading reviews we were a bit worried about this holiday, on arriving late at night we were suprised at how quiet the resort was. The resort in daytime and the views are wonderful.

The marina alone is worth the visit to cala d'or - spectacular. The rooms are spacious air conditioned and clean, we liked the food, it was healthy and varied, but lots of people did complain to the opposite, fresh salad, fish, meat, pasta and rices everyday, with deserts and fresh fruit available all the time, if you dont like this, there is the snack bar, serving food and drink most of the day.

The pools were great - clean with lots of sunbeds. We took our 17 and 12 year old, they had a great time and so did we, we would go back tomorrow, however, at times the british company and manners of some of the guests left a lot to be desired at times, other than that go and have a great time. r. Cauwood, Notts.,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Della
9 years 3 months ago
The apartments were OK as you would expect. The food was beyond awful, no fresh vegetables, meat mostly beyond recognition, desert area like a war zone, if you enjoy french fries with every meal then this is the place for you.

We have never come across staff so rude, unhelpful and generally awful ever. How ever the reception staff were really nice.

Whilst we were there, there were a number of thefts within the apartment complex, so always use the safety deposit box, 24 hours a day.

Entertainment was non existent, unless you were about 5yrs old.

We went to Aqualand, by not booking with the hotel we saved over 100 euros, we went by the local bus and the drivers were really helpful, and we got there quicker as well, we were told by the hotel staff that the local bus was unreliable this is not the case, commission based we ask ourselves!!!

Went to a local market (had our purses stolen) so take only the money you need.
Would we go back!! Not even as a joke is that funny.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kerry
9 years 4 months ago
My family have just returned from a great fortnight's holiday at Puerto del Sol. We were a bit concerned having read reviews prior to going.......

Firstly - the issue of rooms being broken into - this also happened whilst we were there (luckily not to us) - seems to be a regular occurrence and is definitely an inside job - rooms are always left locked up again afterwards.

Reception are wise to this and 'strongly recommend' all guests use their safety deposit - at a whopping 19 Euros a week!! Don't be clever by locking valuables in your suitcase, one couple had their suitcase lock picked and then relocked before the thief left!

That said, rooms were very clean, as were the public areas. There were three pools to choose from, two quieter and the main snack-bar pool which was very popular with families and hence got very busy. However, there were masses of sunbeds and we never missed out.

The location is slightly out of the way, but there is excellent and cheap transport facilities into the nearest main resorts.

The hotel itself overlooks the marina, which is very pretty and has some decent restaurants (which you will need to try as the hotel food is not great!). The reception staff and bar staff in the Show bar were all lovely, very polite and friendly.

The staff at the pool bar were, at best, okay. Not very friendly and seemed to jeer at the customers behind our backs (and sometimes in front of us!!). The entertainment team were great - my girls (aged 4 and 7) loved the kids club - an hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon, run by Sam and Febe - lovely, friendly girls.

The first week we were there, there was a training session in place for about 15 brand new 'entertainers' which was quite annoying (as they were rubbish!!) but I suppose everyone has to start somewhere......

The evening entertainment consists of mini disco at 2030hrs, followed by Bingo at 2130 hrs and then 'Showtime' at 2200-2330 hrs. Showtime included Mr Puerto del Sol, Mr & Mrs, Sister Act and a quiz.

We ususally stayed for the kids entertainment and then headed off elsewhere. The Show Bar is very small and gets very smokey. I've left the food till last as I don't want to put anyone off the hotel.

For the first few days we stuck it out, thinking you get what you pay for. However, about 5 days into our 14 days stay we couldn't stand it any longer and had to start eating out.

Breakfast is okay - what you expect (crap sausages!), lunch and dinner........... there is a salad choice (which is the same every day) and at dinner there is also a soup. The main meals were very poor. Chips every day (not even nice ones, but greasy, skinny ones) - we had mashed potato (out of a packet) one day which was a nice change.

No other potato choice at all during the stay. There was sometimes pasta, but it was swamped with oil. Other dishes included suckling pig (fat and bones), watery ratatouille, entrecote steak (boot leather) and a variety of others which don't even deserve mentioning.

There is always a good selection of desserts, but again these are the same every day. The food from the snack pool was even worse - same greasy skinny chips, hot dogs (to be fair they were ok) and undercooked burgers - horrible.

We agreed that if we could go back in time and rebook the holiday, we would still go to the same place, but opt for self-catering instead. Overall a good holiday, but poor catering.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: