41 independent reviews of the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel
Address: Diseminado Cala D'Or, 0 S/N, 07660 Cala d'Or, Spain
Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel
Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel Location
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Cala D Or


3/5
Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel is rated 3.37 out of 5 from 41 Reviews
63% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (41 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel Reviews

2/5
2

PARK stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in October 2007
Although the holiday itself was very good value for money and the food and drink were of a good standard, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

The main reason for this is that the staff are the most depressed looking and unfriendly bunch of people I have ever come accross, in fact it was like dealing with the population of the village of the damned.

The Prozac express sure don`t stop here folks and common courtesy is completely missing. You are made to feel that you are being a complete nuicance when requesting anything and I agree with previous reviews of the guy at the dining room bar, who is the most grumpy and ignorant man I have met for some time, the kids called him Shreck without the charm.

Tour Operator: TELETEXT

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Scott Family visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in October 2007
We are just back from a weeks stay at these apartments. We were lucky with the weather and had a fantastic week of sunshine.

We did not pay alot of money for this holiday so it was value for money for us and you definately do get what you pay for. We had already been on a fortnights summer break in July this year so this was just a quick weeks getaway for us before winter sets in.

The apartments are clean as is all of the public areas as well. the apartments have cooking utentils, toaster, microwave, kettle etc so they are well equipped if you are wanting to do self catering. You get clean towels every two days which is not ideal and better if it had been daily. Because it ...
was coming to the end of the season we felt that they did not try hard enough with regards to the food and the entertainment but as I have said before what we paid for this was basically what you would normally pay for flights only so we were happy with the accommodation to live in it for a week.

We had a one bedroom apartment which overlooked the main swimming pool/snack bar.

We did eat out quite a few times and we are not a family of fussy eaters but we struggled to find something to eat most days in the restuarant, the lunches were a waste of time. The all inclusive drinks were fine.

The location is a bit of a inconvenience and if you struggle on your feet at all this is definately not the place for you, it is hilly there and there are no lifts to the apartments and it is a good half hours walk into the centre of cala d or (taxi is

Read More

Tour Operator: U Can Travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

A N Other stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in October 2007
We stayed at this hotel in 2004, when it was self catering and half board. We had half board then and were pleased with the food and facilities, and the area was great for us as a young couple. Now in 2007 with a 7 month old baby we thought we\'d return to the hotel as we really liked it in 2004 and got a very cheap deal on an all inclusive basis, we also knew that the rooms offered a self-catering type apartment with terrace, kitchen and separate lounge to the bedroom. We were in for a shock...........

Unfortunately, over the past 3 years the Puerto Del Sol\'s owners have decided to cater for the lowest of the low by decreasing the budget and going all inclusive. The utter idiots who were staying at the hotel have ruined what was ...
a great place to stay and which we as a couple had great memories of. Everyone we spoke to complained about the food but we knew why it was like it was, as the cheap price that the holiday was sold for reduced the quality of everything. My wife is quite fussy about her food but she always found something to eat and I like fish, salad and local food so we were happy. The room was also clean and wasn\'t the trendiest place we\'d ever seen, but as we weren\'t buying the place - it served its purpose.

In response to the complaints about the staff - in short they treated guests like they should have been treated - like the idiots they were. If I worked in a hotel and got asked very rudely at breakfast why the bar wasn\'t open to get a Coke, and had to clean pizza out the pool in the morning because some drunk British idiots had decided that was a clever thing to do I might be rude too! As a couple we found that speaking a little Spanish to the bar, restaurant and cleaning staff and always treating them like human beings and not like stupid peasants, resulted in getting treated nicely in return. In fact the waitresses and room cleaning staff were so nice to us it

Read More

Tour Operator: 2-Can-Travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

PARK visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in October 2007
The last review says more about the poster than about this hotel. I always treated the staff with respect and do have a brain larger than an amoeba, but still received rude and arrogant treatment from most of the serving staff. Why work there if they hate it and the clients so much?. Clearly if you can say dos cervesa por favor you become a long lost relative, or so some clearly superior beings seem to think. Look, just give it a swerve and do yourself a favour!.

Tour Operator: Teletext
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

mrs smith visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in September 2007
we stayed in appartments near the pool wich was very clean, we had clean towels every 2 days n the apeartment was clean all the time the staff were very friendly we had a great time we going back in september next yr cant wait to get back

Tour Operator: my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

wendy o'connor stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in August 2007
a bit worried at first but have to say we really eclenjoyed the holiday and all the staff were brill.
hotel very clean.
food pretty good.
location was pleasant.

staff were excellent.

entertainment girls tried very hard i think that the british moan more now than ever but we were happy.
we would come back 9 out of 10bingo was interesting.

Tour Operator: medinland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Kathryn stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in July 2007
I travelled with 3 friends and 2 teenagers to this resort for a week\'s holiday on an all inclusive basis.

The cleaning staff were atrocious, even going so far as to refuse me a clean sheet when I specifically asked for one. The bath was unclean, as was the toilet and we only received clean towels twice in a week.

We were cheated out of 2 nights of our holiday as we arrived at 4am on Sunday morning (after a 3 hour wait at the airport to leave, waiting for non-existant other people to arrive) and we were picked up to return home at 10.45pm on the Friday.

My only previous experience of all inclusive was in Egypt last year, which was amazing, so I was totally shocked at how terrible the food is here. Also the timing for meals. ...
If you hadn\'t had all your dinner by 8.30pm then they packed everything up. We missed deserts several times and also were not allowed a drink from the dining room bar at 8.31pm. This is disgusting I feel as meal times were advertised as 6.30pm to 8.30pm - surely this means you can arrive in the dining room at any time before 8.30 but carry on your meal after. We were asked to leave by 8.50 if had not already done so, so impossible to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and after dinner conversation with your friends. We ate out on several occasions in Cala D\'or. Recommend Restaurante Vicente for very good food at reasonable value.

With the exception of the reception staff all hotel staff were downright rude and unfriendly (especially man behind bar in restaurant). When a member of staff broke a glass on the terrace they didn\'t clean it up until I went in and asked them to. Children were running around in bare feet and no signs were up.

Entertainment was of an incredibly low standard and sitting in the showbar was like being in a low grade social club (sorry if that sounds snobbish!).

Would never ever ever visit here again. Cala D\'or is lovely and the marina is stunning, would visit area again, but rent villa or stay at different hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: 2 Can Travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

ruth cauwood visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel in June 2007
After reading reviews we were a bit worried about this holiday, on arriving late at night we were suprised at how quiet the resort was. The resort in daytime and the views are wonderful.

The marina alone is worth the visit to cala d\'or - spectacular. The rooms are spacious air conditioned and clean, we liked the food, it was healthy and varied, but lots of people did complain to the opposite, fresh salad, fish, meat, pasta and rices everyday, with deserts and fresh fruit available all the time, if you dont like this, there is the snack bar, serving food and drink most of the day.

The pools were great - clean with lots of sunbeds. We took our 17 and 12 year old, they had a great time and so did we, we would go back tomorrow, ...
however, at times the british company and manners of some of the guests left a lot to be desired at times, other than that go and have a great time. r. Cauwood, Notts.,

Read More

Tour Operator: Medinland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

della stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in June 2007
The apartments were OK as you would expect. The food was beyond awful, no fresh vegetables, meat mostly beyond recognition, desert area like a war zone, if you enjoy french fries with every meal then this is the place for you.

We have never come across staff so rude, unhelpful and generally awful ever. How ever the reception staff were really nice.

Whilst we were there, there were a number of thefts within the apartment complex, so always use the safety deposit box, 24 hours a day.

Entertainment was non existent, unless you were about 5yrs old.

We went to Aqualand, by not booking with the hotel we saved over 100 euros, we went by the local bus and the drivers were really helpful, and we got there quicker as well, we were told by the hotel staff that the local bus ...
was unreliable this is not the case, commission based we ask ourselves!!!

Went to a local market (had our purses stolen) so take only the money you need.
Would we go back!! Not even as a joke is that funny.

Read More

Tour Operator: medinland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Kerry visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in May 2007
My family have just returned from a great fortnight\'s holiday at Puerto del Sol. We were a bit concerned having read reviews prior to going.......

Firstly - the issue of rooms being broken into - this also happened whilst we were there (luckily not to us) - seems to be a regular occurrence and is definitely an inside job - rooms are always left locked up again afterwards.

Reception are wise to this and \'strongly recommend\' all guests use their safety deposit - at a whopping 19 Euros a week!! Don\'t be clever by locking valuables in your suitcase, one couple had their suitcase lock picked and then relocked before the thief left!

That said, rooms were very clean, as were the public areas. There were three pools to choose from, two quieter and the main snack-bar ...
pool which was very popular with families and hence got very busy. However, there were masses of sunbeds and we never missed out.

The location is slightly out of the way, but there is excellent and cheap transport facilities into the nearest main resorts.

The hotel itself overlooks the marina, which is very pretty and has some decent restaurants (which you will need to try as the hotel food is not great!). The reception staff and bar staff in the Show bar were all lovely, very polite and friendly.

The staff at the pool bar were, at best, okay. Not very friendly and seemed to jeer at the customers behind our backs (and sometimes in front of us!!). The entertainment team were great - my girls (aged 4 and 7) loved the kids club - an hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon, run by Sam and Febe - lovely, friendly girls.

The first week we were there, there was a training session in place for about 15 brand new \'entertainers\' which was quite annoying (as they were rubbish!!) but I suppose everyone has to start somewhere......

The evening entertainment consists of mini disco at 2030hrs, followed by Bingo at 2130 hrs and then \'Showtime\' at 2200-2330 hrs. Showtime included Mr Puerto del Sol, Mr & Mrs, Sister Act and a quiz.

We ususally stayed for the kids entertainment and then headed off elsewhere. The Show Bar is very small and gets very smokey. I\'ve left the food till last as I don\'t want to put anyone off the hotel.

For the first few days we stuck it out, thinking you get what you pay for. However, about 5 days into our 14 days stay we couldn\'t stand it any longer and had to start eating out.

Breakfast is okay - what you expect (crap sausages!), lunch and dinner........... there is a salad choice (which is the same every day) and at dinner there is also a soup. The main meals were very poor. Chips every day (not even nice ones, but greasy, skinny ones) - we had mashed potato (out of a packet) one day which was a nice change.

No other potato choice at all during the stay. There was sometimes pasta, but it was swamped with oil. Other dishes included suckling pig (fat and bones), watery ratatouille, entrecote steak (boot leather) and a variety of others which don\'t even deserve mentioning.

There is always a good selection of desserts, but again these are the same every day. The food from the snack pool was even worse - same greasy skinny chips, hot dogs (to be fair they were ok) and undercooked burgers - horrible.

We agreed that if we could go back in time and rebook the holiday, we would still go to the same place, but opt for self-catering instead. Overall a good holiday, but poor catering.

Read More

Tour Operator: Medinland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Joanne Hutt had a holiday at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in October 2006
We stayed in the Puerto del Sol hotel from 19-26 October. There were 16 of us in our party aged from 16 up to 50 something.

We arrived at Palma airport and having got our bags found our coach courtesy of Resort Hoppa where we then had to sit on a coach for well over an hour to wait for another plane to land and collect its passengers.

We arrived at our hotel and only 3 of the 8 rooms were ready but being as it was dinner time we were able to check in go get something to eat then come back, so we dumped all of our bags in 1 room.

The hotel was very clean and seemed to be well kept by the maids-we only had our towels not changed once and that was on the Saturday so I can ...
only presume this is there day off. However the reception staffs were more than willing to give us some fresh ones.

The hotel food was ok, not your usual 3 star standard but then it was the end of season so this may explain the repetitiveness.(You WILL like pork and chips by the end of your stay)This being said we always managed to find something to eat.
The location although outside main Cala D'or was nice and a short 10-15 min stroll round the harbour got you into the main town, alternatively there was a dotto train every 20 mins for 3 euros.

The hotel staff were always friendly and served you with a smile...I felt so sorry for the snack bar staff in the day when 4 of us went down and asked for 16 drinks but they happily obliged and seemed to find it funny by the end of the week.

Now for the entertainment....it is all done by the on site entertainment team and all i can say is unless you have children or get ridiculously drunk it is awful!!!!

Would I stay in this hotel again? Probably if I was on a budget don't get me wrong I had a lovely holiday but feel the hotel is more 2 star than 3. The group of people I was with certainly made my holiday though.

Read More

Tour Operator: Medinland/Jumbo tours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Sam+Jan stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in October 2006
When we checked in we were given a studio room instead of the one bedroom appartment as we were promised as sharing with father in law.

Food was not up to much, same meats had to go early at meal times to get good food.

Only got towels changed once in a week and had to ask for beds to be done.

Tour Operator: Medinland/Jumbo tours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

jennifer Fidnlay visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in October 2006
I went on holiday with my three year old daughter, mum, and little sister. We went out on the 14th october 2006 for 14 nights coming home on the 28th.

Over all the holiday was really good although there was not much to do at night. There was the show bar but it was really really smoky.

We went down two three times while there and it was fantastic my three year old daughter loved that the entertainment was great can\'t fault that.

The night we got there it was 11.30pm we where given a room which was not nice at all but in the morning we went to reception complained and got a new room right away without any hassle.

The food was not great but it was end of season and the hotel was closing just days after ...
we where leaving so I think that they where just using the rest of the food they had to get rid of it.

The marina is lovely we went for walks round it after dinner most nights was so peacful. just a little walk into the centre of cala d\'or.

We ate out to eat a few nights into cala d\'or itself had some nice meals there wasn\'t impressed with an italian come british restaurant was expensive and the food was worse than the hotel.

The staff were a mixed bunch the reception staff where so nice and so helpful lovely people pity the same couldn\'t be said for the rest of them. you\'d think it would kill them to smile.

I would definitely do back to cala d\'or but not the hotel there just was not enough to do as it was out of the centre so next time i\'ll go for a hotel closer to the centre of cala d\'or.

Read More

Tour Operator: medinland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Gilmour visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in October 2006
We stayed at this hotel 19-26 October, I was with a party of 26.

The rooms are very spacious and we had room service evryday bar one. The resort is in an excellent location, beutiful Marina on the doorstep and the beach was approx 15 min walk or 3 min taxi ride.We couldnt fault the hotel staff, very friendly.

The food was edible, although a little repetetive, what you would expect for the price we paid.The marina has some excellent restaurants, reasonably priced, so we ate out a few nights for a change.

The entertainment room is very small considering the size of the complex,so you need to get there early to get a seat. All entertainment was geared around audience participation. So if you dont like to join in, you wouldnt enjoy it. The entertainment team were excellent, our children ...
attended the daily club and evening Mini disco every day.

We have booked to go again October half term 2007 and there will be 56 in the party.

Read More

Tour Operator: Medinland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

joanne and kirk visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel in September 2006
On our second night of being at this resort our rooms were broken into by people with keys. Our money, jewellery, camcorder along with oter items were taken. Not just our room though other people also had passports taken travellers cheques, tickets and they even managed to rob 4 safe deposit boxes all in one night. No locks were damaged on doors or windows so we can't claim for anything.

Anyway.....We were all inclusive, the food was terrible we ate out most of the time which ended up costing alot.

The room was spacious, bath was rusty and shower was no better, nothing looked clean.

This is not a resort for children or people with walking difficulties as every where is steps or hills.

The staff were ok not very helpful though.

The entertainment was non exsisting my children only had the pools ...
to play in and an hour long disco on the night.

I would never visit this hotel again even if it was free.

Read More

Tour Operator: medinland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

lisa visited the Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel in September 2006
We read some bad reviews before we went to the Puerto del Sol.

We were a little worried but we had a two week stay. We were happy with the meals, people say there

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Stephen stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in August 2006
All I can say is, the hotel and its grounds had a certain 'smell' to it. The pools looked dirty and I am convinced the same source was used for them, the showers and the all inclusive 'drinking water'.

Having often chosen to travel all inclusive I can honestly say that this was the poorest quality and choice of food I have ever come across. Children were not catered for at all.

I made a decision to remove myself from the hotel at every possible opportunity and thus did not reap the benefits of the all inclusive package I had purchased.

To top all of this off, on my last night my room was broken into (all be it with a key!!!) and all of my valuables stolen. I must add that this happened while I, my partner and my 5 year old ...
slept. They even had the nerve to enter the bedroom! We received no assistance from the hotel staff, and there was no rep available for us to talk to. After reporting this to the local 'guarda' they informed me that this was a common occurrence at the hotel, and that there had been 6 similar incidents that very same night (all of whom were departing the hotel that day!!!)

My honest advice would be to stear clear of this hotel and I would even go as far as to say that even if you have booked this CANCEL it NOW. We did find some lovely local hotels which were situated on Cala Esmeralda beach and we took full advantage of their facilities.

This without doubt is the first holiday I have wanted to end sooner rather then later, and I only hope that you do not make the same mistake.

Read More

Tour Operator: Medinland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Larby stayed at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel in July 2006
We had a great time massive apartment even though we were all inclusive bit of a walk to calador and cala egos but we like walking.

Had to go out in evening very child orientated entertainment but there were lots of kids!

Some strange combinations of food but always found something to eat.Gardens were beautiful.

Only one complaint we left late at night and had to use the changing room the men were ok but what a nightmare I had 2 of the 3showers broke about 10 women trying to get ready filthy floor and the only place with no air con plus when the door was open every one outside could see in.

Tour Operator: Medinland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Brown had a holiday at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel, Cala D Or in July 2006
Although we were pleased with our room and cleanliness of the hotel we were disappointed that the poolside was not so clean. There are 3 pool areas and we stayed around the busiest, largest one but it wasn\'t hosed down at all and it did make the towels and clothes dirty when accidental dropped.

The hotel had mainly British guests when we were there as well as a few German families. England shirts looked like school uniforms after a while!

There was food and drink available all day but it was limited to certain area\'s at certain times and not everywhere i.e. reception bar not open until 6pm when the pool snack bar shut. Not a fantastic choice but good enough (even for children as pasta and chips most days).

The staff were fine but a bit overworked at times but very ...
helpful. You do see the same staff in different areas of the hotel.

My daughter loved the kids club (11am-12 and 3pm-5pm) which she went to most days and at night there was a kids disco but not much for adults to do.

I would not suggest this hotel for people without children unless it was outside of the school holidays and quite busy.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson/Medinland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Dave had a holiday at Puerto Del Sol Aparthotel in June 2006
Unfortnately these apartments have gone down-market.

This was our 4th year at these apartments, so you can tell we have enjoyed going there over the years. No longer though.

Firstly the good news: our apartment was excellent- newly refurbished, with air-con and satelite TV included. Many facilities have been updated and improved.

Unforunately the complex is now dominated by the \'all-inclusive\' crowd and this has had a noticeably negative effect. The visitors are now mainly of the shaven-headed, tattoed, baseball-capped and pot-bellied type, with wives with multiple body-piercings and either bleach-blond or multi-coloured hair.

You can\'t get a sun-bed after 9am as they\'ve all been \'reserved\', the pools are awash with inflatables . You used to be able to get decent meals at the pool-bar at lunchtime. Now it\'s inclusive only, and that means burgers, hot-dogs, chips and the weekly special of ...
pizza-slices!And halves of lager, tea in paper-cups and tubs of ice-cream! Boy how this place has dumbed-down!

Read More

Tour Operator: AirTours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars
Share