Image of Sol Mastines Chihuahuas Hotel

Sol Mastines Chihuahuas Hotel

1 of 10 hotels in Calas de Mallorca

4 out of 5 from 55 reviews
3 stars
Calle de la Cala Antena, 07689 Manacor, Spain

55 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jane Talbot
Great all round
6 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Chihuahua hotel in the Calas de Mallorca Resort and were happy with the hotel.

There are 3 hotels in the resort, but only the Chihuahua and the Mastine were open. You can use the facilities of both hotels, but have to eat in the hotel you are staying in. The room was very large and clean, with plenty of storage space. We had the most fantastic sea view, and the sunrises were amazing!

The hotel is located between 2 bays and there is a coastal walk to each of them - the larger one is about a 15-20 minute walk and the smaller one is about a 5 minute walk, but has about 160 steps down to it! The town is a 5 minute walk away.

There are 2 outdoor swimming pools and an indoor pool too, and there are 2 pool bars. The only down side is that the snacks are served in the restaurant and you can't take them outside.

There is a very good selection of food and you certainly won't go hungry! You can't get tea or coffee with your lunch or dinner, which is a bit silly I felt, but you can get wine, beer or soft drinks - which you help yourself too.

The entertainment was ok, and the team certainly put in a lot of work. During the day there are activities that you can take part in, including darts, archery and rifle shooting.

I would recommend this hotel to families and couples and we enjoyed our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dave
Would recommend it to anyone.
6 years 4 months ago
We stayed all inclusive in the Sol Mastines Hotel. The rooms and all areas of the hotel were very clean, room was cleaned on a daily basis, all staff were very friendly and helpful.

We found the entertainment more for children than adults although there was adult entertainment for an hour 10pm to 11pm, appreciated a lot of work went into this but was a long wait for it to start.

The food was excellent great choice everyday, plenty of fruit which was all fresh and delicious. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michelle
Great family holiday!
6 years 5 months ago
Our first family holiday, with an 8 month old baby, wasn’t looking forward to it too much but, what a brilliant time we had by all, even the baby.

Staff were really friendly and helpful, English newspaper everyday so hubby was ok. My 7yr old loved the kids club and the staff there really nice too.

The food ok a bit repetitive after a few days but we always found something we all liked. Waiting staff always brought us a highchair for the baby and asked if we were ok.

Great location beaches either way out of the hotel. The town has plenty to do bars/restaurants/arcades/mini golf, all really good Bus frequent into next towns if you fancy a change.

The night time entertainment ok but I have to admit we only stayed in twice, as world cup was on and as a footy family we preferred to watch this, but other people said it was good and varied.

If you’re looking for a nice hassle free family holiday I would choose this place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lorraine Mccord
7 years ago
Very clean but a little dated hotel Food varied but a little cool although there was a microwave to heat it up We had a lovely room overlooking the sea and it was really large It was my husbands birthday and on arrival there was a bottle of champagne and card in our room which was a very nice touch Overall very good value for money
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 2 months ago
We stayed here for a short 5 day break. After reading the reviews we were wondering what to expect but I really do think many people have varying expectations when it comes to holidays.

We stayed in the Mastinas part of the hotel complex. It is a very dated hotel with 70's decor and furnishings. However it is clean and tidy. Some of the carpets and chairs need updating but that is only a minor negative.

The hotel room was quite small but there were only 2 of us and we only showered and slept there. The view from the balcony was amazing overlooking the pool and sea. The bedding and towels were clean. There was only a fan in the room, but I was aware of this when I booked. Air conditioning would have nice but wasn't a neccesity, we coped and got what we paid for.

The food was lovely. Not once was the restaraunt really busy. There was plenty of different types of food to suit everyone from chips to paella and a chef 'show' cooking different meat and fish each lunch & evening. Lots of lovely fresh fruit and puddings. The bread was also delicious. Not once did I see people push or shove to ge their food.

The pool area does get very busy by midday. We were worried about the sunbed situation. They are unchained at 8am every morning and lots of people were reserving the shady areas ready to put the sunbeds down. But even at 11am there were still stacks of sunbeds about. What is nice about the pool area is that there are lots of large trees that give lots of shade, particulary by the children's playground which is where we tended to sit. By early afternoon is was like an obstacle course to get to the pool, but it wasn't a problem - your on holiday!

Also the bars sometimes had only 1 person serving and a small line formed, but what else have you got to do? Your on holiday, whats the rush! You can only have 2 drinks at a time, well you only have 2 hands anyway! When you've drunk them go up and get some more.

The entertainment I can't really comment on as we didn't see any. I just know that there weren't enough seats sometimes.

The staff on the whole were ok, some happy, some miserable but they work long hours.

The only negative part of the hotel complex is that it doesn't seem to have a 'focus' because it's spread over the 3 hotels. Instead of each hotel having its own reception/entertainment etc they all seem to be amalgmated into one which spoils it somehow. Whether this due to running costs/staff I don't know.

On the whole we had an enjoyable few days away. I think it just scrapes through as a 3 star but feel that all 3 hotels will need a big refurb soon otherwise people will go elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Marc Ackers
7 years 2 months ago
just got back from the sol hotel and it was brilliant! Ideal location, brilliant for families and really good entertainment!!!! could do with cooking bacon and sausages more but thats the only way anybody could fault this hotel. The chef who cooks the eggs was told hundreds of times!!!!! but was a bit of arrogant sod!! to say the least.needs the sack. But would definatly go back. Infact we may visit all the sol hotels!!! Entertainment during the day was also excellent. The hotel chihuahua was very clean at all times. the entertainment staff was very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter Jones
7 years 4 months ago
stayed in the mastines which we renamed to the mustyness due to the musty smell in hotel foyer and bedroom,cushions missing off settee in foyer, carpets with holes and paper thin,thought i was in the film carry on abroad the hotel decor was the same 60's or 70's i would imagine.no sign of sid james or barbara windsor but plenty of football shirts of every team imaginable on show,room ok after you got used to the musty smell and even got used to the drone of aircon units on the flat roof below,canteen ok but be quick to get what you want as some we leaning over my shoulder to get to the food, be strong and fight for your food.during the day couldn't really see pool for people, lots of people everywhere.trying to think of something good to say it's hard to find one, did have sea view that was good.stayed in 4* sol in ibiza last year which was superb in comparrison, the mastines must be the boiler house.if this hotel was in the michelin guide it would be a worn out tyre,believe it or not we didn't have a bad holiday we just kept away from the hotel as much as we could,it was fine then.some nice bars in the centre {the cuban we liked } some good places to eat.try the chineese by rock cola he's a asian frank spencer.on a serious note this is a tired ,tired hotel which is now AI, eat as much as you can drink as much as you can and once they stop serving at the bar move to the centre for more drinks.if you like cheap cheerfull and noisy over crowded hotels this is for you,if you require a good standard hotel, dress code in restaurant and i mean by that trousers and shirt not anything fancy avoid this hotel your heart will sink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
7 years 5 months ago
just got back from two weeks weather great the hottest may on record food was good a bit repative after two week could always find something to eat the breakfasts were the best although they did serve chips with breakfast which was a little strange.
the hotel was spotless rooms cleaned six days a week towels changed six days a week .
staff were allways frindly bobo the barman allways up for a laugh look out for the cleaner in the bar amy winehouse lookalike never smiled though.
the daytime entertainment was great always lots to do show on six nights a week saterday there day off the hotels shows were better than the imported acts well done lars and his team .if you want a laugh ask t bow the entertainer to pronouce norbert had us all in stiches.
overall this hotel complex is great i have been to better and have been to worse but this one i would go back to and recomend enjoy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D Mcgarry
8 years ago
We visited this hotel in Oct 2008 and were a bit worried after reading somereviews on the web! However after a hassle-free, smooth flight we arrived at the hotel nd were greeted by friendly staff. At first glance the hotel does look a little dated, however we were happy with our clean, spacious room. The views in all Chihuahuas rooms are spectacular! This made ur holiday!

The dining areawas spacious and clean. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The food was a little repetitive -as with most HB or AI hotels. However, there was always a variety of foods we enjoyed. Plenty of salad, meats, chips etc as wel as seafood and desserts, which were excellent. Breakast foods werevery good too and again, there was plenty to choose from. Oe thing that did impress me ws the quantity of food too - after visiting a few hotels that 'ran-out' of some foods during dinner service, I was pleased to see a great amount fo each dish at this hotel. Plenty of opportunity to 're-fill' you plates!

Location - a nice, quiet part of Majorca. Looks to be in a residential area. However a 5-10 minute walk takes you to the 'square' which has a seection of shops, restaurants and bar. Unlike most locations, there is no strip. It is more of a purpose built shopping square. Plenty of shops to buy in though. Be careful to check the proces before buying though as an item can often be as much as 5-10 euros cheaper in the stall around the corner! A few reasonable tobacco/alcohol places too. All in all, not the busiest places but if like us, you are looking for a quiet, family holiday then this place is great.

The hotel has great groud. Loads of room. We went in October and it wasn't too busy. We made use of the small indoor pool which was great as on the first few days the weather wasn't great. It didhot up for the last 4/5 days though and we then moved to the massive (and extremely deep - care needed) outdoor pool.

Entertainent - not excellent but fair. They tried their best and were eager to include the audience etc. Wasn't the worst I've seen by far.

We wouod definetely visit this hotel agai but only at a good price. We paid
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
W & J Hudson
8 years 1 month ago
Nice Hotel and clean, towels changed daily all rooms have fantastic seaviews and very comfortable. 1 large pool and a smaller one, the smaller one has grassed areas and palms for shade when it gets really hot. Food very good something for everyone, evening entertainment resonable but repeated each week. Staff really friendly and nothing to much trouble. Down sides no air con in rooms, no fridge, no tea making facilities and no TV although no TV does not bother us. Kettle and fridge available for hire but at a total cost of about 65 euros for 2 weeks. Still the plus`s far away any minuses so willbe going back again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: