Image of Son Baulo Hotel

Son Baulo Hotel

1 of 20 hotels in Can Picafort

5 out of 5 from 124 reviews
3 stars
Ronda del Torrent 07458 Can Picafort. Mallorca, Spain
The hotel is perched on the end of C\'an Picafort bay, 10km from Alcudia, right on a small sandy beach. There are shops and restaurants just 20m from the hotel, and a new promenade leads to the main resort centre, 1km away.

124 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    80
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dennis
It couldn't have been better
3 years 1 month ago
We spent 4 nights at this hotel and it couldn't have been a better experience. After a nightmare week on the Island escape cruise, we arrived at the hotel feeling depressed and hoping for the best. Well it turned out to be great. The atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful. The location is perfect. Top class service from all the staff, really enjoyed the holiday despite the poor weather we had.

Bar/Restaurant staff work very hard and rooms were always cleaned well, the whole hotel was spotless. We had a superior sea front room, which was clean and well furnished. Children enjoyed the pool, too cold for me. There were ample "free" sunbeds. Resort itself is very clean, beach nice, always tidy. We all enjoyed the "TingTing" train. Entertainment was good (parrot show a bit too late for children).

The hotel food was well prepared and well presented and the ample menu varied. The hotel serves nice inexpensive lunches, which you could enjoy on the seafront terrace. Great street market on a Friday. This is a great family and couples hotel and we will definitely be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John T.
Perfect
3 years 1 month ago
I had my wedding here and had about 50 of my closest friends and family and lots of them stayed in the hotel. This was our third visit to the hotel. From our first visit we knew that the hotel was the perfect one for our wedding, and we certainly weren't disappointed in any way.

Just wanted to send a message in to simply say Thank You. There are no words to express how wonderful our day was, and it was all down to the care and attention to detail of the staff of the hotel. The Terrace looked absolutely stunning everything was exactly as I had wanted it to be and everyone commented on how classy it all looked. It all came together so beautifully and we still talk about it all on a regular basis. Everybody was so well looked after, our guests are still raving about the day! From the moment we arrived until the time we went everything was perfect.

When I checked in I was pleased to see the hotel has updated (brightened up) the hallway which was previously very dark. I found the hotel to be very clean and tidy and very happy with the spacious Suite. We had plenty of hot water every day plus very effective air-conditioning from 12 noon until 5 am. The room was always immaculate, the bed was always nicely made and were comfortable. The whole place was spotless.

The hotel location is excellent, the sun terrace leading right down onto the sandy beach, and at the southern end of a superb wide promenade which leads for a couple of kilometers past the marina into C'an Picafort resort itself. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful without exemption, particularly the reception staff (check-in took 2 minutes) and waiters, no job was too much trouble as long as the guests were happy!!

The evening entertainment was the best I have seen in a hotel, Suzanne, the entertainment manager, is fantastic at her job & keeps everything upbeat with the kids disco & bingo every night. Great acts too - George Pena was a definite highlight, along with Karibu.

The pool bar service is great & there are plenty of sun beds around. Food was good, fresh and plentiful with a wide choice each day, there was literally something for everyone and I am the pickiest eater on the planet. For early departures, there is a continental breakfast available from 4 am.

Bar prices are on a par with most hotels. We tended to favour a nice little bar Puput, literally just across the road- Excellent value! There are a few other bars and supermarkets close by as well as a bus-stop about 50 meters away from where you can access the whole island, and a mini-train which circles the resort. There's also a nice reservation near by where you can see a lot of wildlife.

Three months on and I still can't stop talking about our wedding day we. The Staff of Son Baulo love their jobs and you can see it in how much they want all guests and the Bride and Groom to enjoy themselves. Once again massive thanks and I will be recommending you to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tom
Location
3 years 1 month ago
I attended the wedding of Lindsey and John on May last. This was my first - but not my last - stay at the Son Baulo. I just wanted to write and let you know that I found the staff, food, cleanliness etc. exceptionally good. From the moment we entered, we were greeted with smiles and very good customer service.

The location can't be beat, one step away from the beach, and it is a great base to enjoy Mallorca, as it is so well connected to the main sites. The hotel is just fantastic in my opinion. The staff is super professional, very accommodating and will do the best to help you with whatever you might need (trust me! I experienced this first hand).

The decor and ambience all around the hotel was just what I look for in a beach hotel. Rooms are very large, airy, comfortable and quite quiet, except for other guests who can't close a door without letting it slam-m-m, comfy beds, very clean, and large bathroom . The food was hot, plentiful and a great many choices available each day. Nice to have a spanish dish some nights. Food from the grill was especially good. The kids club was great and I felt confident leaving my 2 children there.

The evening entertainment had kids mini disco for half hour, followed by bingo, and then the nights entertainment. The Sundaes were particularly brilliant along with the Motown but every night was enjoyable. Pool bar served great food & reasonably priced. We enjoyed as well a couple of meals n Bar Puput, opposite the hotel.

If location, cleanliness, comfort, and convenience is important to you, don't ignore this hotel. We loved it and look forward to staying there again next time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Wolfgang
A very good 3 star
3 years 9 months ago
Stayed at Son Baulo for ten nights with family and friends. We booked on the strength of some very good reviews and also a friend who had stayed there. I can honestly say I cannot fault anything the food was very good plenty to choose from and the hotel was very clean in general and the rooms were spotless. I asked for a spare pillow and extra coat hangers and within half an hour they had been left in our room. The Son Baulo is a very good 3 star we have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in the past and this hotel would give last year’s 4 star a run for its money. There are always some people that will have a moan but to anyone thinking of booking this hotel don’t be put off. Some of the entertainment is very good in the evening, there are some very good bars just outside of hotel as well. The girls that run the kids club do an excellent job and its very well run my 7 year old loved it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John
4 years ago
I have just come back from a 2 weeks stay here. I have to say this is one of the best places I've stayed.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach. Rooms are adequate, very clean and tidy.

The hotel staff couldn’t do enough for us. We were on a half board basis; there is a truly huge choice of quality food, both for breakfast and dinner.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Amy
Definitely going back
4 years ago
The location was absolutely brilliant, right on beach and about 15 minute easy walk to Can Picafort.
The staff are really friendly and will do anything to help you.
This hotel has UK, Italian, German, Scandinavian and Spanish clients so there is a great range of meals to suit almost anyone.

There is a daily programme of activities for kids. We didn't use the kids club but the staff seemed very friendly and did lots of different activities with the children There's also entertainment every night- Abba tributes, to circus skills and traditional flamenco dancers and a Latin dance evening.

There is plenty of food to choose from at breakfast, lunch and dinner and the quality of the food was very good. If you have a pushchair you have to leave it outside the restaurant, but I was pleasantly surprised to see plastic plates, bowls, cups and cutlery for kids, this was very handy. The staff were very efficient in making sure the restaurant was kept tidy, always clearing your finished plates away and swiping up any food dropped on the floor. The hygiene standards were very high and could be seen every day in the buffet as a member of the checking temperatures and cleaning. I personally thought the food was great, lots of choice, something different every day.

The pool bar had a good choice of food at lunch time as well. It served drinks and food from 10am. We thought there was a lot of choice for a snack, pizzas, salads, sandwiches, burgers, hot-dogs, nuggets, and ice-cream. Main bar also serves lunch. You can have lunch on the terrace, literally on the beach.

The rooms are a good size, and the maids kept the rooms spotlessly clean. The grounds of the hotel were also well kept.
In summary the staff are excellent, there is lots to do on site and great food and entertainment, what else do you need. I shall definitely be going back.
We hired a car and headed to Palma Nova for Marineland, brilliant well worth a visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Moira Jones
Very clean, with homely environment and very good food.
4 years ago
It is clean, pleasant with homely environment and very good food.

We are two adults and a 7 year old son and we were lucky to have picked up this excellently cared for hotel. We arrived and checked in very quickly, the ladies at the reception desk are so friendly and nice to children.

The Hotel itself was of an excellent standard with regard to the accommodation it provided, it is not the most modern, but we had a family room which was tasteful and clean, with TV, hairdryer, a fridge and more than adequate bath/shower-room with hair and body wash provided.

The hotel staff were fantastic, very nice to us, helpful, and work extremely hard. Excellent swimming pool with a reasonably priced drinks and snacks. There are two outside pools , a big one with a separate section for children, a second small one for young children, and a very small one for babies Their terraces are beautiful and there are plenty of sunbeds. There is a table tennis table; you can rent the table tennis bats for free.

We stayed half board. The buffet food was of the highest quality that we have ever experienced before, it was always hot, varied and plentiful, in one week that we spent there, they never once had the same meal twice, and the desserts were gorgeous. The restaurant was well run and it worked very well.

There is a kids lounge with a TV and pool tables and also an adult’s only TV room (good for the men watching the footie) and reading/chill out room. Kids club was great and our son loved every minute of it.

We were also very pleased with entertainment in and around the hotel, the Hotel provided entertainment for all ages every evening. The mini disco was a bit short though, should be at least an hour long. Guests in the hotel are a mixed of nationalities, most English, but we also met some Spanish and Italians.

The hotel is spotless, Reception, Bar, Toilets etc were all kept very clean and tidy. The Swimming Pool and Terraces areas were also tidy and clean.

The beach itself is beautiful. Nice, quiet and relaxing. Weather was very good.
The hotel is located about 30 minutes’ walk to the resort, but a very nice walk, no cars, great the kids can just run all the way and wear themselves out. Transport links to the local town were frequent and reliable. Can Picafort has also an excellent street market on Fridays where bartering is the name of the game. It had no end of shops and restaurants spanning the seafront and a little harbour which is very picturesque at sunset. We hired a car through the reception.

Would certainly recommend this hotel again and again to anyone who is looking for a hotel near by most of the main shops, beaches and restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Roger
Home from Home. I love it.
4 years ago
My wife and I went for many years, now I go on my own. Booked a week this time, wished it could have been longer. My family and I love C'an Picafort and the Son Baulo and travel there 1 or 2 times a year.

The hotel is right opposite the beach with Bus Stop just outside the hotel. Can Picafort main town is about 25 min walk along the sea wall. Alcudia is about half an hour by bus which do get packed a bit.

The rooms are very clean and pleasant and the view takes your breath away, I appreciated the new rooms, with new comfy beds, but I also like the ones on the street side as they get the afternoon/evening sun.

I am a vegetarian and so usually struggle but the food in the hotel is excellent. Entertainment each night which is also really good and very family orientated. Bar prices are very reasonable compared with other hotels and bars I've visited in resort.

The management and the staff are excellent. Marian is wonderful, a very caring girl, I always feel well looked after.

I definitely (and have many times) recommend the Hotel Son Baulo to anyone wanting a family or peaceful holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Crossley
Too many screaming children
4 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Son Baulo Hotel in Can Picafort.

Accommodation was great, location was wonderful, food fantastic but if you are wantng a quiet and peaceful holiday don't go there as it was full of screaming children! We only sat around the pool one day and couldn't stand anymore. Same when the artists were on in the evening and at meal times. Its not always the kids fault, it's just the parents didn't care.

We heard a few people that had been going there for years say they that they wouldn't go back anymore. I have had three kids of my own so I know you can't keep them quiet all the time but it's such a shame because the hotel was really good but spoilt by unruly children. It wasn't even the school holidays which we always avoid.

So beware,if you want a rest don't go here!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kirchzarten
Would recommend it to everyone
4 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from our second holiday at the Son Baulo. We went last year in June for 7 nights and booked to go back as soon as the 2010 prices were published.
This time we went for 10 nights in October, and it was just perfect. Our children aged 6 and nearly 4 loved being in the main pool and would have stayed there all day, every day if I let them. It was lovely to have the beach on our doorstep and my children loved it, mainly at the end of the day when it was quieter.

This hotel is very popular with British, also German and Italian, I feel that adds to the holiday feel and was good for our children to experience other languages around them. My daughter's favourite part of the day was seeing and joining in with the Mini Disco with Gill Even after 10 nights she didn’t tire of it, and as grownups it is just lovely to see all the kiddies enjoying themselves.

I emailed them a week before we went asking for an upgrade sea view room and they obliged. I am sure they always try to meet any requests. The food cannot be faulted, even the desserts were delicious!
The beach is lovely with shallow water for quite a way out. Great for jumping waves though. We had an excellent holiday at the Son Baulo and would recommend it to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: