Image of HM Royal Beach Aparthotel

HM Royal Beach Aparthotel

15 of 31 hotels in Magaluf

4 out of 5 from 56 reviews
3 stars
Av Magalluf, 18, 07181 Calvia (Mallorca), Spain

56 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    23
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kevin
6 years 5 months ago
I booked this hotel having seen the photos online and read a few good reviews. In my opinion the hotel is definitely not what it is made out to be. We were not given a room with sea and pool views, instead shipped round to the side of the hotel facing on to the wall of the hotel next door, also 6 stories high so no sun light at all.

There is no mention of this area on any websites. It seems all the 'decent' rooms are privately owned and rented and had a lot of Spanish families in them. The accommodation itself was very dated and dirty, holes in the front door filled with pollyfilla, locks very loose and just generally rundown. Our room had mosquito's constantly due to it being dark, dull and dingy.

This part of the hotel was filled with groups of friends and was NEVER quiet, doors being constantly kicked in and music playing through the night. Is there no security for this type of thing? The pool was very good during the day and always clean with a good atmosphere. The 2 euro charge for a sun lounger is a joke though- first time Ive heard of that in a hotel. Found all staff, reception/pool attendant guy/pool cleaner and manager all to be very stubborn and unwilling to help.

Overall its a great pool and a bad hotel, wouldn't use again and would not recommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
6 years 7 months ago
we went for 5 day hen party,couldnt ask for a better hotel the staff are fab they cant do enough for you Jose the manager works very long hours and makes sure everyone as a good time we we did, food is ok some days was fine something for everyone the location is right on the beach and right on the strip, noise to be expected a lot of groups, we would deffiently be back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Dazziec
6 years 8 months ago
Hotel was in a fantastic location,just across the promanade to the beach, brilliant sea views.Rooms basic but clean. Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you often under difficult circumstances due to demanding youths.
We are a very easy going young ish couple who enjoy a laugh but over the 5 nights stay there wasnt a night where we didnt wake in the small hours to foul language and the sound of many a door bieng kicked in and this was April i hate to think what it would be like peak season............. Howwever we found a fantastic little bar in palma nova called Pickwick great spanish guitar player called Pablo - I know nothing brilliant ......
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mrs Wilson
7 years 3 months ago
Having stayed at hotel 6 years previous,was slightly dubious having read recent reports. However, the hotel is not that bad, the staff tried hard to please but the hotel needs refurbishing, the public seating areas are grubby and if wearing white be worried! The food was plentiful and you could find something from the buffet menu to suit anyone, but for ourselves it being the first halfboard holiday we tried, it got a bit boring towards the end so we ate out last few days. The location of the hotel is great with easy access to all areas of magaluf and palma nova. The weather whilst there was appalling two days of sun out of seven and the rest tropical storm and wind, could of been made easier if hotel had more entertainment on, they advertised wet weather programme and kids clubs but didnt see anyone doing them. Overall made the best of it but might try the royal beach self catering next year. it appears the hotel is split into two halves where all the rowdy customers go on one side and family/older ones on other, we were with the oldies which suited us so didnt get any noise problems. The pool is cold and in the shade and the sunbeds are more like hammocks now being so old so we just went to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat
7 years 6 months ago
This hotel is in a great position being located on the beach, but that is one of the few things going for it. The rooms are clean but tired as they say in the trade. The rooms are spacious and reasonable well appointed but the decor especially in the kitchen is dated to the 80's.
The biggest disappointment is the food. We were half board and the food was deplorable especially at dinner. There were choices but limited and I mean limited. We had to go out for a decent meal on the two nights we were there.
The final straw was the 2 euro charge levied for each sunbed. This was supposed to deter people coming in from the beach to use the pool but it would be easy to check guests. At 2 euros per person per day this would add 56 euros to a party of 4 staying for 7 days. By the way no-one is allowed to share a sunbed even kids and each would have to pay.
We managed to salvage our holiday by obtaining a move to the Sol Guadalupe and we are extremely grateful to Thomas Cook for assisting us. They saved our holiday because that hotel was wonderful.

In short avoid the Royal Beach unless you are self-catering and intend to spend all your holiday on a sun towel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Joanna
7 years 6 months ago
just got back from a week in magaluf and 8 of us girls stayed at Majorca Beach hotel, we loved it there and the hotel was fab for people mainly ages 18-30. i wouldnt realy consider it as a family hotel as there were many groups of males and females using bad language and flashing the private parts lol but for me i loved it lol would definetly book here again, its straight on the beach and at walking distance from all the best clubs! and the reps there are the best! the hotel is also very clean and safe, we left our patio doors open while we slept and nothing got stolen or anything! think we going to book here again soon x
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lee
7 years 7 months ago
very clean hotel, in a great location, your a stones throw from the bars and clubs and the hotel is located facing the sea. the staff were friendly enough but we did not agree to paying for the sun beds, we see hens and stags but at the same time familys were there as well
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Tim And Pam
8 years 2 months ago
We booked a 3 night break only 6 days before we went and did'nt know what to expect but we were plesently suprised. First impressions was ok reception staff plesent and helpful although the room was basic and small, we had a lovely sea view and it was clean.the hotel is old and could really do with a little tarting up for example the carpets in the corridors are really tatty but value for money was excellent.
The food was lovely we loved the breakfast they were constantly replenishing everything and everything was piping hot could'nt fault it. The waiters were somthing else. I am sure they had been there since the hotel was built, I do understand that in peak season they must have a lot to put up with when there a groups of youngsters but we are in our late forties and a smile once in a while would have been nice. We didnt stay in the hotel in the evenings so can't really comment on the entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr B Potts And Miss R Elliott
8 years 2 months ago
The hotel is located on the beach and is a 5 minute walk to the main strip.
Our room was well sized for the both of us.
The food was okay and had no problems even though you got sick of it at times.
No idea on drink list as never stayed in to check.
The pool was not the cleanest with leaves in but maybe due to end of season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 3 months ago
The only thing going for this hotel is its location, which is fantastic and we had an amazing sea view right next to the beach.

However, the hotel itself lets itself down. The rooms were clean if a little basic. The hotel seems to be in a period of transition, with many apartments having been sold off to individuals so there doesn't seem to have been any investment in the hotel for a few years and there appeared to be a lack of direction. The hotel looks as if its being run into the ground.

The food was pretty poor, not a great selection and the atmosphere in the dining room was just awful, quiet and quite uncomfortable. It wouldn't take much to improve this, a bit of music wouldn't go a miss and some signs next to the food too!

Another annoying thing was the fact you have to pay to use the sun loungers by the pool, even if you are a guest at the hotel! I can see why they may charge other people, given the fact the pool is right by the beach but surely it wouldn't be too hard to allow hotel guests to use the facilities! I have never known such a set up at a hotel before.

Finally, one thing which just summed this hotel up was on the last day. We had a late night flight home and requested the day before if we could pay to have a late check out or to use a room for an hour at the end of the day. This was not possible. They don't even have a shower room so if you have a late flight and your in this hotel then you have no where to freshen up or shower. This was really poor and for a hotel of this size is pretty unacceptable. Left us leaving the hotel with a pretty bad impression.

To summarise, fantastic location, but the hotel itself is lacking direction and looks like its being run into the ground. In desperate need of some investment to upgrade the facilities. When you consider that other hotels in the resort are alot cheaper and have been upgraded significantly its hard to justify the cost of the Royal Beach, even with its great location.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: