Image of Bahia Flamingo Hotel

Bahia Flamingo Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Playa de la Arena

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Av la Gaviota, 1, 38686 Playa de la Arena, Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bahia Flamingo
8 years 8 months ago
After reading the reports on this hotel we were pleasantly surprized! The rooms were cleaned daily and couldnt fault the cleanliness. we were AI, which was ok, u get what u pay for. always had fruit and salad on offer and then they differed the hot meals, meat, rice, veg, chips ect ... breakfast was continental, full english or cereal - yes sometimes it could of been hotter! but it wasnt really a problem because you would just wait for a new lot to be brought out, which wasnt long. No entertainment!! think we had it 3 evenings and because your in a small town, there isnt really a lot going on evening wise ... so if thats what your after, then its not for you. Beach is lovely but you couldnt swim in the sea as it was very rough. The pool isnt heated... so remember this in winter sun. We did enjoy our holiday, but if I paid more then
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelsoon

Recommended
Elliott
8 years 10 months ago
we stayed at this hotel 2 years ago hence the reason we booked for xmas 2008 because we could not fault it at all, what a mistake that was. We arrived late at night after a 6 hour delay and were given our room key and had to find the room ourselves in the dark. room was freezing and damp and had no view it was in a stairwell, food cold and covered in flies, no entertainment, bar and resturant closed at 8pm on xmas eve leaving all guests with no beverages or food, manager decided when he could and could not understand you depending on your complaint. hotel had apparantely been taken over recently, very understaffed and no one took complaints seriously, there were a few disgruntled customers that week and on all websites you look at the description is the same for this hotel and it is all lies im afraid, never ever book this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: n the beach

Suzanne
10 years 11 months ago
we booked this as a last minute deal on the internet and were a bit wary after reading the reviews but were pleasantly surprised. Rooms very basic, but cleaned every day.
Food was great, plenty variety nad always enough.
Entertainment was good something going on all day, ie darts, pool, petang etc and then entertainment at night.

Only a 5 min walk to nearest shops and a bus ride away from Las Americas or Los Gigantes.

We have booked to go at xmas in 2008 for 10 nights this time so fingers crossed it will be just as good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Neil Redfern
11 years ago
Very dirty! the first room they put us in was filthy. As soon as you walked in you could see stains on the floor.

The pool area was a disgrace. When we complained about this the manager told us that it is the residence that make the mess and he shrugged his shoulders.

The food was cold. I can not say anymore!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Online Travel

J Frost
11 years ago
We returned from this hotel on the 5th November having spent a week there. We went with my sister in law and her partner.

On arrival they could not find any record of her booking. We were told to go and have a drink at the bar and he would come and find us when it was sorted out, which didn't take to long.

The rooms were basic and fairly clean. The towels changed daily and beds made, they were very short staffed so there was no attention to detail i.e. they didn't clean mirrors etc.

The food was cold and my husband complained to the manager who said it was his first complaint, but there was a fault with the thermastat and they would look into it. This did seem to improve things slightly but the food was not hot coming out of the kitchen.

I think it is left to stand until someone can bring it out.
You must be careful when picking up plates that they are clean as this was not always the case.

As someone else mentioned the pool is not clear it is very murky. Not once did we see it cleaned or tested.

We had read the reviews and knew that it wasnt going to be brilliant, as it was just an extra holiday we squeezed in, but I would have been gutted if I had saved all year for that. We managed to get a cheap deal of the internet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Paul
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel was great, cleaned every day and rooms very spacious, hotel pool is small but ok, hotel bar staff could have been a little more helpful.

Overall very enjoyable holiday and would definitely go back to this hotel.

Food was ok but a little repetitive, not a great deal on the menu for kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Becky
11 years 10 months ago
I had a wonderful holiday.

The staff were very friendly and helpful on my arrival. My room was cleaned thoroughly every day of my stay and everything I needed was provided, towels, room fan etc.

There are many nationalities who visit this hotel and so it is difficult for the restaurant staff to provide food which pleases all nationalities. I found the food suitable, though not very varied unfortunately. On one day of my stay it was rather cold out and so the restaurant manager had had the kitchen staff put out soup at lunch time which they don't normally do, which was a nice considerate touch.

The entertainment was rather lacking however it was a rather quiet time of year and the audience didn't seem to want to participate.

The staff were all lovely and friendly and I am looking forward to my next holiday in Bahia Flamingo in April of next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My travel

Recommended
Nigel
12 years 10 months ago
Hotel Okay, did'nt pull any trees's for us, then again it was fine for our requirement as we did our own thing. Food was plentiful although did not to change much during week except for Xmas day and a good meal was put on.

Location of Hotel is at the entry to Playa de Arena takes about 8 mins to walk to shop/pub area slightly undualating but no problem.

Hotel staff okay where as the manager if you managed to catch him was excellent. Entertainment was seriousally lacking in every department, acts & variety.

Overall clean & tidy Hotel, if you like to stay in hotel during day & evenings maybe not the place, as a base good and food was fine although did lack slightly on variety.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.