Image of Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Russell Cook
9 years 3 months ago
Basic hotel in the best surrounding you could wish to see. Amazing. i have been there many times in the last twenty years and well why i would i keep going if it was rubbish. Basic food but you go to relax and enjoy the sea pool and weather. all of these are perfect. People fantastic and we have many friends here because of this. look at www.silverspooninmouth.com for more information and see if you don't agree, this is mostly about Sabers souk shop. he is a very helpful local and provides many interesting facts and tours on the island. enjoy it it is simple unadulterated relaxation. we went in June and the hotel accomodates 250 and there were 30 people there. Quiet. especially as most were on trips, the beach or indoors.snorkelling and windsurfing is possible and we did it everyday. go and enjoy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Kay
10 years ago
stayed at the grand, nice hotel, the food was okay but seemed to be the same menu most evenings for dinner, rooms were kept really clean by the maids and they were excellent. hotel staff were brilliant and were all so helpfull. the entertainment wasnt to bad with bingo most nights and local entertainment.would definatly visit again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Mr Peter Marken
11 years 1 month ago
The Hotel is perfectly situated right beside the beach. The Hotel itself needs a bit of attention (still in a time warp), but it is kept extremely clean.

The staff are excellent & will pander to your every needs.
The breakfasts need abit of getting used to (no variety). If your willing to pay a little extra you can get the eggs fried to perfection.

The entertainment is very limited & some nights were very boring with entertainment being cancelled at the last moment. But this is just a small problem as the guests soon got chatting with each other and made this most of the evenings.

Would definitely come back at some stage with my family again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Donna
11 years 1 month ago
This was the most amazing holiday ever we went twice this year once in May for a fortnight and again in August, and we have booked to go for a month next year :)

The hotel was really clean. We enjoyed the food especially the snack bar on the beach.

The location is absolutly amazing, the hotel staff we got on really well with especially Amere and Karmel.

The entertainment was really good and we liked to go to the residence club most nights.

We can't wait to go back again. It's very emotional when you have to leave. My daughter absolutely sobbed as she had met a young man out there and he surprised us at the ferry port to say good bye. Love it there it feels like home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Michelle
11 years 1 month ago
My family had a wonderful time here, a truly relaxing holiday. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the maids are very thorough.

The food is quite basic but enjoyable all the same, it is only a 2* after all but the location by far makes up for anything else which may be missing.

The hotel staff can't do enough for you and are always happy and smiling.

The entertainment left a bit to be desired but everyone tended to sit around chatting and relaxing anyway.

The pool was lovely and clean and always well manned by lifeguards who where very good with the children.

The hotel tended to get quite busy on a weekend and in the evenings with the locals but this just added to the holiday, it was almost like their local pub!

It's a wonderful place for children very safe and we can't wait to go back in August 2007.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Pauline Wilson
11 years 3 months ago
Have just got back from a paradise island, if you like peace and quiet this is the place to go but only if you don't mind a very long journey. The hotel is spotless as it is cleaned every day as are the rooms and all the staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you.
Food was very basic and very repetative but if you want a really good meal then the beach snack bar is the place to go. The pool was always clean and Hamdi the attendant was always good for a laugh and was brilliant with the children that were there.
The entertainment left a lot to be desired as it was the same thing for the two weeks we were there and the belly dancer was our rep. The folklore was very very loud and usually went on until at least 1a.m. in the morning and we could hear it down the other end of the hotel.
We were amazed to find that if you wanted a deckchair or sun lounger that you had to pay for it, 1900 dinar a day for a deckchair and 4500 dinar a day for the sunlounger.
There was a disabled adult with us and all the staff were absolutely brilliant with him and would always keep an eye out for him as did the guests that we made friends with, some of which are keeping in touch with him.
All in all this was a dream come true holiday and if it was not for the very long journey we would have gone back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Amy Parker
12 years ago
Hotel was spotless and cleaned daily. Rooms were cleaned daily and towells replaced on a daily basis. Maids very friendly.

Food was lovely and a good choice offered.

Location was ideal and just a short journey from the port.

Hotel staff were all genuinely very friendly and helpfull. Waiters were excellent and never forgot a drink!

Quiz nights, bingo, local folk band and other entertainment in the evenings.

Captain Freddies sea picnic and sunset cruise are exceelent! Highly recommended! Some of the best parts of the holiday.

Will definately be going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Ivan
12 years ago
We went here on the recommendation of the friends that we went with. The hotel is rated at 2 stars - if you expect the Ritz you will be disappointed.

The rooms are basic BUT they are absolutely spotless. The maid comes in and changes sheets and towels daily. The staff are VERY helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

The food is very good (and plentiful) If you fancy a change its well worth a visit to the seafood restaurant at the far end of the island, can't remember what it's called but ask Saber (the chap with the horse and carriage) he will book it for you and arrange transport.

We had a week, we booked the next holiday within 48hrs of arriving home home. When we arrived the second time(2006), hot, tired and thirsty we bumped into Kamel the head waiter(This boy has Radar), drink? he asked and disappeared without waiting for an answer then reappeared with 2 beers, 1 white wine and 1 Coke - HE REMEMBERED WHAT WE DRANK FROM THE YEAR BEFORE !! During our stay when the 2nd out of the 4 of us finished their drink, he arrived with another order, then disappeared - until the 2nd glass got emptied, then appeared with more. You never saw him looking at you, but, he knew when that 2nd empty glass hit the table though!!

Whilst you are there, it's well worth a visit to Ali-Babba's (Saber will take you) The owner is again very friendly and has a well stocked shop with all the usual and some unusual gifts to take home including a large variety of Kaftans in all sizes.

All in all a terrific holiday.

The resort is VERY clean but the beaches tend to be a bit littered.

The entertainment is varied and quite good. Some nights it came from the holiday rep with Bingo, Belly dancing and team games. Other nights we were treated to a Fakir, Fire-eater and Folklore, a traditional music and dance group (I nick-named it squeaky music).

There is a large screen TV in the bar, and the staff are very happy to tune it to any program (especialy Football or Motorsport) that you want. We were there when the World Cup Finals were being played - HEAVEN!!

I very rarely go on holiday to the same place twice except here, we (all 4 of us) arrive for the 3rd time (5th for our friends) 4th July this year (2007). What more can I say?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Jane
12 years 2 months ago
The food was varied and fresh, however, a bit more is needed on catering for the children. The resturant was clean, cool with lovely views out to the pool and beach area. I enjoyed trying different types of fish and interesting starters.

The hotel is basic but is spotless I dont think I have ever stayed in such a well maintained hotel.

The hotel staff were helpful, and great fun a genuinly nice group of people. Also the Pool was watched all day by Sami who had as much fun as the kids did and took a lot of worry about how your child was doing in the pool.

The entertainment was ok a quiz night, bingo, a belly dancer and some local musicians music was on hand most evenings and the atmosphere was generally relaxed with not pressure to join if you didn't want to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
This was our second holiday in Grand Hotel (Kerkennah) and as good as the one last year.

Felt like "going home" - same excellent and polite staff, same room, spotlesly clean in/around the hotel.

We did not look for much entertainement and as most guests there are regulars - nobody seemed surprised but rather relieved with some nice music in the background rather than full on enternainement every night ;)

The usual - bingo, quizz, belly dancer, folklore show.

Great choices for dinner but pretty boring breakfasts - same as last year.

Definitely going back next year - for 3 weeks this time.

One thing I am NOT looking forward to is longer transfer due to Sfax airport being closed and the destination airport being Monastir which adds 2 hours on the coach to the transfer time :(
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.