Egypt Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Egypt.
Take wet wipes out with you when doing the trips as you'll never find anywhere to wash.
I strongly disagree with the tip on the probiotic drinks. Taking such bacteria is gonna have no effect when you ingest pathogens contained within foods or waterborne parasites such as Cryptosporidium or Giardia.

I am an Environmental Health Officer, just so you know this is coming from an informed source.
Hi Mooby

Thats a shame , i thought that was a good idea and was going to take Yakult for 2 weeks before we went. Obviously i dont know anything about
what you were saying but i just thought building up your good bacteria to fight any bad bacteria might have worked. I suppose thats why i dont have a job in Enviornmental Health. :oops:
Thanks for the info

Debs
Sorry if I sounded pedantic at all - its just that I think companies put too much emphasis on the health benefits of these products, although on the whole they can provide some people with improved GI tracts.

Travellers tummy is very common and cant always be attributed to foods consumed, climatic change etc play their part as well.

I' d always ask the hotel where the food is prepared what kind of water treatments they carry out, if any, to get a better perspective on how strongly they treat their food saferty policy.
Jeannette.

Probiotics are useful to some people in everyday life, that is to say, some individuals have stomach problems throughout life, and these drinks help them in the day-to-day issues they have with digestive issues.

To clarify, they will provide you with little to no benefit (and my opinion rests with the latter) in preventing travellers tummy.
I've heard about money carrying germs before and there are a few articles about it on the internet...

http://www.findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m1511/is_n10_v19/ai_21145379

http://pffc-online.com/mag/paper_dirty_money/

http://www.sproutnet.com/Press/another_reason.htm