Greece - Crete Discussion Forums

Discussions regarding holidays in Crete.
got back from piskopiano also last week and heard of another couple a young irish lad and his girlfriend,he was killed and his girlfriend lost an arm running into the back of a lorry.
Most people don't realise that hiring a Moped or similar will invalidate their holiday medical insurance.
I was in Piskopiano in August and was talking about the proliferation of Quad bikes, i used to be a rep in Greece so have seen first hand the dangers of mopeds, but the Quads are so much more dangerous.

Every few minutes the peace is broken by the roaring noise from the bikes as they go speeding along the road, usually driven by shaven headed, bare skinned 'lads'. I am sure they look good fun and can understand the appeal but the roads are narrow and they don't know how to drive them and i am no mechanic but i can see that these machines have not been maintained well. All in all a recipie for disaster.

The locals were telling me about an accident that happenned while we were there, a quad ran in the back of a bus in Hersonisos and was killed. i asked if this happenned often and was told 'yes'. i asked why the authorites didn't do something about it, the riders don't even wear helmets. They beleived the authorities simply don't want any negative publicity the concerns tourism. Very, very short sighted, but that is typical of Greek attitudes, they turn a blind eye to 'problems' particuarly if they or their friends are making money from it until it becomes an uncontrollable monster. Such as the excessive drinking and behaviour of tourists (particuarly British) in places like Malia and Hersonisos, they don't like the publicity it has attracted in the world press but it is proving almost impossible to control. Greece has more rapes than anywhere else in Europe, as reported in the Observer http://observer.guardian.co.uk/international/story/0,6903,882377,00.html[/url]