Image of Boudicca

Boudicca

4 of 5 Fred Olsen ships

Former Names: Grand Latino, Royal Viking Sky This is a sleek comfortable but older ship will be fitted with new engines and refurbished with more balcony cabins, spacious public areas and a restful décor. Fred Olsen staff are friendly and attentive. Passengers on the Boudicca tend to be 50+ and mainly British. When all cabins have double occupancy, the ship provides a space ratio of 33.3 tons per passenger and a crew to passenger ratio of one for every 2.7 passengers. At full capacity the space ratio is 31.5 tons per passenger and the crew ratio is one to 2.8 passengers.

Book a cruise now! 0843 208 0674

GetCruising Logo

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Betty Dewar
Wonderful first cruise
11 months ago
We embarked upon our first cruise on 28 April this year and had a wonderful week. We chose this holiday for the scenery and we were not disappointed. Boudicca was a very comfortable ship with the most brilliant staff on board to cater for all our needs. They went out of their way to make sure we had a good holiday. Our cabin (a junior suite) had a very comfortable bed, a sofa, armchair and chair. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower was easy to operate, unlike some we have experienced in hotels. Our room stewardess (Reese) looked after us brilliantly and was very friendly. We had flowers and fruit in our cabin. There was hand gel placed all around the ship, especially outside the restaurants and a waiter ensured that all guests used it before entering the restaurants. They were certainly ensuring they did as much as possible to avoid any infections on board. All the food was delicious, breakfast and lunch were self service and the evening meal was waiter service. Our waiter (Ariel) again went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. The Captain was very polite and accommodating and we enjoyed two Captains receptions during our holiday. We enjoyed a drink or two each day in the Morning Light Pub and we found Roman to be a fantastic barman. The evening entertainment was enjoyable, the resident band were all members of the crew and were very professional. There was a dancing and singing group also, who were very good. Martin Daniels was also in residence on board and entertained us very well. We booked a trip on the Flam mountain railway, which we enjoyed tremendously. Our stop in Bergen was very interesting, there was a lot to see in this city. Olden is a much smaller village. We didn’t book a trip but went up to the glacier on a local bus trip with guide, who was very informative. If we visit Olden again we would book one of the tours with Fred Olsen, as there is hardly anything of interest in the village. All in all, this was a brilliant holiday and we are intending to book another cruise, most likely on Boudicca. We would highly commend all his crew for their efficiency and friendliness.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fred Olsen

Recommended
Betty Dewar
Wonderful first cruise
11 months ago
We embarked upon our first cruise on 28 April this year and had a wonderful week. We chose this holiday for the scenery and we were not disappointed. Boudicca was a very comfortable ship with the most brilliant staff on board to cater for all our needs. They went out of their way to make sure we had a good holiday. Our cabin (a junior suite) had a very comfortable bed, a sofa, armchair and chair. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower was easy to operate, unlike some we have experienced in hotels. Our room stewardess (Reese) looked after us brilliantly and was very friendly. We had flowers and fruit in our cabin. There was hand gel placed all around the ship, especially outside the restaurants and a waiter ensured that all guests used it before entering the restaurants. They were certainly ensuring they did as much as possible to avoid any infections on board. All the food was delicious, breakfast and lunch were self service and the evening meal was waiter service. Our waiter (Ariel) again went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. The Captain was very polite and accommodating and we enjoyed two Captains receptions during our holiday. We enjoyed a drink or two each day in the Morning Light Pub and we found Roman to be a fantastic barman. The evening entertainment was enjoyable, the resident band were all members of the crew and were very professional. There was a dancing and singing group also, who were very good. Martin Daniels was also in residence on board and entertained us very well. We booked a trip on the Flam mountain railway, which we enjoyed tremendously. Our stop in Bergen was very interesting, there was a lot to see in this city. Olden is a much smaller village. We didn’t book a trip but went up to the glacier on a local bus trip with guide, who was very informative. If we visit Olden again we would book one of the tours with Fred Olsen, as there is hardly anything of interest in the village. All in all, this was a brilliant holiday and we are intending to book another cruise, most likely on Boudicca. We would highly commend all his crew for their efficiency and friendliness.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fred Olsen

Recommended
Quantrell
7 years 2 months ago
This was our second cruise,and we chose Boudicca again.Like the first cruise the staff were excellent,polite, cheerful and cooperative.Food was excellent,well cooked and well presented.The daily menu was varied and had something for everyone.all credit to the planners and producers in the catering dept..Entertainment was good,especially the spanish dancers that came aboard in the Canaries. That was aquality performance.My favourite,The Rosario trio were on every night whilst at sea,they do deserve a more settled audience.Passengers passing to/fro to meals are missing some accomplished musicians.Finally,I must comment on behaviour and attitude of some of the passengers.Manners and civility were lacking in some areas.Well done crew having such patience and tact when dealing with these few.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ROL

Recommended
Ann Quantrell
7 years 2 months ago
From start to finish the cruise was excellent, the whole ships crew could not do enough for you..The quality and selection of food was brilliant..the waiters [ in our case this time it was lovely Ariel and his great team, Reagan and Roshan] how any one could complain I dont know - but of course they did!
On a couple of occassions we walked passed reception and heard passengers very rudely complaining to the staff on duty..my husband and I would like to say that the [ quite young] staff handled these situations very diplomatically and should be patted on the back for the way they dealt with the complaints.
The cabins were kept very clean- towels changed as soon as they had been used... Again all due to the great boys and girls who look after everyone [ many thanks to lovely Adis who looked after us so well x]
We went a quite a few of the trips -excellent value- just one that we wouldnt go again to - the Tropicana in Cuba- the venue/transport and guide were great but the show wasnt quite what we expected..not really local music.. The entertainment on board was varied and good, the speakers excellent The ships entertainment group put on very good shows and their costumes were big improvment to the last cruise we were on..well done!!
Cant forget the bar staff they always know your name and what you drink, [ thank you Mark and Smiler !!] special mention for the Rosario Trio very entertaining and accomplished musicians who could do with more prominent place to play
To top it all we had 29 days of sunshine who could ask for more?!! Thank you Fred Olsen we will certainly be back.x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: rol - fred olsen

Recommended
Great trip to Iceland
7 years 2 months ago
We had a lovely time, the weather was a bit rough, force ten between Newcastle and Iceland. But the crew were excellent, entertainment was good, Barbara, Martin and dance host's really good.

We had a great time. Thank you. Trips to Iceland and Norway were good, shame it was too rough to get into the Faroes Islands.

I would recommend it and hope to travel with Fred Olsen again next year. I travelled as a single person and soon made lots of new friends. Just got home tonight and can't wait to book my next cruise with Fred Olsen.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fred Olsen

Recommended
madeira cruise
7 years 2 months ago
Just returned from a cruise on the Boudicca, sailing from Portsmouth to Madeira. Had a great time. Dance host's Geraldine, Jim, Reg, and John were excellent. All the crew were great. Off in to the booking office to see about another cruise.

Entertainment was first class and the show that the crew put on was fab. Food was really good something for everyone. Tours good value for money.

Cabins kept spotless by the housekeeping staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Another great cruise on the Boudicca
7 years 2 months ago
We had a great time going to Madeira to see the fireworks at the New Year. They were spectacular. The New Year’s party on deck was great. Food for the holiday season could not be faulted. Staff on the Boudicca (from the captain right down to the engine room boys) couldn’t be better, they were always smiling.

We met a lot nice people, Thank you all for a lovely time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Butterfield
8 years ago
Just returned from a 18 night cruise to cape verdi islands. Wonderful extrweather, calm seas, good food with excellent staff (with the exception of Olga,customer relations). BUT our cabins were the worst we have ever had in several years cruising with different companies. If you have booked cabins 3008 and 3014 BEWARE.We always opt for inside cabins but were not prepared for the dismal,drab and forlorn accomodation. No bedside tables,only one table lamp and 2 ceiling lights (all with energy saving bulbs).too dull to read. The maintenance man asked why we weren't using our reading lights and pointed to 2 lights on the ceiling.Unfortunately you had to stand on the beds to switch on\off.The eldest in our group is 78. Surely a health and safety issue!!!!
We suffered sewerage gasses and cellulose paint smells through the air vents. I told Olga that these were crew quarters, the reading lights being perfect for the bunk beds that had been in there, but she assured me that the crew were in levels 1 and 2. The following day we noticed a lot of laundered uniforms hanging on the outside of nearby cabins which rather gave the game away. On confrontation she did admit that crew were in these cabins.I feel that Olsens have taken the word 'basic' to a whole new level and
these cabins should return to their original use, as they are not good enough for fee paying passengers. Because of adding on several new cabins in one of their refits and using crew quarters for passengers this created more passengers thus making the room in the dining rooms quite tight and the tables are very close together - I take my hat off to the waiters who coped very well and to end on a high note,served excellent food. Fortunately we did not suffer from the Norus virus that was rife.


















Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ROL

Rennie
8 years ago
Good points first
The Phillipino and other Asian staff were excellent.
Our cabin was of normal size for the price we paid.
The itinerary was interesting.
The alcoholic drinks were reasonably priced and the food was excellent.
The comedians were very good and the staff show at the end was wonderful.
HOWEVER the ship and the experience was spoiled by the following
Some grumpy British staff who ran a very strange raffle for the RNLI at the end of the cruise. The prizes were not as had been advertised and in fact were a series of trashy items and it was a mickey taking event. Would have been better to have a collection for the charity instead of fibbing about the prizes.
The ship was cleaned constantly but a virus outbreak took hold. This can happen on any ship and the staff worked hard to control it. However, when my husband contracted it and was confined to our cabin for 3 days (which we were happy to comply with) our cabin was not cleaned for over 48 hours and we had to go hunting for clean towels at 10 oclock at night. His meals for the 3 days consisted of boiled chicken fish and jelly although he only had an upset stomach for a couple of hours in fact. He was told that he would be compensated for this inconvenience and he was, last week sent a paltry amount of £25 for each of the days in the cabin. This sum of £75 in total can only be spent on another cruise. So they expect us to book a cruise of around £1000 per person to get a reward of £75. Only Fred Olsen can benefit from this.
The ships dance and singing troupe were very mediocre and nothing like the wonderful groups we have seen on Thomson ships. In fact the professional group was not as good as the cleaners, waiters and engine workers who put on a great show at the end.
We went to a dance lesson early on and enjoyed it so my husband asked one of the staff who ran it if she would listen to a short tune and tell him if it was suitable for a waltz. she said she would next time we met for a class. Unfortunately my husband could not make it and when she asked him later why he had not turned up and he explained she said he was full of bull**** We were very stunned and the only reason we did not complain was because we heard her husband speak sharply to her and remind her that its not appropriate to talk to a guest in that way.
Towards the end of the cruise it appeared that the medical staff had given up the confinement of sick passengers as when a lady spectacularly vomited at our feet covering the carpet with the vomit and her body she was taken to the medical centre and we were told that it was seasickness and she was fine. Really. The sea was incredibly calm and its strange to develop sea sickness at the end of the cruise when you have not suffered it for the first 17 days.
Throughout this cruise we complied with all rules and regulations without complaint unlike some passengers who delighted in moaning the whole way through and in at least one case a particulary grumpy couple were given complimentary champagne no doubt to shut them up. I might try this if I am ever forced to go on a Fred Olsen cruise in the future but seeing as I am only nearing 60 years of age I am too young for Fred Olsen cruises. I will stick to Thomson in future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fred Olsen

Quantrell
8 years 4 months ago
Our first cruise.it was brilliant.Public rooms and cabin decor were very good. The food!!!Well, we thought The menus were well excellent, varied and very enjoyable.How anyone could think of complaining is beyond us.The staff made the cruise. Throughtout our stay their cheerfulness and cooperative nature was a real pleasure for us.Onboard entertainment was very good, The comedian Lee was brilliant.Always some activity available with out any pressure at all. we were free to make any choice we wanted.I enjoyed the art lessons and so did many others. A good enjoyable start to our cruising.Well done Boudicca and especially the Filippino staff.you were brilliant!!Thanks anne and ron Quantrell
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Readers offers

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Ship image