Image of MSC Opera

MSC Opera

5 of 8 MSC Cruises ships

A medium sized vessel of Superior rating. Built in 2003. Carries a maximum of 2200 in 878 cabins, 315 of which have ocean views. Four cabins have wheelchair access.

Cabins are medium sized with showers. Suites have a bath and sitting area.

There are two show lounges, a library and a casino on board.

Book a cruise now! 0843 208 0674

GetCruising Logo

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Alma Bond
Family was disappointed
4 years 11 months ago
This was a diamond wedding present for my husband and myself to celebrate with 12 family members. We found the bar staff rude and unhelpful unless you tipped them which is wrong as we were charged at 7 Euros per person per drink service charge. As we paid for a drinks package it works out expensive for 12 people per drink. The breakfast was cold sausages which were under-cooked as was the bacon.

The boarding was chaos, we were stuck in a tent for a number of hours even the coach was turned away so it was back to the car park in the cold and wet so we were fed up even before we boarded.

The good point was the it was very clean, cabins and lounge areas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Lydia Dekker
Wonderful experience
5 years 10 months ago
Since it was our first cruise we did not know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. The cabin crew is very friendly and helpful.

The entertainment was very good, the food was good. The waitrons was efficient and the bar ladies very friendly. We ate twice in the restaurant in the second setting, but we preferred the buffet on the deck, as you could pick and choose what we wanted.

The trip to the islands was well managed and it was pleasant. I recommend this vessel and the destination to the Portuguese Island. For the price we paid, we did not expect frills and if you wanted extra you had to pay for it. If we had to pay for the frills the cruise would have fallen outside of the majority of the passenger's budgets.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Percy Thomas
Not a great trip
5 years 10 months ago
We cruised on 21st January 2013 on a trip supposedly from Durban to Maputo and Inhambane and back to Durban.

When my baggage was delivered to my cabin the one locked catch on my hard-shell had been broken. This is a recessed catch and could only have been broken by someone trying to pry it open; it could not break accidentally. I now discover that for the Hollard Insurance Company to repair my lock will cost me R500 excess – for a R100 repair! So not a good start and it went downhill from there.

On the morning of the 22nd January we were having breakfast and the ship made a sudden violent 180 degree turn that sent plates and glasses flying and breaking. My poached eggs ended up off my plate and on the table. We later learnt from one of the crew that the captain had avoided running aground on a sandbank at Maputo harbour entrance.

Later that morning we were informed by the crew told us was that the water was too choppy to enter Maputo. The result was that we lay outside the port limits for an entire day. We finally docked in Maputo on the 23rd January. Only after leaving Maputo the evening were we informed by the crew that we would not go to Inhambane at all. Instead the Captain had decided that he would take about 24 hours to return to Durban - at about 7 knots.

After complaining to the crew for almost two days we were informed that there was heavy flooding in Maputo. They tried to fob us off with (old?) photographs of cars driving in knee deep water. This was a blatant lie. It was not even raining the day were supposed to dock in Maputo. I feel cheated out of an important leg of my trip, without even an apology or any offer of compensation.

Then there was the small matter of buying a pre-paid ‘Superior’ wine package. On the second day we were informed that certain wines on our list was not available and we were offered some very dodgy and inferior wines. This was unacceptable– selling wines that you did not even bring on board the ship.

Not a cruise line I would recommend at this stage.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Derek Flottow
MSC OPERA avoids cyclone
5 years 10 months ago
I have noted negative comments on the MSC Opera new years cruise from Durban.

The facts are that Cyclone Dumile ended up devastating Reunion and flooded Mauritius.

In my view the captain made the right decision to sail away and avoid it. Winds of 150kph are not something you want to experience on a liner.

Praise goes the Opera and her crew for making the right choices despite spoiling a few passengers dreams.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stewart
A Bad Experience
5 years 10 months ago
Went on the Norway Fjord cruise in May, Got to Southampton parked the car and went to the ship, the border customs agency would not let people board as MSC had not followed UK procedures and we sat in the departure/boarding lounge for 2.5 hours. MSC did not give any information to their customers regarding the problem or expected time of boarding (not a good start) When we finally boarded we got to our cabin clean and tidy, we went all inclusive (certainly recommended if you like a drink as the drinks are pricey) which was fine but the waiters were not quick to serve you as they do not get their 15% tips (again not a big problem)

The entertainment was not bad but very limited. When we got to the restaurant every night was the same food, Pork, Pasta, green beans on some nights carrots were available, the sweet's choice were ALWAYS the same,jelly and cakes. The late brunch was either cakes, sandwiches or Pizza. The places we visited we enjoyed. I have been on various cruises to the Caribbean,New York, Europe, Dubai, and Egypt. This is the first and only time we have had a problem with the food, and the only time we have come back from a cruise loosing weight.

I found the normal workers on the ship very polite but the Italian management thought they were superior and were never wrong. The cruise price we paid was very reasonable, but I would rather pay more and get what I would expect from a cruise and not sickness.Good luck to anyone who sails with her.We do not smoke but smoking is allowed in most bars and these are VERY smokey. We had the same problem getting off the boat MSC told us it was the fault of the boarder agency but they told us it was an MSC problem not complying with rules of disembarkation paper work.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
JUDITH SIMMS
BOOKING NIGHTMARE
5 years 10 months ago
No coach transfer as promised, we checked in at Southampton to find we were not booked in as all inclusive. MSC refused to call Planet Cruise the travel agent we had booked with.

The whole cruise turnt out to be a nightmare. Never once did we enjoy a hot or even warm meal. The cabin was clean as was the whole ship. Was our problems caused by MSC or booking agent Planet Cruise, we are yet to get an answer. Being told we were not all inclusive even though our friends who booked with us & paid the same as us received the all inclusive package. Having to pay for every drink & taxi transfer made this a very expensive holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Gordon Govender
Unhappy and disappointing cruise
6 years 10 months ago
I was totally disappointed travelling of the MSC Opera, new year’s eve cruise from 27th December 2012 to 7 January 2013, was booked 1 day in Reunion and 3 days in Mauritius. There were 4 families that booked together i.e. 17 Adults and 2 children.

On the Morning of the 1st January 2013, the day we were scheduled to reach Mauritius and urgent announcement was made on the PA system that a cyclone was going to hit the waters of Mauritius and the ship will have to leave Mauritius before 11.30pm and they will head to Madagascar which was not on the itinerary. According to the captain the cyclone was detected on the 28th December 2012 that was going to hit Mauritius on the 2nd January 2013.

On Madagascar Island we had to fend for ourselves, hire a taxi for the day @ $100 per day and purchase our own food. We had a meeting with the captain and cruise director who were not very helpful. I would not travel on the Opera again but will certain travel on the Sinfonia.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Jenny
7 years 2 months ago
sailed from southampton on a northern europe cruise flying back from venice in september 2011.price of cruise was a good deal .ship spotless and crew freindly.drinks very expensive with a 15 per cent service charge added.also ship transfers a rip off.food in dining room fair not great,while the buffet breakfasts were dreadful.evening shows in theatre good but daytime entertainment poor .this is my second cruise with msc the first was six years ago said would never sail with msc again.wish we hadnt.been on lots of cruise lines this was like a glorified ferry.if you are thinkingof booking please dont
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: msc

Keith Beddoes
7 years 2 months ago
We had an absolutely brilliant holiday on MSC Opera. Cleanliness and attentiveness by cabin stewards was excellent. Having been on Royal Carribean Cruises of course the food on an Italian ship was different, however mostly thoroughly enjoyed and certainly never went hungry. The midnight magnifico buffet was out of this world and we had never seen anything like it before, could'nt eat much as weren't hungry but the presentation was something not to be missed it was indeed magnificent!!!!! The ships staff were constantly working to ensure our holiday was an enjoyable one and nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment in the theatre was ok but we have seen better however it was something different. With regards to drinks being expensive, they are on every cruise we have been on however the 15% service charge together with the daily service charge is something we were well aware of before we booked the cruise as it is quite clearly stated in the brochure and all the booking literature. It is unfortunate that people dont read these things when they should and then complain when they shouldn't. One thing people should read is that MSC offers a fully inclusive drinks package, which we bought, this also included the 15% service charge so were were able to drink as much tea, coffee, soft drinks, ice cream, water and alcholic drinks as we wanted to. It also included the minibar in the cabin. Whilst most people were having a great time on this ship we also had the people who are only happy when they are complaining and all I can say to them is "please stay at home because you are spoiling our holiday, we want to get away from all the moaners and enjoy ourselves!!!!!!"
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Leger Travel

Recommended
Jenny
7 years 3 months ago
Cabin had stains on lavatory and wash basin. Otherwise acceptable.

Food in restaurants excellent as was the service. Buffet, particularly on deck 11 was dreadful. Buffet staff very rude.

I booked this cruise as it was supposed to be child friendly. My 3 year old son wasn't allowed to join the mini club as he still wears training pants in the daytime! Nothing in the brochure mentions this. So he was excluded from the play room. There was little else for him to do.

We were both glad to get off the ship and go home!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: GoCruise

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Ship image