Image of Thomson Celebration

Thomson Celebration

4 of 8 Thomson Cruises ships

A medium sized vessel of standard rating. Built in 1984 and refit in 2005. Carries a maximum of 1370 passengers in 625 cabins, 416 of which have ocean views. 4 cabins are accessible to disabled passengers.

All cabins are well equipped and the deluxe cabins have a bathtub.

There are two show lounges featuring a weekly guest artist. Other features include a cinema, library and casino.

Book a cruise now! 0843 208 0674

GetCruising Logo

196 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    123
  • Very Good
    38
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Mrs P Davis
Very dissapointed
5 years 3 months ago
Went on the Majesty last year it was great. This year the Celebration was not up to the same standard. Due to an outbreak of norovirus the previous week we were unable to serve ourselves at the buffet. We found the food boring and not very tasty and the portions we were given were very small and cold as we had to keep waiting to be served.

On deck 6 which is the smokers deck there was no free tea or coffee which meant having to carry it up from deck 5.

The layout of the ship was very poor especially the buffet area. The food was spread out all over the place and we often spotted something after we had eaten that we would have preferred but we did not even know it was there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Heather Hewlett
Caribbean Treasures
5 years 3 months ago
Just arrived back from a week cruising around the Caribbean Islands.
In my opinion it was Thomsons at its best. Once we got through check in at Birmingham which was a bit of a pain our holiday only got better. We travelled to Barbados on the Dream Liner air craft. It's a great aircraft with plenty of leg room and the cabin crew were excellent.

The Celebration liner was beyond my expectations. I have already travelled on the P&O liners and was a little worried on what it would be like. The food & service were excellent and the entertainment was definitely better than P&O. Added to that I enjoyed all the excursions and have no complaints what so ever. I recommend it unreservedly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
els
OAP ship
5 years 3 months ago
I wouldn't say this is a family ship at all, in fact we got bored ourselves by the end of the cruise. Apart from Boules to play there was nothing else. The deck, where there was supposed to be some form of games, was never open because they were using it the full trip to dry and clean carpets. I guess the days off shore we always came back tired and ready for nothing, except munching and back on the old sun beds. It was into our 6th day of sailing and the evening staff came and removed all of the cushions from the wicker couches at the Lido and those from the dining chairs. Now without these cushions you could not sit on them as they were too hard and when you were sat at the dining chairs you had to kind of lift yourself up to be able to reach your plate, very, very uncomfortable.

There was lack of seating throughout this ship so this certainly did not help matters. After that it spoilt my evenings I loved sitting there watching the world go by. I went along to customer services and asked why this had to be, she told me they had to wash the covers in case of infection and for our safety. Now please yes I go for 100% staying fit and healthy and bug free but what about the dozens of other cushions on board the ship and if this did need to happen why didn't they have replacements I asked, all I got was its for our own safety.

This ship was going in for repairs a week after our trip so to me there was no call for them to leave their valid passengers without some comfy seating on Lido deck so unfair. On the sunbathing deck there was a big leak from the childrens pool all the time, it was a real mess. Before I knew it my bag got soaked and my was phone inside my bag luckily it was ok and I didn't put my bag on the deck again.

I thought the entertainment was super, very hard working lot indeed. The food was ok but didn't think there was anything spectacular and we were served throughout the trip just in case which we did not mind. Our cabin steward top notch, everything spotlessly clean the whole trip. To me they're the ones who keep us safe and free from bugs. We got a last minute bargain price so apart from my stolen cushions we could not complain but would not go back on her.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Katrina Shaw
OK cruise, Telegram service was disgusting
5 years 3 months ago
I went on a Mediterranean cruise on the Celebration April-May. The cruise was OK, nothing much to write home about. My partner sent me a birthday telegram which arrived on time to the radio room, some 3000 km. It then got lost from the radio room to the cabin. He has tried for months to get an answer and his money back but to no avail. Moral of this story, Don't rely on the staff to walk a few yards to deliver a telegram, they have better things to do with their time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Ann Terry
A great ship, with amazing staff
6 years 2 months ago
We have recently arrived home from a red sea cruise on board Thomson Celebration. I would just like to say having cruised many times before. With many cruise companies, what an absolute pleasure it was, the ship has apparently recently had a refit; it was lovely the food, cleanliness, entertainment and staff were second to none.

On the down side I think the pool area is a little overcrowded, and although we never came across any Germans, the towels were on the beds at the crack of dawn!! Thank you very much to all concerned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Christine Finch
Not one of our best cruises
6 years 2 months ago
Just back from a week on board the Celebration on the Red Sea Magic. We have done this cruise before and always loved it but this time was not so good.

On arrival used the toilet and it was yellow water we have been in this cabin and port before and have never had any problems like this. The next day we were all sent out letters saying that the ship has got the Norovirus bug and someone has brought it in from the UK where there are lots of cases but I don't know of any. Guests were going down with it but not the staff not sure as to why they did not get it.

The staff did their best trying to keep hand rails clean but one or two small things I did not like what I saw. One day had breakfast and the tray had egg on it. One member of staff put something in the bin then took it out put it back in the cupboard and carried on filling up the tea packets. If you did not use all your knives and forks they were taken off your table and put back in the draw these should have been taken to the kitchen to be washed. The staff are never seen putting the gel on their hands they clear away dirty plates then bring out your next course not their fault they do work so hard but they should be taught better rules when trying to get of a bug.

On the Thursday when we were due to fly back home where were all taken off the ship and sent to the same hotel to wait to be taken to the airport nice about 800 people all in close contact with this nasty bug now going to spread it to the quests in the hotel, well done Thomson’s.

I did not want to clean my teeth in this dirty looking water I asked reception if I could have a bottle of water free and was told no you will have to pay for it so not very helpful there.

The main problem is we are due to go back on the celebration 25th April but I am worried firstly about the state of the water and secondly if that nasty bug is still there. Such a shame as we have had some wonderful cruising on the Thomson ships the staff are very nice and very helpful but I am a little put off I am still ill after almost a week.

I know these bugs are everywhere and on board ships they are worse but I would like to know I am not going to get ill again as it does spoil your holiday. Not the right time for this to happen just weeks before they upgrade to platinum.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Our First Cruise
6 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from our first cruise. We went to the Red Sea on the Celebration and had a fantastic week.

The Staff were very friendly, the weather was great and the food was first class (special diets are catered for without any problems).

We had a cabin on deck 4 and our cabin girl would come in and clean/tidy twice a day.

The ship was being cleaned continuously and hygiene in the restaurants was of a high standard.

The ports that we stopped at were not very attractive (working ports) but we knew this before we arrived. We look forward to cruising with Thomson again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bee
Staff friendly but food not great
6 years 2 months ago
This was our first cruise. The room was clean although you do feel the boat rocking a lot at night (we were on deck 3). The food in the canteen was bog standard and cheap quality, I struggled to find anything really nice to eat and lot of things just tasted strange, the custard springs to mind! The glasses at breakfast with fruit juice also smelt funny. Feel the ship needs to up its game with the food. The food in the restaurant were tiny portions, and long wait in between courses, although to be fair was very busy restaurant, the main thing that was disappointing about the restaurant was no tables for two (although you can ask and wait and wait!) instead you have to sit with other passengers, this is ok if you like making pointless small talk with random strangers every night! - if you have come away to have some quality time just you and your partner and enjoy and relax while eating I would avoid the restaurant! We did not pay to go in the other posh restaurant (extra £20 each) as feel Thomson made enough money out of already so stuck with the soulless dreaded food in the canteen every evening instead.

The staff are incredible friendly and attentive. The shows were not our thing, although there was a funny comedian and Beatles tribute band that were good. There is a tiny pool high up on top deck, but you would be lucky to get anywhere near it and sun loungers were in demand.

The ports were all smelly and not very pretty, but were warned about that. Petra was good, although did feel sorry for the horses out in the sun. Every excursion we were really pestered by locals trying to sell things, you get used to it, but by the third trip I had had enough.

The Cairo museum was good although not much time there, really rushed but saw all the main things by the guide are guide that day was a lady and she was excellent. The pyramids were also good trip; do not go in to the pyramids if you are any way scared of confined spaces! As it’s a tiny opening you have to crawl down while other people are crawling up on the other side, also people were wearing flip flops on the trips! Believe me when say you need good footwear to go on all the trips. the last trip we went on was valley of the kings, we had to get up at 5.30 and the coach journey far too long (over three hours there and three hours back) Our tour guy took us to a shop were sell local ornaments out of stone and got conned by the men in the shop because we bought some ornaments but then as soon as purchased something the charm dropped and they wouldn't let us leave shop without then giving them a tip.

All in all would not go on a cruise or to Egypt again. If you are really in to Egyptology (like my husband who loved all the excursions) then go on this cruise as you do get to see the real Egypt! Which is an eye opener that’s all I will say! We felt for the animals out there.

The flights by Thomson have no film/music/entertainment really bad I feel for a 6 hour flight, really uncomfortable flights.
Oh last thing - be warned Sharm's airport arriving is unbelievably disorganised (departures was ok though).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
All cruises should be Adults only.
6 years 2 months ago
Superb boat, fantastic crew, very good food.

Red Sea cruise is a good way of getting to Petra, guess who was there on the 23rd March 2013! The President USA so Petra was shut while he had a private viewing. 10 coach loads left the docks at Aqaba and 10 coach loads had to divert and twiddle their thumbs until he had finished and left. He's not even Royalty.

Take no notice of the star rating system, it pleases itself no matter what you put down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ellen Rayner
Amazing!
6 years 2 months ago
Totally loved this cruise. Nothing negative at all. Everything was excellent... staff, food, entertainment and let's not forget the cocktails! The standard of cleanliness was very high and I do not see how this could be improved, so felt very safe throughout. We had a deluxe cabin, which was very spacious. The excursion to Bethlehem and Jerusalem was absolutely the highlight of our holiday; I found this very emotional and felt privileged to be able to have the experience. All in all, we had the most wonderful time and collected many very lovely memories
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Ship image